• Like
2012-13 NCAA Rules Review
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5
×

2012-13 NCAA Rules Review

  • 143 views
Uploaded on

 

More in: Sports
  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Be the first to comment
    Be the first to like this
No Downloads

Views

Total Views
143
On Slideshare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
0

Actions

Shares
Downloads
1
Comments
0
Likes
0

Embeds 0

No embeds

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
    No notes for slide

Transcript

  • 1. 2012-2013NCAA RULES REVIEW
  • 2. Question #1All statements regarding establishing a legal guarding positionon a player WITH the ball are true, EXCEPT:a. The guard must have both feet touching the playing court.b. The torso must face the opponent.c. Time and distance are required.d. When the opponent is airborne, the guard must haveattained legal position before the opponent left the playingcourt.e. All of the above statements are true
  • 3. Question #1All statements regarding establishing a legal guarding positionon a player WITH the ball are true, EXCEPT:c. Time and distance are required. (4-35.4.c)
  • 4. Question #2The shot-clock shall be started on a throw-in:a.When the ball is legally touched by a player inboundsb.When a player is legally touched by the ball in boundsc.Only after a player gains possession of the ball.d.A and B only.
  • 5. Question #2The shot-clock shall be started on a throw-in:d. A and B only. (5-9.4)
  • 6. Question #3Shooter A1 is still airborne after attempting a three-point shot when she is fouled by B1. The foul is a flagrant 1 personal foul. The shot is successful.a. A1’s three-point shot is not counted and A1 is awarded two free throws and the ball at the designated spot nearest to where the foul occurred.b. A1’s three-point shot will be counted and A1 will be awarded two free throws. Team B shall be awarded the ball after the last free throw.c. A1’s three-point shot will be counted and A1 will be awarded two free throws. Team A will be awarded the ball at the designated spot nearest to where the foul occurred.d. A1’s three-point shot will be counted and A1 will be awarded one free throw. Team A will be awarded the ball at the designated spot nearest to where the foul occurred.e. A1’s three-point shot is not counted and A1 is awarded three free throws and the ball at the designated spot nearest to where the foul occurred.
  • 7. Question #3Shooter A1 is still airborne after attempting a three-point shot when she is fouled by B1. The foul is a flagrant 1 personal foul. The shot is successful.c. A1’s three-point shot will be counted and A1 will be awarded two free throws. Team A will be awarded the ball at the designated spot nearest to where the foul occurred. (10-1 Penalty d [2])
  • 8. Question #4B1 fouls A1 after the bonus is in effect. A1 is mistakenly not awarded the bonus free throw(s) and instead, Team A is awarded a throw- in. After the throw-in ends and Team A is in control, A3 asks for and receives a timeout. During the timeout, it is called to the official’s attention that A1 was not awarded her free throw(s) for the foul. Which of the following is true?a. A1 is awarded the one-and-one bonus with the lane cleared and play is resumed with a throw-in to Team B on the end line.b. A1 is awarded the one-and-one bonus with the lane cleared and play is resumed with a throw in to Team A as after Team As timeout.c. It is too late to correct the error.d. A1 is awarded the one-and-one bonus and play is resumed as after any normal free throw.
  • 9. Question #4B1 fouls A1 after the bonus is in effect. A1 is mistakenly not awarded the bonus free throw(s) and instead, Team A is awarded a throw-in. After the throw-in ends and Team A is in control, A3 asks for and receives a timeout. During the timeout, it is called to the official’s attention that A1 was not awarded her free throw(s) for the foul. Which of the following is true?d. A1 is awarded the one-and-one bonus and play is resumed as after any normal free throw. (2-12.2; 2-12.5)
  • 10. Question #5A1 is injured during a play in which A1 was fouled. As a result, A1 cannot attempt the one free throw awarded to her. A6 replaces A1 and attempts the free throw, which is successful. Which is true about substituting at this point?a. A7 may replace A6 after the free throw and before the game clock starts.b. A1 may replace A6 after the free throw and before the game clock starts.c. A1 may replace A2 after the free throw and before the game clock starts.d. No substitutions are permitted during this dead-ball period.e. None of the above.
  • 11. Question #5A1 is injured during a play in which A1 was fouled. As a result, A1 cannot attempt the one free throw awarded to her. A6 replaces A1 and attempts the free throw, which is successful. Which is true about substituting at this point?a. A7 may replace A6 after the free throw and before the game clock starts. (3-4.1.i; 3-4.1.j; AR 62)
