Adm chap 1 your license to drive

  • 815 views
Uploaded on

 

More in: Business , Technology
  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Be the first to comment
    Be the first to like this
No Downloads

Views

Total Views
815
On Slideshare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
0

Actions

Shares
Downloads
1
Comments
0
Likes
0

Embeds 0

No embeds

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
    No notes for slide

Transcript

  • 1. Alabama Driver ManualAlabama Driver Manual Chapter 1Chapter 1 Your License to DriveYour License to Drive
  • 2. Your License To DriveYour License To Drive Alabama Law states that every person, (withAlabama Law states that every person, (with some exceptions) who operates a motor vehiclesome exceptions) who operates a motor vehicle on public streets and roadways must be licensed.on public streets and roadways must be licensed. THE ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLICTHE ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY ISSUES DRIVERS LICENSESSAFETY ISSUES DRIVERS LICENSES
  • 3. License RequirementsLicense Requirements  Every Alabama resident who operates any motorEvery Alabama resident who operates any motor vehicle (except a farm tractor or implement ofvehicle (except a farm tractor or implement of husbandry temporarily upon any street orhusbandry temporarily upon any street or highway) must have a driver license.highway) must have a driver license.  All applicants who have not been licensed inAll applicants who have not been licensed in Alabama or those who had their license expiredAlabama or those who had their license expired for over 3 years must pass the required exam.for over 3 years must pass the required exam.  A person with an out of state license not expiredA person with an out of state license not expired over 1 year does not have to pass a driverover 1 year does not have to pass a driver examinationexamination
  • 4. An Alabama Drivers License is NotAn Alabama Drivers License is Not Required for:Required for:  Employees of U.S. Federal Government who drive/operate U.S. GovernmentEmployees of U.S. Federal Government who drive/operate U.S. Government owned or leased motor vehicles.owned or leased motor vehicles.  Any person while driving any farm tractor of husbandry temporarily moved orAny person while driving any farm tractor of husbandry temporarily moved or operated on a highwayoperated on a highway  A 16 year resident who has possession of a valid drivers license from his own stateA 16 year resident who has possession of a valid drivers license from his own state or country. Includes military personnel and their families stationed in Alabama,or country. Includes military personnel and their families stationed in Alabama, regardless of how long they stay in Alabama.regardless of how long they stay in Alabama.  A non-resident at 16 years old whose home country does not require licensing ofA non-resident at 16 years old whose home country does not require licensing of drivers may operate a motor vehicle as a driver of not more than 90 days in anydrivers may operate a motor vehicle as a driver of not more than 90 days in any calendar year, if the vehicle operated is duly registered for the current year in thecalendar year, if the vehicle operated is duly registered for the current year in the home country of the non-resident.home country of the non-resident.  Any non-resident full time student properly enrolled and registered in a school,Any non-resident full time student properly enrolled and registered in a school, college, university, or trade school in this state, who holds a valid license from hiscollege, university, or trade school in this state, who holds a valid license from his home state or country.home state or country.  A non-resident who has a valid drivers license from the state of previous residenceA non-resident who has a valid drivers license from the state of previous residence may drive without an Alabama license for 30 days after becoming a resident of themay drive without an Alabama license for 30 days after becoming a resident of the state.state.
  • 5. Who Cannot Be LicensedWho Cannot Be Licensed  Persons under 16 years of age.Persons under 16 years of age.  Any person whose driving rights or privilege is suspended orAny person whose driving rights or privilege is suspended or revoked in any state.revoked in any state.  Any person afflicted with or suffering from a physical or mentalAny person afflicted with or suffering from a physical or mental impairment which, in the opinion of the Director of Publicimpairment which, in the opinion of the Director of Public Safety or examining officer , will prevent such person fromSafety or examining officer , will prevent such person from exercising reasonable and ordinary control over a motor vehicle.exercising reasonable and ordinary control over a motor vehicle.  Any person failing to pass the examination when required.Any person failing to pass the examination when required.  Any person who is a habitual drunkard or addicted to the use ofAny person who is a habitual drunkard or addicted to the use of narcotic drugs.narcotic drugs.  Any person who is under the Age of 19 that is not in complianceAny person who is under the Age of 19 that is not in compliance with Alabama Act 93-368, which requires secondary schoolwith Alabama Act 93-368, which requires secondary school graduation or current attendance , with limited exclusions.graduation or current attendance , with limited exclusions.
