3 Australias Government

Uploaded on


More in: News & Politics
  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Be the first to comment
No Downloads


Total Views
On Slideshare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds



Embeds 0

No embeds

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

    No notes for slide


  • 1. Australia’s Government Unit 12 Notes
  • 2. Australia’s Government
    • Australia has a federal parliamentary democracy.
    • There are three key factors that determine Australia’s government:
      • form of leadership
      • type of legislature
      • role of the citizen
  • 3. Form of Leadership
    • Queen Elizabeth II (England) is the head of state.
      • She does not run the country, but she signs laws, approves elections, and is commander-in-chief of the military.
    • The prime minister recommends someone to represent the Queen in Australia—the governor-general.
    • The prime minister is the head of the government & has the most political power.
      • leader of the political party with the most members in the Commonwealth Parliament
  • 4. Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II
  • 5. Her Excellency The Right Honorable Quentin Bryce
  • 6. The Right Honorable Kevin Rudd
  • 7.  
  • 8. Type of Legislature
    • An elected government operates the country.
    • Every 4 years, citizens who are over 18 vote for members of parliament.
    • Parliament meets several times a year and makes laws that affect how Australians live.
    • There are 2 houses of the Commonwealth Parliament:
      • House of Representatives
      • Senate
  • 9. Type of Legislature
    • House of Representatives : Australia is divided into areas called electorates; people living in each electorate vote for a person to represent them in parliament.
      • elected person becomes the MP of the House of Representatives for that area
    • Senate : people from each state and the 2 territories elect 12 people to be their senators
  • 10. Role of the Citizen
    • democracy: voters choose the lawmakers
    • Everyone who is 18 or over is required by law to vote.
      • Citizens can be fined or go to court if they don’t vote.
    • Citizens vote for MPs -- the leader of the party that gets the most votes becomes the prime minister.
    • Voters do not vote for the head of state (Queen), the governor-general, or directly for the prime minister.
  • 11. Role of the Citizen
    • Australians enjoy many freedoms.
      • freedom of religion, speech, job choice, travel, etc.
    • They can vote for the leaders that make laws and lead the country.
    • Their level of freedom is similar to what people have in the United Kingdom & the United States.