• Save
The five pillars of islam
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5

The five pillars of islam






Total Views
Views on SlideShare
Embed Views



2 Embeds 5

http://www.slideshare.net 3
http://storage.conduit.com 2



Upload Details

Uploaded via as Microsoft PowerPoint

Usage Rights

© All Rights Reserved

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
Post Comment
Edit your comment

    The five pillars of islam The five pillars of islam Presentation Transcript

    • The Five Pillars of Islam Shahada Salat Zakat Sawm Hajj © Karen Devine 2008
    • Shahada
      • A declaration of faith- “there is no God but Allah and Muhammad is the messenger of God”.
      • A Muslim must say this creed with conviction, aloud, at least once in their lifetime.
    • Salat
      • The performance of 5 daily ritual prayers facing Mecca.
      • The five prayer times are:
      • dawn prayer
      • midday prayer
      • mid afternoon prayer
      • sunset prayer
      • night prayer
      • Prayer time is not determined by the clock, but by the position of the sun.
    • Salat
      • Ritual purity must occur before praying. This includes washing:
      • hands and arms to the elbows
      • mouth and nose
      • feet to the ankles.
      • There are also requirements regarding the positions of prayer, intentions to pray, dress and the direction faced.
      • Prayer times around the world indicate the community of believers or umma.
    • Zakat
      • Almsgiving
      • In Islam, all wealth belongs to God, humans are merely the custodians of it.
      • Zakat is a compulsory contribution of 1/40 of one’s surplus wealth to the needy.
      • It is an act of obedience to Allah.
      • Zakat shows that all are equal before Allah.
      • Voluntary contributions are also encouraged.
    • Sawm
      • Fasting occurs in the 9th month of the Muslim year (Ramadan).
      • Sawm involves abstaining from food, drink, smoking and sex during daylight hours.
      • There is an increased focus on prayer and meditation.
      • The motivation behind the fast is obedience to the divine command in the Qur’an.
      • By fasting, Muslims seek to share in the suffering of the poor and seek reconciliation and forgiveness.
    • Hajj
      • The Hajj is a pilgrimage to Mecca which all Muslims are expected to make at least once in their lives.
      • It is performed in the 12th month of the Islamic calendar.
      • All pilgrims bathe, have a haircut and dress in white.
      • They are all equal in one united umma.
    • Hajj
      • At Mecca the pilgrims perform a number of rites recalling the life of the prophet.
      • The climax of the pilgrimage is the great festival, the festival of sacrifice.
      • At this festival many animals are slaughtered and the meat is given to the poor.
    • Question Time
      • Research the changes that have occurred in Mecca in recent years as a result of the Hajj.