Free Traffic Seo Smo 101 (Search Engine Social Media Optimization) Presentation 2

Loading...

Flash Player 9 (or above) is needed to view presentations.
We have detected that you do not have it on your computer. To install it, go here.

1 comments

Comments 1 - 1 of 1 previous next Post a comment

Post a comment
Embed Video
Edit your comment Cancel

9 Favorites

Free Traffic Seo Smo 101 (Search Engine Social Media Optimization) Presentation 2 - Presentation Transcript

  1. SEO 101 presented by Stephan Spencer, Founder & President, Netconcepts
  2. Today’s Agenda
    • What is SEO?
    • The Seven Steps to Higher Rankings
      • Get Your Site Fully Indexed
      • Get Your Pages Visible
      • Build Links & PageRank
      • Leverage Your PageRank
      • Encourage Clickthrough
      • Track the Right Metrics
      • Avoid Worst Practices
  3. Part 1: What Is SEO?
  4. Everything Evolves Around Search
  5. Search Engine Optimization
    • 6 times more effective than a banner ad
    • Delivers qualified leads
    • 80% of Internet user sessions begin at the search engines (Source: Internetstats.com)
    • 55% of online purchases are made on sites found through search engine listings (Source: Internetstats.com)
  6. SEO is NOT Paid Advertising
    • SEO – influence rankings in the “natural” (a.k.a. “organic”, a.k.a. “algorithmic”) search results
    • PPC – paid search advertising on a pay-per-click basis. The more you pay, the higher your placement. Stop paying = stop receiving traffic.
    • SEM – encompasses both SEO and PPC
  7. Natural Paid Paid
  8. Google Listings – Your Virtual Sales Force
    • Savvy retailers making 6-7 figures a month from natural listings
    • Savvy MFA (Made for AdSense) site owners making 5-6 figures per month
    • Most sites are not SE-friendly
    • Google friendliness = friendly to other engines
    • First calculate your missed opportunities
  9. Not doing SEO? You’re Leaving Money on the Table
    • Calculate the missed opportunity cost of not ranking well for products and services that you offer?
    # of people searching for your keywords x engine share (Google = 60%) x expected click-through rate average conversion rate average transaction amount x x
    • E.g.10,000/day x 60% x 10% x 5% x $100 = $3,000/day
  10. Most Important Search Engines
    • Google (also powers AOL Search, Netscape.com, iWon, etc.) – 60.29% market share (Source: Hitwise)
    • Yahoo! (also powers Alltheweb, AltaVista, Hotbot, Lycos, CNN, A9) – 22.58%
    • Live Search (formerly MSN Search) – 11.56%
    • Ask – 3.63%
  11. People Are Googling… Are You There?
  12. What Are Searchers Looking For?
    • Keyword Research
      • “ Target the wrong keywords and all your efforts will be in vain.”
    • The “right” keywords are…
      • relevant to your business
      • popular with searchers
  13. Keyword Research
    • Tools to check popularity of keyword searches
      • Overture’s Keyword Selector Tool (http://inventory.overture.com)
      • WordTracker.com
      • Trellian’s KeywordDiscovery.com
      • Google’s Keyword Tool
      • Google Trends
      • Google Suggest
  14. Overture’s Keyword Selector Tool
    • Pros
      • Free!
      • Data is from a large sample of Internet searches (including all searches on Yahoo!)
    • Cons
      • Variations of keywords are aggregated (e.g. verb tenses, plural & singular, misspellings)
      • Rife with bogus data from automated searches
      • Only a month’s data. No historical archives.
  15. Keyword Popularity – According to Yahoo!
  16. WordTracker.com
    • Pros
      • Based on last 60 days worth of searches
      • Singular vs plural, misspellings, verb tenses all separated out
      • Advanced functionality: keyword “projects”, import data into Excel, synonyms, …
    • Cons
      • Requires subscription fee ($260/year)
      • Data is from a small sample of Internet searches (from the minor search engines Dogpile and MetaCrawler)
      • Contains bogus data from automated searches
      • No historical archives
