• Save
Search Engine Optimisation and Google AdWords
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5
×
 

Search Engine Optimisation and Google AdWords

on

  • 203 views

A Comprehensive look at Web Marketing from conversions on your website through to creating a virtuous circle of performing ads with AdWords.

A Comprehensive look at Web Marketing from conversions on your website through to creating a virtuous circle of performing ads with AdWords.

Statistics

Views

Total Views
203
Views on SlideShare
143
Embed Views
60

Actions

Likes
1
Downloads
0
Comments
0

1 Embed 60

http://www.mattersolutions.com.au 60

Accessibility

Upload Details

Uploaded via as Adobe PDF

Usage Rights

© All Rights Reserved

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Processing…
Post Comment
Edit your comment

    Search Engine Optimisation and Google AdWords Search Engine Optimisation and Google AdWords Presentation Transcript

    • Search Engine Optimisation & AdWords Presented by Ben Maden, Web Consultant
    • Search
    • SERP Search Engine Results Page
    • AdWords™= Adverts for Words
    • The “map pack”
    • “Organic” results
    • What I see…
    • A race that never ends
    • And this…
    • Elephants & Cheetahs
    • Search Engine Optimisation •  Slow •  When handled right transforms businesses •  Can do serious harm
    • Google AdWords •  Fast to implement and change •  Can deliver well •  Can do harm •  Must be strong to get best results
    • How it ALL works…
    • The Goal - Leads* * Sales too if you’re ecommerce enabled
    • Think about your website as a black box Simple Model
    • Visitors Leads Simple Objectives
    • Most people… Buy visitors. AdWords, Facebook & SEO
    • Common Mistake Buy visitors. AdWords, Facebook & SEO
    • Where do leads come from?
    • Visitors Leads Simple Objectives Conversion Rate (%)
    • Leads = Converted Visitors Leads = Visitors x Conversion Rate (%) If your conversion rate is zero (or very low) are you wasting money buying more visitors?
    • Probably
    • But… If you’re specific and get the right keywords, you will get the right visitors and your conversion rate will improve.
    • How to…
    • Visitors Leads Simple Objectives Conversion Rate (%)
    • How to improve conversions Maximise leads you earn from visitors Be relevant Be helpful Don’t get in the way Leads = Visitors x Conversion Rate (%) The Conversion Rate (%) is measurable. Improve it.
    • How to get more visitors Earn more clicks from Google Position is the main factor = Higher is better* Click through rate (CTR) = Write better *We’ll come back to this. Depends on whether SEO or AdWords
    • How to get more visitors Earn more clicks from Google Position is the main factor = Higher is better* Click through rate (CTR) = Write better *We’ll come back to this. Depends on whether SEO or AdWords
    • How to get more visitors Earn more clicks from Google Position - Higher is better* Click through rate (CTR) - Write better *We’ll come back to this. Depends on whether SEO or AdWords Visitors = Impressions x CTR The number of impressions varies over time because of seasonal trends. CTR is measurable. Improve it.
    • Why…
    • Visitors x Conversion Rate = Leads 1000 x 1.8% = 18 1000 x 4.3% = 43 2000 x 1.8% = 36 2000 x 4.3% = 86 Improving conversion rates and visitors numbers will multiply your result. Visitors AND Conversions
    • Why? When you know you can convert visitors you can confidently invest in visitors but you can’t “know” until you’ve got some visitors. Start carefully and build a virtuous cycle
    • Summary Virtuous Circle •  Learn from visitors •  Changes to improve conversions •  Convert visitors •  Acquire traffic with confidence •  Repeat Vicious Circle •  Buying traffic seems like a waste of time and money •  No one is interested •  Changing the website doesn’t seem to help •  Give up
    • SEO Basics
    • Fundamentals of Search Engines i.  Humans ii.  Algorithms
    • Where do people click?
    • Traffic improvements on page 1 10th to 5th è 60% improvement 5th to 1st è 8 times more 2nd to 1st è 3.5 times more 10th to 1st è 12-14 times more
    • Exponential returns è Focus The numbers PROVE it is better to be #1 for one keyword than 10 equivalent words at number ten…
    • Exponential returns è Focus 2nd to 1st = 3.5 times more
    • Fundamentals of Search Engines i.  Humans ii.  Algorithms
    • Google wants you to know...
    • How changed the world
    • Timewarp... before Google (1) A Target phrase Who should rank? B Target phrase C Target phrase