  • 6. Authorized PresenceAuthorized Presence Identification RequirementsIdentification Requirements 1.1. Present 2 forms of identification, at least one ofPresent 2 forms of identification, at least one of which contains a photograph (one must be from thewhich contains a photograph (one must be from the primary listing)primary listing) 2.2. Present three forms of non-photo identification (onePresent three forms of non-photo identification (one form must be from the “Primary Listing”)form must be from the “Primary Listing”) 3.3. Applicants transferring an Out of State driver licenseApplicants transferring an Out of State driver license must present their Out of State drivers license, Socialmust present their Out of State drivers license, Social Security card (or one of the other acceptableSecurity card (or one of the other acceptable documents for social security number) AND onedocuments for social security number) AND one other form from the “Primary Listing”.other form from the “Primary Listing”.
  • 7. Legal Date of Birth RequirementsLegal Date of Birth Requirements  All applicants for any type of license or ID cardAll applicants for any type of license or ID card must meet age requirements relevant to themust meet age requirements relevant to the license.license.  A record existing on the driver license database,A record existing on the driver license database, as a result of a previously issued Alabama driveras a result of a previously issued Alabama driver license or Alabama non-driver identificationlicense or Alabama non-driver identification card may be considered proof of birth date. Ifcard may be considered proof of birth date. If no such record exist, only an original or certifiedno such record exist, only an original or certified copy of one of the “Primary Listed” documentscopy of one of the “Primary Listed” documents could be accepted as proof of birth date.could be accepted as proof of birth date.
  • 8. Documentation RequirementsDocumentation Requirements  1. Only a document, which is an original or a copy1. Only a document, which is an original or a copy certified by the issuing agency, will be accepted. If acertified by the issuing agency, will be accepted. If a document is a copy, the certification attached to it mustdocument is a copy, the certification attached to it must be original.be original. 2. A document would be unacceptable if:2. A document would be unacceptable if: a. Correction fluid (white-out) has been used on pertinent information.a. Correction fluid (white-out) has been used on pertinent information. b. Erasure markings appear on pertinent informationb. Erasure markings appear on pertinent information c. Pertinent Information is missingc. Pertinent Information is missing d. Pertinent Information is illegible.d. Pertinent Information is illegible. e. Alterations appear in pertinent informatione. Alterations appear in pertinent information f. A fold, crease, tear or hole obliterates or distorts pertinent informationf. A fold, crease, tear or hole obliterates or distorts pertinent information g. A staple obliterates or distorts pertinent information.g. A staple obliterates or distorts pertinent information. h. The document is not properly signed.h. The document is not properly signed.
  • 9. Social Security NumberSocial Security Number RequirementsRequirements 1.1. Proof of Social Security number must beProof of Social Security number must be present by the applicant under the followingpresent by the applicant under the following circumstances, unless the number is already incircumstances, unless the number is already in the database:the database: a. When applying for any class driver license, driver licensea. When applying for any class driver license, driver license renewal, vessel license, or non-driver identification card,renewal, vessel license, or non-driver identification card, whether or not the applicant wishes to have the number appearwhether or not the applicant wishes to have the number appear on the licenseon the license
  • 10. Social Security NumberSocial Security Number Requirements Cont’dRequirements Cont’d 2.2. An original of one of the following documentsAn original of one of the following documents is required as proof of a Social Securityis required as proof of a Social Security number:number: a.a. Social Security CardSocial Security Card b.b. A certified letter from the Social Security AdministrationA certified letter from the Social Security Administration stating the person name and Social Security numberstating the person name and Social Security number c.c. W2 Tax FormW2 Tax Form
  • 11. Notarization RequirementsNotarization Requirements 1.1. Notarized Documents must meet theNotarized Documents must meet the following requirements:following requirements: a. The notary’s seal or stamp must be affixed to thea. The notary’s seal or stamp must be affixed to the document and must be legible.document and must be legible. b. The notary’s name must be legible.b. The notary’s name must be legible. c. The notary’s signature must be presentc. The notary’s signature must be present d. The complete date that the notary’s commissiond. The complete date that the notary’s commission expires must be legible and must have been currentexpires must be legible and must have been current on the day the document was notarized.on the day the document was notarized. e. The state in which the notary is commissioned muste. The state in which the notary is commissioned must be legible.be legible.
