The new bridge – lower and more elegant – with Robbins Well on the corner of Victoria Terrace. With the exception of the Pump Rooms all the wells and aquifers were on the south side of the river – right down Bath Street and Clemens Street.
Very old view across the Leam – the bridge was a typical pack-horse bridge – later rebuilt
View from the north-east – you can see the new Pump Rooms in the distance
This view is from the South side – looking across from the corner of Gloucester Street and Church Street.
A later view with a tall tower added.
The area around St Mary’s Road was settled with prosperous families quite early
The Parish Church is beginning to take a familiar shape. Note the horse-drawn tram in the foreground, and the Aylesford Well on the right.
Bath Street looking South. The building with colonnades further down on the right is the Parthenon – later to be known as the Blue Café and then as Iceland Ltd.
Looking North towards the Parish Church and the River Leam.
Leamington Spa pre-1939
Produced by the Leamington Memories Group of LEAP
Frank Whittle’s father owned the Leamington Valve and Piston Company, just off Regent Place. He attended Leamington Boys College and gained his engineering experience in hisfather’s workshop. This is where he started to design his dream machine.