Social Media - Analysis of great social media campaigns of all time. Also a brief look on social media campaign run by Spice Mobile India. The presentation is also available for this report in my uploads.
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Social / Digital Media - A report on new trends in industry
1. Digital Marketing trends in competitive environment
Dissertation Report
Submitted by- Maneesh Garg (20110025)
Course- MBA (Marketing)
Email – manigarg21@hotmail.com
Project Advisor – Prof. Sunanda Sangwan
April. 2013
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Acknowledgement
A Dissertation project is a synthesis of knowledge and experience of experts in their related fields.
However, no project is possible without the guidelines and help that are extended by the experts to
the student with the sole benevolent purpose of intellectual development.
First and foremost I would like to express my gratitude and thank to Prof. Sunanda Sangwan
(Professor- Market Research) who was my project advisor, for guiding me throughout the entire
project period. I owe enormous intellectual debt towards her as her suggestions and guidance were
invaluable and helped me throughout my project
I am also thankful to Mr. Srikant Gumalla (Managing Director, Dapple Consulting Pvt. Ltd.), Mr.
Yogesh (Assistant Director, Dapple Consulting Pvt. Ltd.) for guiding me and for providing fruitful
insights on subject. This Report would not have completed without the inputs and the words of
advice from them for which I shall always remain grateful to them.
I would also like to thank all members of the Marketing & Advertising team in Dapple Consulting
Pvt. Ltd. who has directly or indirectly helped in providing the information and amenities which
have helped in development of this report, without such help this report would not have been
possible.
This project has given me the opportunity to work on one of the most important aspect of
Marketing which is Digital Media. I am again Thankful to Prof. Sunanda Sangwan suggesting and
providing me with this opportunity to work on this amazing topic.
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Table of Contents
Acknowledgement.......................................................................................................................................................................................... ii
Introduction: ................................................................................................................................................................................................- 1 -
Digital Media options available for advertisement and promotion: ...................................................................................- 3 -
Themes of digital media campaigns and examples of existing Social Media campaigns:..........................................- 7 -
Emotions and Advertising:.....................................................................................................................................................................- 7 -
1. Volkswagen the Fun Theory..................................................................................................................................................- 7 -
2. The Blair Witch Project ...........................................................................................................................................................- 8 -
Fantasy and Advertising: (Being beautiful, rich, powerful, smart, intelligent etc.).....................................................- 9 -
3. Dove Evolution (2006) ............................................................................................................................................................- 9 -
4. Old Spice "Smell Like a Man, Man.".................................................................................................................................- 11 -
Activity (Customer Engagement) and digital media:..............................................................................................................- 13 -
5. Tourism Queensland | The Best Job in the World (2009).....................................................................................- 13 -
Social Message and digital media: (Social Message, Social Causes etc.) .........................................................................- 16 -
6. Melbourne Transit Authority – Dumb Ways to Die:................................................................................................- 18 -
Digital Media and Spice ........................................................................................................................................................................- 20 -
Spice Global ..........................................................................................................................................................................................- 20 -
S Mobility...............................................................................................................................................................................................- 20 -
1. Spice Mobile.........................................................................................................................................................................- 21 -
2. Spice Hotspot: .....................................................................................................................................................................- 21 -
3. Spice Digital: ........................................................................................................................................................................- 22 -
Spice Mobile and Digital Media-..................................................................................................................................................- 22 -
Videos uploaded-.....................................................................................................................................................................................- 25 -
Popular Contests......................................................................................................................................................................................- 26 -
1. Know the Steller Pinnacle Contest-.................................................................................................................................- 26 -
2. Spice Fan of the day contest- .............................................................................................................................................- 26 -
Digital Marketing Terminology:........................................................................................................................................................- 28 -
Types of Internet marketing.........................................................................................................................................................- 28 -
Revenue models ................................................................................................................................................................................- 29 -
Works Cited ...............................................................................................................................................................................................- 31 -
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Introduction:
There was a time when Television was the most popular medium for Advertisers to promote,
spread awareness and generate leads for their products but now the trend has changed and social
media has taken its place. Now 67% of Internet consumers use smartphones, Tablets or Laptops
for watching Tv and Videos. Social media is a platform where everyone is present. Customers,
Competitors and Employees everyone is on social media. Not only marketing campaigns of
companies but protest and politics are also becoming social and digital. Most popular celebrities
and social figures are using social media and online space for spreading their message.
