Your SlideShare is downloading. ×
  • Like
NCEA Presentation
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5

Thanks for flagging this SlideShare!

Oops! An error has occurred.


Now you can save presentations on your phone or tablet

Available for both IPhone and Android

Text the download link to your phone

Standard text messaging rates apply

NCEA Presentation


Ins and outs of NCEA

Ins and outs of NCEA

Published in Education
  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Be the first to comment
    Be the first to like this
No Downloads


Total Views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds



Embeds 0

No embeds

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

    No notes for slide


  • 2. • NCEA Level One replaced School Certificate• NCEA Level Two replaced Sixth Form Certificate• NCEA Level Three replaced Bursary
  • 3. • NCEA focuses on what students can do rather than comparing them to other students.
  • 4. • Credits are a way of showing the value of an assessment.• An assessment may be worth 2, 3,4, 5, 6 or even 12 credits depending on how much work is involved and how much is being assessed.
  • 5. • Assessment may be INTERNAL • Set and assessed by teachers within the school.OR• EXTERNAL • Set and assessed by NZQA
  • 6. • Achievement Standards• Unit Standards
  • 7. • ACHIEVEMENT STANDARDS are assessments which may be INTERNAL or EXTERNAL and which allow students to gain EXCELLENCE, MERIT or ACHIEVEMENT grades.• Generally the traditionally academic courses will offer mainly Achievement Standards.
  • 8. • UNIT STANDARDS are assessments which are INTERNAL only.• Achievement is usually measured with Achieved and Not Achieved only.• Unit standards are used mainly for employment based subjects
  • 9. • Replaced School Certificate• Level 6 on the New Zealand Curriculum.• Is gained by achieving 80 credits at level one or higher including • A numeracy requirement • A literacy requirement
  • 10. • 10 Credits are required.• There are two ways of gaining these.• 10 credits from a range of Achievement Standards across many subjects.• 10 special Literacy credits at a level lower than NCEA Level One.
  • 11. • 10 Credits are required.• There are two ways of gaining these.• 10 credits from a range of Achievement Standards across some subjects.• 10 special Numeracy credits at a level lower than NCEA Level One.
  • 12. • Replaced 6th form certificate• Level 7 on the New Zealand Curriculum.• 80 CREDITS including• 60 at level two or higher• 20 at level one or higher
  • 13. • Replaced Bursary• Level 8 on the New Zealand Curriculum.• Requires:• 60 Credits at level 3 or higher.• And 20 credits at level 2 or higher.
  • 14. LEVEL ONE LEVEL TWO L EVEL THREE80 Level OneCredits
  • 15. • 42 credits at LEVEL 3 14 from14 from one 14 from one + + Another Approved Approved Approved subject subject subject
  • 16. • NZQA has been reviewing these requirements and changes will be introduced.• Many universities have differing requirements.
  • 17. • 14 Credits in Numeracy at Level One or higher.• 4 Credits in Reading at Level Two or higher from a list of specified standards.• 4 Credits in Writing at Level Two or higher from a list of specified standards.• There are changes to this for next year.
  • 18. • Level One ,Two, and Three certificates can all be gained with either Merit or Excellence• To gain with Merit at least 50 credits at the appropriate level must be Merit• To gain with Excellence at least 50 credits at the appropriate level must be Excellence
  • 19. • Students are able to have individual courses endorsed with Merit or Excellence• To gain a subject with Merit or Excellence a student must gain 14 credits at the level ( or higher).• At least 3 of the credits must be Internal and at least 3 must be External
  • 20. • External only.• Students interested in this should talk with their subject teacher first.• Awards are made to students who pass individual subjects and who pass in three subjects.• There is a list of scholarship subjects.
  • 21. • Schools submit assessed materials to national moderators who check to see that the standard remains the same across the country.
  • 22. • Classes within schools moderate the assessments to make sure it is fair across the classes. This may be by having one or two teachers mark the whole assessment, by check- marking or by assessing together.
  • 23. • $76.70 at each level (last year’s figures- to be confirmed this year).• Includes three scholarship subjects• Financial Assistance is available for beneficiaries, community service card holders and families with more than one child enrolling for qualifications.
  • 24. • If students are absent from internal assessments they need either a medical certificate or a note from home (in cases of bereavement etc.) In most cases further assessment opportunities will be available. Sometimes the student will have missed out.• Other absences, e.g. school trips, require a leave form to be completed in advance.
  • 25. • We endeavour to provide a further assessment opportunity for most standards.• In some cases this may not be feasible.
  • 26. • Students may have only one resubmission and one further assessment opportunity.• This means it is important they get it right first time.
  • 27. • Year 10 students are given the opportunity to demonstrate achievement in some unit standards and achievement standards.• If they are a Year 10 student they will not be awarded until Year 11.
  • 28. • As parents and caregivers, you are able to access online, some information held by the school concerning your child• Type of information • Attendance, Discipline, Results, Fees, Timetable, Notices and Calendar
  • 29. •