    • Who should rank? All three… but in what order? •  Same use of target phrase •  Nothing to distinguish A Target phrase B Target phrase C Target phrase Timewarp... before Google (2)
    • Timewarp... before Google (3) Who should rank? •  Alphabetical? AAA Plumber •  Time? First, last, frequently updated etc. A Target phrase B Target phrase C Target phrase
    • Timewarp... before Google (3) Who should rank? •  STUFF in those keywords (bad!) •  Poor quality results… enter Google. A Target phrase B Target phrase C Target phrase Target phrase Target phrase Target phrase Target phrase Target phrase Target phrase
    • Two things... 1. Don’t be Evil 2. What others say about you is more important than what you say about yourself http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Don't_be_evil
    • Timewarp… Google shakes it up Who should rank? •  Google looks at external factors •  External “votes” are much more trustworthy Your website. You’re responsible. You’re banned! D   E   F   G   H   A Target phrase B Target phrase C Target phrase Target phrase Target phrase Target phrase Target phrase Target phrase Target phrase
    • What others say… Link = Vote The website giving the link could lose a visitor. Hyperlink code: <a href=“http://www.destination.com.au”>Clickable Text</a> How it looks: Clickable Text
    • Who should rank? • External “votes” are much more trustworthy • B has 2.5 links • C has 3.5 links Timewarp… Google shakes it up Your website. You’re responsible. You’re banned! D   E   F   G   H   A Target phrase B Target phrase C Target phrase Target phrase Target phrase Target phrase Target phrase Target phrase Target phrase I  
    • Timewarp… Google shakes it up Your website. You’re responsible. You’re banned! D   E   F   G   H   A Target phrase B Target phrase C Target phrase Target phrase Target phrase Target phrase Target phrase Target phrase Target phrase I   Who should rank? Links = Votes E’s link to B is stronger B would rank above C
    • SEO is... Search Engine Optimisation (SEO) is the process of improving the visibility of a web site in search engines Wikipedia
    • Search Intent SEO & AdWords
    • What people want & search for Focus on the right keywords... What you do for customers Mismatch Consider Intent
    • Google makes it easy
    • Focus on the right keywords... What people want & search for What you do for customers
    • Visitors (in) Leads (out) Install Analytics & Goal Tracking
    • Multiplier Effect Visitors x Conversion Rate = Leads 1000 x 1.8% = 18 1000 x 4.3% = 43 2000 x 1.8% = 36 2000 x 4.3% = 86 Improving conversion rates and visitors numbers will multiply your result AND improving your keyword selection will do both.
    • “Goal Tracking” is part of Google Analytics Track visitors over time (in) Track “goals” over time (out) 8x 18x
    • Keywords SEO & AdWords
    • SEO Pyramid Words Links
    • Osteopath Brisbane - Flash
    • Flash Website
    • Handy Dandy Content Audit Template by John McCrory 2008 Content Audit... •  What do you have? •  What do you need? •  What should you remove?
    • •  Tuning the website for specific key phrases –  Title tag <title>Search Engine Optimisation</title> –  Meta description –  In the body text –  Internal Links, use text •  Beware of classic mistakes –  Stuffing / Spammy tactics –  Not enough text Words - Page Optimisation
    • •  Meta Descriptions –  Not just about keywords –  Think about why someone would click –  Click through rate (CTR) –  Must be attractive Words - Page Optimisation
    • SEO Links
    • Link Building can be hard…
    • Links - What exactly are they? Hyperlink code: <a href=“destination.html”>Clickable Text</a> How it looks: Clickable Text
    • Timewarp… Google shakes it up Your website. You’re responsible. You’re banned! D   E   F   G   H   A Target phrase B Target phrase C Target phrase Target phrase Target phrase Target phrase Target phrase Target phrase Target phrase I   Who should rank? Links = Votes E’s link to B is stronger B would rank above C
    • Evaluating SEO value Geography Trust Strength Meaning
    • Evaluating SEO value Geography Trust Strength Meaning Does it look spammy? How many websites does it link to? What does it link to? How many pages link to it? How many domains link to it? What is its Page Rank? Domain name. The address* Where does it rank? Which Google? Website à Page à “Anchor Text”
    • Trust “Seeds of trust” and “hops”. Paddy Moogan’s - Link Building Book, 2013 http://www.linkbuildingbook.com/
    • Authorship Connect Authorship into your website… rel=“publisher” è Reference your Google+ rel=“author” è Reference your Google+ Your author page ç Contributor to, Google+ Positive impact on click through rates (CTR) The Author Graph is well underway. Google’s official announcement http://googlewebmastercentral.blogspot.com.au/2011/06/authorship-markup-and-web-search.html
