Your SlideShare is downloading. ×
Meeting Minutes 1.28.10
Meeting Minutes 1.28.10
Meeting Minutes 1.28.10
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5
×

Thanks for flagging this SlideShare!

Oops! An error has occurred.

×
Saving this for later? Get the SlideShare app to save on your phone or tablet. Read anywhere, anytime – even offline.
Text the download link to your phone
Standard text messaging rates apply

Meeting Minutes 1.28.10

441

Published on

The steering committe met at MHSM office on January 28, 2010.

The steering committe met at MHSM office on January 28, 2010.

0 Comments
1 Like
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

No Downloads
Views
Total Views
441
On Slideshare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
0
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
6
Comments
0
Likes
1
Embeds 0
No embeds

Report content
Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
No notes for slide

Transcript

  • 1. ENERGY EFFICIENCY & CONSERVATION STRATEGY MEETING MINUTES MHSM # 0907.00 January 28, 2010 Committee Members Present:  Jeanne Hamming jhamming@centenary.edu  Ian Webb ian@rivercitycycling.com  Jeff Wellborn jwellborn@seaber.com Committee Members Absent:  Lee Jeter Sr. ljeter@fullercenternwla.org  Leia Lewis lajordanlewis@yahoo.com  Stuart Crichton stuartcrichton8@gmail.com  Gregory Coates gcoates@trane.com Other Attendees:  Kim Mitchell kmitchell@mhsmarchitects.com  Caroline Majors cmajors@mhsmarchitects.com  Murray Lloyd murrayll@bellsouth.net  Patti Trudell ptrudell@certla.org CC:  Mike Strong mike.strong@shreveportla.gov  Wes Wyche wes.wyche@shreveportla.gov  Tim Wachtel timothy.wachtel@shreveportla.gov  Sharon Swanson sswanson@mhsmarchitects.com  Lola Kendrick lolak@bellsouth.net  Bruce Hoffman bruce@gulfgeoexchange.com  Kim provided an update on the DOE review. A DOE representative contacted Wes and communicated that the budget forms may need additional detail, but overall, the EECS submission appears to be in good form. The anticipated timeline for the full review/ approval process is still unknown, but Wes will keep us all informed.  Committee members discussed the Strategic Doing Workshop. Many of the guests who attended the workshop had positive feedback. They are interested in the process and the purposes of the committee.  In the future, as working groups are formed and more people are brought into the process, additional facilitation training would valuable. The committee should be trained on how to guide productive conversations and keep working groups moving in the right direction. We should also put together a presentation to orient new people to the strategic doing process and the mission/purposes of the EECS.
  • 2.  Jeanne volunteered to help develop a presentation that would communicate these ideas to multiple audiences: city officials, the council, community members, working groups, etc.  Ian asked if there were published resources available on strategic doing, books, forms, etc.  No book is available, but we do have a number of working materials, sample forms, and online resources: http://i-open.org/about_i-open.html http://www.scribd.com/doc/17304276/IOpen-White-Paper-41 http://www.scribd.com/doc/17180144/Iopen-White-Paper-Strategi http://www.scribd.com/doc/13499030/Innovating-Networks-White-Paper-v3efm http://www.scribd.com/doc/17180205/Civic-Forum-White-Paper-Final http://www.scribd.com/doc/15722797/Colorado-Workforce-Strategic-Doing- Pack-Ed-Morrison-Linda-Fowler http://www.scribd.com/doc/16662993/Lansing-Strategic-Doing-Pack-June-12 http://midtownbrews.net/overview/welcome http://edmorrison.com/  The committee discussed the need to know how their work connects to the City’s goals and purposes (i.e. the possibility for a new Energy Department), and the need to clearly communicate the role of the committee in accomplishing these goals.  Jeanne illustrated the structure of the committee and its potential relationship to the City, a possible Energy Department, working groups, and the community as a whole. The committee discussed the difference between structure and process, and reaffirmed the committee’s primary role as a community organizer. The committee could connect people to resources –and people to people– advocating for and leveraging the assets within our community related to energy efficiency and conservation.  The committee discussed the need to not only revisit the charter, listed below, but also to agree to a “rules of engagement” social contract and a set of protocols for future meetings/decision making. 1. the possibility of deep/meaningful/positive change 2. core scientific values –evidence-based action 3. inclusive and diverse community engagement 4. a motivation to improve quality of life in Shreveport 5. that deep change can (and needs to) prove to be beneficial for all 6. sustainability, integrity, flexibility, elasticity, resilience 7. that our community can learn to value the earth and its resources  Additionally, the committee will need to develop the mission statements below, for each of the EEC focus areas, in order to generate interest and support. 1. building energy efficiency: reduce building energy consumption by 25% 2. green workforce/business incentives: design education, workforce, and business development systems to support a sustainable economy
  • 3. 3. clean & renewable energy sources: design diversified, decentralized energy systems that provide for flexible supply and demand 4. reduction of waste & pollution: zero waste, contamination reduction, air and water quality improvement, step change reduction in our waste stream, feed ourselves through local food systems 5. energy education & outreach: develop a network, targeting key influencers, guiding conversations to achieve a cultural shift, and defining a new civic space –a different way of connecting and conversing to accomplish goals 6. transportation & land use: choice and flexibility, mobility, walkability, bike paths, smart growth, reduce transportation-based energy consumption and establish more efficient land use patterns 7. other: to be developed as needed  Finally, all present agreed that the name for the committee needed to change to something more compelling than EECS, and that the next meeting should be a working session, perhaps in a less formal - more social environment. Meeting Adjourned

×