  17. Keyword Popularity – According to WordTracker
  18. Trellian’s KeywordDiscovery.com
    • Pros
      • Full year of historical archives
      • Data is from a large sample of Internet searches (9 billion searches compiled from 37 engines)
      • Singular vs plural, misspellings, verb tenses all separated out
      • Can segment by country
      • Advanced functionality: keyword “projects”, import data into Excel, synonyms, …
    • Cons
      • Access to the historical data requires subscription fee (~$30/month)
      • Contains bogus data from automated searches
  19. Keyword Popularity – According to KeywordDiscovery
  20. Google AdWords Keyword Tool
    • Pros
      • Free! (Must have an AdWords account though)
      • Data is from a large sample of Internet searches (from Google)
      • Singular vs plural, misspellings, verb tenses all separated out
      • Can segment by country
      • Synonyms
    • Cons
      • No hard numbers
    • Augment this tool with other free Google tools:
      • Google Suggest (labs.google.com/suggest)
      • Google Trends (www.google.com/trends)
  21. Keyword Popularity – According to Google AdWords Keyword Tool
  22. Keyword Popularity – According to Google AdWords Keyword Tool
  23. Keyword Popularity – According to Google Trends
  24. Keyword Popularity – According to Google Suggest
  25. Keyword Research
    • Competition for that keyword should also be considered
      • Calculate KEI Score ( K eyword E ffectiveness I ndicator) = ratio of searches over number of pages in search results
      • The higher the KEI Score, the more attractive the keyword is to target (assuming it’s relevant to your business)
  26. SEO. A Moving Target.
    • Lots is changing…
      • Personalization & customization
      • Vertical search services (Images, Video, News, Maps, etc.)
      • “ Universal Search”
    • Fortunately, the tried-and-true tactics still work…
      • Topically relevant links from important sites
      • Anchor text
      • Keyword-rich title tags
      • Keyword-rich content
      • Internal hierarchical linking structure
      • The whole is greater than the sum of the parts
  27. The Search Engines Are Your Friend
    • Sitemaps.org
    • Webmaster tools (e.g. Google Webmaster Central, Live Search Webmaster Center, Yahoo Site Explorer)
    • Rel=“nofollow” tag
    • Meta NOODP tag
    • Speaking at search engine conferences
    • Publishing blogs dedicated to helping webmasters
    • Participating on SEO forums
    • “ Weather reports”
  28. My daughter, SEO-in-training. She makes $1000 / month passive income SEO – Easy Enough a Child Could Do It!
  29. Part 2: Seven Steps to High Rankings
  30. Begin The 7 Steps
    • 1) Get Your Site Fully Indexed
    • 2) Get Your Pages Visible
    • 3) Build Links & PageRank
    • 4) Leverage Your PageRank
    • 4) Encourage Clickthrough
    • 6) Track the Right Metrics
    • 7) Avoid Worst Practices
  31. 1) Get Your Site Fully Indexed
    • Search engines are wary of “dynamic” pages - they fear “spider traps”
    • Avoid stop characters (?, &, =) ‘cgi-bin’, session IDs and unnecessary variables in your URLs; frames; redirects; pop-ups; navigation in Flash/Java/Javascript/pulldown boxes
      • If not feasible due to platform constraints, can be easily handled through proxy technology (e.g. GravityStream)
    • The better your PageRank, the deeper and more often your site will be spidered
  32. 1) Get Your Site Fully Indexed
    • Page # estimates are wildly inaccurate, and include non-indexed pages (e.g. ones with no title or snippet)
    • Misconfigurations (in robots.txt, in the type of redirects used, requiring cookies, etc.) can kill indexation
    • Keep your error pages out of the index by returning 404 status code
    • Keep duplicate pages out of the index by standardizing your URLs, eliminating unnecessary variables, using 301 redirects when needed
  33. Results in “Supplemental Hell”
  34. Not Spider-Friendly
    • GET http://www.bananarepublic.com --> 302 Moved Temporarily
