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Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers
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Google Travel Labs - what’s new in it for hoteliers

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  • US Only
    The carousel content appears to be an abbreviated info card on each business.It's manifesting itself as an image representative of the businesses, along with the business name and other information Google deems important for that type of business.For the categories we've seen this includes:
    Total review numbers
    Price range
    Address
    Zagat rating
    Expect additional categories to be quickly added as we've already been surprised by some of the long tail terms that conjure the carousel.
    Googler Jade W:
    While we can't guarantee inclusion in search results, we can say that the carousel will show results from listings in Google Maps using categories. Just as in regular ranking, Google's algorithms take into account many factors to select the places and results that are most relevant to the user. This algorithm based approach is also used to decide which businesses are in the carousel.
    When it will be available in Europe?
    When European locations will be available for G Knowledge Graph Carousel?
    When it will be available in other languages?
    This HUGE focus on images means you NEED to be sure you've got solid images that draw people to your business. As mentioned above, these images are mostly pulled from your Google listing so manage them there.
    The thing to remember now is that People handle images FAR differently than they do text and don't mind scrolling. This change in the search results is BIGGER than it seems at first. Don't be surprised when lower ranked search results get more click throughs due to the carousel.
  • Filters available by date and user reviews
    Anatomy of an entry:
    Google + Business - Image
    Google + Business - User reviews
    Google Hotel Finder - Prices
  • US Only
  • Not able to reproduce it
    I have seen it here in Europe
  • search marketer Matthew Hunt conducted this study
    search term ‘Chicago Restaurants,’ 
    Hunt asked 83 searchers to click on the area of the Google search results page that was of most interest to them.
  • According to the Associated Press (via Fox), Google is photographing hotel interiors as part of an effort to enhance its travel content.
    Radisson and Best Western are the only two participating chains explicitly mentioned in the article
    The program is being run through Google Maps (not Wallet) and it is part of the interior photography program Google has been doing for a couple of years.
  • Protel is now
  • Enhanced campaigns can save time and improve your AdWords results with features including:
    Powerful advertising tools for the multi-device world: Ability to manage your bids across devices, locations and time (e.g. bidding higher when showing your ad on mobile devices or to users who are within a half-kilometer of your store)
    Smarter ads optimized for varying user contexts: Ability to show the right creative, sitelink, app or extension based on the context of your prospective customers and the devices they’re using
    Advanced reports to measure new conversion types: Ability to track new conversion types, such as calls, digital downloads, and conversions across devices
  • Now you can now email any Google+ user you want as long as you have a Gmail account.
    Maybe you've always wanted to share your business ideas with someone and have never had a chance to land directly in their inbox before this?!
    If that's the case then it would be better to move sooner rather than later before it's abused by too many people or the feature is removed completely due to attacks by consumer privacy groups. Consumer Watchdog filed a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission claiming that this new feature violates the "Buzz" Consent Agreement. Consumer Watchdog advocates write, "This is an obvious invasion of a person's privacy and a delight for potential stalkers."
  • But not only: now present in Search results, on map and even on Google +
  • Ranking Factor: 1
    One of the main factors that Google uses to rank hotels is their reviews. It’s hard to find any hotel with less that 4 out of 5 stars in the top results. When there is some disparity, it usually comes down to either the number of reviews or the number of logged-in reviewers.
    It’s no surprise that Google gives more weight to reviews done by logged in Google+ users than to anonymous ones. In fact, it looks like the number of Zagat user reviews has almost no impact on hotel rankings.
  • Ranking Factor: 2
    First, Google tends to show a variety of prices at first. However, pricing results will change over time to adjust to your behavior. In other words, if you are looking for a hotel in different regions of San Francisco and you’re constantly clicking on cheap hotels, the results will prioritize cheaper hotels.
    On the other hand, Google Hotel Finder also ranks hotels that are not overcharging customers.  This feature could add accountability to hotels that are overcharging their customers during weekends.
    The pricing model of HPA is the same as regular search campaigns and runs on a cost-per-click basis. If the advertiser's price within the drop down menu is not clicked, they don't pay for the viewing of that price.
    X can be any percentage and can be changed to increase your bid for better positioning within the drop down menu.
    The most important thing to remember is that the advertiser can only outbid those who are offering the same price. If the advertiser rate is $105 and a competitor's rate is $103, the advertiser cannot out bid them. The advertiser would have to decrease their rate to $103 to outbid them.