  • 12. Question #6When an obvious mistake by the shot-clock operator has occurred in failing to start, stop, set or reset the shot clock the following is true:a. The mistake may be corrected in the shot-clock period in which the mistake occurred.b. The mistake may be corrected at any time even when it is outside of the shot clock period in which the mistake occurred.c. The mistake may be corrected after two successful goals.d. A and C abovee. None of the above
  • 13. Question #6When an obvious mistake by the shot-clock operator has occurred in failing to start, stop, set or reset the shot clock the following is true:a. The mistake may be corrected in the shot-clock period in which the mistake occurred. (2-13.2.c.2)
  • 14. Question #7Officials are permitted to place the ball on the floor at the throw- in spot during a timeout.a. Trueb. False
  • 15. Question #7Officials are permitted to place the ball on the floor at the throw- in spot during a timeout.b. False (CCA Manual 1.1.1.A; 3.4.3.A.3)
  • 16. Question #8Shooter A1 is still airborne after attempting a three-point shot when she is fouled by B1. The foul is a flagrant 1 personal foul. The shot is unsuccessful.a. A1 is awarded two free throws and Team A is awarded the ball nearest to where the ball was located at the time of the foul.b. A1 is awarded two free throws and Team A is awarded the ball at the designated spot nearest to where the foul occurred.c. A1 is awarded three free throws and play is resumed as after any normal free throw.d. A1 is awarded three free throws and Team A is awarded the ball at the designated spot nearest to where the foul occurred.
  • 17. Question #8Shooter A1 is still airborne after attempting a three-point shot when she is fouled by B1. The foul is a flagrant 1 personal foul. The shot is unsuccessful.d. A1 is awarded three free throws and Team A is awarded the ball at the designated spot nearest to where the foul occurred. (10-1 Penalty e)
  • 18. Question #9Which of the following are true statements regarding an offensive foul by the ball handler/dribbler?a. The defender must take contact in the middle of the chest.b. The offensive player must go through the defender.c. The defender must keep her feet still.d. None of the above
  • 19. Question #9Which of the following are true statements regarding an offensive foul by the ball handler/dribbler?d. None of the above (2012-2013 Clinic slide)
  • 20. Question #10A1 jumps for a try for field goal. B1 jumps to defend against thetry and touches the ball and causes the ball to lose contact withA1’s hand(s). A1 retrieves the ball while in the air and returns tothe floor in possession of the ball and begins to dribble. Theofficials shall:a. Not call anythingb. Call a jump ballc. Award A1 two free throwsd. Call a travel violatione. Call a double dribble
  • 21. Question #10A1 jumps for a try for field goal. B1 jumps to defend against thetry and touches the ball and causes the ball to lose contact withA1’s hand(s). A1 retrieves the ball while in the air and returns tothe floor in possession of the ball and begins to dribble. Theofficials shall:a. Not call anything (AR 115 [2])
  • 22. Question #11A1, while in possession of the ball, begins her try. During A1’s try and before the ball is released, B2 illegally pushes through A2s screen to defend A1 and is whistled for a foul against B2. A1 continues her try and the ball enters the basket.a. The goal is cancelled and A1 is awarded two free throws.b. The goal is scored and A1 is awarded one free throw.c. The goal is scored and A2 is awarded a one-and-one bonus.d. The goal is cancelled and A2 is awarded a one-and-one bonus.
  • 23. Question #11A1, while in possession of the ball, begins her try. During A1’s try and before the ball is released, B2 illegally pushes through A2s screen to defend A1 and is whistled for a foul against B2. A1 continues her try and the ball enters the basket.c. The goal is scored and A2 is awarded a one-and-one bonus (4- 14; AR 141 [1])
  • 24. Question #12During a timeout or before any extra period, the bench area has different dimensions than it does during other times in the game.a. Trueb. False
  • 25. Question #12During a timeout or before any extra period, the bench area has different dimensions than it does during other times in the game.a. True (4-7)
  • 26. Question #13With the alternating-possession arrow favoring Team A and 20 seconds remaining on the shot clock, A1’s try for goal lodges between the backboard and the basket support:a. Award Team A the possession for a throw-in and the shot clock will remain at 20 seconds.b. Award Team A the possession for a throw-in and the shot clock will be reset to 30.c. Award Team A the possession for a throw-in and the shot clock will be set to 15 seconds.d. Award Team B the ball because Team A violated.e. None of the above
