Your SlideShare is downloading. ×
Mexican leaders since 1824
Mexican leaders since 1824
Mexican leaders since 1824
Mexican leaders since 1824
Mexican leaders since 1824
Mexican leaders since 1824
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5

Thanks for flagging this SlideShare!

Oops! An error has occurred.

Saving this for later? Get the SlideShare app to save on your phone or tablet. Read anywhere, anytime – even offline.
Text the download link to your phone
Standard text messaging rates apply

Mexican leaders since 1824


Published on

Published in: News & Politics
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Total Views
On Slideshare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

Report content
Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

No notes for slide


  • 1. Mexican Leaders since 1824
    By: Maria Moreno
    History 30
    Professor Arguello
  • 2. Benito Juarez
    Benito Juarez was a liberal reformer.
    Benito Juarez was a Mexican politician and statesman of the late nineteenth century.
    He was president for five terms in the turbulent years of 1858 to 1872.
    Perhaps the most remarkable aspect of Juarez’s life in politics is his background:
    He was a full-blooded native of Zapotec descent – the only full-blooded native to ever serve as president of Mexico – who did not even speak Spanish until he was in his teens.
    He was an important and charismatic leader whose influence is still felt today.
  • 3. Francisco (Pancho) Villa
    José Doroteo Arango Arámbula (5 June 1878 – 20 July 1923), better known by Francisco Villa or its nick name Pancho Villa, was one of the most prominent Mexican Revolution.
    As commander of the Division Del Norte(Division of the North), he was the veritable Caudilloof the Northern Mexican state of Chihuahua which, given its size, mineral wealth, and proximity to the United States of America, provided him with extensive resources.
    Villa was also provisional Governor of Chihuahua 1913 and 1914.
  • 4. Emilio Zapata
    Emiliano Zapata Salazar (August 8, 1879 – April 10, 1919) was a leading figure in the Mexican Revolution which broke out in 1910, and which was initially directed against the president Porfirio Díaz.
    He formed and commanded an important revolutionary force, the Liberation Army of the South, during the Mexican Revolution.
    Followers of Zapata were known as Zapatistas.
  • 5. Vicente Guerrero
    Vicente Ramón Guerrero Saldaña was the second president of Mexico and the first to come from las clases populares (the "popular" classes), which in Spanish is a euphemism for an individual of peasant or working class background.
    This circumstance of birth is important because it would have a decisive effect on both Guerrero's life and death.
    Born in Tixtla, a village in the sierra that furnishes a backdrop to Acapulco, he was of obscure origins and racially mixed background.
    His birth date was August 10, 1782.
  • 6. Antonio Lopez De Santanna
    Santa Anna was born in Jalapa, Veracruz, in 1794.
    1836 saw Santa Anna making history in Texas.
    Santa Anna was down but not out. In 1838 a ludicrous skirmish took place which became known as the Pastry War.