  • 12. Acceptable documentation for proofAcceptable documentation for proof of name, date of birth, andof name, date of birth, and authorized presence documentsauthorized presence documents must be original or copies certifiedmust be original or copies certified by issuing agency.by issuing agency.
  • 13. DOCUMENTATION EXAMPLESDOCUMENTATION EXAMPLES PRIMARYPRIMARY US Birth Certificate**US Birth Certificate** US PassportUS Passport Alabama ID CardAlabama ID Card Alabama Driver LicenseAlabama Driver License Cert. of NaturalizationCert. of Naturalization Cert. of CitizenshipCert. of Citizenship US Cert. of Birth AbroadUS Cert. of Birth Abroad Resident Alien CardResident Alien Card Social Security Card***Social Security Card*** Valid Foreign PassportValid Foreign Passport ** Required for all 15 yr old** Required for all 15 yr old ***Required for all applicants***Required for all applicants SECONDARYSECONDARY Driver License issued in USDriver License issued in US International LicenseInternational License School ID with PhotoSchool ID with Photo School Enrollment FormSchool Enrollment Form W2 Tax FormW2 Tax Form Court Documents:Court Documents: Adoption, Name ChangeAdoption, Name Change All applicants under the age ofAll applicants under the age of 19 must present a current19 must present a current Student Enrollment FormStudent Enrollment Form (DL-1-93)(DL-1-93)
  • 14. Foreign ExaminationsForeign Examinations  Driver license written examinations are availableDriver license written examinations are available in foreign languages:in foreign languages:  Arabic, Chinese, Farsi, French, German, Greek, Japanese,Arabic, Chinese, Farsi, French, German, Greek, Japanese, Korean, Russian, Spanish, Thai and Vietnamese.Korean, Russian, Spanish, Thai and Vietnamese. Information is available at DPSInformation is available at DPS district offices.district offices.
  • 15. Hearing Impaired ExaminationsHearing Impaired Examinations  Available using the American Sign Language.Available using the American Sign Language.  Automated testing equipment only at certainAutomated testing equipment only at certain Driver Licenses offices.Driver Licenses offices.  Information on test administration at local DPSInformation on test administration at local DPS Offices.Offices.
  • 16. Oral ExaminationsOral Examinations  Available for applicants that are unable to readAvailable for applicants that are unable to read and comprehend the knowledge tests.and comprehend the knowledge tests.  Oral examinations may be administered usingOral examinations may be administered using automated testing equipment.automated testing equipment.
  • 17. Driver LicenseDriver License  Must be at least 16 years of age  Must have had a Valid Learner License for 6 months (180 DAYS)  Developed the skills necessary to safely operate a motor vehicle  Pass the road test of driving skills  The “Y” restriction will be removed.  There is no cost to the applicant.
  • 18. Motor Driven Cycle License- 14 or 15Motor Driven Cycle License- 14 or 15 years of ageyears of age  May obtain a restricted license to operate aMay obtain a restricted license to operate a motor driven cycle weighing not more than 200motor driven cycle weighing not more than 200 lbs. nor exceeding 150cc engine displacementlbs. nor exceeding 150cc engine displacement  Upon passing exam would be issued a class MUpon passing exam would be issued a class M Alabama Drivers License with a “B” restrictionAlabama Drivers License with a “B” restriction  ““B” restriction indicates holder may operate aB” restriction indicates holder may operate a motor driven cycle only.motor driven cycle only.  This license is valid for four year.This license is valid for four year.
  • 19. Motor Cycle License- 16 years orMotor Cycle License- 16 years or OlderOlder  May obtain a license to operate a motor cycle.May obtain a license to operate a motor cycle.  The exam is taken from the Alabama Motorcycle Manual.The exam is taken from the Alabama Motorcycle Manual.  Motor cycle defined as a motor vehicle, having a seat or saddleMotor cycle defined as a motor vehicle, having a seat or saddle for use of rider.for use of rider.  Designed not to travel with no more than 3 wheels with contactDesigned not to travel with no more than 3 wheels with contact to ground.to ground.  Upon passing exam applicant will be issued a Class M AlabamaUpon passing exam applicant will be issued a Class M Alabama Drivers License.Drivers License.  Class M- indicates Motor Cycle only.Class M- indicates Motor Cycle only.  The license is valid for four years.The license is valid for four years.