  • 27. Question #13With the alternating-possession arrow favoring Team A and 20 seconds remaining on the shot clock, A1’s try for goal lodges between the backboard and the basket support:b. Award Team A the possession for a throw-in and the shot clock will be reset to 30. (2-11.6.d; AR 17)
  • 28. Question #14A1’s throw-in is in flight. Before either team touches the inbound pass, A2 fouls B2. Team B is in the bonus. Which of the following is true?a. Award B2 a bonus free-throw situation.b. A2 has committed a team control foul.c. Award Team B a throw-in at a spot closest to where the foul occurred.d. Award the team entitled to the alternating-possession arrow a throw-in at a spot closest to where the foul occurred.e. B and C above.
  • 29. Question #14A1’s throw-in is in flight. Before either team touches the inbound pass, A2 fouls B2. Team B is in the bonus. Which of the following is true?e. B and C above. (4-15.2.c; 4-70.4; 5-5.5)
  • 30. Question #15Which of the following statements is true when establishing a legal guarding position on a player without the ball?a. Time and distance are required to attain an initial legal guarding position.b. The guard shall give the time and distance to avoid contact.c. The distance given by the opponent of the player without the ball must always be more than two strides.d. A and B onlye. A and C onlyf. All of the above
  • 31. Question #15Which of the following statements is true when establishing a legal guarding position on a player without the ball?d. A and B only (4-35.5.a; 4-35.5.b)
  • 32. Question #16A1 jumps for a try for field goal. B1 jumps to defend against the try and touches the ball such that this touch/capping causes the ball to remain in the player’s hand by preventing this airborne player from attempting the try and both players return to the floor with their hand(s) on the ball. The officials shall:a. Not call anythingb. Call a travel violationc. Call a jump ball.d. Call a double dribble
  • 33. Question #16A1 jumps for a try for field goal. B1 jumps to defend against the try and touches the ball such that this touch/capping causes the ball to remain in the player’s hand by preventing this airborne player from attempting the try and both players return to the floor with their hand(s) on the ball. The officials shall:c. Call a jump ball. (4-37.1.b; AR 116)
  • 34. Question #17All technical fouls apply to the team-foul count.a. Trueb. False
  • 35. Question #17All technical fouls apply to the team-foul count.b. False (4-10.3.b; 10-2 Penalty 2)
  • 36. Question #18Officials may use official courtside replay equipment to assess whether or not the following correctable errors need to be rectified:a. Awarding an unmerited free throw.b. Permitting a wrong player to attempt a free throw.c. Permitting a player to attempt a free throw at the wrong basket.d. A and B abovee. B and C above
  • 37. Question #18Officials may use official courtside replay equipment to assess whether or not the following correctable errors need to be rectified:e. B and C above (2-13.2.a.3; 2-13.2.a.4)
  • 38. Question #19With no courtside replay monitor available, Team A is down two points near the expiration of time in the second half when shooter A1 is fouled in the act of shooting. Time expires before she releases the ball but she continues her try and the ball goes in the basket. The officials determine that a timing mistake occurred in failing to stop the clock when the official blew the whistle and decide to put time back on the clock.a. The basket counts and A1 is awarded one free throw.b. The basket counts. No free throws are awarded.c. The basket is disallowed. A1 is awarded two free throws.d. The basket is disallowed. No free throws are awarded
  • 39. Question #19With no courtside replay monitor available, Team A is down two points near the expiration of time in the second half when shooter A1 is fouled in the act of shooting. Time expires before she releases the ball but she continues her try and the ball goes in the basket. The officials determine that a timing mistake occurred in failing to stop the clock when the official blew the whistle and decide to put time back on the clock.a. The basket counts and A1 is awarded one free throw. (5- 7.7.3.c.1; 6-6.2; AR 146 [1])
  • 40. Question #20All of the following statements are true regarding the use of the courtside replay monitor as it relates to a fight EXCEPT?a. Officials are required to (shall) use the monitor to determine who left the bench areab. Officials may use the monitor to determine whether a fight occurred.c. Officials are required to (shall) use the monitor to determine whether a fight occurredd. Officials are required to (shall) use the monitor to determine who participated in the fight
  • 41. Question #20All of the following statements are true regarding the use of the courtside replay monitor as it relates to a fight EXCEPT?b. Officials may use the monitor to determine whether a fight occurred. (2-13.3.b)