    • GET http://www.bananarepublic.com/browse/home.do --> 302 Moved Temporarily
    • GET http://www.bananarepublic.com/browse/home.do?targetURL=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.bananarepublic.com%2Fbrowse%2Fhome.do&CookieSet=Set --> 302 Moved Temporarily
    • GET http://www.bananarepublic.com/cookieFailure.do --> 200 OK
  35. 2) Get Your Pages Visible
    • 100+ “signals” that influence ranking
    • “ Title tag” is the most important copy on the page
    • Home page is the most important page of a site
    • Every page of your site has a “song” (keyword theme)
    • Incorporate keywords into title tags, hyperlink text, headings (H1 & H2 tags), alt tags, and high up in the page (where they’re given more “weight”)
    • Eliminate extraneous HTML code
    • “ Meta tags” are not a magic bullet
    • Have text for navigation, not graphics
  36. Pretty good title
  37. Not so good title – where’s the phrase “credit card”?
  38. Good link text and body copy
  39. Good link text and body copy
  40. No link text or body copy
  41. No link text or body copy
  42. Take a peek under the hood
  43. The “meta tags”
  44. Unnecessarily bloated HTML
  45. 3) Build Links and PageRank
    • “ Link popularity” affects search engine rankings
    • PageRank™ - Links from “important” sites have more impact on your Google rankings (weighted link popularity)
    • Google offers a window into your PageRank
      • PageRank meter in the Google Toolbar (toolbar.google.com)
      • Google Directory (directory.google.com) category pages
      • 3rd party tools like SEOChat.com’s “PageRank Lookup” & “PageRank Search”
    • Scores range from 0-10 on a logarithmic scale
    • Live Search and Yahoo have similar measures to PageRank™
  46. Google’s Toolbar – with handy PageRank Meter
  47. Google Directory – listings are organized by PageRank
  48. Conduct any Google query and get results organized by PageRank
  49. 4) Leverage Your PageRank
    • Your home page’s PageRank gets distributed to your deep pages by virtue of your hierarchical internal linking structure (e.g. breadcrumb nav)
    • Pay attention to the text used within the hyperlink (“Google bombing”)
    • Don’t hoard your PageRank
    • Don’t link to “bad neighborhoods”
  50. 4) Leverage Your PageRank
    • Avoid PageRank dilution
      • Canonicalization (www.domain.com vs. domain.com)
      • Duplicate pages: (session IDs, tracking codes, superfluous parameters)
      • In general, search engines are cautious of dynamic URLs (with ?, &, and = characters) because of “spider traps”
        • Rewrite your URLs (using a server module/plug-in) or use a hosted proxy service (e.g. GravityStream)
        • See http://catalogagemag.com/mag/marketing_right_page_web/
  51. Duplicate pages
  52. Googlebot got caught in a “spider trap”
  53. Search engine spiders turn their noses up at such URLs
  54. Thus, important content doesn’t make it into the search engine indices
  55. 5) Encourage Clickthrough
    • Zipf’s Law applies - you need to be at the top of page 1 of the search results. It’s an implied endorsement.
    • Synergistic effect of being at the top of the natural results & paid results
    • Entice the user with a compelling call-to-action and value proposition in your descriptions
    • Your title tag is critical
    • Snippet gets built automatically, but you CAN influence what’s displayed here
  56. Where do searchers look? (Enquiro, Did-it, Eyetools Study)
  57. Search listings – 1 good, 1 lousy
  58. 6) Track the Right Metrics
    • Indexation : # of pages indexed, % of site indexed, % of product inventory indexed, # of “fresh pages”
    • Link popularity : # of links, PageRank score (0 - 10)
    • Rankings : by keyword, “filtered” (penalized) rankings
    • Keyword popularity : # of searches, competition, KEI (Keyword Effectiveness Indicator) scores
    • Cost/ROI : sales by keyword & by engine, cost per lead
  59. Indexation tool – www.netconcepts.com/urlcheck
  60.  
  61. Link popularity tool – www.netconcepts.com/linkcheck
  62.  
