Low Budget Media Buying for BeginnersIf you’re looking to learn how to drive cheap, unlimited traffic, in a simple way, th...
- Uninformed web masters (basically some have no idea what to charge for advertising,take advantage of this)- For smaller ...
We want to look for sites getting less than 20k-30k uniques per day if possible.One of my best small buys had 2500 US uniq...
Boards.com lists some of the busiest forums on the web for related forums.Again, think in terms of demographics. A forum o...
Like I said, the majority won’t contact you. If you like, you can e-mail them severaltimes.If you get a response, a lot of...
the webmaster has confirmed it:$1.00/1000 x 100000 = $100 Max CostSo for this buy, $100 should be the max we pay. Now, we ...
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Low Budget Media Buying for Beginners

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If you’re looking to learn how to drive cheap, unlimited traffic, in a simple way, then you’ve come to the right place.

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Low Budget Media Buying for Beginners

  1. 1. Low Budget Media Buying for BeginnersIf you’re looking to learn how to drive cheap, unlimited traffic, in a simple way, thenyou’ve come to the right place.This is one of my favorite methods of driving traffic to CPA offers, Clickbank products,and my own products. In this article, I’ll be breaking it down step-by-step so you can getstarted right away. This is going to show you an unlimited abyss of traffic that is not onlysimple to access, but it can be very affordable and targeted.The way I generate the majority of my traffic is via Media Buying. If you aren’t aware,when most people say media buying, they mean large volume banner buys on websitesor via networks. But obviously there are some barriers of entry for most people in termsof getting into media buying, and it does carry some risks. Traditional media buying cancost thousands up front, and it takes a while before you can get profitable.So today, I want to go into a bit of detail on how to do smaller site media buys, which issomething that is typically cheaper per month than pay per click marketing, but can stillgenerate good ROI.Most of the time when people hear about Media Buying, they think of $100,000 permonth costs, and large upfront minimums to mysterious ad networks.Sure, that’s one way to go about it, but really Media Buying is just buying any type of adspace/time. As I said before, most people are referring to banner buys, and while thesecan typically have a high cost of entry, today I want to show you a way that anyone canget started.In fact, I still have some buys going this way that bring in a consistent 300% ROI everymonth without me having to really administer them much.First, there are a few advantages as to why you will want to go direct to a site and buybanner space this way:- Rarely will you encounter restrictions on your ad styles and offers- Less competition than a lot of platforms- Most things are negotiable in terms of price/placement/term (try negotiating withGoogle, good luck!)- There is an almost unlimited number of sites you can go after, just takes some digging- Full transparency as to where your ads are showing
  2. 2. - Uninformed web masters (basically some have no idea what to charge for advertising,take advantage of this)- For smaller site buys which we’re covering today, you can get most buys for under$300/month. And typically $150-200! Thats less than $10/day for targeted traffic.- For our smaller site buys, we will be buying on a flat rate. If your click through rate onyour ads is good, you could be getting some really cheap traffic.So how do we buy banner space from small sites? Well, I’ll assume that most peoplereading this are into affiliate marketing and CPA marketing, so here is a brief step bystep (this works great for product owners as well, but I will assume most reading aredoing affiliate marketing)....Step 1: Choosing an Offer/MarketFor this post, I’m going to focus on choosing the offer first and finding sites relevant tothat offer.You’re also free to find traffic sources within a target demographic and try to monetizetheir traffic with multiple offers, but for our purposes today, let’s find an offer first.I always recommend that if you’re doing CPA marketing, have a good relationship withyour affiliate manager. If they know what they’re doing, they’ll give you the top offerswithin your vertical of choice. So our first step here is to talk to your affiliate managerand get the top 3 offers in the vertical of your choice. Check the demographics of youroffer in Offervault.com. Also, cross reference if possible with Google Ad Planner andMSN Adlabs.If youre doing Clickbank, look for the highest popularity and gravity offers that have agood amount of historical traffic. (check compete.com for traffic details)Step 2: Finding SitesWe want to find 20 – 30 potential target sites that fit our offer demographics. Obviouslyyou can find less but many small web masters won’t get back to you.That is probably the #1 disadvantage of dealing with small sites. If it bothers you enoughand you have the funds to do so, outsource the site finding and get someone to contactall the webmasters.That way you will deal only with setting up the buy with those that get back to you.
  3. 3. We want to look for sites getting less than 20k-30k uniques per day if possible.One of my best small buys had 2500 US uniques per day.Here are a few of the methods I use to find smaller sites to approach:Option 1: Google Search- Simply go to one of the Big 3 engines, preferably Google, and search for very targetedterms to your vertical.Take a look at the sites in the organic search results. Check traffic levels inCompete.com, Google Ad Planner, Alexa & Quantcast.com. Find a common thread whenit comes to traffic levels.If you have converting keywords from PPC campaigns, easiest method is to go after sitesthat rank high for those converting keywords. This goes for converting Google ContentNetwork placements as well.Approach them privately and cut out the middle man. Try to be as targeted as possiblehere.- Look up demographics and cross reference with Google Ad Planner, MSN Adlabs, &Quantcast if available.Option 2: Google Ad Planner & QuantCast Planner- Go to Google Ad Planner & QuantCast Planner, and specify the exact demographics ofyour offer.You’ll be given a list of sites that fit your criteria. I like to sort these sites by CompositionIndex, which usually gives me smaller sites that are the most targeted to mydemographic.Once you’ve found some good candidates, you can use the affinity index on Google AdPlanner and QuantCast Planner to find even more sites that are likely to be visited byyour demographic.Option 3: Forums- A lot of times, forum owners have no idea what to charge for advertising. This can giveus the opportunity to get some cheap banner space!Go the website Big-Boards.com, and search for sites related to your niche. Big-
  4. 4. Boards.com lists some of the busiest forums on the web for related forums.Again, think in terms of demographics. A forum on quilting, for example, might respondwell to an anti-aging product.Step 3: Contacting SitesContacting small sites can be a challenge since only 10-15% of small site owners will getback to you.First obvious step is to look at the navigation or scroll down to the bottom and see ifthere is an “advertise” link. If there is no advertise link, is there a “contact” link?If there is neither of these, use your favourite “whois” look up for that domain and see ifthere is some contact info there.For forums, if none of the above work and you really want to get on there, post in theforum on how to get a hold of an admin or the site owner.I’ve had to do this before for a forum in Google Content Network that was convertinggreat for me and I wanted to cut out Google.So, now it’s time to e-mail the smaller site.The way in which I contact smaller sites is a bit more casual than when I contact a largersite.Here is a script that I use in my e-mails:“Hi there (if there is no contact name)I was wondering if I could get some info for banner advertising on your site__________.comI’d like to do a test buy as soon as possible.Thanks very much,Chad Hamzeh”This is a template I pretty much copy and paste since we are contacting so many sites.Step 4: Deciding What to Pay
  5. 5. Like I said, the majority won’t contact you. If you like, you can e-mail them severaltimes.If you get a response, a lot of times it will be vague, and sometimes they will want youto name a price.For smaller sites, I will typically then ask how many impressions my ad will see in themonth. Tell them you want to buy the entire ad slot for the month, and not be rotatedwith other advertisers. Cross reference their impression number with the total pageviews number in Google Ad Planner (if available) assuming you purchased 100%impressions.Also, keep in mind that if you are promoting CPA offers, they will only be eligible forcertain countries, take this into account when measuring traffic levels. This is extremelyimportant.When I don’t have much data to go off, I will calculate a theoretical maximum CPM (costper thousand impressions) based on page view data, a lower click through rate (CTR) of0.25%, and a conversion rate from the click of 1% when using a lander, and of course myoffer payout.I can use a higher conversion rate for offers not requiring a credit card or if I have a lotof data and its my own product.But again this is simply giving us an estimate. Also take in mind direct linking vs. landingpages. You’re really just going to get a rough estimate here.The way I calculate a theoretical maximum CPM is as follows:Offer Payout x 1000 x CTR x Conversion Rate = Max CPMSo, if we had an offer which pays out $40, and our test CTR was 0.25%, and ourconversion rate from the click was 1% it would look like this:$40 x 1000 x 0.0025 x .01 = 1…. so the max we should pay here with these numbers inplace would be $1 CPMNow, all we need to do is calculate the max cost. And that is done by the followingformula:Max CPM/1000 x Impressions = Max CostSo let’s say that we’ve estimated that we will get 100,000 impressions for our buy and
  6. 6. the webmaster has confirmed it:$1.00/1000 x 100000 = $100 Max CostSo for this buy, $100 should be the max we pay. Now, we were kind of under estimatingon the banner CTR and conversion rates, so if you have previous data for that campaignthat can warrant higher numbers there, by all means use those numbers.I will also use Cubestat.com to get a very rough estimate of what kind of daily revenuethat site might be experiencing.And finally, sometimes I will simply throw out a low figure for these small sites,something like $50-100 for the month and see the web masters reaction. Worst theycan say is no.As a guideline, I am usually looking to pay what would equate to under $1 CPM, ideally50 cents or under. But of course this can vary.At this point, it’s a matter of setting up your banners and tracking. For small direct buysif doing CPA/Clickbank, I recommend people use a free tracking platform calledProsper202. I personally use an Ad Server called AdShuffle, but I didn’t want to get intoad server tracking today. For my own products I will use Googles Website Optimizer andmy Ad Server.I simply setup each small site as it’s own traffic source in Prosper202.Again, the toughest thing about this method is hearing back from the web masters anddoing the initial research.Try to be as targeted as possible here in terms of both demographics and interests, it’llgive you higher click through rates especially if you’re using banner ads that call out tothat specific sites visitors.If you begin to outsource the research and/or contacting of the sites and you get a goodsystem going, you’ll enjoy the benefits of this method since most won’t go through thework of doing it.I hope that helps people having a tough time generating traffic. It’s definitely anevergreen model that can reap benefits for a long, long time.Now, if you’re interested in learning more of my exact, step by step strategies on how Idrove over 2 million clicks through my servers last year alone, then check out my TrafficBlackBook course today. Thanks very much for your time!

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