UC Davis, School of Veterinary Medicine - CFAH Faculty List ...
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5
×
 

UC Davis, School of Veterinary Medicine - CFAH Faculty List ...

on

  • 1,415 views

 

Statistics

Views

Total Views
1,415
Views on SlideShare
1,415
Embed Views
0

Actions

Likes
0
Downloads
3
Comments
0

0 Embeds 0

No embeds

Accessibility

Categories

Upload Details

Uploaded via as Microsoft Word

Usage Rights

© All Rights Reserved

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Processing…
Post Comment
Edit your comment

UC Davis, School of Veterinary Medicine - CFAH Faculty List ... UC Davis, School of Veterinary Medicine - CFAH Faculty List ... Document Transcript

  • CENTER FOR FOOD ANIMAL HEALTH SCHOOL OF VETERINARY MEDICINE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, DAVIS John Adaska – Diagnostic Pathologist Research Interests: Gastrointestinal diseases of cattle, particularly Salmonella and Johne’s disease, Anatomic pathology, Food Animal E-mail: jmadaska@ucdavis.edu, Phone: (559) 688-7543, Fax: (559) 686-4231 Mark L. Anderson - Professor Research Interests: Bovine abortion & reproductive diseases; bovine, respiratory diseases; immuno-hisochemical procedures for diagnostic pathology E-mail: manderson@ucdavis.edu, Phone: (530) 752-8747, Fax: (530) 752-6253 John A. Angelos – Assistant Professor Research Interests: Pink eye in Bovine, vaccines E-mail: jaangelos@ucdavis.edu, Phone: (530) 752-1363, Fax: (530) 752-0414 Alex A. Ardans – Director, California Animal Health & Food Safety Laboratory System Research Interests: Immunology Infectious Disease (Bovine, Equine, Ruminant, Swine); Clinical Veterinary immunology and virology; Infections diseases of large animals E-mail: aaardans@ucdavis.edu, Phone: (530) 752-8709, Fax: (530) 752-5680 E. R. (Rob) Atwill – CE Specialist/Assistant Veterinarian Research Interests: Bovine, Equine, Wildlife Edidemiology and medical ecology of infectious diseases potentially transferred between livestock & wildlife; assessing microbial contamination of the environment by livestock & wildlife, with a special emphasis on microbial contamination of surface water E-mail: ratwill@vmtrc.ucdavis.edu, Phone: (559) 688-1731, Fax: (559) 686-4231 Danika Bannasch-Metallinos – Assistant Professor Research Interests: Canine and equine inherited diseases; Genomics E-mail: dlbannasch@ucdavis.edu, Phone: (530) 759-8729 Robert H. Bondurant – Professor/Veterinarian and Department Chair Research Interests: Infectious diseases of reproduction (Bovine, Ruminant); Biotechnology; Reproductive Physiology of the female cow, sheep and goat, especially early pregnancy events; Reproductive efficiency in dairy cattle E-mail: rhbondurant@ucdavis.edu, Phone: (530) 752-1358, Fax: (530) 752-4278 Walter M. Boyce – Professor, Executive Director Wildlife Health Center Research Interests: Wildlife health and conservation and management of wildlife. The ecology and epidemiology of disease, parasitism, and predation in wildlife populations. E-mail: wmboyce@ucdavis.edu, Phone: (530) 752-1401, Fax: (530) 752-3349 Aaron C. Brault – Assistant Professor Research Interests: Interactions of arthropod-borne viruses [such as West Nile virus (WNV)] with their vertebrate and invertebrate hosts; molecular biology. E-mail: acbrault@ucdavis.edu, Phone: (530) 754-8359 Bruce R. Hoar – Assistant Professor Research Interests: Epidemiology of ruminant diseases, particularly beef cattle, potential zoonotic disease and disease risk modeling. E-mail: brhoar@ucdavis.edu, Phone: (530) 754-5342
  • Carol Cardona – Associate Professor, Extension Veterinarian Research Interests: Pathogenesis of infectious diseases of poultry; control of infectious diseases with management, host-derived resistance, medication, and/or vaccination with a special emphasis on the immunosuppressive viruses of poultry and the pathogenesis of multi-factorial diseases, Species: turkeys, chickens, ducks, game birds E-mail: cjcardona@ucdavis.edu, Phone: (530) 754-5041, Fax: (530) 752-7563 Tim E. Carpenter – Professor/Epidemiologist Research Interests: Epidemiology, livestock productions economics; mathematic and simulation modeling’ spatial and wild epidemiology E-mail: tecarpenter@ucdavis.edu, Phone: (530) 752-1034, Fax: (530) 752-0414 Bruno Chomel – Professor Research Interests: Epidemiology, microbiology, infectious disease (bovine, companion animal, laboratory animal, primate, ruminant, wildlife) Zoonoses and public health, Epidemiology of zoonoses, foodborne zoonoses; Wildlife