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Google 101
 

Google 101

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    Google 101 Google 101 Presentation Transcript

    • AdWords™ Seminar For Success AdWords 101 1
    • Housekeeping• The Schedule• Your Materials• The AdWords Credit• I Have Questions!!!• Cellphones To Vibrate, Please 2
    • Google AdWords™Source: Advertising Age’s Search Marketing Fact Pack 3
    • How Online Advertising Began 4
    • How Online Advertising Began 4
    • How Online Advertising Began 5
    • Online Marketing Options 6
    • Online Marketing Options 7
    • Online Marketing Options 8
    • Online Marketing Options 9
    • Online Marketing Options 10
    • Online Marketing Options 10
    • What is Pay-Per-Click (PPC)?Advertisers pay when prospects click. Benefits: • Control • Feedback • Relevancy • Measurable Results 11
    • Basic Terminology• Keywords • Ad Rank• Creative • Quality Score• Landing Page • Conversion• Impression • AdWords vs.• Clickthrough Rate AdSense 12
    • Search Engine Results Page (SERP) 13
    • The Search Network 14
    • The Search Network 15
    • The Search Network 16
    • The Search Network 17
    • The Search Network 18
    • The Search Network 19
    • The Google Display Network 20
    • The Google Display Network 21
    • The Google Display Network 21
    • The Google Display Network 22
    • How The Auction WorksMax Bid QS Ad Rank Actual CPC $4 8 32 (24/8) = $3 $4 6 24 (12/6) = $2 $4 3 12 min price 23
    • If Quality Score Increases:Max Bid QS Ad Rank Actual CPC $4 10 40 (24/10) = $2.40 $4 6 24 (12/6) = $2 $4 3 12 min price 24
    • Creating and Managing YourAdWords Account 25
    • So Long, Starter Edition 26
    • So Long, Old UI 27
    • So Long, Old UI 27
    • The New UI 28
    • Account Setup 29
    • Account Setup 30
    • Account Setup 31
    • Account Setup 32
    • Account Setup 33
    • Account Setup 34
    • Account Setup 35
    • Account Setup 36
    • Account Setup 37
    • Account Structure 38
    • Account Organization Options• Products and Services• Brand Names• Websites• Geographic Location• Seasonal Products and Services• Themes or Functions 39
    • User Interface Tour 40
    • Home Tab 41
    • Alerts 42
    • Alerts 42
    • Account Status 43
    • Account Status 43
    • Announcements 44
    • Watch List 45
    • Watch List 45
    • Watch List 45
    • Watch List 45
    • Keyword Performance 46
    • Keyword Performance 46
    • Keyword Performance 46
    • Active Campaigns 47
    • Active Campaigns 47
    • Campaign Performance 48
    • Campaign Performance 48
    • Campaign Performance 48
    • Campaign Performance 48
    • Campaign Performance 48
    • Campaign Performance 48
    • Campaign Performance 48
    • Campaign Performance 48
    • Campaign Performance 48
    • Campaign Performance 48
    • Campaign Performance 48
    • Campaign Performance 48
    • Help and Tips 49
    • Campaigns Tab 50
    • Change Date Range 51
    • Tree View 52
    • Roll-Up Tabs 53
    • Roll-Up Tabs 53
    • Segment Data 54
    • Segment Data 55
    • Segment Data 56
    • Filter 57
    • Filter 58
    • Filter 58
    • Filter 58
    • Customize Columns 59
    • Customize Columns 60
    • Performance Summary Graph 61
    • Performance Summary Graph 62
    • Performance Summary Graph 63
    • Performance Summary Graph 64
    • Performance Summary Graph 65
    • Creating Ad Groups 66
    • Creating Ad Groups 66
    • Editing Ad Groups 67
    • Editing Ad Groups 67
    • Editing Ad Groups 68
    • Editing Ad Groups 68
    • Editing Ad Groups 68
    • Editing Ad Groups 68
    • Managing Settings 69
    • Settings: General 70
    • Settings: General 71
    • Settings: Locations and Languages 72
    • Settings: Networks and Devices 73
    • Settings: Networks and Devices 73
    • Settings: Networks and Devices 73
    • Settings: Networks and Devices 73
    • Settings: Networks and Devices 73
    • Settings: Networks and Devices 74
    • Settings: Bidding and Budget Or: 75
    • Settings: Bidding and Budget 76
    • Settings: Bidding and Budget 77
    • Settings: Bidding and Budget 77