  • 20. Vessel LicenseVessel License  Any person 12 years of age or older may obtainAny person 12 years of age or older may obtain a vessel license upon passing the required exam.a vessel license upon passing the required exam.  Or present an approved certificate ofOr present an approved certificate of completion of a Boating Safety Course.completion of a Boating Safety Course.  Applicants must meet identificationApplicants must meet identification requirements.requirements.
  • 21. Vision ScreeningVision Screening  Those who wear corrective lenses must wearThose who wear corrective lenses must wear them during road test.them during road test.  If vision exam is failed, applicant will beIf vision exam is failed, applicant will be required to have eyes examined by an eyerequired to have eyes examined by an eye specialistspecialist  If, as a result of the vision exam, it is found thatIf, as a result of the vision exam, it is found that corrective lenses are needed, then a restrictioncorrective lenses are needed, then a restriction for corrective lens will be applied to license.for corrective lens will be applied to license.  If vision report shows applicant can see wellIf vision report shows applicant can see well enough to operate a motor vehicle safely, thenenough to operate a motor vehicle safely, then applicant can finish remainder of test.applicant can finish remainder of test.
  • 22. Knowledge TestKnowledge Test  Written test and vision screening. $5.00Written test and vision screening. $5.00 Cash onlyCash only. 30. 30 multiple choice questions, can miss up to 6 questions.multiple choice questions, can miss up to 6 questions.  Test from material in Alabama Driver Manual on Alabama trafficTest from material in Alabama Driver Manual on Alabama traffic laws, road signs, and road rules of safe drivinglaws, road signs, and road rules of safe driving  Tests for a Motor driven cycle license, Motorcycle License, or aTests for a Motor driven cycle license, Motorcycle License, or a boating license is $5 per test and must also be paid in cash.boating license is $5 per test and must also be paid in cash.  A license fee of $23.50 is also required for the learner license.A license fee of $23.50 is also required for the learner license.  Manual available in digital format at http://www.dps.state.al.us.Manual available in digital format at http://www.dps.state.al.us.  If applying for a learners license and pass the knowledge test,If applying for a learners license and pass the knowledge test, you will be issued a learners license, after paying required fees.you will be issued a learners license, after paying required fees.  If applying for a regular license and pass the road test, you willIf applying for a regular license and pass the road test, you will be issued your license, no additional fee is required, unlessbe issued your license, no additional fee is required, unless adding another endorsement.adding another endorsement.  If applying for motor driven cycle and learners license, bothIf applying for motor driven cycle and learners license, both examinations are requiredexaminations are required
  • 23. Road TestRoad Test The road test is the final step toward qualifying for the PRIVILEGE ofThe road test is the final step toward qualifying for the PRIVILEGE of driving on public streets and highways.driving on public streets and highways.  DPS officer will administer road test.DPS officer will administer road test.  Applicant must furnish a vehicle that meets Alabama safetyApplicant must furnish a vehicle that meets Alabama safety requirements .requirements .  16 year olds must be accompanied by parent or guardian.16 year olds must be accompanied by parent or guardian.  17 year olds do not have to be accompanied by a parent or guardian17 year olds do not have to be accompanied by a parent or guardian  Examiner will check vehicle before road test to determine if vehicleExaminer will check vehicle before road test to determine if vehicle in safe operating condition, if not, no exam.in safe operating condition, if not, no exam.  Required equipment includes: Rear View Mirror, Horn, WindshieldRequired equipment includes: Rear View Mirror, Horn, Windshield Wipers, Two Separate Methods of applying brakes, muffler,Wipers, Two Separate Methods of applying brakes, muffler, headlights, tail lights, valid license plate, stop light, directional signals,headlights, tail lights, valid license plate, stop light, directional signals, seatbelt, and, if applicable, window tint compliance sticker.seatbelt, and, if applicable, window tint compliance sticker.  The license examiner may refuse to test in the event of hazardousThe license examiner may refuse to test in the event of hazardous weather, road conditions, or inability to communicateweather, road conditions, or inability to communicate
  • 24. Required Maneuvers for Road TestRequired Maneuvers for Road Test  Right and left turnsRight and left turns  SignalingSignaling  Use of marked and unmarked lanesUse of marked and unmarked lanes  BackingBacking  Observance of traffic signs and signalsObservance of traffic signs and signals  Quick stopQuick stop  General control of vehicleGeneral control of vehicle  ObservationObservation  3 point turn3 point turn  Parking on a hillParking on a hill
  • 25. Causes for Immediate FailureCauses for Immediate Failure  Violation of traffic lawViolation of traffic law  A dangerous actionA dangerous action  Any preventable accidentAny preventable accident  Lack of cooperationLack of cooperation  Refusal to perform any maneuverRefusal to perform any maneuver Unless you have a legal right to drive in Alabama,Unless you have a legal right to drive in Alabama, you must be accompanied by a license driver toyou must be accompanied by a license driver to drive the vehicle away if failure occursdrive the vehicle away if failure occurs
  • 26. LICENSE TESTLICENSE TEST  When you have passed all tests, had your photoWhen you have passed all tests, had your photo taken and paid the required fees, you will receivetaken and paid the required fees, you will receive a temporary license with your photo that givesa temporary license with your photo that gives you the privilege of driving a motor vehicle.you the privilege of driving a motor vehicle.  You will receive your permanent license by mail.You will receive your permanent license by mail.  The license must be carried on your person at allThe license must be carried on your person at all times while driving.times while driving.
  • 27. License FeesLicense Fees Subject to change and will be slightly higher in counties where local legislation permits a higher fee.Subject to change and will be slightly higher in counties where local legislation permits a higher fee. Class D Operator LicenseClass D Operator License $23.50$23.50 Motor Driven Cycle LicenseMotor Driven Cycle License $23.50$23.50 Motorcycle LicenseMotorcycle License $23.50$23.50 Learner’s LicenseLearner’s License $23.50$23.50 Duplicate LicenseDuplicate License $18.50$18.50 Identification CardsIdentification Cards $23.50$23.50
  • 28. Minimum Age Requirments forMinimum Age Requirments for Drivers License and Non DriverDrivers License and Non Driver IdentificationIdentification  Identification CardIdentification Card No Age RequirementNo Age Requirement  Class D Learner LicenseClass D Learner License 15 years old15 years old  Class DClass D 16 years old16 years old  Motor Driven CycleMotor Driven Cycle 14 years old14 years old  Vessel LicenseVessel License 12 years old12 years old
  • 29. Why would you be Re-Examined?Why would you be Re-Examined? What do you do?What do you do?  Physical or mental impairment that might affect yourPhysical or mental impairment that might affect your driving ability.driving ability.  You could be required to furnish a statement from youYou could be required to furnish a statement from you doctor.doctor.  You might be required to appear before a driver licenseYou might be required to appear before a driver license examiner at any time.examiner at any time.  Penalty for not showing up for re-evaluation or notPenalty for not showing up for re-evaluation or not providing proper documentation could result inproviding proper documentation could result in revocation of you license (you will have to reapply).revocation of you license (you will have to reapply).
  • 30. What is an Identification Card?What is an Identification Card?  A citizen of Alabama may apply to the local driverA citizen of Alabama may apply to the local driver license examiner for a non-driver identification card.license examiner for a non-driver identification card.  The same degree of proof of identification required isThe same degree of proof of identification required is the same as for a drivers license.the same as for a drivers license.  Identification cards are issued to applicants who do notIdentification cards are issued to applicants who do not physically qualify for a drivers license, do not have aphysically qualify for a drivers license, do not have a current Alabama drivers license or who wish tocurrent Alabama drivers license or who wish to discontinue driving and surrender their license.discontinue driving and surrender their license.  The identification card bears a number and the name,The identification card bears a number and the name, date of birth, address, description of individual and adate of birth, address, description of individual and a color photo.color photo.
  • 31. Renewing Your LicenseRenewing Your License  Expires four years after it is issued.Expires four years after it is issued.  Expiration date is listed on license.Expiration date is listed on license.  May be renewed at any time within 60 days prior toMay be renewed at any time within 60 days prior to expiration at a cost of $23.50.expiration at a cost of $23.50.  Alabama law provides a grace period of 60 days afterAlabama law provides a grace period of 60 days after expiration date of a drivers license for the purpose ofexpiration date of a drivers license for the purpose of driver license renewal and the driver license shall bedriver license renewal and the driver license shall be valid for this period of time.valid for this period of time.  A person can renew a license within a 3 year periodA person can renew a license within a 3 year period after expiration without being re-examined. It is illegalafter expiration without being re-examined. It is illegal to drive with this license during this period of time.to drive with this license during this period of time.
