Your SlideShare is downloading. ×
Facebook Advertising: A Champagne Campaign on a Beer Budget
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5
×

Thanks for flagging this SlideShare!

Oops! An error has occurred.

×
Saving this for later? Get the SlideShare app to save on your phone or tablet. Read anywhere, anytime – even offline.
Text the download link to your phone
Standard text messaging rates apply

Facebook Advertising: A Champagne Campaign on a Beer Budget

701
views

Published on

Facebook ads are hard to miss. They’re on your newsfeed, in the sidebar, on your mobile device, and on your logout screen. Yet few companies, nonprofits, or government agencies use Facebook …

Facebook ads are hard to miss. They’re on your newsfeed, in the sidebar, on your mobile device, and on your logout screen. Yet few companies, nonprofits, or government agencies use Facebook advertising as part of their social media strategy. The good news is that you don’t need a six-figure budget to run an effective Facebook ad campaign.

Facebook’s “social ads” take advantage of social context by highlighting friends’ interactions with content. Social context paired with advanced targeting capabilities allow savvy marketers the opportunity to push content directly to the Facebook users they want to reach. This increases ad effectiveness and engagement while it dramatically reduces the cost of your ad buy.

In this session, we’ll discuss and show how to identify and reach your target audiences, test message effectiveness, analyze performance, and optimize your results. Speakers include Reingold Partner Jack Benson, Senior Social Media Associate Erin Fenn, and Senior Digital Marketing Associate Brooks Lape.

Published in: Business

0 Comments
0 Likes
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Views
Total Views
701
On Slideshare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
0
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
0
Comments
0
Likes
0
Embeds 0
No embeds

Report content
Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
No notes for slide
  • We live in a multi-screen world where on average 90% of our media interactions are on a device with a screen
  • 2012 surpassed printCurrently 70% the size of tvMany campaigns 20-605 onlineWhat percent of your campaigns are digital
  • How we find information online. Be there at the right time when people are searching for what you do.
  • Steady growth over time over the last 3 years
  • Women are slightly more active than menYounger adults are more active, but the older population is one of the fastest growing segmentsUse across income levels, educational attainment, and urbanity is similar
  • Attracting your audienceGetting them to interact with page contentEmpowering them to actCan continue to build new and engage existingEach phase reinforces the nextInfluencing fans can help build new fans
  • Focus on content sharingFacebook’s ad platform leverages content and social connectionsAll about putting relevant stories in front of usersEvolution of content over time
  • Page and news feed reinforcing each other --- how users see and consume content
  • Credible messengers through friends
  • Reach and engage existing fansReach new fans
  • Hitting goalsBalancing post typeDriving key actions
  • 5 Key things:Multimedia use – short copy with teasersVaried content to start conversationsFocus on audience and allow users to share contentReinforce brand/mission by highlighting other relevant contentElicit a lightweight response
  • 5 Key things:Multimedia use – short copy with teasersVaried content to start conversationsFocus on audience and allow users to share contentReinforce brand/mission by highlighting other relevant contentElicit a lightweight response
  • Focus on content sharingFacebook’s ad platform leverages content and social connectionsAll about putting relevant stories in front of usersEvolution of content over time
  • Ad optimization
  • Ad optimization
  • Ad optimization
  • Start spend low and turn up the dialOptimize so all campaigns achieve the same cost per desired action
  • Ad optimization
  • Ad optimization
  • Ad optimization
  • Ad optimization
  • Ad optimization
  • Ad optimization
  • Transcript