  • 42. Question #21A flagrant 1 personal foul is defined as:a. Causing excessive contact with an opponent while playing the ball.b. Contact with a player making a throw-in.c. Pushing or holding a player from behind to prevent a score.d. All of the above NCAA Presentation TitleMonth ##, Year page 42 Company Name
  • 43. Question #21A flagrant 1 personal foul is defined as:d. All of the above (4-29.2.c.1, 3, 5)
  • 44. Question #22Team A has the ball for a throw-in at mid court. While the pass in is flight and before the throw-in ends, A2 and B2 commit a double personal foul in the lane near Team As basket. What is the result?a. Play is resumed with a throw-in to Team A on the end line near their basketb. Play is resumed using the alternating-possession procedure with a throw-in at mid court.c. Play is resumed with a throw-in to Team A at mid courtd. Play is resumed using the alternating-possession procedure with a throw-in on the end line near Team As basket.e. Each team is awarded two free throws and play is resumed using the alternating-possession procedure with a throw-in at mid court.
  • 45. Question #22Team A has the ball for a throw-in at mid court. While the pass in is flight and before the throw-in ends, A2 and B2 commit a double personal foul in the lane near Team As basket. What is the result?c. Play is resumed with a throw-in to Team A at mid court (4- 53.1.d; 4-53.2.a.1; 7-4.1.i; 7-5.8)
  • 46. Question #23An alternating possession throw-in ends when the ball is:a. Controlled by an inbounds playerb. Touched or is legally touched by an inbounds playerc. When the throw-in team commits a violationd. A and B abovee. B and C above
  • 47. Question #23An alternating possession throw-in ends when the ball is:e. B and C above (4-2.2)
  • 48. Question #24The following will be ejected for leaving the bench area when a fight may break out or has broken out:a. Assistant Coachesb. Team membersc. Athletic trainersd. All of the above
  • 49. Question #24The following will be ejected for leaving the bench area when a fight may break out or has broken out:d. All of the above (4-8; 10-4.8)
  • 50. Question #25Which statement is true regarding the coaching box?a. The coaching box extends from the sideline to the back of the team benchesb. The coaching box is bound by the end line and no farther than the 28-foot line.c. A three-foot line shall be extended in both directions from the sideline so that the restriction is evident.d. A and B only.e. All of the above.
  • 51. Question #25Which statement is true regarding the coaching box?c. A three-foot line shall be extended in both directions from the sideline so that the restriction is evident. (4-7.1)
  • 52. Question #26Which statement is true regarding the free throws awarded as a result of a technical foul?a. The free throws may be attempted by any player from the offended team.b. The free throws may be attempted by any eligible team member from the offended team.c. The same player must attempt both free throws.d. A and B onlye. All of the above
  • 53. Question #26Which statement is true regarding the free throws awarded as a result of a technical foul?e. All of the above (8-2.4)
  • 54. Question #27The Trail official is responsible for the following areas during rebounds:a. Perimeterb. Strongsidec. Weaksided. All of the above
  • 55. Question #27The Trail official is responsible for the following areas during rebounds:d. All of the above (CCA Manual 1.1.1.B; 3.3.4.A.5)
  • 56. Question #28A secondary defender is permitted to draw a charge in the restricted area on a player who does not have the ball and/or who did not release the ball on a pass or try for goal.a. Trueb. False
  • 57. Question #28A secondary defender is permitted to draw a charge in the restricted area on a player who does not have the ball and/or who did not release the ball on a pass or try for goal.a. True (2012-2013 Clinic Slide; 4-35.7)
  • 58. Question #29While all result in ejection, which of the following does NOT subject an individual to suspension:a. Any bench personnel who participates in a fightb. Any team member who participates in a fightc. Any player who participates in a fightd. Any bench personnel who leave the bench area for a fight but do not participate in the fight
  • 59. Question #29While all result in ejection, which of the following does NOT subject an individual to suspension:d. Any bench personnel who leave the bench area for a fight but do not participate in the fight (10-7.1)