    Hotel prices for up to 180 days of room availability & 1-14 nights of stay
    Default: cache of Google is 90 days of room availability and 1-7 nights of stay for each property
  • Ranking Factor: 3
    However, Google does tend to prioritize hotels that have taken ownership of their Google+ pages
  • Ranking Factor: 4
    Surprisingly enough, there are a handful of hotels in every city that do not have any pictures associated with their account. In this case, Evergreen Motel does actually have a few pictures on OTAs but none on their Google+ Local profile, which is the main source of pictures for Hotel Finder and VFM Leonardo, a travel & hospitality tech company.
    Source of the images to be discussed later
  • Ranking Factor: 4
  • Verify your business
    GO
  • There are several fields to fill out when creating or editing and some of them may not seem like they are really necessary. Google wants to give users the best experience possible; in most circumstances the user will have a better experience if there is more information present on the Places page. This means not only filling out the required text fields but also the optional ones:
  • 97% of consumers search for local businesses online. Your local Google+ page connects you with customers on Search, Maps and Google+, no matter what device they are using.
  • Studies show that we are ready to pay the price for more entertainment: people seem not to be bothered by losing time while multimedia is loading. Also, the studies shows people will likely buy after being part of more multimedia experiences.
  • Eye-catcher
  • Looking at a billboard supposed to be love at first sight
  • ´How Google judge pictures as quality
  • –travel & hospitality tech company
  • You would not like your hotel to show up like this
  • You would not like your hotel to show up like this
  • This HUGE focus on images means you NEED to be sure you've got solid images that draw people to your business. As mentioned above, these images are mostly pulled from your Google listing so manage them there.
    The thing to remember now is that People handle images FAR differently than they do text and don't mind scrolling. This change in the search results is BIGGER than it seems at first. Don't be surprised when lower ranked search results get more click throughs due to the carousel.
  • Transcript

    • 1. Google Travel Labs Ecaterina Paun Head of User Experience protel hotelsoftware new Google services for the travel industry
    • 2. “Personally, I don't think we're in control of anything, except our attitude to what comes our way.” Bruce Lawson Opera Web browser Opera.com Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014 Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 4
    • 3. $$$ Google AdWords $$$ Google AdWords $ Google Hotel Finder $ Google Map
    • 4. $$$ Google AdWords $$$ Google AdWords $ Google Hotel Finder $ Google Knowledge Graph Carousel / Google Hotel Finder $ Google Map
    • 5. Google Search link distribution "above the fold” 7 HTTP://BLUMENTHALS.COM GOOGLE’S LOCAL CAROUSEL – TRAPPED IN GOOGLE’S WORLD? Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014 Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH
    • 6. 8 “Findability is the new Black.” Liz Strauss CEO & Founder, SOBCon Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014 Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH
    • 7. CollegeHumor http://www.youtube.com/user/collegehumor
    • 8. 11 I. Google New Services for the hotel industry Google cards (Google Knowledge Graph & Google Now cards) Google Knowledge Graph Carousel, now with Hotel Bookings Google Hotel View interior 360 Imagery Google Hotel Finder: Get your hotel listed Google AdWords Enhanced Campaigns Email any Google+ connection Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014 Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH
    • 9. Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014 Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 12 Google Knowledge Graph Information Cards
    • 10. 13 Google Knowledge Graph Information Cards Google Map Google + Business Google + Business Google + Business Google Hotel Finder Google Places for Business Competition Google + Business Google Places for Business Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014 Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH Google Map
    • 11. 14 Google cards Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014 Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH
    • 12. 15 Google Now cards Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014 Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH
    • 13. 16 Google cards Google + Business Google Hotel Finder Google Places for Business Google Map + Google Places for Business Google Hotel Finder Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014 Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH
    • 14. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 17 Google Knowledge Graph Carousel now with Hotel Bookings Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 15. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 18 Google Knowledge Graph Carousel now with Hotel Bookings Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 16. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 19 Google Knowledge Graph Carousel now with Hotel Bookings • Not yet available in Europe Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 17. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 20 Google Knowledge Graph Carousel Sightings Image via http://searchengineland.com Google Knowledge Graph Carousel Sightings Becoming More Frequent Within A Wider Variety Of Searches Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 18. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 21 Google Knowledge Graph Carousel -heatmap Image via http://searchengineland.com Study: Google Local Carousel Results Win 48% Of Clicks, While Only 14.5% Of Clicks Were On The Map 48% Clicks 14.5% Clicks Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 19. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 22 Google Hotel View interior 360 Imagery Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 20. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 23 Google Hotel View interior 360 Imagery Not spotted in Europe for hotels, yet. But spotted for our Italian partners, Serinissima. Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 21. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 24 Google Hotel Finder Get your hotel listed How can I have my hotel listed on Google Hotel Finder? Independent hotels: check with your PMS provider if they are one of the Google selected partners Major hotel brands: direct implementation (from Central Reservation System to Google ) OTA listing – is your hotel already listed on Booking.com, Expedia.com or another major OTA? Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 22. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 25 • Powerful advertising tools for the multi- device world • Smarter ads optimized for varying user contexts • Advanced reports to measure new conversion types Google AdWords Enhanced Campaigns Bing Ads states that using location extensions on your ad can boost average CTR by as much as 33%. Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 23. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 26 Email any Google+ connection January 9th , 2014 "Your email address isn't visible to a Google+ connection unless you send that person an email, and likewise, that person's email address isn't visible to you unless they send you an email.“ • Good news for the aggressive marketer • Use it now, as it probably will be abused and removed Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 24. Google Easter Egg atari breakout
    • 25. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 28 II. Google Travel Labs Improve your website’s visibility on Google (search) Improve your business’s visibility on Google Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 26. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 29 • Google AdWords • Google Plus (including Places & Maps) • YouTube - telling stories • Google Hotel Finder  Gabriele Schulze Entrepreneur Marketing4results.de Berlin • Google Hotel Finder • Google Places for Business Ingo Dignas Managing Director protel hotelsoftware GmbH • Google Hotel Finder • YouTube Manfred Osthues Managing Director protel hotelsoftware GmbH • Google Analytics • Google AdWords anonymous SEO specialist Booking.com • Google Hotel Finder • Google Plus anonymous Industry expert Google Travel • Google Hotel Finder • Google Places for Business anonymous SEO specialist Expedia The top 2 most important Google services for hoteliers: Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 27. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 30 Improve your website’s visibility Improve your business’s visibility on Google Entertain & Tell stories: confidence & popularity Direct bookings & easier rate comparison Get your business on Google Get your business on Google –social componentDetailed reports about your pages' visibility Measure & track your marketing efforts Advertise to boost website traffic and sales Entertain & Tell stories: drive traffic to your website Connect with customers & drive traffic to your website Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 28. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 31 CONTENT Social Media Multi-devices presence Google + REVIEWS IMAGES GOOGLE HOTEL FINDER Improve your website’s visibility Improve your business’s visibility on Google Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 29. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 32 II. Google Travel Labs Google Hotel Finder Google + Business & Google Places for Business YouTube - A Traveler's Constant Companion Billboard: 1 picture = 100 words Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 30. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 33 Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 31. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 34 Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 32. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 35 Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 33. Number and quality of reviews Pricing Presence on Google+ Business Quality Pictures Proximity to City Center Top 5 Hotel Finder Ranking Factors Google Hotel Finder Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 36 Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 34. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 37 1. Number and quality of reviews Sources: Google + users’ reviews Zagat reviews Get more reviews Ask your fans from other social networks (Facebook, Twitter, emailing) Ask at the desk Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 35. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 38 2. Pricing Google tends to show a variety of prices at first, but changing it based on user’s behavior Google Hotel Finder also ranks hotels that are not overcharging customers Price model: CPC (cost-per-click) lead generation program There are two bidding options: Pay a flat rate per night (example $1 per night) Pay a percentage of total price * # of nights CPC= (x) * (Total price) * (# of nights). CPC= 0.2% * 120 * 2 = 0.48 Euro The most important thing to remember is that the advertiser can only outbid those who are offering the same price Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 36. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 39 3. Presence on Google+ Business Hotels without Google + Pages? Verified listings are favorites Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 37. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 40 4. Quality pictures Pictures associated with hotel’s Google + Business & Google Places for Business “Pictures are worth 1000 words” Google+ Local photo and video guidelines https://support.google.com/plus/answer/2689731?hl=en&ref_topic=2624941 Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 38. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 41 4. Quality pictures Sources of images Hotel’s Google + Business Google + users Other Google image services (ex: panoramio) VFM Leonardo –travel & hospitality tech company Coming soon to Europe: Google Hotel View interior 360 Imagery Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 39. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 42 5. Proximity to City Center Google Hotel finder shows first results from the city center The results are slowly spiraled out from there. Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 40. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 43 How can I have my hotel listed on Google Hotel Finder? Independent hotels: check with your PMS provider if is one of the Google selected partners Major hotel brands: direct implementation (hotel’s Central Reservation System to Google) OTA listing – are your hotel already listed on Booking.com, Expedia.com or another major OTA? Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 41. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 44 Losers OTAs already branded OTAs lose traffic Expedia claims that 40% of their traffic reserches hotels on Expedia but then visits and books on hotel branded websites Meta search sites Kayak.com, SkyScanner.com, Trivago.com, etc , as Google Hotel Finder is itself a meta search site. Winners OTAs dominate the Google Hotel Finder pricing menu Hotels pushing real-time availability & prices through Google API (once implemented by the PMS provider) Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 42. Google Easter Egg google in 1998
    • 43. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 46 Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 44. “Google Places for Business gives you access to free tools that help your business get online, be found on Google Search and Maps and get closer to your customers. ” FREE Dashboard 15 min http://www.google.com/business/placesforbusiness/ “Your Google+ page helps you build a loyal fan base. Your customers can show their appreciation with ratings and reviews, use the +1 button to endorse your content, and re-share your posts across the web.” FREE Social component Forever http://www.google.com/+/business/ Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 47 Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 45. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 48 Address+ Phone Email address + Website Description (add keywords, where possible) Categories Information: Service Areas and Location Settings Hours of operations Payment options Photos Additional Details Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 46. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 49 Be found on Google Search and Maps Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 47. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 50 Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 48. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 51   Local listing Unverified local Google+ Page Verified local Google+ Page Displays on Google Maps                     Has Posts and Videos tab                     Customers can leave reviews                     Verified checkmark next to name              Which category of Google+ page should I select? Select the “Local Business or Place” category if you have a physical storefront or provide services or goods within a local geographic area. This is the only category of Google+ pages that is eligible to show up on Google Maps. Do I need a Google+ page if I already have a website? A Google+ page complements your existing website by giving your business a public identity and presence on Google. If you choose the “Local Business or Place” category, the information you provide on your Google+ page can also appear in Google search results and on Google Maps. Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 49. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 52 Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 50. 53 Google Knowledge Graph Information Cards Google Map Google + Business Google + Business Google + Business Google Hotel Finder Google Places for Business Competition Google + Business Google Places for Business Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014 Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH Google Map
    • 51. Google Easter Egg do a barrel roll
    • 52. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 55 YouTube - A Traveler's Constant Companion Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 53. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 56 "188.2 million Americans watched 52.4 billion...videos in December [2013], while the number of video ad views totaled 35.2 billion.“* comScore.com We are living in a “more” society: we have more cars more personal belongings more rooms/person we are watching more TV we have more free time we are watching more TV we want more, complex web experiences Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 54. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 57 Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 55. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 58 Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 56. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 59 Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 57. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 60 Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 58. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 61 Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 59. More data? Google Think Insights
    • 60. Google Easter Egg Legoland California
