Your SlideShare is downloading. ×
0
DUI, DWI & Refusal in New Jersey
DUI, DWI & Refusal in New Jersey
DUI, DWI & Refusal in New Jersey
DUI, DWI & Refusal in New Jersey
DUI, DWI & Refusal in New Jersey
DUI, DWI & Refusal in New Jersey
DUI, DWI & Refusal in New Jersey
DUI, DWI & Refusal in New Jersey
DUI, DWI & Refusal in New Jersey
DUI, DWI & Refusal in New Jersey
DUI, DWI & Refusal in New Jersey
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5
×

Thanks for flagging this SlideShare!

Oops! An error has occurred.

×
Saving this for later? Get the SlideShare app to save on your phone or tablet. Read anywhere, anytime – even offline.
Text the download link to your phone
Standard text messaging rates apply

DUI, DWI & Refusal in New Jersey

103

Published on

New Jersey has extremely tough laws for Driving Under the Influence (“DUI”), Driving While Intoxicated (“DWI”) and Refusing to take a Breathalyzer Test. By Statute, even first time offenders are …

New Jersey has extremely tough laws for Driving Under the Influence (“DUI”), Driving While Intoxicated (“DWI”) and Refusing to take a Breathalyzer Test. By Statute, even first time offenders are subject to a mandatory loss of license and potential jail sentences. These consequences can have a devastating affect on a person’s career and family responsibilities.

Contact Us: The Law office of Joel Silberman, LLC: 549 Summit Avenue, Jersey City, NJ 07306, Tel: (201)-273-7070, Toll Free (800)-889-3129, Email: joel@joelsilbermanlaw.com. For more details visit our website: www.joelsilbermanlaw.com

Published in: Business, News & Politics
1 Comment
1 Like
Statistics
Notes
  • Very helpful and thanks for this presentation about DUI.
       Reply 
    Are you sure you want to  Yes  No
    Your message goes here
No Downloads
Views
Total Views
103
On Slideshare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
0
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
2
Comments
1
Likes
1
Embeds 0
No embeds

Report content
Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
No notes for slide

Transcript

  • 1. Disclaimer: The contents of this presentation are general in nature. Please use your discretion while following them. The author does not guarantee legal validity of the tips contained herein. DUI, DWI & Refusal in New Jersey Tel: 201-273-7070 Toll Free: 800-889-3129 www.joelsilbermanlaw.com
  • 2. • New Jersey has extremely tough laws for Driving Under the Influence (“DUI”), Driving While Intoxicated (“DWI”) and Refusing to take a Breathalyzer Test. • By Statute, even first time offenders are subject to a mandatory loss of license and potential jail sentences.
  • 3. Defenses • Constitutional Defenses – Unconstitutional Stop of your vehicle • Improper Procedure – The police failed to follow protocol • Road Side Sobriety Test Results
  • 4. Sentencing Consequences
  • 5. First Offense – Blood Alcohol Content between .08 and .10% • 3 Month Loss of License • Up to 30 days in the County Jail • $250 to $400 Fine • Approximately $500 other State related Fees • $1000 Insurance Surcharge for 3 years • 12 to 48 hours at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • 6. First Offense – Blood Alcohol Content .10% or Greater • 7 months up to 1 year Loss of License • Up to 30 days in the County Jail • $300 to $500 Fine • Approximately $500 in other State related Fees • $1000 Insurance Surcharge for 3 years • Ignition Interlock Device for up to 2 years
  • 7. Second Offense… • 2 Year Loss of License • 2 to 90 days in the County Jail • $500 to $1000 Fine • Approximately $500 in other State related Fees
  • 8. Second Offense • Community Service • 12 to 48 Hours at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center • Ignition Interlock Device for up to 5 years • $1000 Insurance Surcharge for 3 years
  • 9. Third and Subsequent Offenses… • 10 Year Loss of License • Mandatory 180 days in the County Jail • $1000 Fine • Approximately $500 in other State related Fees
  • 10. Third and Subsequent Offenses • Community Service • 12 to 48 Hours at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center • Ignition Interlock Device for up to 13 years • $1500 Insurance Surcharge for 3 years
  • 11. Contact Us: 549 Summit Avenue Jersey City, NJ 07306 Tel: (201)-273-7070 Toll Free (800)-889-3129 www.joelsilbermanlaw.com

×