  • 60. Question #30When Team A is not ready to resume play following a timeout, the correct procedure sequence is as follows.a. The administering official shall blow the whistle, verbalize that a ROP warning is being issued to the specific team, then the closest official shall inform the head coach and the official scorer that a warning has been issued.b. The administering official shall verbalize that a ROP warning is being issued to the specific team, the administering official shall blow the whistle, then the closest official shall inform the head coach and the official scorer that a warning has been issued.c. The closest official shall inform the head coach and the official scorer that a warning has been issued, the administering official shall blow the whistle, then the administering official shall verbalize that a ROP warning is being issued to the specific team. NCAA Presentation TitleMonth ##, Year page 60 Company Name
  • 61. Question #30When Team A is not ready to resume play following a timeout, the correctprocedure sequence is as follows.a. The administering official shall blow the whistle, verbalize that a ROPwarning is being issued to the specific team, then the closest official shallinform the head coach and the official scorer that a warning has been issued.(CCA Manual 3.2.4.B.1, 2, 3)
  • 62. Question #31While Team A is in team control, B1 deflects the ball out of bounds with two seconds on the shot clock. Team A is awarded a throw- in. A1’s throw-in is caught simultaneously by A2 and B2, causing a held ball. The possession arrow favors Team A.a. The ball is awarded to Team A with the unexpired time remaining on the shot clock.b. The ball is awarded to Team A with a full reset of the shot clock.c. The ball is awarded to Team A with 15 seconds put on the shot clock.d. None of the above. NCAA Presentation Title Month ##, Year page 62 Company Name
  • 63. Question #31While Team A is in team control, B1 deflects the ball out of bounds with two seconds on the shot clock. Team A is awarded a throw-in. A1’s throw-in is caught simultaneously by A2 and B2, causing a held ball. The possession arrow favors Team A.a. The ball is awarded to Team A with the unexpired time remaining on the shot clock. (2-11.7.i; 2-11.7 Note) NCAA Presentation Title Month ##, Year page 63 Company Name
  • 64. Question #32Team A is entitled to a throw-in under the alternating-possession process. A1 is standing out of bounds on the baseline and throws the ball directly onto the court and the pass is kicked by B1 who is standing above the free throw line near the sideline.a. Award the ball to Team A at the spot of the original throw-in. Team A loses the arrow.b. Award the ball to Team A at the spot of the original throw-in. Team A keeps the arrow.c. Award the ball to Team A for throw-in at the spot where B1 was when she kicked the ball. Team A loses the arrow.d. Award the ball to Team A for throw-in at the spot nearest to where B1 was when she kicked the ball. Team A keeps the arrow.e. None of the above. NCAA Presentation TitleMonth ##, Year page 64 Company Name
  • 65. Question #32Team A is entitled to a throw-in under the alternating- possession process. A1 is standing out of bounds on the baseline and throws the ball directly onto the court and the pass is kicked by B1 who is standing above the free throw line near the sideline.d. Award the ball to Team A for throw-in at the spot nearest to where B1 was when she kicked the ball. Team A keeps the arrow. (4-2.2; 4-45; 6-3.2; 7-5.1; 7- 5.3; 9-6; 9-15.1) NCAA Presentation Title Month ##, Year page 65 Company Name
  • 66. Question #33When the ball is awarded to the wrong team under the alternating- The “triangle” diagram illustrates “the nearest spot.” possession procedure and the ball is legally touched inbounds after it is thrown inbounds, the officials shall:a. Blow the whistle immediately and give the ball to the correct team.b. Allow play to continue and rectify the mistake before the second live ball.c. Rectify the mistake when it is recognized, canceling any activity that occurred during that possession excluding a flagrant personal or technical foul or an indirect or direct technical foul.d. Allow play to continue.e. None of the above.
  • 67. Question #33When the ball diagram illustrates “the nearestteam The “triangle” is awarded to the wrong spot.” under the alternating-possession procedure and the ball is legally touched inbounds after it is thrown inbounds, the officials shall:d. Allow play to continue. (AR 198)
  • 68. Question #34B1 fouls A1. The scorer notifies the officials that B1 has five fouls. The officials are to adhere to the following procedures for disqualification:a. Notify the timer to start the timing device then sound the horn after 35 seconds.b. Notify the coach that the player is disqualified then notify the player.c. Notify the player that she is disqualified then notify the coach
  • 69. Question #34B1 fouls A1. The scorer notifies the officials that B1 has five fouls. The officials are to adhere to the following procedures for disqualification:b. Notify the coach that the player is disqualified then notify the player. (4-20.3)
  • 70. Question #35A1’s throw-in hits an official who is on the court. After the ball hits the official, A1 enters the court and is the first to touch the ball.a. Throw-in violation on A1.b. Legal, play continues.c. Technical foul on A1.
  • 71. Question #35A1’s throw-in hits an official who is on the court. After the ball hits the official, A1 enters the court and is the first to touch the ball.a. Throw-in violation on A1. (4-46.3; 9-5.1.f)
  • 72. Question #36After a team warning for delay of game by not having thecourt ready to play after the final horn to end anytimeout, any delay of any type will be penalized with atechnical foul because of this one warning.a. Trueb. False
  • 73. Question #36After a team warning for delay of game by not having thecourt ready to play after the final horn to end anytimeout, any delay of any type will be penalized with atechnical foul because of this one warning.b. False (4-17.2)
  • 74. Question #37A1 is on the floor with the ball lodged between her upper legs. B1 attempts to gain possession by placing two hands firmly on the ball. A1 applies vice-like force with the upper legs, which prevents B1 from gaining possession. The correct call is:a. Jump ballb. Violation by A1c. Violation by B1d. Unsporting conduct technical foule. None of the above 74
  • 75. Question #37A1 is on the floor with the ball lodged between her upper legs. B1 attempts to gain possession by placing two hands firmly on the ball. A1 applies vice-like force with the upper legs, which prevents B1 from gaining possession. The correct call is:b. Violation by A1 (4-45.1; AR 119) 75
  • 76. Question #38After the ball is at A1’s disposal for the throw-in following a timeout, the scorer notifies the official that Team A’s timeout was an excessive timeout. The officials shall:a. Assess an administrative technical foul to Team A. Award Team B two free throws and award Team A the ball at the point of interruption.b. Assess an administrative technical foul to Team A. Award Team B two free throws and award Team B the ball at the point of interruption.c. Assess A1 a player/substitute technical foul for calling the excessive timeout.d. Resume play without a technical foul. 76
  • 77. Question #38After the ball is at A1’s disposal for the throw-in following a timeout, the scorer notifies the official that Team A’s timeout was an excessive timeout. The officials shall:d. Resume play without a technical foul. (10-2.7 Penalty) 77
  • 78. Question #39Team A is entitled to a throw-in under the alternating-possession process. Before the throw-in by Team A is completed, a foul is called on Team B. Team A is in the bonus.a. Award the ball to Team A for throw-in at the spot of the foul. The arrow remains with Team A.b. Award Team A free throws. The arrow remains with Team A.c. Award the ball to Team A for throw-in at the spot of the foul. Team A loses the arrow.d. Award Team A free throws. Team A loses the arrow.e. None of the above. 78
  • 79. Question #39Team A is entitled to a throw-in under the alternating- possession process. Before the throw-in by Team A is completed, a foul is called on Team B. Team A is in the bonus.b. Award Team A free throws. The arrow remains with Team A. (6-3.4) 79
  • 80. Question #40At the 5-minute mark on the clock before the start of the game, Team A submits its starting lineup for the first time. At the 1-minute mark before the start of the game, Team A makes a change to its starting lineup. What is the result?a. Team A is assessed one bench technical foul and Team B is awarded two free throws before the jump ball.b. Team A is assessed two administrative technical fouls and Team B is awarded four free throws before the jump ball. Play is resumed with a jump ballc. Team A is assessed one administrative technical foul and Team B is awarded two free throws before the jump ball. Play is resumed with a jump balld. Team A is assessed two administrative technical fouls and Team B is awarded four free throws and the ball for a division line throw-in to start the game. 80
  • 81. Question #40At the 5-minute mark on the clock before the start of the game, Team A submits its starting lineup for the first time. At the 1-minute mark before the start of the game, Team A makes a change to its starting lineup. What is the result?b. Team A is assessed two administrative technical fouls and Team B is awarded four free throws before the jump ball. Play is resumed with a jump ball (10-2.2.a, b) 81
  • 82. Question #41An individual who has been ejected must leave the playing court and the floor area and report to his/her team’s locker room until the game is over.a. Trueb. False 82
  • 83. Question #41An individual who has been ejected must leave the playing court and the floor area and report to his/her team’s locker room until the game is over.a. True (4-23.1.a) 83
  • 84. Question #42Players not in marked lane spaces who locate themselves behind the free-throw line extended and behind the three-point arc are permitted to move inside the three-point arc or below the free- throw line when the shooter releases the shot.a. Trueb. False 84