    • Settings: Bidding and Budget 77
    • Settings: Bidding and Budget 77
    • Settings: Ad Extensions 78
    • Settings: Ad Extensions 79
    • Settings: Ad Extensions 80
    • Settings: Ad Extensions 81
    • Settings: Advanced Settings 82
    • Settings: Advanced Settings 82
    • Settings: Advanced Settings 82
    • Settings: Advanced Settings 82
    • Settings: Advanced Settings 82
    • Settings: Advanced Settings 82
    • Settings: Advanced Settings 82
    • Settings: Advanced Settings 82
    • Use Settings to Manage:• Campaign Name• Geographic Location• Language• Networks and Devices• Bidding and Budget• Position Preference and Delivery Method• Ad Scheduling• Ad Delivery Preferences• Demographics 83
    • Managing Ads 84
    • Editing Ads 85
    • Editing Ads 85
    • Editing Ads 85
    • Editing Ads 86
    • Editing Ads 86
    • Editing Ads 86
    • Managing Keywords 87
    • Managing Keywords 87
    • Editing Keywords 88
    • Editing Keywords 88
    • Editing Keywords 88
    • Editing Keywords 88
    • Editing Keywords 88
    • Editing Keywords 89
    • “See Search Terms” 90
    • “See Search Terms” 90
    • “See Search Terms” 90
    • “See Search Terms” 90
    • “See Search Terms” 90
    • “See Search Terms” 90
    • “See Search Terms” 90
    • Managing Negative Keywords 91
    • Managing Negative Keywords 91
    • Managing Networks 92
    • Managing Networks 92
    • Managing Networks 92
    • Managing Networks 92
    • Managing Networks 92
    • Managing Networks 92
    • Managing Networks 92
    • Managing Networks 92
    • Managing Exclusions 93
    • Managing Exclusions 94
    • Remarketing 95
    • Remarketing 96
    • Remarketing 97
    • Remarketing 97
    • Managing Audiences 98
    • Managing Audiences 98
    • Managing Audiences 98
    • Managing Audiences 98
    • Managing Audiences 98
    • Managing Audiences 98
    • CreatingCampaigns 99
    • Creating a Campaign 100
    • Creating a Campaign 100
    • Creating a Campaign 101
    • Creating a Campaign: Settings 102
    • Creating a Campaign: Settings 103
    • Creating a Campaign: Settings 104
    • Creating a Campaign: Ad Groups 105
    • Creating a Campaign: Ad Groups 105
    • Creating a Campaign: Ad Groups 105
    • Creating a Campaign: Ad Groups 105
    • Creating a Campaign: Ad Groups 105
    • Creating a Campaign: Ad Groups 105
    • Creating a Campaign: Ad Groups 105
    • Creating a Campaign: Ad Groups 105
    • Creating a Campaign: Ad Groups 105
    • DevelopingKeyword Lists 106
    • Building a Keyword List• Brainstorm business• Review website• Think like a customer• Focus on what differentiates• Include plural & singular versions• Include spelling mistakes & variations• Include product numbers & codes 107
    • Keyword Match Types• Broad: word or phrase • Modifier• Phrase: “word or phrase in here”• Exact: [word or phrase exactly]• Negative: -don’t use word or phrase • Negative variations 108
    • Match Type Examples• Broad: Orlando• Phrase: “Orlando Bloom”• Exact: [Orlando FL]• Negatives: • -Gauteng, -”South Africa” 109
    • NEW - Broad Match Modifier• Use a plus symbol (+) before one or more words in a broad match keyword• Words with a + must be searched exactly or as a close variant• Variants include: misspellings, plural/ singular, abbreviations, acronyms and stemmings 110
    • NEW - Broad Match ModifierNo space between plus sign and word:• Correct: +kallassy +ankle brace• Incorrect: + kallassy + ankle brace• Incorrect: +kallassy+ankle brace 111
    • Negative Keyword Match VariationsScenario: AdWords for Hannah’s Dude Ranch, Montana USA • Standard Negative: -Miley • Negative Phrase: -“Hannah Montana” • Negative Exact: -[Montana] 112
    • Not the Hot Tub Time Machine!!Hot Tub Time Machine is a 2010American comedy film directed by Steve Pink and producedby MGM/United Artists. The filmwas released on March 26, 2010. 113
    • Examples of Negative KeywordsService provider Vacation destination Frequently used -become -library -free -class -doctor -lyrics -classes -vet -second hand -course -hospital -used -license -cards -wholesale -training -history -pics -jobs -jobs in -pictures -employment -pictures -definition of -supplies -news -history -tools -weather -diy 114