  • 32. Duplicate LicenseDuplicate License  If your license is lost, destroyed, or becomesIf your license is lost, destroyed, or becomes illegible, but has not yet expired, you shouldillegible, but has not yet expired, you should apply for a duplicate license at your Probateapply for a duplicate license at your Probate Judge or License Commissioner Office.Judge or License Commissioner Office.  No examination is necessary.No examination is necessary.  Proof of identity such as a certified birthProof of identity such as a certified birth certificate is required at time of application.certificate is required at time of application.  The cost for a duplicate license is $18.50.The cost for a duplicate license is $18.50.
  • 33. Change of Name, AddressChange of Name, Address  If you wish to change your name, you shouldIf you wish to change your name, you should present proper documents (marriage certificatepresent proper documents (marriage certificate or court order)or court order)  A duplicate fee will be charged for a correctedA duplicate fee will be charged for a corrected licenselicense  After changing your address withinAfter changing your address within Alabama, you have 30 days in which toAlabama, you have 30 days in which to notify the Driver License Divisionnotify the Driver License Division  Confirm your correct mailing address as licenses ARE NOT forwarded.
  • 34. Organ Donor ProgramOrgan Donor Program  The Alabama Organ Center (AOC) is the federallyThe Alabama Organ Center (AOC) is the federally designated organ procurement organization for thedesignated organ procurement organization for the state of Alabama.state of Alabama.  The AOC encourages all Alabamians to make anThe AOC encourages all Alabamians to make an informed decision about organ and tissue donation.informed decision about organ and tissue donation.  Anyone can register.Anyone can register.  Share your decision with your family.Share your decision with your family.  If you are under the age of 18, you can register yourIf you are under the age of 18, you can register your wishes to be a donor, but a parent’s consent is requiredwishes to be a donor, but a parent’s consent is required for donation to take place.for donation to take place.
  • 35. VESSEL LICENSEVESSEL LICENSE  AS of 1994, operator certification is required ofAS of 1994, operator certification is required of all operators of motorized watercrafts.all operators of motorized watercrafts.  Persons 12 years of age and older may obtain aPersons 12 years of age and older may obtain a vessel license and operate a vessel ONLY withvessel license and operate a vessel ONLY with an adult on board who is 21 years of age oran adult on board who is 21 years of age or older who has a valid vessel license and can takeolder who has a valid vessel license and can take immediate control of the vessel.immediate control of the vessel.  A licensed operator, 14 years of older, mayA licensed operator, 14 years of older, may operate a vessel alone.operate a vessel alone.
  • 36. STAR IDSTAR ID  In response to acts of terrorism committedIn response to acts of terrorism committed against the United States, and in an effort toagainst the United States, and in an effort to ensure the safety of citizens, Congress passedensure the safety of citizens, Congress passed the REAL-ID Act of 2005.the REAL-ID Act of 2005.  This legislation modified U.S. federal lawThis legislation modified U.S. federal law pertaining to security, authentication, andpertaining to security, authentication, and issuance procedure standards for state driverissuance procedure standards for state driver licenses and identification cards.licenses and identification cards.  To comply, Alabama developed the STAR I.D.To comply, Alabama developed the STAR I.D.  STAR I.D. is a step beyond the normal licenseSTAR I.D. is a step beyond the normal license or ID card and meets federal requirements.or ID card and meets federal requirements.
  • 37. STAR IDSTAR ID  S – SecureS – Secure  T – TrustedT – Trusted  A – AndA – And  R – ReliableR – Reliable  IDentificationIDentification
  • 38. STAR I.D.STAR I.D.  Will go effect for those born afterWill go effect for those born after Dec. 1, 1964 on Dec. 1, 2014.Dec. 1, 1964 on Dec. 1, 2014.  For those born on or before that date, the newFor those born on or before that date, the new regulation will be effective Dec. 1, 2017.regulation will be effective Dec. 1, 2017.  Available at local DPS offices (not probateAvailable at local DPS offices (not probate offices).offices).
  • 39. STAR IDSTAR ID  Students will need to supply these documents:Students will need to supply these documents:  Certified Birth CertificateCertified Birth Certificate  Social Security CardSocial Security Card  School Enrollment formSchool Enrollment form And another form toAnd another form to verify proof of addressverify proof of address (from(from parent). Examples:parent). Examples: Voter registration card, mortgage contract, lease orVoter registration card, mortgage contract, lease or rental agreement, payment of property tax,rental agreement, payment of property tax, previous year tax returns,previous year tax returns, vehicle registrationvehicle registration,, utility bill, homeowners insurance policy, etc.utility bill, homeowners insurance policy, etc.
