• Share
  • Email
  • Embed
  • Like
  • Save
  • Private Content
Planning Travel on the Web
 

Planning Travel on the Web

on

  • 1,791 views

 

Statistics

Views

Total Views
1,791
Views on SlideShare
1,791
Embed Views
0

Actions

Likes
0
Downloads
18
Comments
0

0 Embeds 0

No embeds

Accessibility

Categories

Upload Details

Uploaded via as Microsoft PowerPoint

Usage Rights

© All Rights Reserved

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Processing…
Post Comment
Edit your comment
  • Try Googling princeton travel guide

Planning Travel on the Web Planning Travel on the Web Presentation Transcript

  • Planning Travel on the Web A presentation by Joel May On the web in the “Presentations” section of www.ewingsnet.com
  • Major Travel-Oriented Web Sites
    • Six sites offer "full-service" travel planning and destination reviews as well as hotel and transportation booking services.
      • Expedia ( www.expedia.com )
      • Kayak ( www.kayak.com )
      • Orbitz ( www.orbitz.com )
      • Sidestep ( www.sidestep.com )
      • Travelocity ( www.travelocity.com )
      • Yahoo Travel ( travel.yahoo.co m )
  • Major Travel-Oriented Web Sites
    • You should routinely check them for information
    • In this presentation, however, we will additionally focus on the more specialized or "boutique" travel planning sites.
  • The Five Most Important Travel Questions
    • Where to Go?
    • How to Get There?
    • What to Do There?
    • Where to Stay/Eat There?
    • What will it cost and what will the weather be like?
  • The Five Most Important Travel Questions
    • Where to Go?
    • How to Get There?
    • What to Do There?
    • Where to Stay/Eat There?
    • What will it cost and what will the weather be like?
  • Where to Go
    • Deciding where to go may be the most difficult of the four steps, after all you have an infinite number of possibilities. Start by asking yourself:
      • What activities do I like to do on vacation?
      • What physical limitations do I have that might limit where I can go or what I can do?
      • What sort of climate do I like?
      • How do I like to travel?
    • Get information from dedicated travel information sites
      • Discovery Travel ( travel.discovery.com )
        • click on Travel Ideas to start to get some idea of where to go
        • click on Destination Guides to choose a geographic location
        • Scroll down to Travel Forums to obtain personal opinions and tips about various destinations
    Where to Go
    • Other great travel information sites include:
      • Lonely Planet ( www.lonelyplanet.com )
      • Trip Advisor ( www.tripadvisor.com )
      • Concierge ( www.consierge.com )
      • Rick Steves ( ricksteves.com ) Note: Europe only
      • Rough Guides ( www.roughguides.com )
      • Moon Travel Planner ( www.moon.com )
      • And a brand new one, WikiTravel ( wikitravel.org )
    Where to Go
    • " Google ” the name of a location you think you’d enjoy and read about it
    • Try phrases like
      • New York sights
      • Seattle vacation review
      • Cancun guide
      • France travel
      • Vienna highlights
    Where to Go
    • Another good place to start is Wikipedia ( www.wikipedia.com ). Just type the name of your preferred destination into the search box on the left side of the screen.
    Where to Go
  • The Five Most Important Travel Questions
    • Where to Go?
    • How to Get There?
    • What to Do There?
    • Where to Stay/Eat There?
    • What will it cost and what will the weather be like?
  • How to Get There
    • Getting there by car
      • Rental Cars ( www.carrentals.com )
    • Getting there by RV
      • Rental RVs (http://www.cruiseamerica.com/
    • Use a mapping program
      • Google Maps ( maps.google.com )
      • MapQuest ( mapquest.com )