    • 61. Billboard: 1 picture=100 words Quality pictures for Google cards Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 64 Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 62. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 65 Marketing 101 “If you live in any major city you see 800 ads /day You’re so used to this that you not even notice it. But your body does Your heart rate increases Your pupils dilate You breathe faster You became more alert You’ve been trapped” Billboard: 1 picture=100 words Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 63. Billboard: 1 picture=100 words Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 66 Quality pictures for Google cards Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 64. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 67 Hotel’s Google + Business & Hotel’s Google Places for Business Google + users Other Google image services (ex: panoramio) VFM Leonardo –travel & hospitality tech company Coming soon in Europe: Google Hotel View interior 360 Imagery Billboard: 1 picture=100 words Sources of images Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 65. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 68 Billboard: 1 picture=100 words Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 66. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 69 Billboard: 1 picture=100 words Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 67. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 70 Billboard: 1 picture=100 words Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 68. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 71 Billboard: 1 picture=100 words Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 69. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 72 Billboard: 1 picture=100 words Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 70. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 73 Billboard: 1 picture=100 words Sources of images Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 71. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 74 Billboard: 1 picture=100 words Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 72. Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 75 OTA: 15% better conversion for hotels with more images listed on hotel description: to be at least 17 images/hotel “Don’t make me think” web usability 1st rule People fall in love with images Speed-read technique : Skimming & Scanning behavior Google Knowledge Graph Carousel: lower ranked search results can get more “click throughs” due to carousel Billboard: 1 picture=100 words Why images are so important? Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 73. Google Easter Egg zerg rush
    • 74. • HOW GOOGLE PLANS TO DOMINATE THE TRAVEL SPHERE http://fredericgonzalo.com/en/2013/01/20/how-google-plans-to-dominate-the-travel-sphere/ • Google Think Insights http://www.google.com/think/industries/travel-tourism.html • Google is developing a Street View-like feature to showcase hotel interiors http://www.foxnews.com/travel/2014/01/08/google-is-developing-street-view-like-feature-to-showcase-hotel-interiors/ • Google Officially Launches Knowledge Graph Carousel For Local Search http://searchengineland.com/google-officially-launches-knowledge-graph-carousel-for-local-search-163809 • Google Knowledge Graph Carousel Sightings Becoming More Frequent Within A Wider Variety Of Searches http://searchengineland.com/google-knowledge-graph-carousel-sightings-becoming-more-frequent-within-a-wider-variety-of-searches-163562 • Google Showing Date Selector In Knowledge Graph Carousel For Hotels http://searchengineland.com/google-showing-date-selector-knowledge-graph-carousel-hotels-182756 • Google Hotel Finder & The War for Hotel SERP Listings http://www.searchenginejournal.com/google-hotel-finder-war-hotel-serp-listings/67152/ • Google Hotel Finder Finally Gets Ability To Book Reservations From Your Phone http://www.webpronews.com/google-hotel-finder-finally-gets-ability-to-book-reservations-from-your-phone-2013-11 • GOOGLE HOTEL FINDER, FRIEND OR FOE? http://www.wihphotels.com/publication/google-hotel-finder-friend-or-foe/ • Google for Hotels: Q+A with David Zammitt, Google Travel Industry Manager http://reknown.com/2013/06/google-for-hotels-qa-with-david-zammitt-google-travel-industry-manager/ • An Optimized Google+Local Listing https://www.searchenginenews.com/se-news/content/7-online-assets-your-local-business-needs-to-survive-the-coming-years • GOOGLE’S LOCAL CAROUSEL – TRAPPED IN GOOGLE’S WORLD? http://blumenthals.com/blog/2013/06/25/googles-local-carousel-trapped-in-googles-world/ • Google Places for Business vs. Google+ Local http://searchenginewatch.com/article/2293053/Google-Places-for-Business-vs.-Google-Local • Google Officially Launches Local Results Carousel http://searchenginewatch.com/article/2276176/Google-Officially-Launches-Local-Results-Carousel Credits Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 77 Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 75. • What is Google+ Local? https://support.google.com/plus/answer/2531255?hl=en • Types of local pages in Google+ https://support.google.com/plus/answer/2659170?hl=en&ref_topic=2566084 • Score ratings for local places https://support.google.com/plus/answer/1723748 • The Google Hotel Finder: A Game Changing Event, a “Greed is Good” Defining Moment, or a Natural Move to Serve Better Search Results? http://cdn.hebsdigital.com/cms/pressroom/11_hotelsmag_google_hotel_finder.pdf • Google Hotel Price Ads (HPA) http://www.impaqt.com/insights/Google_HPA.cfm • Google Hotel Finder & The War for Hotel SERP Listings http://www.searchenginejournal.com/google-hotel-finder-war-hotel-serp-listings/67152/ • Google Hotel Finder: How To Get Most Of It http://blog.inndesk.com/post/41186280928/google-hotel-finder • Google Support https://support.google.com/plus/answer/2659170?hl=en&ref_topic=2566084 http://www.google.com/business/placesforbusiness/ http://www.google.com/+/business/faq.html Google Hotel View interior 360 Imagery http://www.foxnews.com/travel/2014/01/08/google-is-developing-street-view-like-feature-to-showcase-hotel-interiors Google Preps “Hotel View” Interior 360 Imagery http://searchengineland.com/google-preps-hotel-view-to-boost-travel-wallet-offerings-181398 • Study: Google Local Carousel Results Win 48% Of Clicks, While Only 14.5% Of Clicks Were On The Map http://searchengineland.com/study-google-local-carousel-results-win-48-of-clicks-while-map-only-earned-14-5-of-clicks-164925 Google Places for Business vs. Google+ Local http://searchenginewatch.com/article/2293053/Google-Places-for-Business-vs.-Google-Local Credits Google Travel Labs protel hotelsoftware GmbH 78 Revenue management & hospitality e-commerce conference BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, 7- 8 APRIL 2014
    • 76. Thank You! Ecaterina Paun ecaterina.paun@protel.net @katepfau linkedin.com/in/katepfau plus.google.com/+EcaterinaPaun/ protel hotelsoftware GmbH info@protel.net @protel_en facebook.com/protelhotelsoftware plus.google.com/+ProtelNet/

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