  • 40. GRADUATEDGRADUATED DRIVER LICENSEDRIVER LICENSE ALABAMA 2012ALABAMA 2012
  • 41. Graduated Driver LicenseGraduated Driver License  It does not apply to:It does not apply to:  Individuals 18 years of age or older.Individuals 18 years of age or older.  Individuals 17 years of age who have had a valid drivers licenseIndividuals 17 years of age who have had a valid drivers license for 6 months or longer.for 6 months or longer.  Individuals who are 16 years of age or older who are marriedIndividuals who are 16 years of age or older who are married or the head of the house hold.or the head of the house hold.  Individuals who have been legally relieved of minority status.Individuals who have been legally relieved of minority status.  A person under the age of 18 may not apply for a unrestrictedA person under the age of 18 may not apply for a unrestricted drivers license until that person has held a learnersdrivers license until that person has held a learners license for at least a 6 month period with no violationslicense for at least a 6 month period with no violations of the restriction.of the restriction.
  • 42. Stage 1 Learner LicenseStage 1 Learner License  Must be fifteen years of age or older.Must be fifteen years of age or older.  Must complete and pass a written examMust complete and pass a written exam  Authorizes a teen to drive when accompanied by a parent, legalAuthorizes a teen to drive when accompanied by a parent, legal guardian, or licensed driver who is 21 years of age or older,guardian, or licensed driver who is 21 years of age or older, riding in the front seat.riding in the front seat.  Authorizes a teen to drive when accompanied by a licensed orAuthorizes a teen to drive when accompanied by a licensed or certified instructor riding in the front seatcertified instructor riding in the front seat  Must complete 30 hours of supervised practice driving ORMust complete 30 hours of supervised practice driving OR complete driver educationcomplete driver education..  Mandatory 6 month (180 days) holding period before the teenMandatory 6 month (180 days) holding period before the teen can move on to the next stage.can move on to the next stage.
  • 43. Stage 2 Restricted LicenseStage 2 Restricted License  Must be 16 years of age or older.Must be 16 years of age or older.  Must have permission from parent or legal guardian.Must have permission from parent or legal guardian.  Must complete and pass road skill exam.Must complete and pass road skill exam.  Must not have more than one passenger in the vehicle other thanMust not have more than one passenger in the vehicle other than the parent, legal guardian, or family member.the parent, legal guardian, or family member.  Must not use any hand held communication devices whileMust not use any hand held communication devices while driving.driving.  Must not drive during hours from midnight to six a.m. unlessMust not drive during hours from midnight to six a.m. unless accompanied by a parent, legal guardian, or licensed driver whoaccompanied by a parent, legal guardian, or licensed driver who is age 21 or older and with parental consent.is age 21 or older and with parental consent.
  • 44. Exemptions for Stage 2Exemptions for Stage 2  Going to and from work.Going to and from work.  Going to or from a school sponsored or religionGoing to or from a school sponsored or religion sponsored event.sponsored event.  Driving due to medical, fire, or law enforcementDriving due to medical, fire, or law enforcement emergency.emergency.  Driving to and from hunting and fishingDriving to and from hunting and fishing activities and show possession of requiredactivities and show possession of required license.license.
  • 45. Stage 3 Unrestricted LicenseStage 3 Unrestricted License  Must be 17 years of age or older.Must be 17 years of age or older.  Must have stage 2 license for at least 6 monthsMust have stage 2 license for at least 6 months before applying for stage 3 license.before applying for stage 3 license.  Individuals who are 18 or older may applyIndividuals who are 18 or older may apply immediately for a stage 3 license (passing gradeimmediately for a stage 3 license (passing grade on road skills exam is required).on road skills exam is required).
  • 46. EnforcementEnforcement  Violation of above conditions will cost a license to beViolation of above conditions will cost a license to be guilty of a traffic violation but will not be subject to anyguilty of a traffic violation but will not be subject to any criminal penalties or court cost.criminal penalties or court cost.  No citation or points will be assessed.No citation or points will be assessed.  In violation: 1In violation: 1stst offense can be restrictions extended foroffense can be restrictions extended for six months or until 18 years of age.six months or until 18 years of age.  22ndnd offense- 4 or more points can be assessed andoffense- 4 or more points can be assessed and license suspended for sixty days or until 18.license suspended for sixty days or until 18.