    • There are many web sites devoted to automobile travel, including
      • Free Trip ( www.freetrip.com )
      • Roadtrip America ( www.roadtripamerica.com )
      • Mile by Mile ( www.milebymile.com )
      • National Scenic Byways ( www.byways.org )
      • Roadside America ( www.roadsideamerica.com )
      • and, most important of all
      • - Speed Trap Exchange ( www.speedtrap.org )
    How to Get There
    • Getting there by train or bus
      • Amtrak ( www.amtrak.com ) and
      • Greyhound ( www.greyhound.com )
    • have their own web sites where you can reserve space and purchase tickets
    How to Get There
    • Getting there by plane
      • When flying, there are usually multiple airlines available to you.
      • Hence it is to your advantage not to book flights with individual airlines. Instead use one of the big six:
    How to Get There
  • Major Travel-Oriented Web Sites
    • Expedia ( www.expedia.com )
    • Kayak ( www.kayak.com )
    • Orbitz ( www.orbitz.com )
    • Sidestep ( www.sidestep.com )
    • Travelocity ( www.travelocity.com )
    • Yahoo Travel ( travel.yahoo.co m )
  • How to Get There
    • Or a new site that advises on speed, comfort and ease:
    • http:// www.insidetrip.com /
    • or, for discount tickets purchased at the last minute:
      • Priceline ( www.priceline.com )
      • Cheap Tickets ( www.cheaptickets.com )
      • Lowest Fare ( www.lowestfare.com )
      • 30 Places to Find Cheap Airline Tickets ( snipurl.com/1wtc6 )
    How to Get There
  • How to Get There
    • Most of the web sites on which you can access schedules, reserve seats and purchase tickets work in a similar way:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  • How to Get There
    • Some sources of information on air travel:
      • Airport information including maps, parking and other facilities ( www.amadeus.net/home/airports/en/index.htm )
      • Aircraft seating charts ( www.seatguru.com )
      • Average waiting time in the security line ( waittime.tsa.dhs.gov/index.html )
      • Transport to and from the airport ( www.airportservice.com )
      • Long-term airport parking ( www.longtermparking.com )
  • How to Get There
    • More sources of information on air travel
      • Prohibited and Permitted items ( tsa.gov/travelers/airtravel/prohibited/permitted-prohibited-items.shtm )
      • Tips to make air travel more comfortable ( www.remote.org/jochen/travel/tips/airtravel.html )
      • Air Travelers' Rights ( www.pueblo.gsa.gov/cic_text/travel/flyrights/flyrghts.htm )
  • The Five Most Important Travel Questions
    • Where to Go?
    • How to Get There?
    • What to Do There?
    • Where to Stay/Eat There?
    • What will it cost and what will the weather be like?
  • What to do There (specific locations)
    • Use the “big six” to seek out information
      • Expedia ( www.expedia.com )
      • Kayak ( www.kayak.com )
      • Orbitz ( www.orbitz.com )
      • Sidestep ( www.sidestep.com )
      • Travelocity ( www.travelocity.com )
      • Yahoo Travel ( travel.yahoo.co m )
    • Use a dedicated information site like Fodors ( www.fodors.com )
      • Click on the Destinations tab
      • or click on the map
      • or type the name of your destination in the search box
    What to do There (specific locations)
    • Use Google (e.g.)
      • seattle walking tours
      • new york sightseeing
      • prague theater
      • tijuana nightlife
    What to do There (specific locations)
    • Ocean Cruises: Cruise Web ( www.cruiseweb.com )
    • Freighter Cruises: The Travelers’ Notebook
    • ( http:// thetravelersnotebook.com )
    • Theme Cruises: Locate Theme Cruises ( http:// www.vacationstogo.com/theme_cruises.cfm )
    • Yacht Cruises: SeaDream Yacht Club ( www.seadreamyachtclub.com )
    • River Cruises: Affordable Tours ( rivers.affordabletours.com )
    • see also: Cruise Critic ( cruisecritic.com )
