SEM 101 - The Very Basics
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SEM 101 - The Very Basics

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PLEASE DOWNLOAD TO SEE FULL VERSION INCLUDING ANIMATION - A very basic primer for those interested in learning and managing their own search engine marketing efforts. Includes glossary, explanation of ...

PLEASE DOWNLOAD TO SEE FULL VERSION INCLUDING ANIMATION - A very basic primer for those interested in learning and managing their own search engine marketing efforts. Includes glossary, explanation of the search engine results page and links to resources to get started.

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SEM 101 - The Very Basics SEM 101 - The Very Basics Presentation Transcript

  • SEM 101 – The Basics
    For The Very Beginner – What You Need To Know To Get Started
  • Search Engine marketing = sem
    Definition
    Glossary of common lingo
    Examples of PPC and Organic listings
    Search Engine relationships
    Common Objectives & Metrics
    Learn more - Resources
    December 09
  • What is search engine marketing?
    Search engine marketing, or SEM, is a form of Internet marketing that seeks to promote websites by increasing their visibility in search engineresults.
    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Search_engine_marketing
    The process of marketing a web site on search engines, including search engine optimization, submitting your site to the search engines and directories for organic listings, pay per inclusion, pay per click, banner ads or any other marketing programs offered by search engines.
    www.getonsearchengines.com/kb-search-engine-marketing-glossary.php
    A set of marketing methods to increase the visibility of a website in search engine results pages (SERPs).
    www.thenationtraffic.com/glossary.html
    The process of building and marketing a site with the goal of improving its position in search engine results. ...
    searchenginewatch.com/define
    Utilizing Search Engine Optimization (SEO) and paid advertising for improved search engine results.
    www.activemedia.com/online_marketing_glossary.shtml
    December 09
  • December 09
    Down parka
    SEARCH
  • Common search marketing lingo
     AD - Advertisements a searcher sees after submitting a query in a search engine or web site search box. In PPC, these ads are usually text format, with a Title, Description and Display URL. In some cases, a keyword the searcher used in his or her query appears boldfaced in the displayed ad. Ads can be positioned anywhere on a search results page; commonly they appear at the top – above the natural or organic listings – and on the right side of the page, also known as “Right Rail.”
    AD COPY - The main text of a clickable search or context-served ad. It usually makes up the second and third lines of a displayed ad, between the Ad Title and the Display URL.
    AD GROUP
    ADWORDS
    ADWORDS EDITOR
    ALGORITHM - A set of rules that a search engine uses to rank listings in response to a query. Search engines guard their algorithms closely, as they are the unique formulas used to determine relevancy. Algorithms are sometimes referred to as the ”secret sauce.”
    Auction Model Bidding – The most popular type of PPC bidding. First, an advertiser determines what maximum amount per click they are willing to spend for a keyword. If there is no competition for that keyword, the advertiser pays their bid, or less, for every click. If there is competition at auction for that keyword, then the advertiser with the highest bid will pay one penny more than their nearest competitor. For example, advertiser A is willing to bid up to $0.50; advertiser B is willing to bid up to $0.75. If advertiser A’s actual bid is $0.23, then advertiser B will only pay $0.24 per click. Also referred to as market or competition-driven bidding.
    BID - The maximum amount of money that an advertiser is willing to pay each time a searcher clicks on an ad. Bid prices can vary widely depending on competition from other advertisers and keyword popularity.
    BUCKET – An associative grouping for related concepts, keywords, behaviors and audience characteristics associated with your company's product or service. A “virtual container” of similar concepts used to develop PPC keywords, focus ad campaigns and target messages.
    CLICK THROUGH RATE – Also known as CTR. The percentage of those clicking on a link out of the total number who see the link. For example, imagine 10 people do a web search. In response, they see links to a variety of web pages. Three of the 10 people all choose one particular link. That link then has a 30 percent click-through rate. Also called CTR. Source: Webmaster World Forums
    COPY
    December 09
  • Common search marketing lingo
    COST PER CLICK – Also known as CPC. Some search engines charge advertisers a cost for every click sent to their web site. The Cost per Click is the total cost for each click received.
    CPA - Acronym for Cost Per Acquisition (sometimes called Cost Per Action), which is the total cost of an ad campaign divided by the number of conversions. For example, if a campaign cost $100 and resulted in 5 conversions, the CPA is $20 ($100 / 5). It cost $20 to generate one conversion.
    CPC – Acronym for Cost Per Click. Some search engines charge advertisers a cost for every click sent to their web site. The “CPC” is the total cost for each click received.
    CREATIVE
    CTR - Acronym for Click-Through Rate, the number of clicks that an ad gets, divided by the total number of times that ad is displayed or served. (Represented as: total clicks / total impressions for a specific ad = CTR). For example, if an ad has 100 impressions and 6 clicks, the CTR is 6%. The higher the CTR, the more visitors your site is receiving; CTR also factors into you advertiser search engine Quality Score and, therefore, your minimum keyword bids on Tier I engines.
    DESTINATION URL
    IMPRESSION
    IMPRESSION SHARE
    December 09
  • Common search marketing lingo
    INVENTORY
    KEYWORD
    KEYWORD ESTIMATOR
    KW
    LISTING
    MSN AD CENTER
    NATURAL
    ORGANIC
    December 09
  • Common search marketing lingo
    PAGE RANK
    PAID INCLUSION
    PPC
    QUALITY SCORE
    SEM
    SEO
    SERP
    SYNDICATION
    VISIBLE URL
    December 09
  • SERP EXAMPLES - Google
    December 09
  • Serp examples – yahoo!
    December 09
  • Serp examples – bing (microsoft)
    December 09
  • Serp examples – ask.com
    December 09
  • Serp examples – aol search
    December 09
  • Common sem objectives & metrics
    December 09
  • Resources for learning more & getting started
    Google for Advertisers – Pet Stick Worst Case Study
    SEMPO – Search Engine Marketing Professionals Organization
    December 09