Your SlideShare is downloading. ×
Michael kissiedu
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5

Thanks for flagging this SlideShare!

Oops! An error has occurred.


Saving this for later?

Get the SlideShare app to save on your phone or tablet. Read anywhere, anytime - even offline.

Text the download link to your phone

Standard text messaging rates apply

Michael kissiedu


Published on

Published in: Education

  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Total Views
On Slideshare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

Report content
Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

No notes for slide


  • 1. Michael KissieduThe femaleReproductiveSystem
  • 2. The three stages oflabor and delivery • Dilation stage- This begins with the onsetare: of uterine labor contractions, and it is the longest phase of labor. The first stage is divided- Dilation Stage into three phases: latent, active, and deceleration.- Expulsion Stage- Placental stage
  • 3. Dilation stage• In the latent phase- the contractions become more frequent, stronger, and gain regularity, and most of the change of the cervix involves thinning, or effacement. The latent phase is the most variable from woman to woman, and from labor to labor.• The next stage is the active phase- which is the phase of the most rapid cervical dilatation. For most women this is from 3 to 4 centimeters of dilatation until 8 to 9 centimeters of dilatation. It usually last for 5 hours for first pregnant mothers whiles it can last for at least 2 hours for second or third mothers.• Finally, there is the deceleration phase- this is when the cervical dilation continues, but at a slower pace, until full dilation. This is also a phase of more rapid descent, when the baby is passing lower into the pelvis and deeper into the birth canal. This is also called the transition stage and symptoms like vomiting and shaking occurs here, indicating the completion of the process.
  • 4. Expulsion Stage• The second stage is the delivery of the infant. During the second stage, mom actively pushes out the baby. For first time mothers, this can take two to three hours, so it’s important to save your energy and pace yourself. For second babies and beyond, the second stage often lasts less than an hour – and sometimes, only a few minutes.
  • 5. Placental stage• The third stage of labor is the passage of the placenta, which can be immediate, or take up to thirty minutes. The process may be sped up naturally by breastfeeding (which releases oxytocin), or medically by administering a drug called Pitocin.
  • 6. Gynecology• is the medical practice dealing with the health of the female reproductive system (uterus, vagina, and ovaries).• The person who practices gynecology is called a gynecologists• A gynecologist helps to improve the female reproductive system by making any diseases whether sexually transmitted or through birth does not affect the lifespan of the female reproductive system.
  • 7. Some tools and methods Gynecologist use to treat patients• Gynecologists are doctors who specialize in womens health. According to the Bureau of Labor, "OB/GYN’s attempt to prevent, diagnose, and treat general female anatomy, such as cancers of the breast or cervix, urinary tract and pelvic disorders, and hormonal disorders." Gynecologists use a variety of tools for pap smear examinations, prenatal visits, postnatal visits, testing and surgery.•
  • 8. Embryo• As the fertilized egg develops into the baby we see at birth, it goes through three main stages of growth:• 1. the stage of the zygote (before implantation)• 2. the stage of the embryo (early in the pregnancy)• 3. the stage of the fetus (later in the pregnancy).• The word embryo (Greek: swelling within) refers to the growing organism from the second to the eighth week of its life. During this time, it develops from a tiny cell cluster into a little growth of about 1 inch in length.• As this development proceeds, the placenta, a special organ of interchange, begins to grow between the embryo and the uterus. The embryo is connected to the placenta by the umbilical cord. (Soon after the birth of the baby, its umbilical cord is still connected to the placenta which is then expelled from the uterus. For this reason, the placenta is also called the afterbirth.) The placenta acts as a filter and as a barrier
  • 9. Embryo• During the first month of its life, the human embryo looks like that of any other higher animal, such as a cat, dog, or pig, for example. Then, during the second month, it slowly assumes human features.• It starts to develop a recognizable face, as well as arms, legs, fingers, and toes. Between its legs, the primitive beginnings of sexual organs become discernible, although they are still undifferentiated at this point (i.e., they are the same for both male and female).• When the entire growing organism finally becomes clearly identifiable as human, it leaves the stage of the embryo and enters that of the fetus.
  • 10. Development of the Embryo: they vary from 1.4 weeks, 2.5 weeks, 3.6 weeks, 4.7 weeks and 5.8 weeks in order.