epidemiology and tropical medicine E-mail: bbchomel@ucdavis.edu, Phone: (530) 752-8112, Fax: (530) 752-4278 Dean Cliver – Professor Research Interests: Preventing transmission of infectious agents (viruses, bacteria and protozoa) via food and water, microbiology, E-mail: docliver@ucdavis.edu, Phone: (530) 754-9120, Fax: (530) 752-5845 Alan Conley – Associate Professor Research Interests: Vertebrate sexual development and differentiation, Molecular endocrinology, Steriodegenesis E-mail: ajconley@ucdavis.edu, Phone: (530) 752-2128 Patricia Conrad – Professor Research Interests: Molecular biology, immunology and characterization of pathogenic protozoa; Special interest in the immunopathogenesis and epidemiology of protozoa parasites infecting animals and humans; Development of parasite- specific DNA probes and immunoassays; E-mail: paconrad@ucdavis.edu, Phone: (530) 752-7210, Fax: (530) 752-3349 Lynette Corbeil – Professor Research Interests: Mucosal immunity to infections of the respiratory and reproductive tracts. E-mail: lcorbeil@ucsd.edu, Phone: (619) 543-6146 James S. Cullor – Director, VMTRC - Tulare Research Interests: Biotechnology Immunology infections disease food safety (Bovine, Equine, Ruminant, Swine) Pathophysiology and immunology of disease due to gram-negative bacteria; bovine mastitis. E-mail: jscullor@ucdavis.edu, Phone: (559) 688-1731, Fax: (559) 686-4231 Ian Gardner – Professor Research Interests: Risk analysis related to livestock health and food safety, Diagnostic test evaluation – practical and theoretical issues; E-mail: iagardner@ucdavis.edu, Phone: (530) 752-6992, Fax: (530) 752-0414 Lisle W. George – Professor Research Interests: bovine diseases, internal medicine and all aspects of clinical treatment of food animals E-mail: lwgeorge@ucdavis.edu, Phone: (530) 752-1363, Fax: (530) 752-0414 Laurel J. Gershwin – Professor Research Interests: Mechanisms of immune modulation in bovine respiratory syncytial virus infection, with particular emphasis on IgE, and in response to vaccines. E-mail: ljgershwin@ucdavis.edu, Phone: (530) 752-6643 Robert Hansen – Professor Research Interests: Intermediary metabolism of animals, controls of metabolic processes,
  • E-mail: rjhansen@ucdavis.edu, Phone: (530) 752-3173, Fax: (530) 752-4698 Ronald P. Hedrick – Professor/Aquaculturalist Research Interests: Effects of infectious diseases on cultured fish and shellfish, Fish health, Captive Animal Management, Nondomestic Pet Medicine E-mail: rphedrick@ucdavis.edu, Phone: (530) 752-3411, Fax: (530) 752-0414 Sharon Hietala – Professor/Section Head CAHFSLS Research Interests: Diagnostic veterinary serology and molecular-based diagnostic techniques for livestock and poultry species. Sero-epidemiology and molecular epidemiology, E-mail: skhietala@ucdavis.edu, Phone: (530) 752-4739, Fax: (530) 752-6253 David Hird – Professor Research Interests: Quantitative epidemiology studies on livestock health/productivity, including disease surveillance systems, E-mail: dwhird@ucdavis.edu, Phone: (530) 752-7675, (530) 752-1363, Fax: (530) 752-0414 John H. Kirk – Extension Veterinarian Research Interests: Dairy Herd Health Management on On-Dairy Food Safety, Environmental mastitis; Prepartum mastitis in dairy heifers; E-mail: jkirk@vmtrc.ucdavis.edu, Phone: (559) 688-1731 ext. 224, Fax: (559) 686-4231 Donald J. Klingborg – Associate Dean, Veterinary Extension & Public Programs Research Interests: Infectious Disease (Bovine), Computer applications to dairy production; Food safety/residue avoidance; Calfhood diseases and preventions; Bioterrorism, BSE E-mail: djklingborg@vetmed.ucdavis.edu, Phone: (530) 752-1524, Fax: (530) 752-7563 Gregory (Greg) Lanzaro – Director - Mosquito Research Project Research Interests: E-mail: gclanzaro@ucdavis.edu, Phone: (530) 752-5652 John P. Maas – Extension Veterinarian Research Interests: Infectious Disease (Bovine) Cattle nutrition, Metabolic diseases; Trace element; Vitamin metabolism, Herd Health management, Preharvest food safety, Internal medicine, E-mail: jmaas@ucdavis.edu, Phone: (530) 752-1524, Fax: (530) 752-7563 N. James Maclachlan – Professor and Department Chair Research Interests: Virus-host interactions in large farm animals, specifically ruminants and horses. molecular characterization of the epidemiology and evolution of the causative viruses E-mail: njmaclachlan@ucdavis.edu, Phone: (530) 754-8125 Robert Moeller, Jr. – Associate Professor Research Interests: Botulism intoxication in domestic animals, foreign animal