These are some of the facts which show the popularity and place of social media in our daily
lives.
3 out of 4 online Indians use social media1
platforms (Statistics, 2012)
4 out of top 10 sites in India are social networking sites (Recent Posts, 2012)
The image-based social network has grown 4,000% in the past six months, now boasts more
than 4 million users (Social Media Marketing facts, 2012)
Facebook currently boast of 4m Indian users and has grown by 300% in last 8 months.
Social media is Indian women’s favorite online destination
More than 1 million websites have integrated with Facebook in various ways. (Statistics,
2012)
488 million users regularly use Facebook mobile. (Cohen, 2012)
80 percent of social media users prefer to connect with brands through Facebook. (Jorgensen,
2012)
A whopping 77 percent of B2C companies and 43 percent of B2B companies acquired
customers from Facebook. (Jorgensen, 2012)
57% of companies say they generated sales through their blogs, and an identical share has
closed business through LinkedIn. 48% have generated customers through Twitter and 42%
through Facebook. (Nicholos, 2012)
1
Social Media includes Social Networking sites, blogging and publishing, Gaming Sites, Audio, Video and
picture sharing sites and Social bookmarking sites etc.
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34 percent of marketers have generated leads using Twitter. (Digital Buzz, 2012)
In 2012, 1 million accounts are added to twitter every day. (Blog.sironaconsulting, 2012)
43 percent of people prefer Pinterest to associate with retailers or brands; 24 percent chose
Facebook (Lafferty, 2012)
48 percent of fortune global 100 companies are now on Google+. (Social, 2012)
Social media simplified and revolutionized marketing. To reach your target audience just give
people something nice to do or talk about and you are done. The most popular social networking
sites are Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Orkut, Instagram, YouTube, Pinterest and Google+
In today’s times it has become crucial for small and medium enterprises to have an online
marketing strategy for Effective presence on online space. Mass marketing companies may have
advantages but may not essentially have time and infrastructure to cater to the different and
unique needs of their target customers. Reaching such customers, helps small companies to stand
apart in the market despite the competition from big players and this can better be done through
effective internet/online marketing.
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Digital Media options available for advertisement and promotion:
Social Networking Sites- Selling through only the traditional methods is past now. With the
grown popularity of social media in recent time, every business wants
some space on Facebook, Twitter, Linkedin and other social sites.
Earlier, Banner and Television ads were considered to be the only
option to promote your product or get the attention of your prospective
customers. Now, with a whole bunch of social sites having millions of
active Internet users within a country, it has become imperative for a
business to grow and prosper by engaging online population through competitions, polls, games,
utilities and apps to capture the market leader’s share of the market within the industry.
Brand value, brand recognition have become more important factors than actually selling a
product. Engaging the users on a public portal, helps companies and brands to connect and
understands the needs of their consumers.
Mobile Phone:
Mobile has also gained popularity as a medium of social media marketing. Social networking
apps, other mobile apps, and SMS are the mediums used for digital advertising. Most of the
cellphones have social networking capabilities. Social networking has become very important
attribute for smartphone category. It just works as a smaller version of computer. Individuals get
real time information about the happenings on social media from their cell phones. This constant
connectivity to social networking sites helps companies to remind their customers about the new
product launches, advertisements, offers and discounts etc. which eventually get converted into
sales numbers.
Mobile applications are another important and very
effective medium for social media marketing. The
advertisements are shown as a Pop-up on top or bottom of
the application. And hence the product is being advertised.
Whereas mobile apps were originally offered as
productivity and information retrieval tools such as
calendars, e-mail, stock market and weather information, the market has rapidly expanded due to
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public demand and availability of developer tools. Currently, some of the most popular app
categories include gaming, entertainment and education.
Chart showing popularity of mobile apps and download statistics
Source- http://www.statista.com/statistics/176732/download-numbers-of-mobile-app-stores-worldwide-since-2009/
Recognizing this potential more and more digital media marketers are moving towards mobile
app as a medium of digital advertising.
Blogs:
In the recent time Blogs have become very popular mean of digital media advertising as a
company or individual can involve in faith formation process through continuously engaging
readers. Blog is also a popular mean of digital media because on blog one
can express their personal opinion about something or update people
about the latest happening and reforms in the company. Not only small
companies but big players like Facebook, Google etc. also use blog as an
effective medium to update people about latest happening and new trends and keep them
engaged.
