Major Principles of the Constitution
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5

Major Principles of the Constitution






Total Views
Views on SlideShare
Embed Views



0 Embeds 0

No embeds



Upload Details

Uploaded via as Microsoft PowerPoint

Usage Rights

© All Rights Reserved

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
Post Comment
Edit your comment

Major Principles of the Constitution Major Principles of the Constitution Presentation Transcript

  • Major Principles of the U.S. Constitution
    • U.S. Constitution Unit
    • Assignment #1
  • Major Principles of the U.S. Constitution
    • There are 7 major principles of government our U.S. Constitution rests on:
      • Popular Sovereignty
      • Republicanism
      • Limited Government
      • Federalism
      • Separation of Powers
      • Checks & Balances
      • Individual Rights
  • Popular Sovereignty
    • Contained in the 1st sentence of our Constitution
    • Means ‘authority of the people”
    • U.S. citizens give their permission to be governed, and in return specify the powers & rules by which they are governed
  • Republicanism
    • Refers to our government style of a “republic”
    • Voters hold all the power in a republican system
    • People elect representatives to make laws & run government
    • Representatives are then responsible to the people the elect them
  • Limited Government Government
    • Even though the Constitution created a stronger central government, they wanted to make sure it couldn’t misuse its power
    • Our Constitution specifically outlines the powers that each branch of government is given
    • Any powers not listed are granted only by the people’s permission
    • Listing of powers found in Article I of the Constitution
    • Also found in the Bill of Rights
  • Federalism
    • The new Constitution did not want to eliminate states power over themselves
    • Each state is allowed to deal with their own needs in their own way (educations, roads & highways)
    • The central government deals with issues that involve all Americans (money, taxes on goods sold in-between states)
    • Who gets to do what is described in our Constitution
  • The Federal System Enumerated Powers Reserved Powers Concurrent Powers Powers specifically given to our central govt (declaring war) Powers specifically given to our state govts (education) Powers shared between both govts (power to tax)
  • Separation of Powers
    • To prevent the central government from becoming too powerful, it was split into three parts: Executive, Legislative, Judicial.
    • Legislative Branch makes our national laws (Congress)
    • Executive Branch carries out/oversees our national laws (President)
    • Judicial Branch interprets and applies the laws (Supreme Court)
    Executive Branch Legislative Branch Judicial Branch
  • Checks & Balances
    • Our Constitution gives each branch of the central government a power, or “check”, over the other one to “balance” their power.
    • The President can veto any law Congress tries to pass and selects who sits on the Supreme Court
    • Congress can impeach the President and Supreme Court judges
    • The Supreme Court can declare acts of Congress and the President illegal
  • Individual Rights
    • Embodies our belief that the people rule over their government
    • Our first 10 Amendments list the individual rights given to each American citizen
    • Other Amendments that protect individual rights have been added since (abolishment of slavery, right to vote for women)