  • 85. Question #42Players not in marked lane spaces who locate themselves behind the free-throw line extended and behind the three-point arc are permitted to move inside the three-point arc or below the free- throw line when the shooter releases the shot.b. False (9-1.2.g) 85
  • 86. Question #43Team A is entitled to a throw-in under the alternating-possession process. Before the throw-in by Team A is completed, a foul is called on Team A. Team B is in the bonus.a. Award the ball to Team B for throw-in at the spot of the foul. The arrow remains with Team A.b. Award Team B free throws. The arrow remains with Team A.c. Award the ball to Team B for throw-in at the spot of the foul. Team A loses the arrow.d. Award Team B free throws. Team A loses the arrow.e. None of the above. 86
  • 87. Question #43Team A is entitled to a throw-in under the alternating- possession process. Before the throw-in by Team A is completed, a foul is called on Team A. Team B is in the bonus.a. Award the ball to Team B for throw-in at the spot of the foul. The arrow remains with Team A. (6-3.4; 7- 4.1.f) 87
  • 88. Question #44During an alternating-possession throw-in, thrower-in A1 consumes more than five seconds before the ball is released. The ball shall be awarded to Team B for a designated spot throw-in and the arrow shall be set to Team B.a. Trueb. False 88
  • 89. Question #44During an alternating-possession throw-in, thrower-in A1 consumes more than five seconds before the ball is released. The ball shall be awarded to Team B for a designated spot throw-in and the arrow shall be set to Team B.a. True (6-3.3; 9-5.1.d) 89
  • 90. Question #45A1 is awarded a one-and-one bonus. While A1 is in the act of shooting but before releasing the ball, B1 loses her balance and touches her hands on the court inside the lane followed by A2 stepping in the lane. A1s try is unsuccessful. Which of the following is true?a. Lane violation by B1. A throw-in is awarded to Team A nearest to where the violation occurred.b. Lane violation by A2 only. The free throw is cancelled and the ball is awarded to Team B for a throw-in on the endline.c. The ball is awarded to the team entitled to arrow under the alternating- possession procedure nearest to where the violations occurred.d. Lane violation by B1. The one-and-one bonus is administered again. 90
  • 91. Question #45A1 is awarded a one-and-one bonus. While A1 is in the act of shooting but before releasing the ball, B1 loses her balance and touches her hands on the court inside the lane followed by A2 stepping in the lane. A1s try is unsuccessful. Which of the following is true?d. Lane violation by B1. The one-and-one bonus is administered again. (9-2.3.b) 91
  • 92. Question #46Team A is not ready to take the playing court after a second warning signal sounds to indicate the end of the halftime intermission. The referee should:a. Send the U2 to the dressing room to get Team A.b. Put one minute on the game clock and at the expiration of one minute, assess an indirect technical foul to the head coach for delay of game.c. Issue a Resumption of Play Warning to Team A.d. Put the ball on the floor at the center court throw-in spot and begin the 5- second count.e. Start the digital device used to time timeouts and when Team A is not ready to play at the expiration of one minute, assess an administrative technical foul for delay of game. 92
  • 93. Question #46Team A is not ready to take the playing court after a second warning signal sounds to indicate the end of the halftime intermission. The referee should:e. Start the digital device used to time timeouts and when Team A is not ready to play at the expiration of one minute, assess an administrative technical foul for delay of game. (4-17.1.b; 6-2.4; 10-2.5.a; AR 89) 93
  • 94. Question #47One definition of the Bench Area is:a. the outer edge of the sideline to the back of the team benchb. an imaginary line extended from the sideline to the back of the team benchc. the 28-foot lined. All of the above 94
  • 95. Question #47One definition of the Bench Area is:d. All of the above (4-7.1) 95
  • 96. Question #48The throw-in spot for all violations that occur just inside the entire three-point arc is the baseline.a. Trueb. False 96
  • 97. Question #48The throw-in spot for all violations that occur just inside the entire three-point arc is the baseline.b. False (CCA Manual 1.2.3) 97
  • 98. Question #49A Resumption of Play warning is to be reported to the official scorer.a. Trueb. False 98
  • 99. Question #49A Resumption of Play warning is to be reported to the official scorer.a. True (4-57.2) 99
  • 100. Question #50The following is required to be completely finished in a manner that is similar throughout:a. The playing courtb. The three-foot area outside each sidelinec. The six-foot area outside each end lined. All of the above 100
  • 101. Question #50The following is required to be completely finished in a manner that is similar throughout:d. All of the above (1-17) 101