3D Printing in Art - 14_0228 (pptx)

753 views
527 views

Published on

3D Printing in Art - from a workshop in collaboration with the Arts Initiative at Columbia University. 3D printing basics and a survey of artists who use 3D printing and digital fabrication. The pptx file requires Alternate Gothic LT 3 for proper viewing, and a PDF of the presentation is also available.

Published in: Technology
0 Comments
1 Like
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

No Downloads
Views
Total views
753
On SlideShare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
3
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
34
Comments
0
Likes
1
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

3D Printing in Art - 14_0228 (pptx)

  1. 1. 3D Printing Jeffrey Lancaster Emerging Technologies Coordinator Columbia University Libraries jeffrey.lancaster@columbia.edu @j_lancaster
  2. 2. 3D Printing is easy, D Modeling is hard
  3. 3. How it works
  4. 4. idea object model machine code
  5. 5. Object
  6. 6. Cartesian Coordinates z y x
  7. 7. z x y
  8. 8. Fused Filament Fabrication also with “sacrificial” materials
  9. 9. Other Fabrication Methods: Powder Bed Printing
  10. 10. Other Fabrication Methods: Photocured Resin
  11. 11. Other Fabrication Methods: CNC Milling
  12. 12. Machine Code
  13. 13. Makerware
  14. 14. .stl, .obj G-code
  15. 15. Submission 3dprint.cul.columbia.edu
  16. 16. Model
  17. 17. @ DSC 3D Studio Max AutoCAD Blender Maya Rhino3D SketchUp
  18. 18. OpenSCAD
  19. 19. 123D Design
  20. 20. 123D Catch
  21. 21. RBML #14: A Rounded Urn
  22. 22. Chinese bronze vessel www.123dapp.com/obj-Catch/2014-2-14-13-19-35/2125499
  23. 23. ry Moore – Three-Way Piece, Points, 196
  24. 24. Clement Meadmore – Curl, 1968
  25. 25. Thingiverse
  26. 26. mmon Design Issu
  27. 27. Overlap/Angle
  28. 28. Closed/Watertight Form
  29. 29. Single Manifold willit3dprint.com
  30. 30. 3D Printing in Art
  31. 31. Markus Kayser: ass from Sand + Solar Pow markuskayser.com
  32. 32. Tom Burtonwood: Open Source Art History tomburtonwood.com
  33. 33. Hacking the Met
  34. 34. Cosmo Wenman: Scanning Sculpture cosmowenman.wordpress.com/
  35. 35. Sophie Kahn: Old + New sophiekahn.net
  36. 36. Instrument Design cubify.com/blog/a-3d-printed-acoustic-guitar
  37. 37. Alicia Framis: Visualizing Sound aliciaframis.com
  38. 38. Jurgen Mayer: 3D Modeling for Architecture jmayerh.de
  39. 39. Janne Kyttanen: Arts and Manufacture jannekyttanen.com
  40. 40. Custom Insoles: Arts and Manufacture sols.co
  41. 41. Jan Habraken: Arts and Manufacture formnation.com
  42. 42. Barry X Ball: Hacking and Remixing Boccioni, 1913 barryxball.com
  43. 43. Richard Dupont: Hacking and Remixing richarddupont.com
  44. 44. Michael Schmidt: Art + Fashion michaelschmidtstudios.com
  45. 45. Continuum Fashion: Art + Fashion shapeways.com/n12_bikini
  46. 46. Heather Dewey-Hagborg: DNA Visualization deweyhagborg.com
  47. 47. 3D Printing in Art History & Archaeology
  48. 48. Modes of Representation erraneanworld.wordpress.com/2013/10/10/closing-gaps-with-low-cos
  49. 49. Rebuilding Lost Objects p3d.in/oJZFm/shadeless
  50. 50. Tim Trombley 3dprint.cul.columbia.edu/?cat=20
  51. 51. uture of 3D Printin
  52. 52. Houses in Concrete
  53. 53. Biomedical Engineering
  54. 54. Medicine
  55. 55. Food in Space
  56. 56. Desktop vs. Industrial
  57. 57. Questions? Jeffrey Lancaster Emerging Technologies Coordinator Columbia University Libraries jeffrey.lancaster@columbia.edu @j_lancaster
  58. 58. In Research
  59. 59. Chemistry
  60. 60. Physics/Optics

×