SalfordPsych and Public Health Twitter workshop
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5
×

Like this? Share it with your network

Share

SalfordPsych and Public Health Twitter workshop

  • 1,133 views
Uploaded on

Twitter workshop for colleagues in my department which started as a 'how to' workshop and moved to a 'why to' workshop based on input from my twitter network. This workshop showcases how great our......

Twitter workshop for colleagues in my department which started as a 'how to' workshop and moved to a 'why to' workshop based on input from my twitter network. This workshop showcases how great our students are at using social media for learning.

More in: Education , Technology
  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
  • Loved reading this Jenna, great work, thank you :)
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
No Downloads

Views

Total Views
1,133
On Slideshare
1,105
From Embeds
28
Number of Embeds
2

Actions

Shares
Downloads
2
Comments
1
Likes
1

Embeds 28

https://twitter.com 27
http://hub.salford.ac.uk 1

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
    No notes for slide

Transcript

  • 1. Twitter for Teaching Learning Research and Engagement Jenna Condie | University of Salford | @jennacondie
  • 2. Why I tweet…
  • 3. …because social media is shaping academic practices
  • 4. Research Engagement
  • 5. Twitter in the social media landscape
  • 6. ‘Live’ examples: Searching twitter for your interests 1 # hashtag: 1 @ account:
  • 7. I tweet because students do …and they just get better & better
  • 8. Our role in their online presence
  • 9. Learner Identity Dialogical
  • 10. MSc Media Psych 2012-2013 Networking Creating Image Creative Commons Licence DonkeyHotey Sharing Showing Collaborating Leading Informing Asking
  • 11. Social professionals
  • 12. Enhancing digital literacies …and confidence!
  • 13. 2008 2013 The only constant is change… & increasing complexity Flickr: b_d_solis
  • 14. The new culture of learning Flickr: catherinecronin Flickr: yhancik
  • 15. Embracing social media Thoughts? Actions! Fancy curating @salfordpsych in the next semester? Flickr: Alexkess
  • 16. The Directorate on Twitter • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • Sharon Coen @coen_sharon Margaret Coffey @margcoffey1 Jenna Condie @jennacondie Anna Cooper @amc_83 Janine Crosbie @janinecrosbie Linda Dubrow-Marshall @drlindadm Lindsey Dugdill @LDUGDILL Peter Eachus @petereachus Adam Galpin @galpinaj John Hudson @brucie_rooster Nikki Jones @NikkiCMJones Ruth Laidler @ruthlaidler Mike Lomas @MikeLomas_ Sarah Norgate @sarahnorgate Lorna Paterson l_paterson Liz Smith @drlizziesmith Add your @username here! Current hashtags: #salfordpsych #mediapsych
  • 17. Resources • Mashable Twitter Guide: http://mashable.com/guidebook/twitter/ • LSE guide Using Twitter in university research, teaching and impact activities: http://blogs.lse.ac.uk/impactofsocialsciences/files/2011/11/PublishedTwitter_Guide_Sept_2011.pdf • Case studies of academics using digital technologies http://blogs.it.ox.ac.uk/engage/case-studies/ • Dorothy Bishop’s (@deevybee) twitter guide for apprehensive academics: http://deevybee.blogspot.co.uk/2011/06/gentle-introduction-to-twitterfor.html • Kate Lindsay’s Twitter for Academia slides: http://www.slideshare.net/mobile/ktlindsay/twitter-for-academia-v4 • Mark Carrigan’s site: http://markcarrigan.net/category/social-media2/twitter-social-media/ • @salfordpsych twitter guidelines for curators (online soon). • Salford Uni HR ‘All About Twitter’ course 16th Jan 2014 http://www.hr.salford.ac.uk/coursebooking/courses.php?booking=course& cat=lt
  • 18. This workshop would have been very different without my online networks Thank you Twitter peeps
  • 19. Twitter for Teaching Learning Research and Engagement Jenna Condie | University of Salford | @jennacondie