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http://googleblog.blogspot.in/
http://blog.facebook.com/
http://blog.pinterest.com/
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Videos-
Videos are most effective way of digital media communication. Video is mostly one way, but
great for short lists, updates, entertaining and conveying personality. It is easy to record and
upload, easy to find, download and watch. YouTube is main website which is widely used for
video sharing, download and upload.
Podcasts-
A podcast is a type of digital media consisting of an episodic series of audio
radio, video, PDF, or ePub files subscribed to and downloaded through web
syndication or streamed online to a computer or mobile device.2
Email-
Email is useful, but overused and increasingly ineffective medium for digital media
communication.
It used to be a great idea. In corporations and business now, it’s a pain
in the neck because too much of it is flying around for the wrong
reasons. Email is useful for one-to-one or small group communication if
the information is non-contentious, truly informative, concise and clear.3
2
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Podcast
3 http://www.ehow.com/way_5180797_effective-communication-mediums.html
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Themes of digital media campaigns and examples of existing Social
Media campaigns:
Emotions and Advertising:
(Fun, Fear, sadness, love, affection, cheerful, relaxed etc.)
Consumers' emotions have a significant influence over consumer behavior. So it is the favorite
choice of digital media marketers while making a digital media campaign. By capitalizing on
these and similar past experiences through the firm's advertising efforts, the marketer of
confections can either attempt to alleviate negative, or accentuate positive emotional feelings
directed toward the brand or product class.
Example:
1. Volkswagen the Fun Theory
Objective- To be at TOM of the consumer and making it fun experience for people to use stairs.
They wanted to see if making things more "fun" would influence consumer behavior.
Methodology- They tried to get more people to choose the stairs by making it fun to do?
Results- 66% more people than normal chose stairs over the escalator
Fun can obviously change behavior for the better.
This is called Fun theory
YouTube Views- 14535 (on 4/2/2013)
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2. The Blair Witch Project
This is considered the best-ever social media campaign and one of the first viral marketing efforts. The
marketers behind this horror flick were able to generate big buzz for a movie with a very small budget by using
Web sites and message boards to stoke interest in the flick months before its release in the summer of 1999.
Methodology- The Blair Witch Project was the story of young documentary makers lost in the woods. Fake
newspaper clippings about the disappearance of the movie's main characters and police photos of their missing
car were posted. The Blair Witch project really pioneered the viral marketing campaign by using a series of
social web sites and message board posts to create a massive media buzz.
Results- Movie site Box Office Mojo reports that the film made more than $29 million during its first week of
wide release. It has generated about $249 million to date worldwide at the box office, making it one of the most
successful independent films of all time.
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Fantasy and Advertising: (Being beautiful, rich, powerful, smart, intelligent etc.)
Advertising reflects our dream life. It is a little simple because advertisements do more than just reflect; they create our dream life. They translate our
real desires for love, family, for friendship, for adventure, and sex. They translate those desires into our dreams. Advertising is actually sort of like a
fantasy factory, taking our desires for human social contact, and reconceiving it, re-conceptualizing it, connecting it with the world of commodities,
and then translating it into a form that can be communicated. (Jhally, 2005) So this is natural for a thing being so popular which is connected to our
dreams or desires about the things we want to own, or the personality trait which we want to have. The digital media is taking full leverage of this.
Example:
3. Dove Evolution (2006)
This is a great example of a corporate brand using the web to gain the trust of consumers. Taking internet users behind the scenes of the fashion
industry allowed Dove to occupy the moral high ground.
Objective- To create engagement through inspiring people to take part in the “dove real beauty workshop for girls”
Methodology- They chose normal looking women in the advertisement and did her make over. After the makeover her image was edited and
photoshoped and advertised on a bill board at the corner street. The purpose was to inspire and engage public to take part in Dove Real Beauty
workshop for girls.
Results- YouTube Views- 15,626,863 (on 4/2/2013) and 25,184 people liked it.
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4. Old Spice "Smell Like a Man, Man."
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Old Spice spokesman Isaiah Mustafa was popular in TV commercials, but what really made this campaign an
interactive hit was the recent Web-based element with Mustafa responding to questions submitted by fans on
Twitter and other social media outlets in as many as 180 Web videos. But the best bit is it didn’t need celebrity
endorsement of a super expensive campaign. It’s estimated to have cost a modest $250k to run.
Objective- Generating engagement through direct response questions submitted by fans on social media by
famous celebrity like Isaiah Mustafa.
Results- Apart from the comedy value factor, total video views took just one week to hit 40 million and short
term sales doubled on the back of that.
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Activity (Customer Engagement) and digital media:
Engaging customer in the campaign activity has proven to be the best way in the success of
digital media and advertising campaigns. The reason of this method is being so popular is that
customer become aware of the product attributes, new launches, new schemes and about
company as well. This not only helps in building the repo and trust for the company but increases
the numbers in sales also. Example:
5. Tourism Queensland | The Best Job in the World (2009)
In January 2009, Tourism Queensland hosted a somewhat unorthodox contest, the winner of
which would be put up in a posh hotel. The participant’s only responsibility was to tour the
islands of the Great Barrier Reef and blog about it for six months. Also they would pay
$150,000. Billed as “The Best Job in the World”, the campaign generated massive amounts of
attention and thousands of applicants participated in the campaign. Eventually a Brit named Ben
landed the coveted position. Going off the latest numbers, he now makes $149,998.00 more than
the average blogger.
Objective- Create international awareness of the Island of the Great Barrier Reef. And execute a
global tourism campaign on a classifieds budget.
Methodology – (Why it Went Viral)
They decided to offer something priceless- A prize that would capture the imagination of people
all over the world. A prize that isn’t a prize it’s a job. The best job in the world…
The average “Come Visit Sunny” campaign runs into the millions of dollars. Tourism
Queensland simply fired two or three marketing experts, put their salary up for grabs, and
generated more attention than any star-studded California tourism ad. It succeeded because even
a lottery of $150,000 doesn’t tap into the fact that most people will hear about this job, stare
lustily at it and promptly apply. Afterward they will read the blog. It wasn’t just an ad about how
awesome this place you will never have the money to visit is… it was about how much your job
sucks.
This campaign extended far beyond the web to effectively become the world’s greatest PR stunt
– generating more than £50m of equivalent paid-for ad space.
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Are you looking for work…
you may want to consider for work moving to Australia. This can be your new office
…Queensland needs a caretaker…
Duties include …
…feeding ocean
fish…
…cleaning a pool…
…collecting the leverage
of nature…
…It comes with a rent
free three bedroom villa
with pool…
…All this at a salary of about $8800 a month…
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…All you have to do is write a weekly blog
Or send a Video applications…
{ submit a 60 second video to Islandweekjob.com}…
Dream job
website crashed
after the
overwhelming
response…
1.4 million
People have
applied for the
job…
Results (at the end of the app stage - 6 weeks):
Islandreeljob.com received 4 million hits an hour on day one of the campaign
3,412,275 unique visitors to the website
28,584,465 page views
34,684 video applications from 201 countries
Over 6000 news stories worldwide
Media coverage valued at over $80 million
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Social Message and digital media: (Social Message, Social Causes etc.)
Digital media is widely used to contact, inform, and mobilize a group of concerned people
around an issue or cause. This is also called digital advocacy. The purpose of digital advocacy is
to galvanize supporters to take action.
This advocacy can be focused on a single issue or part of an ongoing effort. To use social media
as part of a Direct Action Campaign, it is helpful. No matter where you are in the process, you
can use social media to help support your cause. Many nonprofit organizations are also working
based on this platform.
The digital dashboard below is showing the use of social media in cause related marketing or
promoting social causes.
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Source- http://www.mdgadvertising.com/blog/2012-it-was-a-very-good-year-for-social-giving/
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Example:
6. Melbourne Transit Authority – Dumb Ways to Die:
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The public transit authority in Melbourne, Australia launched an extremely successful viral
campaign earlier this year, when they release a cutely animated and catchy song “Dumb Ways to
Die,” promoting safety tip around their public transportation system.
As of typing this blog post, the video already had over 34 million views on YouTube. Without
any media spend, the transit authority was able to get huge exposure to their campaign by using
clever social tactics.
In addition to making sure the song was very catchy, the transit authority used multiple platforms
to spread their message – originally posting the video on YouTube, offering the song for
download on SoundCloud, creating a separate Tumblr and launching an interactive site.
