Introduction to RSS

1,145 views
1,107 views

Published on

Training for staff the the Library

Published in: Education
0 Comments
0 Likes
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Views
Total views
1,145
On SlideShare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
62
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
0
Comments
0
Likes
0
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide
  • Using RSS feeds & related tools can you save you time and help you keep informed. This hands-on workshop will cover what RSS is and how you can use it. We will set up an iGoogle page or GoogleReader account and add RSS feeds
  • Introduction to RSS

    1. 1. Introduction to RSS<br />Bobbi Newman<br />Digital Branch Manager<br />Chattahoocchee Valley Libraries<br />
    2. 2. What is RSS?<br />Really Simple Syndication<br />Feed<br />Reader<br />
    3. 3. WWW<br />WWW<br />WWW<br />WWW<br />WWW<br />
    4. 4. WWW<br />WWW<br />WWW<br />WWW<br />WWW<br />
    5. 5.
    6. 6.
    7. 7. Not just for blogsmany sites produce an RSS feed<br />
    8. 8.
    9. 9.
    10. 10.
    11. 11. Even if they don’t…<br />
    12. 12.
    13. 13.
    14. 14.
    15. 15.
    16. 16. Locating an RSS<br />
    17. 17.
    18. 18.
    19. 19.
    20. 20.
    21. 21.
    22. 22.
    23. 23.
    24. 24.
    25. 25. Other Options<br />
    26. 26. http://www.feedmyinbox.com/<br />
    27. 27. Microsoft Outlook<br />Add an RSS Feed through the Microsoft Office Outlook 2007 Account Settings dialog box<br />On the Tools menu, click Account Settings. <br />On the RSS Feeds tab, click New. <br />In the New RSS Feed dialog box paste the URL of the RSS Feed.<br />Click Add. <br />Click OK. <br />
    28. 28.
    29. 29. Let’s Get Started!<br />http://librarianbyday.wikispaces.com/<br />
    30. 30. Some Suggestions<br />Ledger Enquirer<br />http://www.ledger-enquirer.com/<br />Library Journal<br />http://www.libraryjournal.com/<br />http://www.libraryjournal.com/RSS<br />ALA<br />http://www.ala.org/<br />PLA<br />http://www.publiclibrariesonline.org/content/magazines<br />http://www.inthelibrarywiththeleadpipe.org/<br />Zen Habits<br />http://zenhabits.net/<br />Positivity Blog<br />http://www.positivityblog.com/<br />Life Hacker<br />http://lifehacker.com/<br />Perpetual Beta<br />http://americanlibrariesmagazine.org/perpetualbeta<br />Inside Higher Ed<br />http://www.insidehighered.com/<br />
    31. 31. Librarian in Black<br />http://librarianinblack.net/librarianinblack/<br />In the Library with a Lead Pipe<br />http://www.inthelibrarywiththeleadpipe.org/<br />Unquiet Librarian<br />http://theunquietlibrarian.wordpress.com/<br />Agnostic, Maybe<br />http://agnosticmaybe.wordpress.com/<br />David Lee King<br />http://www.davidleeking.com/ <br />Swiss Army Librarian<br />http://www.swissarmylibrarian.net/<br />Attempting Elegance<br />http://rogersurbanek.wordpress.com/<br />
    32. 32. Additional Tools<br />Bloglines<br />http://www.bloglines.com/<br />Pageflakes – social personalized homepage<br />http://www.pageflakes.com/<br />Netvibes<br />http://www.netvibes.com<br />MyYahoo<br />http://my.yahoo.com/<br />Personal homepage comparisons<br />http://tinyurl.com/r5a27d<br />

    ×