    • Keyword Tool 115
    • Keyword Tool 116
    • Keyword Tool 117
    • Keyword Tool 118
    • Keyword Tool 119
    • Keyword Tool 120
    • Keyword Tool 121
    • Keyword Tool 121
    • Keyword Tool 122
    • Keyword Tool 122
    • Keyword Tool 122
    • Edit Campaign Negative Keywords 123
    • Edit Campaign Negative Keywords 124
    • Edit Campaign Negative Keywords 125
    • Writing Great Ads 126
    • Ad Text Specs• Ad title (25 characters max, including spaces)• Two description lines (35 characters max each, including spaces)• Display URL (35 characters max, including spaces)• Destination URL (1024 characters max, including spaces) 127
    • Successful Ads Usually:• Divide benefits from features• Use major keywords in headline• Have a good display URL• Balance hype and yawn• “Speak” to intended audience• Include call to action 128
    • Calls To Action• Download Now• Buy Now• Purchase• Call Today• Order Now• Sign Up• Get a Quote 129
    • Run a Split Test 130
    • Run a Split Test 131
    • Run a Split Test 132
    • Run a Split Test 133
    • The Takeaway:You cannot fit your entire sales pitch into95 characters. Focus on one offer, service or product. Include call to action anddifferentiate yourself from competitors. 134
    • Beyond Text Ads 135
    • Image & Flash Ads• .Gif, .JPG, .PNG, .SWF• Appear on some sites in Google Display Network• Matched to keywords and/or page content• Keyword & placement- targeted campaigns 136
    • Creating Image & Flash Ads 137
    • Creating Image & Flash Ads 138
    • Creating Image & Flash Ads 139
    • Creating Image & Flash Ads 140
    • Video Ads• First appears as static image. Once clicked, (image or play button) plays within ad space.• Clicking URL or on ad while playing will link to the website. 141
    • 142
    • Creating Ads WithDisplay Ad Builder 143
    • Display Ad Builder 144
    • Display Ad Builder 144
    • Display Ad Builder 144
    • Display Ad Builder 144
    • Display Ad Builder 144
    • Display Ad Builder 144
    • Image Search Ads 145
    • Image Search Ads• Appears on Google Images• Pairs text with images• Part of Search Network• Does not include animated ads or Flash• Create with Display Ad Builder 146
    • Image Search Ads 147
    • Image Search Ads 148
    • Image Search Ads 149
    • Image Search Ads 150
    • Image Search Ads 151
    • Mobile Ads• Customers read ad, then call or click to visit website Format: • Image Ads • Text (18 characters) • Phone number or a mobile-optimized website 152
    • Creating Mobile Ads 153
    • Creating Mobile Ads 153
    • Google Places• Replaces Local Business Ads• Appears on Google Properties (Including Maps) and Search Network• Shows Business Address After Text Ad• Use Address from Google Places or Manually Enter 154
    • Claim Your Business Listing 155
    • 156
    • Google Tags 157
    • Google Tags 158
    • Google Tags 159
    • Google Tags Dashboard 160
    • Google Tags Dashboard 161
    • 162
    • 163
    • 164
    • 165
    • TrackingPerformance 166
    • What is a Conversion? When a click on an ad results in a desirable behavior:• Online purchase• Registration/Signup• Form submission• Pageview• Etc. 167
    • Conversion Tracking 168
    • Conversion Tracking 168
    • Conversion Tracking 168
    • Conversion Tracking 168
    • Conversion Tracking 168
    • Conversion Tracking 168
    • Conversion Tracking 168
    • Conversion Tracking 168
    • Conversion Tracking 168
    • Conversion Tracking 168
    • Conversion Tracking 168
    • Conversion Tracking 168
    • Where You’ll See Results: 169
    • Where You’ll See Results: 169
    • Google Analytics 170
    • 171
    • 172
    • 173
    • 174
    • 175
    • 176
    • To Set Up GA 177
    • To Set Up GA 177
    • To Set Up GA 177
    • To Set Up GA 177
    • To Set Up GA 177
    • Optimizing For Conversions 178
    • Start With Your Website• Analyze products & website• Analyze landing pages• Analyze purchase process 179
    • #2: Refine Your Keywords• Add negative keywords• Make keywords more specific• Use keywords in Ad Text• Include prices in Ad Text* 180