While it’s difficult to measure the results of the campaign (behavior change is not an easily
measurable target – there is no conversion rate, and only time will tell if it is effective), there is
no doubt that the campaign got a lot of attention and views without dedicating budgets to media
spend. (Blakley, 2012)
Objective- promoting safety tip around their public transportation system
Methodology- Promoting the video through funny and cute characters by showing public the
crazy ways by which people can die.
Results:
YouTube Views- 44,687,420 (on 24 April 2013)
Likes- 458140 (on 24 April 2013)
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Digital Media and Spice
Spice Global
Spice Global began operations as Modi Corp in the early 1980s, then Mcorp Global and later
Spice Corp. It has an annual device volume of over 9 million comprising an exhaustive series of
smart phones, 3G and Wi-Fi enabled phones. It has a direct customer reach through its 1000
retail stores and VAS services spanning over 20 countries across the world. (SpiceGlobal)
The company has many other firsts
First photocopier in India
First facsimile in India
First floppy drive in India
First GSM call in India
First Indian Brand of Handsets
First dual SIM phone in India
First 3D Phone in India
First dual SIM Android phone in Malaysia
First tablet running on Android OS in Malaysia
First local brand mobile with “messenger” service in Indonesia
Spice global has a combined net worth in excess of USD 2 billion.
S Mobility
An integral part of the Spice Group, S Mobility Ltd. began its journey in the Communication &
Entertainment sector by introducing new age mobile phones in the Indian market. S Mobility has
3 categories under its umbrella
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1. Spice Mobile
With a customer base of over 15 million and an annual volume of over 6 million devices, the
BSE/NSE listed company has a market share of nearly 4-5% of the Indian mobile devices
market. (SpiceMobile) With business operations spanning across India, Nepal, Bangladesh,
Uganda, Tanzania, Zimbabwe and Sri Lanka, Spice is expanding its geographical presence from
Ivory Coast to Indonesia. Spice Mobile currently has Sonam Kapoor as its brand Ambassador.
Spice Mobiles was the first Indian company to have introduced a 12 mega pixel camera phone
with optical zoom.
Spice Telecom (Mobile Service Provider) - Founded in 1997 Spice Telecom was the brand
name of Spice Communications Limited, which is a mobile phone service provider in India.
Spice Telecom is currently operating in the states of Punjab (India) and Karnataka i.e., in 2
circles of 23 Telecom Circles of India. Spice Communications Limited is now a subsidiary of
Mumbai based Idea Cellular Ltd. (an Aditya Birla group company). Idea Cellular owns more
than 80% equity in Spice Communications. Idea Cellular acquired the company from Modi
Wellvest and Telekom Malaysia (TMI, now Axiata) in March 17, 2010. Spice Telecom now has
a customer base of 4.46 Million subscribers in both circles. (SpiceTelecome)
2. Spice Hotspot:
Spice Retail made its beginning in the year 2005 as Hotspot with a team of 15 people. (Hotspot)
In the year 2009, Hotspot acquired Cellucom's India operations and the combined entity is now
known as Spice Retail Limited. Spice Retail Limited is the new face of Hotspot Retail Ltd. and
Cellucom India. Spice Retail’s objective is brings best in Mobility at the best of prices for its
customers. Product range includes latest smart phones, Tablets, trendy mobile phones, Bluetooth
devices, accessories & memory cards, to the latest in laptops. Recently Bangalore's Global
Access chain of stores was acquired by Spice Retail Limited, pushing the total count of stores to
over 850. Each Spice Hotspot store is equipped to provide a solution to customer’s service needs
be it recharging, paying mobile phone bills, buying a new mobile phone number or even buying
a new phone.
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3. Spice Digital:
Spice Digital Ltd. started in year 2000 is VAS (Value Added Services) companies in the
Telecom arena. (Spice Digital) Part of the Spice Global Group, it offers innovative solutions for
Telecom Operators, Enterprises and Government agencies using different mobile connectivity
media of Voice, IVR, SMS, USSD, WAP, 3G & Mobile Applications. It has partnerships with
most of the telecom service providers like Airtel, Vodafone, IDEA, BPL, BSNL, Reliance,
MTNL and other corporate.