    What to do There (Cruises)
    • Affordable Tours ( www.affordabletours.com )
    • Tour Vacations to Go ( www.tourvacationstogo.com )
    • and my two personal favorites
    • Tauck Journies ( www.tauck.com / )
    • Vantage Travel ( www.vantagetravel.com )
    What to do There (Escorted Tours)
    • Adventure Vacations: Gorp Travel Away ( gorptravel.away.com )
    • Educational Vacations: Shaw Guides ( www.shawguides.com )
    • Senior Vacation Packages
      • ElderHostel ( www.elderhostel.org )
      • Senior Summer School ( www.seniorsummerschool.com )
      • AARP Travel ( www.aarp.org/travel/destinations )
      • Elder Treks ( eldertreks.com )
    What to do There (Vacation Packages)
  • The Five Most Important Travel Questions
    • Where to Go?
    • How to Get There?
    • What to Do There?
    • Where to Stay/Eat There?
    • What will it cost and what will the weather be like?
  • Where to Stay/Eat There (Hotels)
    • Use the “big six” to seek out information
      • Expedia ( www.expedia.com )
      • Kayak ( www.kayak.com )
      • Orbitz ( www.orbitz.com )
      • Sidestep ( www.sidestep.com )
      • Travelocity ( www.travelocity.com )
      • Yahoo Travel ( travel.yahoo.co m
  • Where to Stay/Eat There (Hotels)
    • Or get discounted prices at
        • Priceline ( www.priceline.com )
        • A1 Discount Hotels ( www.a1-discount-hotels.com )
        • Hotels.com ( www.hotels.com )
    • Use theWeb site of the hotel chain you prefer or look up chain hotels around the world in All Hotel Chains ( all-hotel- chains.com )
    • Find pet-friendly hotels ( www.petswelcome.com )
    • B&Bs BedandBreakfast.com ( www.bedandbreakfast.com )
    • Rentals and Time-Shares
      • Vacation Homes ( www.vacationhomes.com )
      • Vacation Timeshare and Rentals ( www.vacationtimesharerentals.com )
    • RV Parks and Campgrounds: Go Camping America ( www.gocampingamerica.com/ParkSearch.aspx )
    • or try Googling "lodging" + the destination you've chosen
    Where to Stay/Eat There (Other Lodging)
    • Use a big six site
    • Use a restaurant directory web site:
      • Fodors ( www.fodors.com/reviews/drevselect.cfm )
      • Zagat ( www.zagat.com ) Note: click the Restaurants tab
      • Chef Moz ( www.chefmoz.org )
      • or Google " type of food you want restaurant near city, state or zip code "; e.g. italian restaurant near pennington nj or indian restaurant near 08648
    Where to Stay/Eat There (Restaurants)
  • The Five Most Important Travel Questions
    • Where to Go?
    • How to Get There?
    • What to Do There?
    • Where to Stay/Eat There?
    • What will it cost and what will the weather be like?
  • What Will it Cost and What Will the Weather be Like?
  • Additional Travel Information
    • Passport, Visa and safety information from the State Department ( travel.state.gov )
    • Health information
      • Center for Disease Control and Prevention ( www.cdc.gov/travel )
      • International Association for Medical Assistance to Travellers ( www.iamat.org )
    • Information for Disabled Travelers ( access- able.com )
  • Additional Travel Information
    • Currency conversion ( www.xe.com/ucc )
    • ATM locations:
      • Visa ( snipurl.com/visa_atm )
      • Mastercard ( snipurl.com/mastercard_atm )
    • Travel insurance information ( www.insuremytrip.com )
  • Additional Travel Information
    • WiFi locations ( www.jiwire.com/search-hotspot-locations.htm )
    • Cyber Cafe locations ( cybercaptive.com )
    • Clean Bathrooms ( www.thebathroomdiaries.com )
    • Expected weather ( www.wunderground.com/tripplanner/index.asp )
    • Travel Gear ( snipurl.com/Travel_Gear )
  • Planning Travel on the Web
    • Enjoy the Planning
    • Enjoy the Trip
    Available on the Web: www.ewingsnet.com (click on the Presentations tab) [email_address] The End