Uploaded on


  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Be the first to comment
    Be the first to like this
No Downloads


Total Views
On Slideshare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds



Embeds 0

No embeds

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

    No notes for slide


  • 1. the FOODPyramid Steps to a healthier you
  • 2. Eating Right Every Day A healthful meal includes a variety of foods. Eating a variety of foods gives your body the nutrient it needs. The food guide pyramid is a tool to help you choose foods for a healthful diet. It tells how many servings you should eat from each group each day. The six groups of the food pyramid are: • Grains • Vegetables • Fruits • Milk • Oil • Meat and beans
  • 3. The Food PyramidSteps to a healthier you GRAINS VEGETABLES FRUITS OILS MILK MEAT & BEANS
  • 4. Grains The widest from the group, it contains whole and processed grains The grain food group is further divided into two categories: whole grains and refined grains. Grain recommendations vary from six to 11 servings.
  • 5. Vegetables The vegetable food group is divided into five separate categories based on vegetable color. These categories are: * dark green vegetables, * orange vegetables, *dry beans and peas, * starchy vegetables *other vegetables.- Servings of vegetables are measured in cups and recommended intake ranges from 2 to 3 cups
  • 6. Fruits Any fruit or 100% fruit juice counts as part of the Fruit Group. Fruits may be fresh, canned, frozen, or dried, and may be whole, cut-up, or pureed Children should have 1 to 2 cups per day
  • 7. Oils Oils are fats that are liquid at room temperature, like the vegetable oils used in cooking. Oils come from many different plants and from fish. Oils are NOT a food group, but they provide essential nutrients
  • 8. Milk Milk, fluid milk products and foods made from milk that still contain significant calcium make up the milk food group on the food guide pyramid. Examples of foods that are contained in this category are cheese, yogurt and milk-based dessert, such as pudding and ice cream.
  • 9. Meat and Beans The meat and beans category is made up of meat, poultry, fish, beans, eggs, nuts and seeds. Dry beans and peas belong to both the meat and beans group and the vegetables group