Session 3BProve It! Measuring the Impact of Social MediaKami Watson Huyse, APR, partner and co-founder of Zoetica and author of the blog Communication Overtones You can send out news releases, chat on Twitter all day and run a few contests on your Facebook page until the cows come home (remember, this is Texas), but if you aren't making a business impact, you might as well quit now. Kami Watson Huyse, Principal and Co-Founder of Zoetica Media and prolific PR guru on her Communication Overtones blog, will talk about how to best measure the impact of your work, and how to make sure your work gets results, especially in this ever-changing world of dynamic communication.
Just to get a feel for the room, I would like to conduct a poll. Everyone stand up. Sit down if you are already measuring your social media programs.Sit down if you don’t have a social media program or property to measure (yet)Sit down if you are just here for the lunch and have no real interest in social mediaFor those that are still standing, there are four reasons I hear most often why people don’t measure their social media programs. Will you humor me and sit if any of these are you?
There are usually
Factor in budgetCompare to competitorsBuild a dialogue with audience: “we heard you” – engagement process
It starts with SMART Objectiveshttp://overtonecomm.blogspot.com/2010/10/commonsense-social-media-measurement.htmlIn order to get results from your marketing and public relations programs, you have to have a clear vision of what you want to achieve. We call these SMART Objectives. They are:Specific: not vagueMeasurable: have numbers attached to themAttainable: Are not too easy, or too hard to achieveResults-Oriented: they are tied to business goalsTime Bound: They have a time frame by which they can be accomplishedAnother way to think of this, is by asking yourself:How many/much of X results to I hope to achieve by X date? How many, by when?Let’s look at an example of a SMART Objective…
I could also look to measure ROI. Perhaps there are a number of participants that you need to attend your conference to make it profitable. Let’s say in this case, that number would be 400 paying participants at the early bird rate. Let’s say that historically, at three months before the conference, you usually have 200 people registered, 300 at two months out and 400 in the month leading up to the conference. Perhaps you give a special discount code to the online influencers you have invited to your conference that they can give to their followers.“By two months prior to the event, over 100 people will have registered using the ‘friends of online influencer code and we will be 15 percent ahead of usual registration numbers.” Let’s say that tickets for the conference through the online influencer code is $150, if you multiply by 100 tickets, this is $15,000. To truly calculate ROI, you need to then subtract the cost for getting those ticket sales. So let’s say you spent $1,000 in staff time and outreach to get those influencers involved, so you net $14,000.
If you are having trouble getting at the heart of the objectives ask yourself the Five Why’sDoes anyone here have an objective for their social media program they could share. OR, Say that my objective for my blog is to build thought leadership in the areas of measurement, crisis management, CSR and social media for large nonprofit institutions.
Case Study Story, as told by Mikund:http://www.techipedia.com/2011/buzz/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+techipedia+%28Techipedia%3A+Tamar+Weinberg+on+Social+Media+Marketing+Strategy%29In 2009, Brian Solis, online PR pioneer and author, and Mukund Mohan, currently the CEO of Jivity, founded BuzzGain, a DIY Public Relations software company, which was sold to Meltwater in 2010.
The purpose of this new tool was to provide Do-it-Yourself PR solution for the PR professional to generate greater buzz and better media relations. Part of its value is that reduces cost and helps with blogger relations.
Here was the plan.
Bloggers: Three influential bloggers provided us about 15% of our pageviews and 8% registrations that led to 11 active sales cycles and negotiations and price quote requests. 19 of their readers took the time to write reviews.Techmemebrought in potential partners who wanted to integrate or use the service in their own offerings.The press release drove 4-7% of pageviews, with negligible user registrations. However, it seemed to drive awareness with companies.
Attention: The overall volume of interest, these include fans, traffic and other analytics. Can also include measuring clips. Attitude: Overall sentiment and relationship measures.Grunig Survey, sentiment analysis, beyond counting clips, before and after survey (can be expensive, but with Survey Monkey and Zoomerang, more is possible). Ominbus survey is $500 for one question to broad audience.Action: Business results of online outreach. Here is where the rubber meets the road, taking advantage. http://overtonecomm.blogspot.com/2010/12/three-as-of-social-media-measurement.html
They say that any publicity is good publicity, but as we all know in this 24/7 news-hungry world not ALLattention is good attention. The easiest thing to measure in social media is attention. You can see how many visits your page has, how many were unique and how many were repeat or new visitors. You can also easily see who referred them to your site, and perhaps even find some of your fans. Attention looks at volume and number of friends.