    • Monitor Competitor Pricing 181
    • Optimizing ForMore Ad Traffic 182
    • How To Begin:• Add new keywords• Add plurals• Add variations: e.g. “Apple accessories” & “Mac accessories”• Use Google’s Keyword Tool• Use other keyword tools 183
    • Check Impression Share 184
    • Check Impression Share 185
    • Opportunities Tab 186
    • Opportunities Tab 186
    • Opportunities Tab 186
    • Opportunities Tab 186
    • Expand Locations & Distribution • Target ALL locations where you do business • Target language of customers • Enable Search Network • Enable Google Display Network 187
    • Try New Angles• Read your website• Read competitors’ sites• Read manufacturers’ sites• Create Ad Groups and keywords for unadvertised areas• Use Keyword Tool to find more ideas 188
    • Use General Keywords With Care 189
    • Optimizing For Quality Score 190
    • Quality Score is Determined By:• Historical CTR• Account history, including performance in geographic regions• Historical CTR of display URLs• Relevance of keyword to ad text• Quality of landing page• Other relevancy factors 191
    • Where To See It: 192
    • Where To See It: 193
    • Where To See It: 194
    • Where To See It: 195
    • To Increase Quality Score:• Optimize keywords by: • Adding negatives and relevant keywords• Review and improve ad text• Create new, focused Ad Groups• Review landing pages 196
    • Landing Page QualityOptimization In a Nutshell: • Provide relevant and substantial content • Treat a user’s personal information responsibly • Develop an easily navigable site • Optimize for load time 197
    • Landing Page Quality 198
    • Landing Page Quality 198
    • Billing 199
    • Billing Summary Page 200
    • Billing Summary Page 200
    • Campaign Activity/Invoice Summary 201
    • Campaign Activity/Invoice Summary 201
    • Billing CycleCharged every 30 days unless advertising costs reach certain thresholds within 30- day cycle.How Charges Work: • New advertisers: 30 days - $50 • Then, 30 days - $200 • Then, 30 days - $350 • Maximum of $500 in 30 daysAt end of billing period, youʼre charged for all costs accrued during cycle. 202
    • To-Dos &Resources 203
    • To-Dos• Get comfortable with user interface.• Evaluate and improve account structure.• Review keywords, adjust bids and match types. Add negative keywords!• Install conversion tracking and Google Analytics; use data to make improvements.• Check Google Places listing; add/correct information. 204
    • Resources• AdWords Help Center: http://adwords.google.com/support/• Inside AdWords (official blog): http://adwords.blogspot.com/• Google’s Small Business Blog http://googlesmb.blogspot.com/• See full list on your USB 205
    • Speaker BiographyStasia became a Google Advertising Professional Qualified Individual in January2005, and an authorized AdWords Seminar Leader in 2006. Since then she hastrained thousands of people to build and optimize AdWords campaigns. Stasiahas fourteen years experience managing Web technology projects and onlinemarketing programs. Prior to leading the seminars she was senior vicepresident for Sitening, a Nashville-based information technology companyfocused on Raven Internet Marketing Tools for search engine optimization(SEO) and search engine marketing (SEM). Before joining Sitening, shemanaged the Web departments for two Nashville-based custom publishingcompanies.Stasias career began in the Boston area. Before moving to Nashville, sheworked for The Boston Globes website Boston.com and a Boston-area Webconsulting agency. Stasia has worked for a wide range of clients, includingOsram Sylvania, Harvard Business School Executive Education,eMarketer.com, NashvillePost.com, Cannondale, Air Jamaica, the National Stasia HoldrenFederation of Independent Business, Psychiatric Services and TravelCenters of PPC-Boot-Camp.com stasia@ppc-boot-camp.comAmerica.Stasia earned degrees in English Literature and Journalism from the Universityof Massachusetts, Amherst. She lives in Nashville, Tennessee with her family.When she is not online, she finds balance by running, gardening and trainingher German Shepherd, (Princess) Jasmine. 206