• Share
  • Email
  • Embed
  • Like
  • Save
  • Private Content
Top 3 tips for linkedin
 

Top 3 tips for linkedin

on

  • 421 views

This presentation discusses the Top 3 Tips to be Successful on LinkedIn: Profile, Groups, and Activity Status. I taught this presentation for my product, Third Tech Tuesday, for the Castle Rock ...

This presentation discusses the Top 3 Tips to be Successful on LinkedIn: Profile, Groups, and Activity Status. I taught this presentation for my product, Third Tech Tuesday, for the Castle Rock Chamber of Commerce.

Statistics

Views

Total Views
421
Views on SlideShare
421
Embed Views
0

Actions

Likes
0
Downloads
4
Comments
0

0 Embeds 0

No embeds

Accessibility

Upload Details

Uploaded via as Adobe PDF

Usage Rights

© All Rights Reserved

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Processing…
Post Comment
Edit your comment

    Top 3 tips for linkedin Top 3 tips for linkedin Presentation Transcript

    • LinkedIn: Top 3-Tips for More Success Michelle Post, Ph.D., CSMS
    • Did You Know? “Did you know that LinkedIn users are 8x more engaged with your brand, 3x more likely to buy your product and 2x more likely to recommend it once they’ve connected with you in LinkedIn?” (HootSuite, 2013) ©Michelle Post, Ph.D., CSMS
    • Lessons to Learn • Your Profile Says It All • Groups Are Great • Activity Updates: What To Say & When To Say It • Best Times to Post on Li ©Michelle Post, Ph.D., CSMS “80% of Social Media B2B Leads Come from LinkedIn” (Stenger, 2014, p. 1)
    • Before You Make Changes . . . • Turn on/off your activity broadcasts • Select who can see your activity feed • Edit your public profile – Make my public profile visible to no one ©Michelle Post, Ph.D., CSMS
    • Your Profile Says It All • Dr. Post’s LinkedIn Checklist – http://www.slideshare. net/mpostphd/sb2- linked-in-profile- checklist • Melonie Dodaro’s LinkedIn Checklist - http://topdogsocialmed ia.com/linkedin- marketing-infographic/ ©Michelle Post, Ph.D., CSMS Andrea Vahl LinkedIn Checklist - http://www.andreavahl.com/linkedin/linkedin- checklist-infographic.php Neal Schaffer - http://maximizesocialbusiness.com/professional-linkedin-profile-tips- checklist-9648/
    • Groups Are Great! • Topic specific • Industry specific • Full of professionals • Concentrated on niche industry, niche location, or a combination of both • People regularly visit the Discussion Boards within groups • Stay up with industry information Types of Groups • Regional * Industry • Large * Occupational • Networking * Alumni • Special Interest ©Michelle Post, Ph.D., CSMS “LI Groups are a great place for professionals looking for business or a business partner” (Schaffer, 2009, p. 139). • Go where you customers are • Become a thought leader within a group • Recruit from groups • Conduct market research • Ask for testimonials / reviews • Groups are like virtual networking • Top TIP: Fewer groups & be more active
    • Perfect LinkedIn Status Update ©Michelle Post, Ph.D., CSMS
    • Best Times To Post on LinkedIn ©Michelle Post, Ph.D., CSMS To see the full Infographic read: The Best Times To Post On Facebook, Twitter, Google+, LinkedIn And Pinterest
    • The LinkedIn Experts • Sahar Andrade: http://linkedin.com/in/saharandrade • Bernie Borges: http://www.linkedin.com/in/bernieborges • Wayne Breitbarth: http://www.linkedin.com/in/waynebreitbarth • Melonie Dodaro: http://www.linkedin.com/in/meloniedodaro • JD Gershbein: http://linkedin.com/in/jdgershbein • Lewis Howes: www.linkedin.com/in/lewishowes • Rick Itzkowich: http://www.linkedin.com/in/ritzkowich • Nathan Kievman: http://linkedin.com/in/nathankievman • Colleen McKenna: http://www.linkedin.com/in/colleenmckenna • Flynn Penoyer: www.linkedin.com/in/flynpenoyer • Neal Schaffer: http://www.linkedin.com/in/nealschaffer • Jan Vermerien: http://be.linkedin.com/in/janvermeiren • Viveka von Rosen: http://linkedin.com/in/linkedinexpert ©Michelle Post, Ph.D., CSMS
