PPC Convesrions Rates in Higher Ed

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A guide to PPC conversion rates the ROI on PPC initiatives.

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PPC Convesrions Rates in Higher Ed

  1. 1. PPC Conversion Rates in Higher Ed Slide 1 PPC Conversion Rates in Higher Ed
  2. 2. PPC Conversion Rates in Higher Ed Slide 2 1) PPC Conversion Rates 2) What Kind of Conversion Rate can you Expect? 3) Insights Overview Source: Higher Education Marketing – PPC Conversion Rates in Higher Ed
  3. 3. PPC Conversion Rates in Higher Ed Slide 3  As Pay Per Click (PPC) becomes mainstream in higher ed as a marketing tactic, colleges and universities who have not used it in the past are seeing their competitors get out ahead of them in competitive keyword markets.  As these late adopter marketers enter PPC, ( desktop and now mobile), it is only natural for them to seek some assurances on what your conversion rates and ultimately ROI will be from these initiatives. 1. PPC Conversion Rates Source: Higher Education Marketing – PPC Conversion Rates in Higher Ed
  4. 4. PPC Conversion Rates in Higher Ed Slide 4  I remember the first time I ran a higher ed PPC campaign, with the help of an outside consultant, and asked them that same question.  Technically, they knew their stuff but had not worked in higher education before so I got back the inevitable “ it depends” answer.  I was a bit frustrated and felt like I was being “managed”, but accepted it and carefully watched things roll out to educate myself on what was reasonable.  It turns out that "it depends" was and is still a reasonable answer given the wide variability in conversion rates that organizations get. 2. What Kind of Conversion Rates can you Expect? Source: Higher Education Marketing – PPC Conversion Rates in Higher Ed
  5. 5. PPC Conversion Rates in Higher Ed Slide 5  The good news is that we can do a bit better today than “it depends” to help new PPC marketers understand what to expect from their higher ed campaigns.  I particularly like to pull out the stats on the following slide to help define some baseline expectations for our new higher ed PPC clients. 2. What Kind of Conversion Rates can you Expect? Source: Higher Education Marketing – PPC Conversion Rates in Higher Ed
  6. 6. PPC Conversion Rates in Higher Ed Slide 6 2. What Kind of Conversion Rates can you Expect? Source: Higher Education Marketing – PPC Conversion Rates in Higher Ed
  7. 7. PPC Conversion Rates in Higher Ed Slide 7  TOTAL AD IMPRESSIONS  Education accounts for the most ad impressions across the top 10 verticals.  Wow, so who is doing all of this educational PPC advertising? Well if you look down a bit you will see that it is the largest private, for profits, including Phoenix, ITT, Devry and Kaplan who dominate.  In fact, Phoenix has claim to the title of being the biggest PPC advertiser on Google.  Yes that is correct, they spend more money on PPC than any other company in the world.  That should be a very sobering thought if your programs compete with theirs and you are just getting into the market now! 3. Insights Source: Higher Education Marketing – PPC Conversion Rates in Higher Ed
  8. 8. PPC Conversion Rates in Higher Ed Slide 8  CLICK THRU RATE  Education also lays claim to having the lowest click thru rate at 1.72% of the top 10 PPC verticals. This fact is a bit scary for many first timers but once you understand that cost per lead is actually more important that click thru rate then it becomes a bit more manageable.  COST PER CLICK  So an average cost per click in education is $1.80. This is a good figure to use if you want to project how much budget you will need to participate in the PPC marketplace 3. Insights Source: Higher Education Marketing – PPC Conversion Rates in Higher Ed
  9. 9. PPC Conversion Rates in Higher Ed Slide 9  CONVERSION RATE  A 6 % conversion rate in higher ed seems quite reasonable to me. Some campaigns we have run do much better than this but to get that kind of result takes experience and lots of A/B testing to make it happen.  So given these industry averages, here is what a $1000 PPC budget will get you:  $1000/$1.80 per click = 556 clicks  556 clicks x 6% conversion rate = 33 leads  $1000/ 33 leads = $30.30 per lead 3. Insights Source: Higher Education Marketing – PPC Conversion Rates in Higher Ed
  10. 10. PPC Conversion Rates in Higher Ed Slide 10  GOOGLE DISPLAY NETWORK  Display ads are the text or image based ads that you can place on a PPC basis on 3rd party sites who are members of the Google Display network.  A huge amount of money is being spent there these days, with very modest click thru and conversion rates compared to Adwords,  Here is an estimate of what that same $1000 will get you on the Display Network:  $1000/$.34 per click = 2941clicks  2941 clicks x 2% conversion rate = 59 leads  $1000/ 59 leads = $16.95 per lead  So as you can see that the cost per lead is almost half that of the main Adwords network  It a very competitive marketplace so do your homework and make sure you have optimized your campaigns to produce a reasonable level of ROI right from the outset. 3. Insights Source: Higher Education Marketing – PPC Conversion Rates in Higher Ed
  11. 11. PPC Conversion Rates in Higher Ed Slide 11 Questions? 1.514.312.3968 info@higher-education-marketing.com Visit our Website: Higher Education Marketing FOLLOW US ON FACEBOOK FOLLOW US ON LINKEDIN FOLLOW US ON TWITTER FOLLOW US ON PINTEREST FOLLOW US ON GOOGLE+
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