    • Local+ Claim Existing Pages Keep information consistent (phone) Do not duplicate descriptions Now Part of Google+
    • Create something… •  Interesting •  Useful •  Helpful •  Emotional •  Exciting •  All of the above.
    • Link Bait
    • Earning Links Micro Spy Remote 263 links http://www.thinkgeek.com/product/9a06/ 2 RDs Unicorn Meat 2,129 links http://www.thinkgeek.com/product/e5a7/ 37 RDs
    • What works well? •  Short form content –  Definitions –  Quotable –  Statistic •  Rank for it –  E.g. Prostates Stats
    • Create great content •  Fun/Cute – Cats •  Original Research - Danny Sullivan compared spam •  Newsletters - Keep front of mind impact on exposure with other website therefore links •  Controversy – Upset people (not recommended for your brand) •  Social Media - Tw, Li, FB - where are your customers and what are they doing •  Conference presentation - Recognition •  Lists - 13 tips when hiring a Tradie •  Get a Blog - be an authority, "no excuse for a company not to have a blog" (March 2010) •  Howto - Long tail content, just a few links (the right links) is enough when resources are •  Tutorials - guide someone through a problem you've had •  Videos - making some videos screen cast + ppt, piece to camera very helpful Use the same content different ways…
    • What Experiences will earn an impact?
    • Likeability?
    • Engagement?
    • Trust?  
    • “Automated” Link Building Ask for links • If someone mentions your brand (or you) • Uses an image without permission How? Google Alerts…
    • “Automated” Link Building Use Google Alerts & contact websites that use your photos asking for “photo credit”. Case study – I did this for a client and sent 16 emails, getting 15 links Examples from Paddy Moogan From Mozcon, July 2012 http://www.linkbuildingbook.com/
    • “Automated” Link Building Tools •  Google Alerts •  Canned Responses for Gmail •  Boomerang for Gmail •  Reverse image search
    • Remember this?
    • Elephants & Cheetahs
    • Search Engine Optimisation •  Slow •  When handled right transforms businesses •  Can do serious harm
    • Google AdWords •  Fast to implement and change •  Can deliver well •  Can do harm •  Must be strong to get best results
    • Google AdWords
    • How the Ads are Ranked?
    • How the Ads are Ranked? Not just by money
    • How the Ads are Ranked.. How do we get a better Quality Score (QS) ? AdRank = QS x Bid
    • An Ad Auction Quality   Score   Bid     Amount   Ad   Rank   Posi8on   5   $5.50   27.5   Third   7   $4.40   30.8   Second   9   $3.50   31.5   First   This is run for every keyword, for every search.
    • And if you’re awesome You don’t pay the $3.50 you had bid because of the Quality Score. You would actually you pay 2 cents more than the minimum bid. What you pay = Competitors Ad Rank ÷ Your QS 30.8 ÷ 9 = 3.42 + 2 cents = $3.44
    • Quality Score is made of… •  Click Through Rate (CTR) •  Relevance (Keyword) –  Ads to Keyword –  Keyword to Landing Page –  User Experience These are based on historical data in general and specific to your account.
    • Quality Score is made of… •  Click Through Rate (CTR) •  Relevance (Keyword) –  Ads to Keyword –  Keyword to Landing Page –  User Experience These are based on historical data in general and specific to your account. A good historical record of your performance is like an excellent reputation
    • Virtuous Circle •  Run a Good Account –  Housekeeping –  Don’t add junk –  Use real search data to reduce waste •  Get a high Quality Score •  You can pay less for the same or better
    • Search Engine Optimisation vs AdWords SEO •  Rankings based on links •  Can takes a long time to work, 3-6 months perhaps much longer •  Take care to avoid spammy tactics Google AdWords •  Position based on Quality Score x $(bid) •  Appear immediately •  Stop paying, stops immediately •  Take care to avoid spammy tactics
    •   Ben Maden Office 07 3117 2300 ben@mattersolutions.com.au www.mattersolutions.com.au Thank you SEO Training Day Wednesday 21st May Full day of training $550 $110 off for CPA attendees Discount Code: CPA110
    • History in a Nutshell 2000 Web Consultant building & marketing websites 2003/4 MBA from Cass Business School 2004 Doing “SEO” + Google AdWords accounts 2006 Moved to Australia 2008 Google AdWords Qualified 2009 Focus on Australia 2010 Building a team of Website Experts 2011 SEO/AdWords Management 2012 Social Media & WordPress Expertise