  63. ROI – Sales by keyword
  64. ROI – Sales by referrer
  65. Avoid Worst Practices
    • Target relevant keywords
    • Don’t stuff keywords or replicate pages
    • Create deep, useful content
    • Don't conceal, manipulate, or over-optimize content
    • Links should be relevant (no scheming!)
    • Observe copyright/trademark law & Google’s guidelines
  66. Spamming in Its Many Forms…
    • Hidden or small text
    • Keyword stuffing
    • Targeted to obviously irrelevant keywords
    • Automated submitting, resubmitting, deep submitting
    • Competitor names in meta tags
    • Duplicate pages with minimal or no changes
    • Spamglish
    • Machine generated content
  67. Spamming in Its Many Forms…
    • Pagejacking
    • Doorway pages
    • Cloaking
    • Submitting to FFA (“Free For All”) sites & link farms
    • Buying up expired domains with high PageRanks
    • Scraping
    • Splogging (spam blogging)
  68. BMW.de hosted many “doorway pages” like this one
  69. “ Sneaky redirect” sent searchers to this page
  70. Not Spam, But Bad for Rankings
    • Splash pages, content-less home page, Flash intros
    • Title tags the same across the site
    • Error pages in the search results (eg “Session expired”)
    • "Click here" links
    • Superfluous text like “Welcome to” at beginning of titles
    • Spreading site across multiple domains (usually for load balancing)
    • Content too many levels deep
  71. What Next? Conduct an SEO Audit!
    • Is your site fully indexed?
    • Are your pages fully optimized?
    • Could you be acquiring more PageRank?
    • Are you spending your PageRank wisely?
    • Are you maximizing your clickthrough rates?
    • Are you measuring the right things?
    • Are you applying “best practices” in SEO and avoiding all the “worst practices”?
  72. Case Study: Homestead.com
    • What worked
      • Comprehensive SEO & usability audit
      • Intensive on-site training sessions with their IT and marketing teams
      • 6 months of support
    • What didn’t work
      • No significant changes to the look of the home page were allowed for political reasons, significantly reducing the options available
  73. Case Study: Homestead.com
    • Results
      • Within 8 weeks of launch of some preliminary optimization work, on page 1 for “website hosting” in Google
      • With our audit as a blueprint, later that year launched an internally built site redesign which landed them the #1 Google position for “website hosting”
      • Consistently held #1 position for 2 years
  74.  
  75.  
  76.  
  77.  
  78. In Summary
    • Focus on the right keywords
    • Have great keyword-rich content
    • Build links, and thus your PageRank™
    • Spend that PageRank™ wisely within your site
    • Measure the right things
    • Continually monitor and benchmark
  79. Further Reading
    • blogs.cnet.com/seosearchlight
    • google.com/support/webmasters/bin/answer.py?answer=35769
    • www.google.com/webmasters/
    • www.mattcutts.com/blog
    • googlewebmastercentral.blogspot.com
    • blog.outer-court.com
    • www.searchengineland.com
    • www.seroundtable.com
    • www.naturalsearchblog.com
  80. Q&A!
    • For an ebook on Google power searching, SEO checklists & worksheets, and audio recording, executive summary & transcript of an SEO thought leaders teleconference, e-mail your request to [email_address]
    • To contact me: stephan@netconcepts.com

+ jward5519jward5519, 2 years ago

custom

1637 views, 9 favs, 1 embeds more stats

More info about this document

© All Rights Reserved

Go to text version

  • Total Views 1637
    • 1634 on SlideShare
    • 3 from embeds
  • Comments 1
  • Favorites 9
  • Downloads 88
Most viewed embeds
  • 3 views on http://creativefusionmedia.wordpress.com

more

All embeds
  • 3 views on http://creativefusionmedia.wordpress.com

less

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate. If needed, use the feedback form to let us know more details.

Cancel
File a copyright complaint
Having problems? Go to our helpdesk?

Categories