• Share
  • Email
  • Embed
  • Like
  • Save
  • Private Content
Over 101 Sites, Apps and Programs to Enhance Teaching and Learning
 

Over 101 Sites, Apps and Programs to Enhance Teaching and Learning

on

  • 616 views

This is the core presentation for over 101 apps, programs and sites to enhance your classroom teaching and provide creativity channels for your students to express their learning. You will find great ...

This is the core presentation for over 101 apps, programs and sites to enhance your classroom teaching and provide creativity channels for your students to express their learning. You will find great sites to support your lessons and have a lot of fun using these.

Statistics

Views

Total Views
616
Views on SlideShare
616
Embed Views
0

Actions

Likes
0
Downloads
3
Comments
0

0 Embeds 0

No embeds

Accessibility

Upload Details

Uploaded via as Microsoft PowerPoint

Usage Rights

© All Rights Reserved

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Processing…
Post Comment
Edit your comment

    Over 101 Sites, Apps and Programs to Enhance Teaching and Learning Over 101 Sites, Apps and Programs to Enhance Teaching and Learning Presentation Transcript

    • Things You Need Now! • Smart Phone • QR / Barcode Reader • Headphones are polite • Microphone • Gallery of pictures you can use • Internet connection (set it up now) • Tablet • QR / Barcode Reader • Headphones are polite • Microphone • Gallery of pictures you can use • Internet connection (set it up now) • Computer • Flash Player • PDF Reader • Web Cam and Mic • Headhphones are polite • Internet connection (desktops are ready-set up laptops) This presentation is fast paced. If you get behind, drop the program and work with the presentation. You will have access to the complete presentation and the outline notes which contain all the items presented.
    • Lee Keller PX 42825
    • Video Animation Graphics Art Sound Music Math Science Language News Forms Polls Storage Transfers Open Interaction Planning Daily Life Tools Applications Social Maps To Enhance Education
    • Rules There are no rules. There are tools. Some are for your subject(s). Some are for your grade level(s). All are for you to share.
    • Subject to Change Some improve Some get worse Some change radically Some disappear completely Some are bought out
    • www.ustream.tv Computer or app! / Free or Pay for Pro Animoto Tellagami – App Animation – Voki Animation – Xtranormal Animation – GoAnimate Animation – Dvolver Animation – Zimmertwins Free movies – weird stuff - http://www.snagfilms.com File type conversion – media http://www.zamzar.com/ Live Stream! http://new.livestream.com/ Videos and Animation Tools to create or products to use
    • • NGA Kids Zone – site – Interactive art http://www.nga.gov/kids/zone/zone.htm • Fotopedia http://www.fotopedia.com/reporter/magazine • Open Clipart – www.openclipart.org – free clip art site • Cool Iris – www.cooliris.com – photo viewing – interacts with instagram, facebook, flickr, picasa, dropbox, skydrive, etc. • Google Art Project http://www.google.com/culturalinstitute/project/art -project • Louvre Virtual Tours http://www.louvre.fr/en/visites-en-ligne#tabs • Sistine Virtual tour http://www.vatican.va/various/cappelle/sistina_vr/ • Create a still life piece of art http://www.nga.gov/kids/zone/stilllife.htm Art Resources for the eyes
    • • • • • • • • • • • • JING Project – FREE video and graphic screen capture - http://www.techsmith.com/jing.html www.Screenr.com Facegoo – app https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.robo twheelie.android.facegoo PicsArt Goo – app https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.pics art.goo Aviary – site and app – very cool effects http://www.aviary.com/ www.Fotoflexer.com – online photo editing www.Pixlr.com – online photo editing Photo Mosaic Software http://www.andreaplanet.com/andreamosaic/ Livebrush – a fun art program free download http://livebrush.com/ Image Resizer – optimize http://imageresizer.codeplex.com/ Image resizer - http://www.justresizeit.com/ Art to Make Tools and FUN!
    • • Pizap – photo editor and collage maker http://pizap.com/ site and apps • www.Befunky.com • Draw and share - http://sketchfu.com/ • 3D panoramics you can make http://photosynth.net/ • Create your avatar - http://doppleme.com/ • Google Sketch Up – design things http://www.sketchup.com/ • Picasa – Free graphics program http://picasa.google.com/ • Create Motivational posters – fun http://wigflip.com/automotivator/ • Make fake money with personal pictures http://www.fakemoneygenerator.com/ • Fantasy site making you into a part animal http://www.buildyourwildself.com/ MORE Art to Make Tools and FUN!
    • • • • • • Makebeliefscomix http://bitstrips.com/ Pixton Toondoo Stripgenerator Comic Strips! Easy and fun!
    • • www.Wikimedia.com – site linking to wiki-resources • OP Sound – open source sound and music – www.opsound.org • Find Sounds - http://findsounds.com/ • Blues Maker – make your own blues song - http://d3.do/works/bluesmaker/ • San Francisco Symphony for Kids – great music learning site http://www.sfskids.org • Sphynx Kids Music – music learning site http://www.sphinxkids.org • Audacity – gotta have audio editor – free! – http://audacity.sourceforge.net/download/ Audio It sounds good to me!
    • Tag Galaxy - http://www.taggalaxy.de/ Tag Galaxy Graphical, Interactive, Flickr Search
    • Fun Tools • PHET – online simulations – http://phet.colorado.edu/ • How Stuff Works – App and site http://www.howstuffworks.com/