Email Newsletter. In addition to click through rate, wondered about actions taken
http://www.instituteforpr.org/topics/measuring-relationshipsThere is a way to test your relationships through a survey that was developed by By Linda Childers Hon and James E. Grunig. The survey measures in five areas to test perceptions: Trust, Satisfaction Commitment, Exchange Relationship Communal Relationship Look also at customer satisfaction surveys and peg to their involvement with social media sources, Loyalty over time, visitors that come back more than once, and Repeat visitors.You can also measure to sentiment to get a crude idea of where you stand with the community over time, mostly positive, mostly negative and mostly neutral. However, sentiment doesn’t give a full view.
Consider how AnasYounes, a doctor at MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston, Texas, harnessed the power of his fans. Younes specializes in lymphoma and needed more patients to enroll in his clinical trials. For 18 months, he used Twitter and Facebook to share important information about cancer studies and trials, focusing on lymphoma. He amassed a modest but respectable community of 617 (913 now) followers on his Facebook fan page and 1,511 (3,000 now) on Twitter — not bad for a busy doctor, but probably not successful from purely a popularity standpoint.The key was that his fans were highly motivated by his topic. If someone has lymphoma, Younes is a “go-to” guy. He has built strong thought leadership on Facebook, Twitter and through MD Anderson’s Cancerwise blog, and he curates the topic well. As a result, Younes has had a lot of people e-mail him with questions about the disease. More importantly, they are signing up for and referring friends to his clinical trial program. According to Younes, he has quadrupled the number of patients in his clinical trials using social media channels. For a busy doctor who relies on robust participation to further his career, this metric is much more important than the number of Facebook fans he has. Younes has the right fans, who are taking action to benefit his bottom line as a research doctor at a prestigious hospital.Time Flies: Looking Back at a Year of Using Social Media, Dr. http://www2.mdanderson.org/cancerwise/2010/08/looking-back-at-a-year-of-using-social-media.html Cancerwise Blog, MD Anderson, http://www2.mdanderson.org/cancerwise/
Finally, the golden ring and the thing that fuels ROI are actions. In the end, how people feel about your brand, and how many people come to see your online properties and interact with you, are only important insofar as they predict how many people will DO something about it.We went over the idea of setting SMART objectives. There are very advanced analytics that can show you how many people came to the site and bought and from where. WE also had the case study earlier to show ROI for ticket sales. All of these are great ways to measure.We can’t go in depth in how to measure everything in this class, but you will go a long way to identifying HOW if you have taken the time to set up the WHAT, or your SMART Objectives.Four to Six questions for analyzing a website: http://www.4qsurvey.com (AvinashKaushik). Based on today’s visit, how would you rate your site experience overall?2. Which of the following best describes the primary purpose of your visit?3. Were you able to complete the purpose of your visit today?4a. (If yes) What do you value most about the [sitename] website?4b. (If no) Please tell us why you were not able to fully complete the purpose of your visit today? 3 optional questions can be included: Visit Frequency, Path to Site and an email solicitation questionSeth Godin: http://sethgodin.typepad.com/seths_blog/2011/11/six-questions-for-analyzing-a-website.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+typepad%2Fsethsmainblog+%28Seth%27s+Blog%29What's the revenue per visit? (RPM). For every thousand visitors, how much money does the site make (in ads or sales)?What's the cost of getting a visit? Does the site use PR or online ads or affiliate deals to get traffic? If so, what's the yield?Is there a viral co-efficient? Existing visitors can lead to new visitors as a result of word of mouth or the network effect. How many new visitors does each existing user bring in? (Hint: it's less than 1. If it were more than 1, then every person on the planet would be a user soon.) This number rarely stays steady. For example, at the beginning, Twitter's co-efficient was tiny. Then it scaled to be one of the largest ever (Oprah!) and now has started to come back down to Earth.What's the cost of a visitor? Does the site need to add customer service or servers or other expenses as it scales?Are there members/users? There's a big difference between drive-by visits and registered users. Do these members pay a fee, show up more often, have something to lose by switching?What's the permission base and how is it changing? The only asset that can be reliably built and measured online is still permission. Attention is scarce, and permission is the privilege to deliver anticipated, personal and relevant messages to people who want to get them. Permission is easy to measure and hard to grow.
Yahoo’s You In? campaign was conceived as a way to engage the user base by creating a ripple of happiness in social networks. It would start with a simple act of kindness that users could report on their social networks, and particularly in the newly released status update feature in Yahoo Mail.
For instance, inspired by one update, they visited the San Jose airport and paid for luggage fees, resulting in 45 mainstream media articles, just on that one engagement.
AttentionSurveyMedia visibility (Share of Discussion)AttitudesSurveyMedia content analysis (Tone)ActionsMeasure the action (sales, participation, votes)Media responsiveness (editorial support)
Here are some of the tools we like in several areas.
