3D Printing in Art - 14_0228 (pptx)

  • 249 views
Uploaded on

3D Printing in Art - from a workshop in collaboration with the Arts Initiative at Columbia University. 3D printing basics and a survey of artists who use 3D printing and digital fabrication. The …

3D Printing in Art - from a workshop in collaboration with the Arts Initiative at Columbia University. 3D printing basics and a survey of artists who use 3D printing and digital fabrication. The pptx file requires Alternate Gothic LT 3 for proper viewing, and a PDF of the presentation is also available.

More in: Technology
  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Be the first to comment
No Downloads

Views

Total Views
249
On Slideshare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
1

Actions

Shares
Downloads
14
Comments
0
Likes
1

Embeds 0

No embeds

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
    No notes for slide

Transcript

  • 1. 3D Printing Jeffrey Lancaster Emerging Technologies Coordinator Columbia University Libraries jeffrey.lancaster@columbia.edu @j_lancaster
  • 2. 3D Printing is easy, D Modeling is hard
  • 3. How it works
  • 4. idea object model machine code
  • 5. Object
  • 6. Cartesian Coordinates z y x
  • 7. z x y
  • 8. Fused Filament Fabrication also with “sacrificial” materials
  • 9. Other Fabrication Methods: Powder Bed Printing
  • 10. Other Fabrication Methods: Photocured Resin
  • 11. Other Fabrication Methods: CNC Milling
  • 12. Machine Code
  • 13. Makerware
  • 14. .stl, .obj G-code
  • 15. Submission 3dprint.cul.columbia.edu
  • 16. Model
  • 17. @ DSC 3D Studio Max AutoCAD Blender Maya Rhino3D SketchUp
  • 18. OpenSCAD
  • 19. 123D Design
  • 20. 123D Catch
  • 21. RBML #14: A Rounded Urn
  • 22. Chinese bronze vessel www.123dapp.com/obj-Catch/2014-2-14-13-19-35/2125499
  • 23. ry Moore – Three-Way Piece, Points, 196
  • 24. Clement Meadmore – Curl, 1968
  • 25. Thingiverse
  • 26. mmon Design Issu
  • 27. Overlap/Angle
  • 28. Closed/Watertight Form
  • 29. Single Manifold willit3dprint.com
  • 30. 3D Printing in Art
  • 31. Markus Kayser: ass from Sand + Solar Pow markuskayser.com
  • 32. Tom Burtonwood: Open Source Art History tomburtonwood.com
  • 33. Hacking the Met
  • 34. Cosmo Wenman: Scanning Sculpture cosmowenman.wordpress.com/
  • 35. Sophie Kahn: Old + New sophiekahn.net
  • 36. Instrument Design cubify.com/blog/a-3d-printed-acoustic-guitar
  • 37. Alicia Framis: Visualizing Sound aliciaframis.com
  • 38. Jurgen Mayer: 3D Modeling for Architecture jmayerh.de
  • 39. Janne Kyttanen: Arts and Manufacture jannekyttanen.com
  • 40. Custom Insoles: Arts and Manufacture sols.co
  • 41. Jan Habraken: Arts and Manufacture formnation.com
  • 42. Barry X Ball: Hacking and Remixing Boccioni, 1913 barryxball.com
  • 43. Richard Dupont: Hacking and Remixing richarddupont.com
  • 44. Michael Schmidt: Art + Fashion michaelschmidtstudios.com
  • 45. Continuum Fashion: Art + Fashion shapeways.com/n12_bikini
  • 46. Heather Dewey-Hagborg: DNA Visualization deweyhagborg.com
  • 47. 3D Printing in Art History & Archaeology
  • 48. Modes of Representation erraneanworld.wordpress.com/2013/10/10/closing-gaps-with-low-cos
  • 49. Rebuilding Lost Objects p3d.in/oJZFm/shadeless
  • 50. Tim Trombley 3dprint.cul.columbia.edu/?cat=20
  • 51. uture of 3D Printin
  • 52. Houses in Concrete
  • 53. Biomedical Engineering
  • 54. Medicine
  • 55. Food in Space
  • 56. Desktop vs. Industrial
  • 57. Questions? Jeffrey Lancaster Emerging Technologies Coordinator Columbia University Libraries jeffrey.lancaster@columbia.edu @j_lancaster
  • 58. In Research
  • 59. Chemistry
  • 60. Physics/Optics