Spice Mobile and Digital Media-
Spice Mobile’s digital media agency Dapple Consulting Pvt. Ltd. has achieved tremendous
success in spreading out the digital media campaign for Spice Mobile. The theme used for digital
media campaign was Customer Engagement. Spice mobile’s social media presence was
increased and maintained by agency for that purpose. For each new product or scheme launched
by Spice Mobile a poster was designed by the agency. The idea was to encourage people to like
that particular poster and making them aware of the new products and services offered by Spice
Mobile. For that purpose agency actively participated in discussion through comments under
each post. Each customer’s queries and issues were resolved by replying them back. This system
not only helped in building trust in consumer’s mind but also helped in making people actively
participate in discussion and hence make them aware of Products/Services/Schemes/New
Launches etc. The campaign was started in February 2013. And FB page has a total of more than
85000 fans till date.
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Facebook Page-
Page likes before February- 5118
Page Likes (Now) - 85648 (on March 9, 2013)
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Chart showing “likes”, “comments” and “People talking about this” Post vise-
Videos uploaded-
1. Cappuccino - SPICE Mobile Latest Ad
YouTube views- 7215
Link- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k5z1H4U9VIQ
2. Spice Popkorn Projector Mobile Ad Campaign
YouTube Views- 8931
Link- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SwfQ6i9-F4g
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3. Funny Indian advert for Spice Mobile- FIFA
YouTube views- 12096
Link- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mMwC4LmYrDs
Popular Contests
1. Know the Steller Pinnacle Contest-
The objective of this contest was to make people aware of the new and amazing features of new
Spice Stellet Pinnacle. Customer had to prove that he/she really know the Spice Steller Pinnacle
by answering some simple questions, liking and sharing after watching its Stellar Pinnacle
unboxing video. The consumer also had to pick his favorite Pinnacle feature. Just submit the
form and share the custom referral link with friends for additional chances to win.
Winners were selected through a random selection from eligible entries with the correct answers.
Successful referral from friends who join the contest through custom link, gives consumer
additional chances to win the sweepstake. The Grand Prize was the Spice Stellar Pinnacle!
2. Spice Fan of the day contest-
The objective of this contest was to increase the regular visits to spice page and actively engage
users by giving them reasons to buy Spice products and increasing the likes and share of each
post posted on its Fb page. Consumer had to join the Spice Mobiles community by logging in
31. Digital Marketing trends in competitive environment Jul-13
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with the Top Fans application Booshaka. (Booshaka ranks the most passionate people and
communities on Facebook. Page owners can install the Top Fans tab to recognize their best
supporters. Fans can login to participate and see where they rank in relation to friends and top
fans. So the more a fan participates, the more higher rank he or she will get)
After that customer was able to:
See his points and rank on leaderboard.
Recognized for his contributions to the community
Received gifts, perks, offers and more
32. Digital Marketing trends in competitive environment Jul-13
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Digital Marketing Terminology:
Pay Per Click (PPC) - advertisers pay the publisher (typically a website owner) when the ad is clicked.
With search engines, advertisers typically bid on keyword phrases relevant to their target market. PPC
"display" advertisements, also known as "banner" ads.
Websites that utilize PPC ads will display an advertisement when a keyword query matches an
advertiser's keyword list, or when a content site displays relevant content. Such advertisements are called
sponsored links or sponsored ads, and appear adjacent to, above, or beneath organic results on search
engine results pages, or anywhere a web developer chooses on a content site.
Among PPC providers, Google AdWords, Yahoo! Search Marketing, and Microsoft ad Center used to be
the three largest network operators,
There are two primary models for determining cost per click: flat-rate (determined by the rate card that
lists the cost per click (CPC) within different areas of their website or network) and bid-based.
Pay Per Impression (PPI) - with the online pay per impression method, advertisers bid how much they
are willing to spend for their ad to show up 1000 times.
Types of Internet marketing4
Internet marketing is broadly divided in to the following types
Display advertising: the use of web banners or banner ads placed on a third-party website or
blog to drive traffic to a company's own website and increase product awareness.5
Search engine marketing (SEM): a form of marketing that seeks to promote websites by
increasing their visibility in search engine result pages (SERPs) through the use of paid
placement, contextual advertising, and paid inclusion, or through the use of free search engine
optimization techniques also known as organic result.6
Search engine optimization (SEO): the process of improving the visibility of a website or a web
page in search engines via the "natural" or un-paid ("organic" or "algorithmic") search results.