    • Astronomy • Star Chart App – Free version – iOS and Android https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.esca pistgames.starchart • Google Sky Map – Free – iOS and Android and computer http://www.google.com/sky/ • Meteor Shower Calendar – app https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.ccwil cox.meteorshower • NASA – app and site - http://www.nasa.gov/ • Solar System Scope – online interactive solar system – www.solarsystemscope.com • Hubble photos - http://hubblesite.org/ • World wide telescope – science fun http://www.worldwidetelescope.org/
    • Biology • Human Anatomy Atlas – iOS and Android – LARGE FILE – Free Version! https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.visibl ebody.atlassp&hl=en • 3D Brain – app https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.ccwil cox.meteorshower • Bird songs – yeah, really - http://www.xeno-canto.org/ • Biology Corner - http://www.biologycorner.com/ • Biology for Kids - http://www.biology4kids.com/
    • Social Sciences Sites • American History – Teacher site http://americanhistory.mrdonn.org/ • Ben Franklin Timeline http://www.benfranklin300.org/timeline/ • Presidential Times http://www.presidentialtimeline.org/#/home
    • Spectra http://ori.msnbc.msn.com/id/24207533
    • Mathematics Sites and Apps • Mathway – iOS and site - https://www.mathway.com/ • Wolframalpha - www.Wolframalpha.com – mathematical search engine • Cool math games - http://www.coolmath.com/ • Math games - http://www.kidsnumbers.com/ • Visualize sizes - http://www.kokogiak.com/megapenny/
    • Language Sites, Apps & Programs • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • Scramble / Zynga – app https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.zynga.scramble Visuwords – www.visuwords.com – vocab on visual steroids Storyline Online – stories read to you - http://www.storylineonline.net/ Rhyming Dictionary and VersePerfect http://bryantmcgill.com/books/rhyming-dictionary/ Create stories – www.storybird.com – free Word Web – vocabulary tool - http://wordweb.info/ Text to Voice http://www.fromtexttospeech.com/ Text to Voicehttp://www2.research.att.com/~ttsweb/tts/demo.php Text to Voice http://www.freemake.com/ Audio books for free - http://podiobooks.com/ Free public domain audio books - http://librivox.org/ Translation Party (Japanese) - http://translationparty.com Spelling activities - http://www.spellingcity.com/ Puzzle makers - http://www.discoveryeducation.com/free-puzzlemaker/ Create stories, game and animations - http://scratch.mit.edu/
    • Programs to Make Education Exciting
    • • Team Hively – www.teamhively.com • Google Forms - Web • www.polleverywhere.com – Web • www.jotform.com • www.smspoll.net – Web • www.surveymonkey.com • Phone invitations – Free & tiered https://www.phonevite.com/
    • • Dropbox – www.dropbox.com – web and app • OpenDrive – www.opendrive.com – web and app • www.Wetransfer.com – web – large files
    • • Aurisma – app http://www.aurasma.com/#/whats-your-aura • Layar – app - https://www.layar.com/
    • • Maps.google.com - https://maps.google.com/ • Google Earth – app and computer http://www.google.com/earth/ • Maps.bing.com - http://www.bing.com/maps/ • Mapquest.com - http://www.mapquest.com/ • PAPA - http://www.pbcgov.com/papa/
    • • Bubbl.us – www.bubbl.us • Free Mind http://freemind.sourceforge.net/wiki/index.php /Download • MindMeister - http://www.mindmeister.com/ • Mind 4 2 - http://mind42.com/
    • • Web 2.0 programs and sites - http://www.go2web20.net/ • Kid submitted instructional videos http://meetmeatthecorner.org/ • I Spy Games by Scholastic http://www.scholastic.com/ispy/games/ • QR Codes – Make them http://www.dontwasteyourtime.co.uk/qr-codes/qr-codes-fromgoo-gl/ • Flight Rader 24 - http://www.flightradar24.com/ • Starfall - http://www.starfall.com/ • SlideRocket - http://www.sliderocket.com • Slide Presentation Sharing - http://www.slideshare.net/ • Sharing presentations - http://www.authorstream.com/ • Mind Lap - http://jvsc.jst.go.jp – Perceptions (deep stuff) • Study Tools - http://quizlet.com/ • Web site tagging/bookmark https://www.diigo.com/ • CutePDF – free PDF maker – www.cutepdf.com • Bump – app – Google bought and is shutting down
    • • SAT Vocab – www.Vocabahead.com • SAT Prep - https://www.number2.com/ • Test Prep - http://www.shmoop.com/ • Vocab for charity - http://freerice.com • Self Improvement program – www.rootein.com • Instapaper for reading later http://www.instapaper.com/ • Pocket read it later - http://getpocket.com/ • Middle Spot – personal dashboard on multiple devices - http://middlespot.com • Sheppard Software – site – tons of educational games – www.sheppardsoftware.com
    • • • • • • • • • • • • • • Adobe TV – site - http://tv.adobe.com/ Web site tagging/bookmark http://addictomatic.com Interactive site - http://www.exploratorium.edu/ Kids’ Browser - http://www.kidzui.com/ 50 Dangerous Things (you let your kids do) http://www.fiftydangerousthings.com/ Web100 – top 100 web site lists - http://www.web100.org/ Makezine – making things - http://makezine.com/ PBSKids - http://pbskids.org Two Foods – Nuitrition Site – www.twofoods.com Nuitrition - http://www.sparkpeople.com/ Kids Know It – Interactive and resources site for multiple subjects - http://www.kidsknowit.com/ Build your own web site free - http://www.wix.com/ Checklist reminder app http://www.rememberthemilk.com/
    • • www.GasBuddy.com • www.mint.com • https://www.manilla.com/
    • • Evernote – app and site - https://evernote.com/ • eFax - http://www.efax.com/efax-free • scanr – app https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=co m.intsig.camscanner
    • • Endomondo – exercise http://www.endomondo.com/ • www.Zoom.us – Cloud meeting – site and app • Fuel Up to Play 60 http://www.fueluptoplay60.com/
    • Lee Keller PX 42825