6 Most Frequently Asked Questions about ICD-10


Published on

ICD 10 is the tenth revision of the International Classification of Diseases, implemented by the WHO (World Health Organization) in 1993.And this article answers the 6 Most frequently asked questions.

Published in: Business, Economy & Finance
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

6 Most Frequently Asked Questions about ICD-10

  1. 1. 6 Most Frequently Asked Questions About ICD-10
  2. 2. 1) What is ICD-10 coding system? ICD 10 is the tenth revision of the International Classification of Diseases, implemented by the WHO (World Health Organization) in 1993. In the U.S, with effect from October 1, 2014, ICD 10 will replace the current ICD 9 coding system. Unlike ICD 9 CM, ICD 10 consists of two parts: -ICD-10-CM (Clinical Modification) used for diagnosis coding. This uses 3 to 7 digits, replacing the 3 to 5 digits used with ICD-9-CM -ICD-10-PCS (Procedure Coding System) used for inpatient procedure coding and uses 7 alphanumeric digits, replacing 3 to 4 numeric digits used with ICD-9-CM Claims for medical treatments provided on or after the implementation date must use updated ICD-10 codes or those claims will be ineligible for reimbursement. 2) Why is the U.S. moving to ICD 10 CM? The major reason behind the transition is that the ICD 9 code set is outdated. The total number of codes in the ICD 9 code set implemented 30 years ago is insufficient to accurately describe the new diagnoses and procedures in the current medical practice. This code set does not accommodate the latest discoveries in medical science. Another reason is the need for increased specificity. ICD-9 lacks specificity of the information conveyed in the codes. For instance, if a patient is provided treatment for a burn on the left arm, the ICD-9 diagnosis code does not distinguish that the burn is on the left arm. Significantly different procedures are assigned to a single ICD-9-CM procedure code. Quality of care cannot be measured accurately. ICD 10 is a standard coding system with unique codes for substantially different healthcare conditions. 3) What is the difference between ICD 9 and ICD 10? There are some basic differences between the two systems. Diagnoses codes Procedural codes Structural changes ICD -9-CM Approximately 13000 3000 3-5 characters in length First digit alpha or numeric, 2-5 are numeric (Ex: 540.9 Acute appendicitis) ICD-10-CM Approximately 68000 72081 3-7 characters in length First digit alpha, 2 and 3 numeric, 4-7 alpha or numeric (Ex: B01.2 Varicella pneumonia)
  3. 3. 4) Will ICD-10-PCS replace CPT codes in ICD 9? No. Maintained by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), ICD 10 PCS is designed to replace ICD-9-CM for inpatient procedure reporting. The Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) and Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) will continue to be used to report services and procedures in outpatient and office settings. 5) What is HIPAA 5010? HIPAA ASC X12 version 5010 is a new set of standards that regulate the electronic transmission of specific healthcare transactions including eligibility, claim status, referrals, claims, and remittances. All healthcare providers are required to conform to the new transaction set standards. 6) How can the medical office prepare for the transition? The transition from ICD-9 code sets to ICD-10 will result in more details, terminology changes and expanded concepts for laterality, injuries and other related factors. Insurance payers will expect physicians to bill using these more specific codes. According to AAPC, “ICD-10 implementation will radically change the way coding is currently done and will require a significant effort to implement.” The implementation of the 5010 standard will also require changes to the software systems, and procedures currently used to bill Medicare and other payers. Comprehensive ICD-10 training should be provided to medical staff in order to fully grasp the changes that accompany the new code sets. Medical billing software currently in use must be updated to recognize the new coding standards. Your software should be upgraded for the Version 005010 (5010) HIPAA transactions. AAPC Certified medical billing and coding specialists at an established medical billing company will be equipped to handle ICD 10 medical coding requirements for all medical practices.