My Government: The Three Branches of Government


Published on

My Government: The Three Branches of Government, a sequential stills project by a student at West Manor Elementary School, won the 2014 Annual GALILEO Staff Award for Best Use of GALILEO Resources Student Prize in a Georgia Student Media Festival.

Published in: Education
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Total Views
On Slideshare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

My Government: The Three Branches of Government

  1. 1. My Government: The Three Branches of Government BY: CAMERON WOODS
  2. 2. Local Government The local government executive branch is headed by the mayor. Our mayor is Mr. Kasim Reed.
  3. 3. City Hall & The Atlanta City Council The Atlanta City Council is the legislative body of the city of Atlanta. The council’s main role is to make laws. The Council is in charge of several agencies, boards, and commissions. The Atlanta City Council is made up of 15 members and is led by Council President Ceasar C. Mitchell.
  4. 4. The Atlanta City Council
  5. 5. The Atlanta Municipal Court The judicial branch of the local government is the Atlanta Municipal Court.
  6. 6. The State Government The state government by the governor. Our present governor is Mr. Nathan Deal. He lives in the Governor’s Mansion, but he works at the State Capital building.
  7. 7. Georgia General Assembly Georgia has had a form of representative government since January 1751. It is known as the Georgia General Assembly, it is one of the largest state legislatures in the nation. The General Assembly consists of two chambers, the House of Representatives and the Senate.
  8. 8. The State Capital The General Assembly has operated continuously since 1777, when Georgia became one of the thirteen original states and revoked its status as a colony of Great Britain.
  9. 9. The Georgia State House of Representatives The Georgia House of Representatives is the lower house of the General Assembly. There are 180 members from across the state. The Speaker of the House is responsible for appointing the members to committees and presiding over meetings.
  10. 10. My Cousin  My cousin is a member of the Georgia House of Representatives. His name is Al Williams, he represents Midway, Georgia in the southeastern part of Georgia.
  11. 11. The Georgia State Senate The Georgia Senate is the upper house of the General Assembly. It has 56 members, the president of the Senate is the Lt. Governor, Casey Cagle. Lt Gov. Casey Cagle
  12. 12. Georgia Supreme Court The Supreme Court of Georgia is the highest judicial authority of the US state of Georgia. The court was established in 1845. The judges are elected by the people. The Judges Georgia Supreme Court Building Supreme Court Seal
  13. 13. National Government The National government is headed by the President of the United States of America, President Barack Obama. He works and resides in the White house with his wife, Mrs. Michelle Obama and daughters Malia and Natasha (Sasha). President Obama The Whitehouse
  14. 14. The House of Representatives Members of Congress are called congressman or congresswoman, each representative is elected to a two-year term serving the people of a specific congressional district. The number of voting representatives in the House is fixed by law at no more than 435. Each member is responsible for representing the population of their district within their state. The Gallery of the House of Representative. My family tickets to the House of Representatives Gallery
  15. 15. The Senate The United States Senate is a legislative chamber in the two body legislature of the United States of America, and together with the U.S. House of Representatives makes up the U.S. Congress. The composition and powers of the Senate are established in Article One of the U.S. Constitution. Each U.S. state is represented by two senators, regardless of population, who serve staggered six-year terms. The chamber of the United States Senate is located in the north wing of the Capitol, in Washington, D.C., the national capital. The House of Representatives convenes in the south wing of the same building. The Senate has several exclusive powers not granted to the House, including consenting to treaties as a precondition to their ratification and consenting to or confirming appointments of Cabinet secretaries, federal judges, other federal executive officials, My tickets to the Senate
  16. 16. Supreme Court The Supreme Court is the final interpreter of federal constitutional law, that means that the justices explain the meaning of the constitution as it relates to people’s problems. The Court consists of a chief justice and eight associate justices who are nominated by the President and confirmed by the Senate. Once appointed, justices have life tenure unless they resign, retire, take senior status, or are removed after impeachment (none have ever been removed). Supreme Court Building The Supreme Court Justices Supreme Court Seal
  17. 17. My trip to Washington, D.C. President Obama waved at us! Dr. King Statue In rotunda My Congressman, David Scott desk Cameron at the Capital
  18. 18. Bibliography  All pictures are from Galileo Georgia encyclopedia  Stakes, Mary E. "Government and Laws: Overview." New Georgia Encyclopedia. 01 October 2013. Web.