• Share
  • Email
  • Embed
  • Like
  • Save
  • Private Content
The script and the life course
 

The script and the life course

on

  • 116 views

The script is what the person planned to do in early childhood and the life course is what actually happens

The script is what the person planned to do in early childhood and the life course is what actually happens

Statistics

Views

Total Views
116
Views on SlideShare
116
Embed Views
0

Actions

Likes
0
Downloads
2
Comments
0

0 Embeds 0

No embeds

Accessibility

Categories

Upload Details

Uploaded via as Microsoft PowerPoint

Usage Rights

© All Rights Reserved

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Processing…
Post Comment
Edit your comment

    The script and the life course The script and the life course Presentation Transcript

    • The script and the life course
    • Prepared By Manu Melwin Joy Research Scholar School of Management Studies CUSAT, Kerala, India. Phone – 9744551114 Mail – manu_melwinjoy@yahoo.com Kindly restrict the use of slides for personal purpose. Please seek permission to reproduce the same in public forms and presentations.
    • The script and the life course “The script is what the person planned to do in early childhood and the life course is what actually happens.” - Eric Berne
    • The script and the life course • Your life course is the result of four interacting factors: –Heredity. –External Events. –Script. –Autonomous decision.
    • The script and the life course • My inheritance of genes largely determines my physical make up. • It may also help determine my mental characteristics, though there is still no agreement in the nature vs nurture argument. • Even if I decided to become an athlete and heredity gave me a moderately fast and strong body, I may do better to find a different way of fulfilling myself.
    • The script and the life course Perhaps my early decision was to live to a healthy old age. I may be unfortunate enough to be caught in a fire, earthquake or plane crash, even though I have not set up in anyway for such an outcome. A chance external event has cut across my decision to live.
    • The script and the life course • Whether or not I undertake formal therapy, many of my life decisions can be taken with full use of my grown up resources. • We say that these decision are script free or autonomous. • When I make an autonomous decision, I am dealing with here and now reality as the adult I am now.
    • Thank You
    • Other TA topics available on slideshare 1. Strokes - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/strokes-24081607. 2. Games People Play - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/psychological- games-people-play. 3. Structural Analysis - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/the-ego-state-model. 4. What is TA? - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/what-ta-is 5. Cycles of Development - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/cycles-of- developement-pamela-levin-transactional-analysis. 6. Stages of Cure - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/stages-of-cure. 7. Transactions - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/transactions-33677298. 8. Time Structuring - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/time-structuring. 9. Life Position - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/life-position. 10. Autonomy - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/autonomy-33690557. 11. Structural Pathology - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/structural-pathology. 12. Game Analysis - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/game-analysis-33725636. 13. Integrated Adult - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/integrated-adult. 14. Stroke Economy - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/stroke-economy- 33826702.