4 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Online_advertising#cite_ref-19
5 "Define Online Marketing" (http://reference.yourdictionary.com/word-definitions/define-online-
marketing.html ). Yourdictionary.com. Retrieved 9 January 2012.
6 "What Is SEM / Search Engine Marketing?" (http://searchengineland.com/guide/what-is-sem ). Search
Engine Land. February 1, 2012.
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Social media marketing: the process of gaining traffic or attention through social media
websites such as Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn.7
Email marketing: directly marketing a commercial message to a group of people using
electronic mail.
Referral marketing: a method of promoting products or services to new customers through
referrals, usually word of mouth.
Affiliate marketing: a process wherein a product or service developed by one entity is sold by
other active sellers for a share of profits. A marketing practice in which a business rewards one or
more affiliates for each visitor or customer brought about by the affiliate's own marketing efforts.
Inbound marketing: involves creating and freely sharing informative content as a means of
converting prospects into customers and customers into repeat buyers.
Video marketing: This type of marketing specializes in creating videos that engage the viewer
into a buying state by presenting information in video form and guiding them to a product or
service[citation needed] Online video is increasingly becoming more popular among internet
users and companies are seeing it as a viable method of attracting customers.8
Revenue models 9
The three most common ways in which online advertising is purchased are CPM, CPC, and CPA.
CPM (Cost per Mile) or CPT (Cost per Thousand Impressions) is when advertisers pay for
exposure of their message to a specific audience. "Per mille" means per thousand impressions, or
loads of an advertisement. However, some impressions may not be counted, such as a reload or
internal user action.
CPV (Cost per Visitor) is when advertisers pay for the delivery of a Targeted Visitor to the
advertisers website.
CPV (Cost per View) is when advertisers pay for each unique user view of an advertisement or
website (usually used with pop-ups, pop-unders and interstitial ads).
7 ^ "What Is Social Media Marketing" (http://searchengineland.com/guide/what-is-social-media-marketing ).
Search Engine Land. Retrieved 9 January 2012.
8 Pattison, Kermit (2011-03-17). "Online Video Offers Low-Cost Marketing For Your Company"
(http://www.nytimes.com/2011/03/17/business/smallbusiness/17sbiz.html?_r=1 ). The NY Times.
Retrieved 2012-07-03.
9 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Online_advertising#cite_ref-19
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CPC (Cost Per Click) or PPC (Pay per click) is when advertisers pay each time a user clicks on
their listing and is redirected to their website. They do not actually pay for the listing, but only
when the listing is clicked on. This system allows advertising specialists to refine searches and
gain information about their market. Under the Pay per click pricing system, advertisers pay for
the right to be listed under a series of target rich words that direct relevant traffic to their website,
and pay only when someone clicks on their listing which links directly to their website. CPC
differs from CPV in that each click is paid for regardless of whether the user makes it to the target
site.
CPA (Cost per Action or Cost per Acquisition) or PPF (Pay per Performance)10
advertising
is performance based and is common in the affiliate marketing sector of the business. In this
payment scheme, the publisher takes all the risk of running the ad, and the advertiser pays only
for the number of users who complete a transaction, such as a purchase or sign-up. This model
ignores any inefficiency in the seller's web site conversion funnel. The following are common
variants of CPA:
CPL (Cost per Lead) advertising is identical to CPA advertising and is based on the user
completing a form, registering for a newsletter or some other action that the merchant feels will
lead to a sale.
CPS (Cost per Sale), PPS (Pay per Sale), or CPO (Cost per Order) advertising is based on
each time a sale is made. (HomePageBrickMarketing)
eCPM: Effective CPM or eCPM calculated through other conversion events such as Cost per
Clicks, Cost per Downloads, Cost per Leads etc. for example when an advertiser getting $2 per
download and for 100,000 impressions you received 10 downloads worth $20, in this case your
effective CPM or eCPM will be 2*20*1000/100,000= $0.4
Fixed Cost: Advertiser paying fixed cost for delivery frame by campaign flight dates without any
relevance to performance
Cost per conversion describes the cost of acquiring a customer, typically calculated by dividing
the total cost of an ad campaign by the number of conversions. The definition of "Conversion"
varies depending on the situation: it is sometimes considered to be a lead, a sale, or a purchase.
10 http://www.whyaffiliatemarketing.com/#affiliate
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