diseases, pathology, Equine, food animal, miscellaneous (aquaculture, lab animal, etc.) small animal, wildlife E-mail: rmoeller@cvdls.ucdavis.edu, Phone: (559) 688-7543, Fax: (559) 686-4231 Dale Moore – Associate Professor Research Interests: Epidemiology, dairy production medicine, Educational needs assessment and outcomes, E-mail: damoore@ucdavis.edu, Phone: (559) 688-7543, Fax: (559) 686-4231 Jim Reynolds – Service Chief/Dairy Production Medicine Research Interests: Vaccine trials, calf nutrition, waste milk pasteurization, transition cows, Mastitis, Farm Medicine Drug-use Guidelines and Regulations E-mail: jreynolds@vmtrc.ucdavis.edu, Phone: (559) 688-1731, Fax: (559) 686-4231 Joan Dean Rowe – Associate Professor
  • Research Interests: Small ruminant lentivirus pathogenesis & control, Ruminant reproductive epidemiology, Bovine neosporosis, Small ruminant embryo transfer, food animal health management E-mail: jdrowe@ucdavis.edu, Phone: (530) 752-0292, Fax: (530) 752-4278 Jose E. Santos – Associate Professor Research Interests: Energy and protein metabolism of dairy cows, transition cow nutrition, impacts of nutrition on reproductive functions in dairy cows, nutritional and hormonal manipulation to improve conception and embryo survival in dairy cattle E-mail: jsantos@vmtrc.ucdavis.edu, Phone: (559) 688-1731, Fax: (559) 686-4231 William (Bill) Sischo – Professor Research Interests: Quality management for diary farms, local and regional ecology of pathogens of public health significance with primary focus on salmonella, describing the occurrence of antibiotic resistant organism and genes, optimizing on-farm management to capture domestic and international milk markets, and issues involving rural and urban geographic interface, epidemiology and microbiology, food animal E-mail: bsischo@vmtrc.ucdavis.edu, Phone: (559) 688-1731, Fax: (559) 686-4231 Bradford P. Smith – Director-Veterinary Medical Teaching Hospital; Associate Dean, Clinical Programs Research Interests: Infectious Disease (Bovine, Equine) Internal medicine, salmonellosis and immunity to enteric and gram negative infections in horses and food producing animals; Vaccines and diagnostic tests for salmonella; Salmonella control programs E-mail: bpsmith@ucdavis.edu, Phone: (530) 752-2957, Fax: (530) 752-9620 Martin H. Smith – Assistant Specialist & Director of Animal Ambassadors Research Interests: Research and outreach with schools and community-based education programs (e.g., 4-H) involving curriculum development and implementation related to animal and veterinary science; Science education curriculum development and outreach in non-formal and school-based settings; E-mail: mhsmith@ucdavis.edu, Phone: (530) 752-26894, Fax: (530) 752-7563 Jeffrey L. Stott – Professor Research Interests: Developmental, comparative, and clinical immunology with emphasis on bovine, equine, marine mammals, and zoo animal species, Viral and bacterial immunopathogenesis of the fetus and neonate, Mucosal immunology E-mail: jlstott@ucdavis.edu, Phone: (530) 752-2543 Carolyn Stull – Extension Specialist Research Interests: Livestock welfare, stress physiology, transportation of animals E-mail: clstull@ucdavis.edu, Phone: (530) 752-0855, Fax: (530) 752-7563 Mark Thurmond – Professor Research Interests: Disease surveillance and diagnostic testing; Risk analysis; Diagnostic epidemiologic methods & models E-mail: mcthurmond@ucdavis.edu, Phone: (530) 752-5635, Fax: (530) 752-0414 Yilma Tilahun – Professor Research Interests: Microbiology, Biotechnology, Animal vaccines, E-mail: tdyilma@ucdavis.edu, Phone: (530) 752-8306, Fax: (530) 752-3349 Patricia S. Wakenell – Associate Professor Research Interests: Immunology Infectious Disease (Avian); Clinical pathology of domestic poultry and avian virology; Vaccine research, E-mail: pswakenell@ucdavis.edu, Phone: (530) 752-8113, Fax: (530) 752-5845 Richard L. Walker – Professor Research Interests: Infectious Disease (Avian, Bovine, Equine, Ruminant, Swine); Clinical veterinary bacteriology and mycology; pathogenesis of bacterial diseases, use of molecular diagnostic techniques in clinical bacteriology E-mail: rlwalker@ucdavis.edu, Phone: (530) 752-8754, Fax: (530) 752-5680
  • Peter R. Woolcock – Assistant Professor Research Interests: Diagnostic virology (Avian); Diagnostic avian virology; Infectious diseases of waterfowl; Characterization and pathogenicity of Infectious Bronchitis Virus; Characterization of Avian Influenza Viruses E-mail: prwoolcock@ucdavis.edu, Phone: (559) 498-7740, Fax: (559) 485-8097