3D Printing in Art - 14_0228 (pdf)
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5
×
 

3D Printing in Art - 14_0228 (pdf)

on

  • 423 views

3D Printing in Art - from a workshop in collaboration with the Arts Initiative at Columbia University. 3D printing basics and a survey of artists who use 3D printing and digital fabrication. The pdf ...

3D Printing in Art - from a workshop in collaboration with the Arts Initiative at Columbia University. 3D printing basics and a survey of artists who use 3D printing and digital fabrication. The pdf file doesn't have all of the images/transitions, but a pptx file is also available.

Statistics

Views

Total Views
423
Views on SlideShare
411
Embed Views
12

Actions

Likes
0
Downloads
15
Comments
0

1 Embed 12

http://www.scoop.it 12

Accessibility

Categories

Upload Details

Uploaded via as Adobe PDF

Usage Rights

CC Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike LicenseCC Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike LicenseCC Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike License

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Processing…
Post Comment
Edit your comment

3D Printing in Art - 14_0228 (pdf) 3D Printing in Art - 14_0228 (pdf) Presentation Transcript

  • 3D Printing Jeffrey Lancaster Emerging Technologies Coordinator Columbia University Libraries jeffrey.lancaster@columbia.edu @j_lancaster
  • 3D Printing is easy, 3D Modeling is hard.
  • How it works
  • idea object model machine code
  • Object
  • Cartesian Coordinates z y x
  • z x y
  • Fused Filament Fabrication also with “sacrificial” materials
  • Other Fabrication Methods: Powder Bed Printing
  • Other Fabrication Methods: Photocured Resin
  • Other Fabrication Methods: CNC Milling
  • Machine Code
  • Makerware
  • .stl, .obj  G-code!
  • Submission 3dprint.cul.columbia.edu
  • Model
  • @ DSC! 3D Studio Max! AutoCAD! Blender! Maya! Rhino3D! SketchUp!
  • OpenSCAD!
  • 123D Design!
  • 123D Catch!
  • RBML #14: A Rounded Urn!
  • Chinese bronze vessel! www.123dapp.com/obj-Catch/2014-2-14-13-19-35/2125499
  • Henry Moore – Three-Way Piece, Points, 1964-65!
  • Clement Meadmore – Curl, 1968!
  • Thingiverse!
  • Common Design Issues
  • Overlap/Angle!
  • Closed/Watertight Form!
  • Single Manifold! willit3dprint.com
  • 3D Printing in Art
  • Markus Kayser: Glass from Sand + Solar Power markuskayser.com
  • Tom Burtonwood: Open Source Art History! tomburtonwood.com
  • Hacking the Met!
  • Cosmo Wenman: Scanning Sculpture! cosmowenman.wordpress.com/‎
  • Sophie Kahn: Old + New! sophiekahn.net
  • Instrument Design! cubify.com/blog/a-3d-printed-acoustic-guitar
  • Alicia Framis: Visualizing Sound! aliciaframis.com
  • Jurgen Mayer: 3D Modeling for Architecture! jmayerh.de
  • Janne Kyttanen: Arts and Manufacture! jannekyttanen.com
  • Custom Insoles: Arts and Manufacture! sols.co
  • Jan Habraken: Arts and Manufacture! formnation.com
  • Barry X Ball: Hacking and Remixing ! Boccioni, 1913 barryxball.com
  • Richard Dupont: Hacking and Remixing! richarddupont.com
  • Michael Schmidt: Art + Fashion! michaelschmidtstudios.com
  • Continuum Fashion: Art + Fashion! shapeways.com/n12_bikini
  • Heather Dewey-Hagborg: DNA Visualization! deweyhagborg.com
  • 3D Printing in Art History & Archaeology
  • Modes of Representation! mediterraneanworld.wordpress.com/2013/10/10/closing-gaps-with-low-cost-3d/
  • Rebuilding Lost Objects! p3d.in/oJZFm/shadeless
  • Tim Trombley! 3dprint.cul.columbia.edu/?cat=20
  • Future of 3D Printing
  • Houses in Concrete!
  • Biomedical Engineering!
  • Medicine!
  • Food in Space!
  • Desktop vs. Industrial!
  • Questions? Jeffrey Lancaster Emerging Technologies Coordinator Columbia University Libraries jeffrey.lancaster@columbia.edu @j_lancaster
  • In Research
  • Chemistry!
  • Physics/Optics!