    • 1. Facebook Ads: AChampagne Campaignon a Beer Budget 1
    • 2. Session Format and Rules  40 minutes of presentation, 20 minutes of Q&A.  Please feel free to ask questions during the session.  Please stay after the session for informal networking. 2
    • 3. Team Reingold Members Jack Benson Joe LaMountain Erin Fenn Brooks Lape 3
    • 4. We’re on a mission. Yours.  National, full-service strategic communications firm with more than 25 years of experience helping clients succeed  Big firm capabilities, small firm attention  Expertise in implementing data-driven, behavior-changing campaigns with effective stakeholder engagement  Awards for strategy, campaign efficacy, creative development, graphic design, video, and digital media  95% of portfolio is nonprofit and public sector; focus on health, education, Veterans, transportation 4
    • 5. Agenda  Why Facebook?  Facebook 101  Segmenting Your Audience  Content Strategy  Facebook In Action  Questions 5
    • 6. Why ? 6
    • 7. An Integrated Approach to Communications Leveraged Traditional  SEO Advertisin  Social media Online & g/PSA  Online advertising Digital Media Relations Integrated Events Messaging Campaign Direct Marketing Stakeholder Outreach Partnerships 7
    • 8. ‹#› 8
    • 9. Advertisers are increasingly investing online.Online SpendingExceeds Print 9
    • 10. Online Search: How We Find Information % of Internet users who do each activitySource: Pew Research Center’s Internet & American Life Project tracking surveys, 2002-2012. 10
    • 11. Champagne Campaign on a Beer Budget: How DigitalMedia Has Transformed The Marketing Landscape Then Now  Significant entry costs  Lower barriers to entry  Expensive to create and run  Budgets are more scalable  Broad targeting  Precise targeting  Long response times  Real time feedback  Few insights into effectiveness  Real insights  High complexity  Ability to efficiently pilot/test  Harder to adjust strategy  Ability to quickly adjust tactics and strategies 11
    • 12. Facebook is a major force in today’s digitalmarketing landscape with over 1 billion users… Source: The Next Web 12
    • 13. …with strong coverage across all demographics.Source: Pew Research Center’s Internet and American Life Project, December 2012 13
    • 14. Growing and maintaining your Facebook communityrequires attention to each stage of engagement. Build Engage Influence Building and enhancing Getting them to interact and Empowering them to take your audience join the conversation key actions 14
    • 15. Facebook 101 15
    • 16. Facebook is built around social interactions with content. 16
    • 17. The news feed is the hub for serving page content and ads. Marketplace Ads Ads Inside CPM or CPC News Feed ~$7-$8 CMP ~$0.20 CPM 1%-5% CTR .04%-.06% CTROrganic: Postsfrom friendsand pages 17
    • 18. Facebook “social” ads prioritize connections and content. Ads have heightened social context – Facebook friends as trusted messengers Provide more points of engagement for fans 18
    • 19. Only a small percentage of your fans see your content. Fans Friends of Fans 19
    • 20. Ads expand the reach and effectiveness of your content. Fans Friends of Fans 20
    • 21. Segmenting Your Audience 21
    • 22. Segmenting your audience requires a matrix of proxiesbased upon affinity, location, and demographics. Targeting Criteria “Veterans” on Facebook  Affinities with others  Affinities with groups  Demographics  Employment  Education  Location 22
    • 23. The larger the audience you are targeting, the less preciseyour targeting will likely be. Directly in your target group  U.S. Army listed as past employer  Liked VSO page Potentially in your target group 5M  Liked “Support the Troops”  Geo target in high veteran population areas 12M Influencers or friends of target group  Liked lifestyle pages 30M 23
    • 24. Content Strategy 24
    • 25. Goal Setting and Content Strategy Key considerations  Who are you trying to reach?  What content do you have?  Messaging Mix • Inform  What is the conversation you • Engage want to start? • Influence  How can you engage your target  Content Mix audience in that conversation?  Metrics  What do you want the outcome to be?  Recruitment vs. retention 25
    • 26. Content calendars map out messaging to goals andperformance over time. Goals:  Inform  Engage  Influence 26
    • 27. ‹#› 27
    • 28. ‹#› 28
    • 29. Influence: Chesapeake Bay Foundation encourages usersto Save The Bay by signing a pledge. 29
    • 30. Successful social media campaigns are conversational.  Know your audience  Ensure relevance – make it about your audience  Highlight the cause – reinforce messages and value  Use rich images and varied content  Keep your copy short and sweet  Elicit a lightweight response 30
    • 31. Facebook In Action 31
    • 32. Decide what content you want to prioritize in ads. Build Engage Influence Do you want to build a Do you want Do you want your stronger relationship with more fans? fans to take action? existing fans? 32
    • 33. Estimating Cost: Fan Acquisition Start with users directly in your target group Metric Estimate  Living in Chesapeake bay area and Targeted population 50,000 affiliated with environmental groups Percent acquired 5%-10% Cost per fan $0.25 - $3.00 Cost for 5,000 Fans 50,000 * 10% * $0.75 = $3,750 33
    • 34. Run like ads to target audiences and build fans.  Start with core audience, then expand pool of proxies  Monitor cost per desired action  Test messages, targeting options, and audiences  Start spend low 34
    • 35. Gradually increase your investment in like ads to optimizeyour spend and leverage early insights.Source: Facebook 35
    • 36. Estimating Cost: Expanding Fan Engagement ~15% ~50%Metric EstimateFans 20,000 Paid Impressions Per PostDesired reach to fans 50% 20,000 fans * (50% - 15%) = 7,000 impressions% fans seeing your content organically 15%Cost per thousand impressions $8.00 Paid Impressions Per MonthPosts per month 15 15 posts/month * 7,000 = 105,000 impressions Monthly Engagement Support Cost (105,000 impressions / 1,000) * $8.00 per thousand = $840/month 36
    • 37. Estimating Cost: The Big Push ~15% ~40% ~100% Metric Estimate Fans 20,000 Paid Fan Impressions Desired fan reach 100% 20,000 fans * (100% - 15%) = 17,000 impressions Organic fan reach 15% Friends of fans meeting targeting criteria 100,000 Paid FoF Impressions Desired selected friends of fans reach 40% 100,000 FoFs * 40% = 40,000 impressions Cost per thousand impressions $8.00 Big Push Cost (17,000 + 40,000) / 1,000* $8.00 per thousand = $456 37
    • 38. Fan Engagement Optimization Reach & Audience Mix Content Effectiveness 38
    • 39. Fan Engagement Strategy  Facebook Ad algorithm will show to most engaged fans first  Only promote your best posts, leverage initial virality  Optimize to cost per action per ad objective  Stay true to your overall content strategy  Monitor negative feedback  Dollar for dollar, small campaigns will be more effective 39
    • 40. Key Tips For Managing Paid Campaigns  Structure your campaigns well  Start slow  Optimize to CPA  Focus on budget distributions  As you progress, move into Excel  Organize your adds for easier analysis 40
    • 41. “My only regret in life is that I didn’t drink enough Champagne.” John Maynard Keynes  Set your Facebook goals  Segment your audience  Manage your message and content mix  Start slow  Optimize around cost per desired action  Smaller campaigns are better 41
    • 42. Questions? 42
    • 43. We’re on a mission. Yours. 43

    ×