Another type of measurement
Prove It!Measuring the Impact of Social Media Watson Huyse, APR @kamichat
A success storyCampaign:•Online Campaign Only•Influencer OutreachMeasurement:•Impressions•SurveyResults:•Cost per impression•Television: $1•Social Media: $.22•ROI$2.6 million in revenue http://bit.ly/JTAResults
Step three: What to do with results Diagnose Prioritize Evaluate• Diagnose: Adjust communications, get better• Prioritize: Build into planning, make decisions• Evaluate: Demonstrate ROI, Value
Where Measurement Startspecific easurablettainableesults-Orientedime Bound http://bit.ly/SMARTObjectives
Example: Event PlanningObjective:Increase registration for this year’s conference Objective:By prior to the event, over will have registered using the “friends ofonline influencer” and we will be ahead of usual registration numbers.
Calculating ROITicket price $150 x100 $15,000 -$1,000 staff time and outreach
Ask…1. Why? 2. Why? 3. Why? What Are Your 4. Why? Key Performance Indicators 5. Why? Photo Credit: http://www.flickr.com/photos/haley8/243182310/in/photostream/
Case StudySome rights reserved by affiliatesummit Some rights reserved by shelisrael1
Value StatementBuzzgain provides a D-I-Y [ Do-it-Yourself ] PRsolution for the PR professional to generategreater buzz and better media relations. Thesolution also reduces costs in PR managementalong with greater emphasis on bloggerrelations. Buzzgain monitors more than 92,000media properties.
Launch PlanPeople: PR professionals and social media consultants looking for inexpensive monitoring solution for clientsObjectives: 5,000 registered users, 500 users to repeat weekly usage and 50 paying customersStrategy: Reach out to 10 top-tier bloggers, and send out press releaseMeasurement: Pageviews, Registered and Converted Paying Customers
Results• Traffic: 292,030 pageviews, 102,394 unique users, and 7,874 registered users over 1 week post launch• Techcrunch provided 35% of pageviews and 29% of user registrations. Fewer than 15% of registered users set up a basic campaign, 4% returned again, only 2 people requested pricing and upgrade.• Mashable provided 22% (direct) pageviews and 14% registrations, and provided the most campaign setups and the best write-ups post their usage of the product. Readers also participated with Twitter mentions, which helped get more users.
Results, cont.• Bloggers: Three influential bloggers provided us about 15% of our pageviews and 8% registrations that led to 11 active sales cycles and negotiations and price quote requests. 19 of their readers took the time to write reviews.• Techmeme brought in potential partners who wanted to integrate or use the service in their own offerings.• The press release drove 4-7% of pageviews, with negligible user registrations. However, it seemed to drive awareness with companies.
The Biggest Result • Launch: January 2009 • Purchased: February 2010 $4 million
Step 1: What to measure• Attention• Attitudes• Actions
AttentionHow many visits?How many fans?How many interactions?
Results• Respectable following of motivated patients and other medical professionals• Within 18 months he quadrupled the number of patients in his clinical trials using social media channels• Became a “go-to” resource for info about lymphoma
ActionsWhat will they do?What will they buy?What will they support?What will they stop or avoid doing?
• YouIn? Holiday Giving Campaign• Brand Values: to be fun, human, relevant and personal• Amplify the good works of individuals, 600 million• Linked to CSR effort, “How Good Grows”• Average people doing extraordinary things
The Campaign• Seeded: $100 to 300 influencers ($30,000)• Used to perform random acts of kindness• Report these acts of kindness in their social networks and to http://kindness.yahoo.com• Call to action was the tag, You In?• The You In? reports were added to a Yahoo map• Yahoo amplified best stories
• Attention: 2,200 mainstream media reports; 1,700 radio mentions; and 200 positive mentions on blog• Coverage trumped mentions received by a co-current multimillion ad campaign• Yahoo Status Update: 320,000 status updates from 18 countries, an increase of 30 percent, month-to-month.• One million brand impressions for partners Network for Good, Global Giving and Donors Choose• Resulted in more than $20,000 in donations for nonprofit organizations• They repeated the campaign this year, changing the call to action to “Your Turn!”
Step 2: How to Measure• Decide What is important to Measure (KPIs)• Use your SMART Objectives as a guide• Remember to Segment Measurement: Attention, Attitudes, Action• Pick appropriate tools• Set up Your Dashboard• Be consistent
Measurement is a comparative tool*• Benchmark against – Competitors – Your own past performance – External standard *Credit to Katie Paine, Measuring Public Relationships, for this and other key points
Where not to skimp on surveys• Baseline data• Question design• Pre-test
Teasing out the causal relationship How do you sort out the effect of your communication in a cluttered environment? Photo Credit: http://www.flickr.com/photos/ crunchyfootsteps/4500698439 /
The control caseSet up a control situation – Audience segmentation – Timing segmentation – Message segmentation – A/B Testing
Isolating variables• Market mix modeling• Cross tab variables and compare• Compare over time• Spreadsheet Aerobics