    • Dr. Post’s Resources • LinkedIn Profile Checklist – http://www.slideshare.net/mpostphd/sb2-linked-in-profile- checklist • LinkedIn: Top 3 Tips for More Success - http://www.slideshare.net/mpostphd/top-3-tips-for-linkedin • LinkedIn for Business Pinterest Board - http://www.pinterest.com/mpostphd/linkedin-for-business/ • LinkedIn For Business - http://www.slideshare.net/mpostphd/linked-in-for-business- 23212287 • LinkedIn, Creating a Company Page - http://www.slideshare.net/mpostphd/3-rdtt-li-and-company- pages ©Michelle Post, Ph.D., CSMS
    • Additional Resources • LinkedIn Cheat Sheet for Dummies - http://www.bitrebels.com/social/linkedin-cheat-sheet-for- dummies/?=v1 • How to Create a Kick-Ass LinkedIn Profile - http://topdogsocialmedia.com/linkedin-marketing-infographic/ • Melonie Dodaro’s LinkedIn Pinterest Board - http://www.pinterest.com/meloniedodaro/linkedin-marketing- strategies/ • Melonie Dodaro’s Free LinkedIn Checklist - http://linkedinchecklist.com/ • 3 Business Reasons to Upgrade to LinkedIn Premium - http://www.socialmediaexaminer.com/3-business-reasons-to- upgrade-to-linkedin-premium/ • Up and Running with LinkedIn - http://bit.ly/1t33vUY ©Michelle Post, Ph.D., CSMS
    • Additional Resources • LinkedIn Etiquette Guide: 20 Do’s & Don’ts [INFOGRAPHIC] - http://topdogsocialmedia.com/linkedin-etiquette-infographic/ • The 15 Best Free LinkedIn Training Resources on The Internet - http://topdogsocialmedia.com/linkedin-training-resources/ • The LinkedIn Settings Mistakes Most People Still Make - http://www.forbes.com/sites/cherylsnappconner/2014/01/25 /the-important-linkedin-settings-most-people-miss/ • Josh Turner’s LinkedIn University - http://linkeduniversity.com/ • LinkedIn Strategies You Tube - http://www.youtube.com/user/linkedstrategies?feature=watc h • Viveka Von Rosen - http://www.youtube.com/user/LinkedInExpert?feature=watch ©Michelle Post, Ph.D., CSMS
    • Additional Resources • 8 Ways to Use LinkedIn Groups to Boost Your Business - http://www.cio.com/article/747400/8_Ways_to_Use_LinkedIn_Groups _to_Boost_Your_Business • LinkedIn Group’s Directory - http://www.linkedin.com/directory/groups/ • 10 Steps To Set Up Your Own LinkedIn Group [INFOGRAPHIC] - http://topdogsocialmedia.com/linkedin-groups-infographic/ • Does Your LinkedIn Profile Read Like a Best-selling Book? - http://marketingthink.com/linkedin-profile-read-like-new-york-times- best-selling-book/ • LinkedIn Guide: Build Your Living Resume - http://www.makeuseof.com/pages/learn-linkedin-how-to-build-your- living-resume • Five LinkedIn Strategies You Haven't Thought Of Before - http://www.forbes.com/sites/cherylsnappconner/2013/10/27/five- linkedin-strategies-you-havent-thought-of-before/ ©Michelle Post, Ph.D., CSMS
    • References Dodaro, M. (n.d.). LinkedIn quote [Pinterest pin]. Retrieved from http://www.pinterest.com/pin/138415388518317641/ Multi Edge Media. (2013, April 27). Linkedin profile checklist [Slideshare presentation]. Retrieved from http://www.slideshare.net/JJRusch/linkedin- profile-checklist Piombino, K. (2013, June 12). The best and worst times to post on social media [Infographic]. Retrieved from http://www.entrepreneur.com/article/226973 SalesForce. (n.d.). Blueprint for the perfect LinkedIn status update [Pinterest pin]. Retrieved from http://www.pinterest.com/pin/486459197222581266/ Schaffer, N. (2009). Windmill networking: Understanding, leveraging & maximizing LinkedIn: An unofficial, step-by-step guide to creating & implementing your LinkedIn brand - social networking in a web 2.0 world. Charleston, SC: Book Surge Publishing. Styleresumes.com. (n.d). LinkedIn icon [Image file]. Retrieved from http://styleresumes.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/02/Linkedin-icon.png ©Michelle Post, Ph.D., CSMS
    • Michelle Post, Ph.D., CSMS ©Michelle Post, Ph.D., CSMS
    • #3RdTT Workshops for 2014 • May 20 - Top 3-Tips for Google+ • June 17 - Social Media: Do It Yourself or Outsource – Which is Cheaper? • July 15 - Outsourcing with Fiverr • Aug 19 - Finding Your Target Market for Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn • Sept 16 - Creating a Social Media Campaign for Brand Awareness • Oct 21 - Content Curation Tools are Cool • Nov 18 - Keywords are Key • Dec 16 - How do you measure up? Performing a Self-Social Media Audit ©Michelle Post, Ph.D., CSMS