Twitter Workshop

722 views

Published on

Published in: Technology, News & Politics
0 Comments
0 Likes
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Views
Total views
722
On SlideShare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
3
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
6
Comments
0
Likes
0
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Twitter Workshop

  1. 1. Using Twitter<br />An Interactive Workshop<br />
  2. 2. Journalists on Twitter<br />Robbie Cousins - Freelance - @RobbieCousins, Harry McGee – Irish Times: @harrymcgee, Hugh Linehan – Irish Times: @hlinehan, Adam Maguire: @adammaguire, Marie Boran – SiliconRepublic: @PixieVonDust, CiaraO'Brien - Irish Times @ciaraobrien, John Collins – Irish Times: @jaycee001, Dick O’Brien –Sunday Business Post: @dickobrien, Adrian Weckler – Sunday Business Post: @adrianweckler, Conor Pope - Irish Times - @conor_pope, Margaret Eward - Freelance - @margareteward, Charlie Taylor - Irish Times @chastaylor, Sinead Gleeson - Freelance - @sineadgleeson , Elaine Edwards - Irish Times @ElaineEdwards, Christine Bohan - Freelance - @christinebohan, Genevieve Carbery - Freelance @Genzer, Diana Rusk - Freelance - @DianaRusk, MeadhbhMonahan - Impartial Reporter - @meadhbhmonahan, Claire Anthony - Freelance - @chunkybum3, Richard Delevan – Guardian: @rdelevan, Mark Coughland - Freelance: @Mark_Coughlan, Paul Reilly - Freelance: @reillypaul, Rodney Edwards - FreeLance @rodneyedwards, Keith Anderson - Freelance: @keithanderson, KilianDoyle – Irish Times: @kilian_doyle, TadhgEnright – RTE: @tadhgenright, Shane Hegarty – Irish Times: @shanehegarty, Paddy Logue - Irish Times - @paddylogue, Claire Oconnell - Irish Times @claireoconnell, Gerard Cunningham - Freelance @faduda, Adam Maguire - Freelance @AdamMaguire, KarlinLillington - Irish Times @klillington, Abigail Rieley - Freelance - @abigailrieley, Declan Savage - Freelance - @DeclanSavage<br />
  3. 3. Conor Pope Irish Times - @conor_pope<br /><ul><li>Research</li></ul>“Twitterfolk you’re all cutting edge (every last one of ye) so tell me: Would you collect and use coupons or is it a scrimping step too far?”<br /><ul><li> Comment</li></ul>“Tv3 has cancelled its contract with PlayTV with immediate affect. The last programme will be broadcast tonight.”<br />
  4. 4. Dick O’Brien SBP - @dickobrien<br /><ul><li>Research</li></ul>“Any Irish working in the US want to answer a few questions about what things may be like for those considering emigrating? DM me.”<br /><ul><li> Comment</li></ul>“LOL "DJs would devote an inordinate amount of time to the question of who was, and who was not, in the house". http://is.gd/a06Va.”<br />
  5. 5. Charlie Brooker The Guardian - @charltonbrooker<br /><ul><li>Research</li></ul>“Writing a piece which includes bit on 'games to win over non-gamers with', avoiding the usual Wii stick-waving stuff. Suggestions welcome.”<br /><ul><li> Comment</li></ul>“The episode of Holby City on BBC1 now is so unrealistic it might as well be preceded by a caption saying it's set inside Ted Hughes' fridge.”<br />
  6. 6. Setting up a Twitter Account<br />www.twitter.com<br />
  7. 7. @ Symbol<br />”@stephenfry please don’t leave twitter we’d miss you immensely”<br />”I hope @stephenfry doesn’t leave twitter”<br />
  8. 8. RT - Retweet<br />“GarrendennyLaneRT @Hamperlady: RT @Spiderworking: Competition: Got a twitter question? Tweet it to us using #smq,u cud win a €50 voucher for Spiderworking.com”<br />
  9. 9. #tags - Hashtags<br /><ul><li>Search</li></ul>#coronationstreet #uksnow #fail #raiseyourhandif<br />#followfriday<br /><ul><li>Create Your Own</li></ul>#smq #bizcampdublin #carlownationalist<br />
  10. 10. Finding people to follow<br /><ul><li>Follow some interesting people
  11. 11. Follow some of the people they are following
  12. 12. Search for people close by</li></li></ul><li>Finding people to follow<br /><ul><li>Find people with similar interests
  13. 13. Follow some lists</li></li></ul><li>Finding people to follow<br /><ul><li> Twitter Directories</li></li></ul><li>Getting people to follow you<br /><ul><li> Follow people
  14. 14. Advertise you twitter address on your column
  15. 15. Tweet interesting content
  16. 16. Have a contest
  17. 17. Use hashtags
  18. 18. Engage people in conversation </li></li></ul><li>What to tweet?<br /><ul><li> Come up with a strategy – And stick to it
  19. 19. Keep it relevant
  20. 20. Keep it on topic
  21. 21. Ask for input</li></li></ul><li>Shortening links<br />
  22. 22. What not to tweet?<br /><ul><li> How many followers you have
  23. 23. Whinging and moaning (unless it’s satirical)
  24. 24. Chitter Chatter
  25. 25. Complain about friends, family or workmates
  26. 26. Don’t set up auto responders!</li></li></ul><li>Cool Twitter Tools:<br /><ul><li> Managing your followers</li></li></ul><li>Cool Twitter Tools:<br /><ul><li> Adding pictures
  27. 27. Adding video</li></li></ul><li>Cool Twitter Tools:<br /><ul><li> Tools for running contests</li></li></ul><li>All About<br />
  28. 28.
  29. 29.
  30. 30.
  31. 31.
  32. 32. www.spiderworking.com<br />amanda@spiderworking.com<br />@spiderworking<br />ph: 01 442 9410<br />

×