ESW Project - Ryan Adams


Published on

1 Like
  • Be the first to comment

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

ESW Project - Ryan Adams

  1. 1. Background InformationAn electronic music duo consisting of French musicians Guy-Manuel deHomem-Christo, born 8th February 1974, and Thomas Bangalter, born 3rdJanuary 1975.Gained significant popularity during the 1990’s house movement in FranceFamous for the House and SynthPop music style.Famous for the House and SynthPop music style.They were originally in a band called Darlin, which went separate ways after ashort period of time.The duo soon became Daft Punk, releasing their critically acclaimed debutalbum “Homework” , in 1997.
  2. 2. Prominent FeaturesDaft Punk were noted for having many easily recognisable traits, these included:Elaborate live showsLarge emphasis on the visual media used within their musicUse of masks and costumes to hide true appearancesEmphasis on wanting more “control” and “freedom” over their music asEmphasis on wanting more “control” and “freedom” over their music asapposed to just wanting moneyOver the top performances, including light shows and large, unique structures(Such as the Pyramid structures used in the “Alive 2007” concert)Large amount of collaborative work with other artists
  3. 3. “Homework”Daft Punk’s first album, “Homework”, started the new duo off on a rise tostardom.This was largely due to the huge popularity of their first, commerciallysuccessful single “Da Funk”, which was released in 1995.It gained instant fame and the duo quickly looked for a manager that wouldIt gained instant fame and the duo quickly looked for a manager that wouldhelp on the rise to glory.
  4. 4. The finished album contained thefollowing tracks:"Daftendirekt““WDPK 83.7 FM”“Revolution 909”“Da Funk”“Phoenix”“Fresh”“Fresh”“Around the World”“Rollin’ and Scratchin”“Teachers”“High Fidelity”“Rock ‘n Roll”“Oh Yeah”“Burnin”“Indo Silver Club”“Alive”“Funk Ad”
  5. 5. “Discovery”Daft Punk’s second album, “Discovery”, which was released in March 2001,helps mark the shift in the style of music they wrote.Shifting from Chicago House to Disco, Garage house, and Synth-pop. Theentire album was later used as the entire soundtrack to the animated film“Interstella 5555: The 5tory of the 5ecret 5tar 5ystem”.The film, which was a collaboration between Daft Punk, Leiji Matsumoto andToei Animation, Was received generally well by critics.It was stated as being a "visual and aural treat of intergalactic proportions“ bythe BBC and as being "the best animated film made in 2003, and a truetestament to the artistry possible in two very different mediums.“
  6. 6. The finished album contained thefollowing tracks:“One More Time"“Aerodynamic”“Digital Love”“Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger”“Crescendolls”“Nightvision”“Nightvision”“Superheroes”“High Life”“Something About Us”“Voyager”“Veridis Quo”“Short Circuit”“Face to Face”“Too Long”
  7. 7. “Human After All”Daft Punk’s third album, “Human After All”, which was released in March 2005,was received with mixed reviews.Mainly being reviewed as having an “overly repetitive nature” and being a“seemingly rushed recording”.Daft Punk regarded the album as being “Pure Improvisation”, comparing theDaft Punk regarded the album as being “Pure Improvisation”, comparing thealbum to “A stone that is unworked”, indicating that the minimalistic approachto it’s production was intentional. Meaning it could have been done in order toinvoke emotions within the listener.Bangalter had stated that the album “Is an attempt to discover where humanfeelings reside in music”, later commenting that “We felt like the third albumwas about this feeling of either fear or paranoia....“, “not something intended tomake you feel good“.
  8. 8. The finished album contained thefollowing tracks:“Human After All"“The Prime Time of Your Life”“Robot Rock”“Steam Machine”“Make Love”“The Brainwasher”“The Brainwasher”“Technologic”“Emotion”“On / Off”“Television Rules the Nation”
  9. 9. “Random Access Memories”Daft Punk’s fourth album, “Random Access Memories”, which was released in May 2013, was receivedwith great praise.Q, A popular music magazine within the UK, referred to it as "by some margin Daft Punks best albumin a career thats already redefined dance music at least twice. It is, in short, a mind blower”.This album was made through the collaboration of many artists, including Paul Williams, Chicfrontman Nile Rodgers, Giorgio Moroder and many more.
  10. 10. The finished album contained thefollowing tracks:“Give Life Back to Music"“The Game of Love”“Giorgio by Moroder”“Within”“Instant Crush (featuring Julian Casablancas)”“Lose Yourself to Dance (featuring Pharrell Williams)”“Lose Yourself to Dance (featuring Pharrell Williams)”"Touch (featuring Paul Williams)“"Doin It Right (featuring Panda Bear)”"Contact""Get Lucky (featuring Pharrell Williams)”"Beyond"“Motherboard“Fragments of Time (featuring Todd Edwards)”
  11. 11. Brit Awards:Year Recipient Award Result1998 Daft Punk Best International Group Nominated1998 Daft Punk Best International Newcomer Nominated2002 Daft Punk Best International Group Nominated2002 Discovery(Album) Best International Album Nominated
  12. 12. Grammy Awards:Year Recipient Award Result1998 “Da Funk” Best Dance Recording Nominated1999 “Around the World” Best Dance Recording Nominated2002 “One More Time” Best Dance Recording Nominated2002 “Short Circuit” Best Pop Instrumental Performance Nominated2006 Human After All Best Electronic/Dance Album Nominated2009 “Harder Better FasterStronger(Alive 2007)”Best Dance Recording Won2009 Alive 2007 Best Electronic/Dance Album Won2012 Tron: Legacy Best Score Soundtrack for Visual Media Nominated
  13. 13. Sources: