Your SlideShare is downloading. ×
ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 - Nimesh Gajjar
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5

Thanks for flagging this SlideShare!

Oops! An error has occurred.


Saving this for later?

Get the SlideShare app to save on your phone or tablet. Read anywhere, anytime - even offline.

Text the download link to your phone

Standard text messaging rates apply

ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 - Nimesh Gajjar


Published on

Published in: Sports, News & Politics

1 Like
  • Be the first to comment

No Downloads
Total Views
On Slideshare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

Report content
Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

No notes for slide


  • 1. Made by – Nimesh Gajjar
  • 2. What is Cricket & who was founder
    • Cricket is a game played between two teams, generally of 11 members each. In essence, it is single combat, in which an individual batsman does battle against an individual bowler, who has helpers known as fielders. The bowler propels the ball with a straight arm from one end of the 22-yard pitch in an attempt to dismiss the batsman by hitting a target known as the wicket at the other end, or by causing the batsman to hit the ball into the air into a fielder?s grasp, or by inducing one of a number of other indiscretions. The batsman attempts to defend the wicket with the bat and to score runs ? the currency of the game ? by striking the ball to the field boundary, or far enough from the fielders to allow the batsman to run to the other end of the pitch before the ball can be returned. At least two bowlers must take turns, from alternating ends; also, there are always two batsmen on the field, each to take a turn as required. When all but one of the batting team have been dismissed ? or after an agreed period ? the teams? roles are reversed. After all the players required to bat on both sides have done so either once or twice
    • The Founder of Cricket Game was Sir Bradman
  • 3. ICC Cricket World Cup
    • The ICC Cricket World Cup is the premier international championship of men's One Day International (ODI) cricket. The event is organised by the sport's governing body, the International Cricket Council (ICC),
    • The first Cricket World Cup contest was organised in England in 1975. A separate Women's Cricket World Cup has been held every four years since 1973.
    • The finals of the Cricket World Cup are contested by all ten Test-playing and ODI-playing nations, together with other nations that qualify through the World Cup Qualifier. Australia has been the most successful of the five teams to have won the tournament, taking four titles. The West Indies and India have won twice, while Pakistan and Sri Lanka have each won once.
  • 4. About ICC Cricket World Cup 2011
    • The  2011 ICC Cricket World Cup  was the tenth  Cricket World Cup . It was played in  India , Sri Lanka, and  Bangladesh . It was Bangladesh's first time co-hosting a World Cup.  Eight of Pakistan's matches (including the semi-final) were awarded to India, four to Sri Lanka and two to Bangladesh. [4]  Fourteen national cricket teams competed in the tournament, including ten  full members  and four  associate members . [5]  The World Cup took place between 19 February and 2 April 2011, with the first match played on 19 February 2011 with co-hosts  India  and  Bangladesh  facing off at the  Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in  Mirpur ,  Dhaka . [6]  The opening ceremony was held on 17 February 2011 at  Bangabandhu National Stadium ,  Dhaka , two days before the start of the tournament, [7]  with the final on 2 April 2011 between India and Sri Lanka at  Wankhede Stadium ,  Mumbai .
  • 5. ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 Mascot
    • "  Appu ", the elephant was the mascot of the  1982 Asian Games  in New Delhi and almost two decades down the line, the pachyderm has been chosen to perform the same role at the ICC  Cricket World Cup  2011 to be jointly hosted byIndia,  SriLanka  and Bangladesh . Stumpy , a young elephant, is the official mascot for the 2011 Cricket World Cup. [37]  He was unveiled at a function in  Colombo , Sri Lanka, on Friday, 2 April 2010. [38]  The official name of the mascot was released on Monday, 2 August 2010 after an online competition conducted by the  International Cricket Council  in the last week of July, 2010. [39]
  • 6. India first time wins ICC Cup in 1983
    • The game of cricket has a known history spanning from the 16th century to the present day, with international matches played since 1844, although the official history of international Test cricket began in 1877. During this time, the game developed from its origins in England into a game which is now played professionally in most of the Commonwealth of Nations .
  • 8. ICC Cricket World Cup Venues
  • 9. Groups of ICC Cricket World cup 2011
  • 10. Stadiums of ICC Cricket Worldcup 2011
    • Eden Gardens in Calcutta ( Capacity: 90,000)
    • M.A. Chidambaram in Chennai (Capacity: 45,000)
    • Feroz Shah Kotla in Delhi (Capacity: 48,000)
    • Vidharbha in Nagpur (Capacity : 44,000)
    • Sardar Patel in Ahmedabad (Capacity: 48,000)
    • Wankheda in Mumbai (Capacity: 33,000)
    • Punjab Cricket Asso. In Mohali (Capacity: 35,000)
    • M.Chinnaswamy in Banglore (Capacity: 40,000)
    • R.Premdasa in Colombo (Capacity: 35,000)
    • Muttiah Muralitharan in Kandy (Capacity: 35,000)
    • Mahinda Rajapaksa in Hambatota (Capacity: 35,000)
    • Zohur Ahmed Chowdhury in Chittagong (Capacity: 20,000)
    • Sher-e-Bangla in Dhaka (Capacity: 26,000)
  • 11. Awards Year Player Performance details 1992           Martin Crowe 456 runs 1996           Sanath Jayasuriya 221 runs and 7 wickets 1999          Lance Klusener 281 runs and 17 wickets 2003          Sachin Tendulkar 673 runs and 2 wickets 2007           Glenn McGrath 26 wickets 2011          Yuvraj Singh 362 runs and 15 wickets
  • 12. Man of the Match in the World Cup Finals Year Player Performance details 1975           Clive Lloyd 102 runs 1979           Viv Richards 138 1983          Mohinder Amarnath 3/12 and 26 1987           David Boon 75 runs 1992          Wasim Akram 33 and 3/49 1996           Aravinda de Silva 107  and 3/42 1999           Shane Warne 4/33 2003           Ricky Ponting 140 2007           Adam Gilchrist 149 2011          Mahendra Singh Dhoni 91 Year Player Performance details 1975       Clive Lloyd 102 runs 1979       Viv Richards 138 1983     Mohinder Amarnath 3/12 and 26 1987          David Boon 75 runs 1992         Wasim Akram 33 and 3/49 1996          Aravinda de Silva 107  and 3/42 1999          Shane Warne 4/33 2003          Ricky Ponting 140 2007          Adam Gilchrist 149 2011         Mahendra Singh Dhoni 91
  • 13. Tournament records
    • Most runs   Sachin Tendulkar 2278 ( 1992 – 2011 )
    • Highest score   Gary Kirsten  v  UAE 188* ( 1996 )
    • Most wickets   Glenn McGrath 71 ( 1996 – 2007 )
    • Most catches ( fielder )   Ricky Ponting 28 ( 1996 – 2011 )
    • Highest score   India  vs Bermuda 413/5 ( 2007 )
  • 15. India Win’s ICC Cricket World cup 2011
  • 16.