Multilingual Module Madness! Which i18n modules do I really need?

894 views

Published on

Configuring a multilingual site in Drupal 7 is not for the faint of heart. If you search for i18n-related modules on drupal.org, you’ll find nearly 100 listed! So, which ones do we really need? And, why?

Published in: Technology
0 Comments
0 Likes
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Views
Total views
894
On SlideShare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
1
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
0
Comments
0
Likes
0
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Multilingual Module Madness! Which i18n modules do I really need?

  1. 1. Multilingual Module Madness Which i18n modules do I really need? Kristen Pol / kristen@hook42.comanswers@hook42.com
  2. 2. Welcome!answers@hook42.com
  3. 3. Me Kristen Pol Drupal 2004 to 2013+! Hook 42 kristen@hook42.com @kristen_pol kristen.organswers@hook42.com
  4. 4. <shameless plug> </shameless plug>answers@hook42.com
  5. 5. Raffle for Free Multilingual Book Put your name on a piece of paper and put in the bag at the front of the room and I’ll draw a name at the end :)answers@hook42.com
  6. 6. You?answers@hook42.com
  7. 7. Site Builderanswers@hook42.com
  8. 8. Customeranswers@hook42.com
  9. 9. Customeranswers@hook42.com
  10. 10. Site Builderanswers@hook42.com
  11. 11. Don’t Panic!answers@hook42.com
  12. 12. But… it probably won’t be simpleanswers@hook42.com
  13. 13. How long with it take? 70 60 50 40 30 20 10 0 Simple Moderate Complexanswers@hook42.com
  14. 14. Anatomy of a Cow Drupal Siteanswers@hook42.com
  15. 15. Drupal Site • Logo • Menus • Images • Blocks • Nodes • Layout • …answers@hook42.com
  16. 16. Analyze!answers@hook42.com
  17. 17. Multilingual Bucketsanswers@hook42.com
  18. 18. UI / Interface Text (strings) coming from modules and themes echo t(‘Stanford Drupal Camp rocks!’);answers@hook42.com
  19. 19. UI / Interfaceanswers@hook42.com
  20. 20. Content (Entities) • Nodes • Comments • Users • Taxonomy terms* • Custom entities (e.g. Commerce Products)answers@hook42.com
  21. 21. Content (Entities)answers@hook42.com
  22. 22. Config (Everything Else!) • Menus • Blocks • Taxonomy terms* • Views • Variables • Contact form • Panels • SEO config • Etc….answers@hook42.com
  23. 23. Config (Everything Else!)answers@hook42.com
  24. 24. Which Modules?answers@hook42.com
  25. 25. Which Modules? It depends!answers@hook42.com
  26. 26. Finding Multilingual Modules 100+!answers@hook42.com
  27. 27. Multilingual Modulesanswers@hook42.com
  28. 28. UI Modules • Locale (core) • Localization Update • Localization Client • String Overridesanswers@hook42.com
  29. 29. Content Modules • Nodes o Node Translation modules or Field Translation modules • Other Entities o Field Translation modulesanswers@hook42.com
  30. 30. Node Translation Methodanswers@hook42.com
  31. 31. Field Translation Methodanswers@hook42.com
  32. 32. Node Translation Modules • Content Translation (core) • Synchronize Translations (i18n)answers@hook42.com
  33. 33. Field Translation Modules • Entity Translation (core contrib) • Titleanswers@hook42.com
  34. 34. Config Modules • Transliteration • Menu Translation (i18n) • Block Languages (i18n) • Taxonomy Translation (i18n) • Contact Translation (i18n) • Variable Translation (i18n) • Internationalization Views • …answers@hook42.com
  35. 35. URL Modules • Pathauto • Path Translation (i18n)answers@hook42.com
  36. 36. Panels Modules • Multilingual Panels • Or just put content into nodes/etc.answers@hook42.com
  37. 37. SEO Modules • Meta Tags or Meta Tags Quick • Page Title • Global Redirect • Redirect • XML Sitemap • Translation Redirect (i18n)answers@hook42.com
  38. 38. Admin/Workflow Modules • Administration Language • Translation Overview • Translation Table • Translation Management Toolanswers@hook42.com
  39. 39. Third Party Translator Modules • Translation Management Tool sub-modules o Supertext o Microsoft o Google o Nativy o Gengo • Lingotek • iCanLocalize (D6) • OneHourTranslationanswers@hook42.com
  40. 40. Drupal 8! Drupal 8 Multilingual Initiativeanswers@hook42.com
  41. 41. Learn More • Groups.drupal.org • i18n • translations • Drupal.org Forums • translations • IRC • #drupal-i18n • Drupal.org docs • Multlingual Guide • i18n How To • hojtsy.hu • kristen.organswers@hook42.com
  42. 42. Have patience It takes time.answers@hook42.com
  43. 43. Don’t give up You can do this!answers@hook42.com
  44. 44. Build a better Drupal You can make a difference :)answers@hook42.com
  45. 45. Questions?answers@hook42.com
  46. 46. THANKS! Questions: answers@hook42.com Thanks, Joe!answers@hook42.com
  47. 47. Raffle! Courtesy of Packt :)answers@hook42.com

×