Your SlideShare is downloading. ×
  • Like
EECS Meeting Minutes October 8, 2009
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5
×

Thanks for flagging this SlideShare!

Oops! An error has occurred.

×

Now you can save presentations on your phone or tablet

Available for both IPhone and Android

Text the download link to your phone

Standard text messaging rates apply

EECS Meeting Minutes October 8, 2009

  • 275 views
Published

Meeting Minutes

Meeting Minutes

Published in Design , Technology , Education
  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Be the first to comment
    Be the first to like this
No Downloads

Views

Total Views
275
On SlideShare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
0

Actions

Shares
Downloads
4
Comments
0
Likes
0

Embeds 0

No embeds

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
    No notes for slide

Transcript

  • 1. ENERGY EFFICIENCY & CONSERVATION STRATEGY MEETING MINUTES MHSM # 0907.00 October 8, 2009 Steering Committee: • Lee Jeter Sr. ljeter@fullercenternwla.org • Jeanne Hamming jhamming@centenary.edu • Greg Coates gcoates@trane.com • Jeff Welborn jwellborn@seaber.com • Joe Pierce Jr. jpiercejr@comcast.net • Ian Webb ian@rivercitycycling.com • Stuart Crichton stuartcrichton8@gmail.com • Leia Lewis lajordanlewis@yahoo.com • Roy Griggs roy.griggs@partners.mcd.com Other Attendees: • Wes Wyche wes.wyche@shreveportla.gov • Tim Wachtel timothy.wachtel@shreveportla.gov • Kim Mitchell kmitchell@mhsmarchitects.com • Bruce Hoffman bruce@gulfgeoexchange.com • Caroline Majors cmajors@mhsmarchitects.com • Patti Trudell ptrudell@certla.org Cc: • Mike Strong mike.strong@shreveportla.gov • Sharon Swanson sswanson@mhsmarchitects.com • Richard Lane richard@gulfgeoexchange.com • Murray Lloyd murrayll@bellsouth.net • Gala Daftary gala@gulfgeoexchange.com The minutes of the October 1 meeting were approved as drafted. Kim noted that some potential names have been received from committee members for the proposed work groups, and encouraged committee members to continue sending in names. Bruce Hoffman gave a slide presentation on the 14 eligible activities of the EECS. He noted that a goal should be to use the current $1.9 million dollar allocation to leverage more significant dollars and programs. He showed an example “Energy Efficiency & Conservation Strategy “ (EECS) document (also referred to as the EECBG program’s
  • 2. “Attachment D”) submitted earlier by the City of Louisville, and stated that the EECS to be submitted for Shreveport would need to be more detailed (patterned after a document he showed which was prepared by the City of Chicago). He suggested that Steering Committee members may have interest in one or more of the 14 activities and can focus on their interests or on all of the activities. He noted that Caroline Majors is putting together a web-based database for use by the committee as an idea-sharing resource. He recommended that at least some of the EECBG funds be spent to build “business cases” for projects (rather than being spent on projects themselves), contending that this approach will result in allowing projects to grow in scale through leveraging with other available resources. He noted that Caddo Parish has received a $368,000 energy allocation through the same EECBG program (in their case, administered by the state Department of Natural Resources rather than directly by the US Dept. of Energy). He shared the recommendation he has presented to the Parish on how this funding should be allocated among the various categories of eligible activities, showing how he expected each such allocation to result in a corresponding leveraging of additional dollars totaling $3,730,000. Kim Mitchell then gave a presentation on the concept of “strategic doing”—in essence, a model of working in which ideas, resources and people are linked and leveraged and work silos are eliminated. He encouraged the committee to adopt this approach to its work. He and Caroline Majors discussed the proposed web-based platform for idea sharing. Among the comments from committee members: - Leia Lewis asked how the idea of community gardening can be brought to scale as city-wide “urban forestry” concept. Bruce noted that consideration of this type of idea is a perfect example of the kinds of things this committee will be doing, and he and Caroline noted how the web-based resource being developed would facilitate productive discussion on this and other creative ideas. - Greg Coates stated that the concepts discussed were excellent but noted that there was potential for information overload, given the short time that the committee has to do its initial work. He requested that efforts be made to prevent the committee from being overwhelmed as it focuses on the task at hand. - With regard to the proposed work groups, Joe Pierce noted that the objectives of what those groups would be called to do should be clearly stated up front. - Lee Jeter asked if there were any existing energy efficiency policies in place with the City or Parish, and was advised that there are not. He asked about the stakeholder list and how stakeholders would be involved. Kim Mitchell explained our goal is to identify potential people for each of the 7 focus areas identified in the previous meeting handout. - Ian Webb stated it would be very helpful for committee members to receive as much information as possible prior to committee meetings, so materials can be reviewed in advance. Specifically, it was requested that the draft framework document be circulated prior to the next meeting, if at all possible.
  • 3. Committee members were encouraged to continue submitting names for consideration for the work groups, and to review the various eligible activities (including the lists of potential projects within each category) on the Department of Energy’s website in order to get ideas for projects/programs on which the City’s $1.9 million allocation will be spent. Meeting Adjourned
  • 4. EECS STEERING COMMITTEE MEETING AGENDA DATE: Thursday, October 15, 2009 TIME: 4:00 – 5:30 P.M. LOCATION: 333 Texas Street, Suite 1200 MHSM office. AGENDA ITEMS 1. Mike Strong’s Comments. 2. Review a draft of the EEC Plan Framework. 3. Review stakeholders list for appropriate fit in one or more of the seven focus groups. 4. Brainstorm steering committee ideas for the projects by focus area that could be considered in initial funding.