Article 7 executive department


Published on

Article VII stipulates the qualifications, duties and functions of the President and Vice-President. It expressly states that the executive power is vested in the President of the Philippines. The President and the Vice-President are elected by direct vote of the qualified voters of the Philippines for a six-year term. While the President is not qualified for re-election, the vice-president can serve two (2) consecutive terms. This article stipulates that the President is the head of state, the chief executive of government, and the commander-in-chief of the armed forces. However, certain protections are declared against abuses of executive power such as the prohibition against practice of any other profession, prohibition against appointment of spouse and relatives to certain positions in government and limitation on the declaration of martial law or suspension of the privilege of the writ of habeas corpus to a period not exceeding 60 days.

Published in: Education, News & Politics
1 Comment
No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Article 7 executive department

  1. 1. The <br />Executive Department<br />Article 7: Philippine Constitution 1987<br />
  2. 2. <ul><li>Is the largest component of the national executive branch of the government of the Philippines.</li></ul> -President<br /> -Vice – President<br /> - Cabinet of the Philippines.<br />
  3. 3. Qualification<br /><ul><li>Natural born citizen of the Philippines
  4. 4. Registered voter
  5. 5. Literate (can read and write)
  6. 6. At least 40 years old on election day
  7. 7. Resident of the country for 10 years
  8. 8. Elected at large by plurality</li></li></ul><li>Term Limits<br /><ul><li>The term of the President is for six years (no re-election)
  9. 9. No person who has succeeded and served as President for four (4) years can run again
  10. 10. Vice-President: maximum two (2) terms</li></li></ul><li>Presidential Priviledges<br /><ul><li>Appoint the heads of the different executive departments
  11. 11. Appoint ambassadors, consuls and public ministers
  12. 12. Appoint armed forces personnel from the rank of colonel or naval captain
  13. 13. Contract / guarantee foreign loans</li></li></ul><li>Limitation on Power<br /><ul><li>Hold any other office or enjoy any other form of employment
  14. 14. Make appointments two months prior to the next elections
  15. 15. Make appointments within the 4th civil degree of consanguinity </li></li></ul><li><ul><li>Increase his/her salary or that of the Vice-President during his/her term
  16. 16. Ratify foreign treaties
  17. 17. Grant clemency in cases of impeachment</li></li></ul><li>Salaries<br /><ul><li>President</li></ul> Shall receive an annual salary of three hundred thousand pesos (Php 300,000).<br /><ul><li>Vice – President</li></ul> Two hundred forty thousand pesos.<br />
  18. 18. Executive Order No. 611 Department of Budget and Management (DBM)<br /><ul><li>March 14, 2007
  19. 19. President Arroyo
  20. 20. Implement a ten percent (10%) increase over the basic monthly salaries of civilian government personnel whose positions are covered by the Compensation and Position Classification System as of June 30, 2007</li></li></ul><li>Philippine Presidents <br />and their Vice President<br />
  21. 21. (1899-1901) President: Emilio F. Aguinaldo<br /> (1897?) Vice-President: Mariano C. Trias<br />1935-1944) President Manuel L. Quezon<br /> (1936-1944) Vice-President: Sergio S. Osmeña, Sr.<br />(1944-1946) Sergio S. Osmeña, Sr.<br />
  22. 22. (1943-1945) President: Jose P. Laurel<br />(1943-1945) Vice-Presidents: Benigno Aquino, Sr. and Ramon Avancena<br />(1946-1948) President: Manuel L. Roxas (Died of a heart attack)<br />(1946-1948) Vice-President: Elpidio R. Quirino<br />(1948-1953) President: Elpidio R. Quirino (Assumed the remaining term & re-elected)<br />(1949-1953) Vice-President: Fernando H. Lopez<br /> <br />
  23. 23. (1953-1957) President: Ramon F. Magsaysay<br />(Magsaysay died in an airplane crash on March 16, 1957 on Mt. Manunggal in Cebu)<br />(1953-1957) Vice-President: Carlos P. Garcia<br />(1957-1961) President: Carlos P. Garcia (Assumed the remaining term and re-elected)<br />(1957-1961) Vice-President: Diosdado P. Macapagal<br />(1961-1965) President: Diosdado P. Macapagal<br />(1961-1965) Vice-President: Emmanuel N. Pelaez<br />
  24. 24. (1965-1986) President: Ferdinand E. Marcos (the first to win 2 presidential terms)<br />(1965-1972) Vice-President: Fernando H. Lopez<br />(1986-1992) President: Corazon Cojuangco-Aquino<br />(1986-1992) Vice-President: Salvador H. Laurel<br />(1992-1998) President Fidel V. Ramos<br />(1992-1998) Vice-President: Joseph Ejercito Estrada<br />
  25. 25. (1998-2001) President: Joseph Ejercito Estrada (Deposed by "People Power")<br />(1998-2001) Vice-President: Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo<br />(2001-2010) President: Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo (Assumed Estrada's remaining term & re-elected)<br />(2001-2004) Vice-President: Teofisto T. Guingona<br />(2004-2010) Vice-President: Manuel "Noli" de Castro<br />(2010-Present) President: Benigno Simeon "Noynoy" Cojuangco Aquino III<br />(2010-Present) Vice-President: Jejomar "Jojo" CabauatanBinay<br />
  26. 26. List of <br />Departments<br />