3D Printing in Art - 14_0228 (pdf)

  • 385 views
Uploaded on

3D Printing in Art - from a workshop in collaboration with the Arts Initiative at Columbia University. 3D printing basics and a survey of artists who use 3D printing and digital fabrication. The pdf …

3D Printing in Art - from a workshop in collaboration with the Arts Initiative at Columbia University. 3D printing basics and a survey of artists who use 3D printing and digital fabrication. The pdf file doesn't have all of the images/transitions, but a pptx file is also available.

More in: Technology
  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Be the first to comment
    Be the first to like this
No Downloads

Views

Total Views
385
On Slideshare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
1

Actions

Shares
Downloads
18
Comments
0
Likes
0

Embeds 0

No embeds

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
    No notes for slide

Transcript

  • 1. 3D Printing Jeffrey Lancaster Emerging Technologies Coordinator Columbia University Libraries jeffrey.lancaster@columbia.edu @j_lancaster
  • 2. 3D Printing is easy, 3D Modeling is hard.
  • 3. How it works
  • 4. idea object model machine code
  • 5. Object
  • 6. Cartesian Coordinates z y x
  • 7. z x y
  • 8. Fused Filament Fabrication also with “sacrificial” materials
  • 9. Other Fabrication Methods: Powder Bed Printing
  • 10. Other Fabrication Methods: Photocured Resin
  • 11. Other Fabrication Methods: CNC Milling
  • 12. Machine Code
  • 13. Makerware
  • 14. .stl, .obj  G-code!
  • 15. Submission 3dprint.cul.columbia.edu
  • 16. Model
  • 17. @ DSC! 3D Studio Max! AutoCAD! Blender! Maya! Rhino3D! SketchUp!
  • 18. OpenSCAD!
  • 19. 123D Design!
  • 20. 123D Catch!
  • 21. RBML #14: A Rounded Urn!
  • 22. Chinese bronze vessel! www.123dapp.com/obj-Catch/2014-2-14-13-19-35/2125499
  • 23. Henry Moore – Three-Way Piece, Points, 1964-65!
  • 24. Clement Meadmore – Curl, 1968!
  • 25. Thingiverse!
  • 26. Common Design Issues
  • 27. Overlap/Angle!
  • 28. Closed/Watertight Form!
  • 29. Single Manifold! willit3dprint.com
  • 30. 3D Printing in Art
  • 31. Markus Kayser: Glass from Sand + Solar Power markuskayser.com
  • 32. Tom Burtonwood: Open Source Art History! tomburtonwood.com
  • 33. Hacking the Met!
  • 34. Cosmo Wenman: Scanning Sculpture! cosmowenman.wordpress.com/‎
  • 35. Sophie Kahn: Old + New! sophiekahn.net
  • 36. Instrument Design! cubify.com/blog/a-3d-printed-acoustic-guitar
  • 37. Alicia Framis: Visualizing Sound! aliciaframis.com
  • 38. Jurgen Mayer: 3D Modeling for Architecture! jmayerh.de
  • 39. Janne Kyttanen: Arts and Manufacture! jannekyttanen.com
  • 40. Custom Insoles: Arts and Manufacture! sols.co
  • 41. Jan Habraken: Arts and Manufacture! formnation.com
  • 42. Barry X Ball: Hacking and Remixing ! Boccioni, 1913 barryxball.com
  • 43. Richard Dupont: Hacking and Remixing! richarddupont.com
  • 44. Michael Schmidt: Art + Fashion! michaelschmidtstudios.com
  • 45. Continuum Fashion: Art + Fashion! shapeways.com/n12_bikini
  • 46. Heather Dewey-Hagborg: DNA Visualization! deweyhagborg.com
  • 47. 3D Printing in Art History & Archaeology
  • 48. Modes of Representation! mediterraneanworld.wordpress.com/2013/10/10/closing-gaps-with-low-cost-3d/
  • 49. Rebuilding Lost Objects! p3d.in/oJZFm/shadeless
  • 50. Tim Trombley! 3dprint.cul.columbia.edu/?cat=20
  • 51. Future of 3D Printing
  • 52. Houses in Concrete!
  • 53. Biomedical Engineering!
  • 54. Medicine!
  • 55. Food in Space!
  • 56. Desktop vs. Industrial!
  • 57. Questions? Jeffrey Lancaster Emerging Technologies Coordinator Columbia University Libraries jeffrey.lancaster@columbia.edu @j_lancaster
  • 58. In Research
  • 59. Chemistry!
  • 60. Physics/Optics!