Script and the body

  • 31 views
Uploaded on

Eric Berne wrote of Script signals. These are bodily clues that indicate a person has moved into script. Perhaps she will sigh deeply, change position, or tense up part of her body. Berne drew …

Eric Berne wrote of Script signals. These are bodily clues that indicate a person has moved into script. Perhaps she will sigh deeply, change position, or tense up part of her body. Berne drew attention especially to tension in the sphincters, the muscles that close the various body openings. Some TA therapist have specialized in this area of body scripts.

More in: Education , Technology
  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Be the first to comment
    Be the first to like this
No Downloads

Views

Total Views
31
On Slideshare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
0

Actions

Shares
Downloads
1
Comments
0
Likes
0

Embeds 0

No embeds

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
    No notes for slide

Transcript

  • 1. Script and the body
  • 2. Prepared By Manu Melwin Joy Research Scholar School of Management Studies CUSAT, Kerala, India. Phone – 9744551114 Mail – manu_melwinjoy@yahoo.com Kindly restrict the use of slides for personal purpose. Please seek permission to reproduce the same in public forms and presentations.
  • 3. Script and the body • It seems that we make some of our earliest decisions with our body as well as our mind. • When the infant wants to reach out to the mother, she draws away from him. To quell the pain of rejection, he suppresses the bodily urges. To stop himself from reaching our, he tenses his arms and shoulders.
  • 4. Script and the body • Many years later as a grown up, he may still hold this tension. But he will be unaware he is doing so. • He may experience aches and pains in his shoulder or his neck. • Under deep massage or in therapy, he may feel the tension and then release it. • With that release, he is likely to release also the flood of feeling he had repressed since infancy.
  • 5. Script and the body • Eric Berne wrote of Script signals. These are bodily clues that indicate a person has moved into script. • Perhaps she will sigh deeply, change position, or tense up part of her body. • Berne drew attention especially to tension in the sphincters, the muscles that close the various body openings. • Some TA therapist have specialized in this area of body scripts.
  • 6. Thank You
  • 7. Other TA topics available on slideshare 1. Strokes - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/strokes-24081607. 2. Games People Play - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/psychological- games-people-play. 3. Structural Analysis - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/the-ego-state-model. 4. What is TA? - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/what-ta-is 5. Cycles of Development - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/cycles-of- developement-pamela-levin-transactional-analysis. 6. Stages of Cure - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/stages-of-cure. 7. Transactions - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/transactions-33677298. 8. Time Structuring - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/time-structuring. 9. Life Position - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/life-position. 10. Autonomy - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/autonomy-33690557. 11. Structural Pathology - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/structural-pathology. 12. Game Analysis - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/game-analysis-33725636. 13. Integrated Adult - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/integrated-adult. 14. Stroke Economy - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/stroke-economy- 33826702.