Your SlideShare is downloading. ×
E-Business Maturity Benchmark 2008 white paper - preview
E-Business Maturity Benchmark 2008 white paper - preview
E-Business Maturity Benchmark 2008 white paper - preview
E-Business Maturity Benchmark 2008 white paper - preview
E-Business Maturity Benchmark 2008 white paper - preview
E-Business Maturity Benchmark 2008 white paper - preview
E-Business Maturity Benchmark 2008 white paper - preview
E-Business Maturity Benchmark 2008 white paper - preview
E-Business Maturity Benchmark 2008 white paper - preview
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5
×

Thanks for flagging this SlideShare!

Oops! An error has occurred.

×
Saving this for later? Get the SlideShare app to save on your phone or tablet. Read anywhere, anytime – even offline.
Text the download link to your phone
Standard text messaging rates apply

E-Business Maturity Benchmark 2008 white paper - preview

2,151

Published on

Key questions E-Business teams face are: …

Key questions E-Business teams face are:

How mature is your E-Business organization?
Which steps do you need to take to improve?
How well are you doing benchmarked against cross-industry best practices?
What are quick wins and improvement areas?
Atos Consulting used the E-Business Maturity Model as the basis for the 2008 ‘E-Business Maturity Benchmark’.

This research report discusses the key findings for the Netherlands, identifies 9 relevant sectors, key drivers & inhibitors and gives you 7 practical recommendations.

Sectors covered include:

utilities
government
financial services
high tech & electronics
professional services
telecom & media
retail
pharma & chemie
automotive & transport
INCLUDING: if you buy this report, you will get access to an online self-assessment tool to benchmark your own organization!

Start optimizing your E-Business organization today!

Go to: http://www.lulu.com/commerce/index.php?fBuyContent=6568416 to buy the white paper AND get access to the online self-assessment tool.

Published in: Business, Technology
0 Comments
1 Like
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

No Downloads
Views
Total Views
2,151
On Slideshare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
1
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
103
Comments
0
Likes
1
Embeds 0
No embeds

Report content
Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
No notes for slide

Transcript

  • 1. S E E I N G T H I N G S D I F F E R E N T LY E-BUSINESS MATURITY BENCHMARK 2008 Start optimizing your E-Business organization, using the E-Business Maturity Model White Paper 1
  • 2. CONTENTS PREFACE 3 MAKING SENSE OF IT ALL 4 THE E-BUSINESS MATURITY MODEL 7 THE ROAD TO MATURITY: DRIVERS AND INHIBITORS 11 E-BUSINESS OBJECTIVES, IMPORTANCE, ORGANIZATION 16 E-BUSINESS BENCHMARK 2008 25 CHALLENGES AND INITIATIVES FOR 2009 41 START OPTIMIZING YOUR E-BUSINESS ORGANIZATION 43 APPENDIX 1: RESEARCH APPROACH 45 ABOUT 46 ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS 47 2
  • 3. PREFACE Based on our discussions with customers and experience from our projects, we see that businesses find themselves facing numerous questions concerning the maturing of their E-Business organization. Especially in the light of recent market developments, perfor- mance optimization of the E-Business organization is now more important than ever. Themes we encounter include: How does my E-Business organization perform? How do we measure up against our sector and/or best practices? Are we able to successfully sustain E-Business? How is E-Business adding value to our organization and how can we capitalize on this? Do we have what it takes to take the next step, and what do we need to focus on? To help organizations understand where they are, which steps need to be taken to improve and let them benefit from benchmarking against cross-industry best practices, Atos Consulting initiated the E-Business Maturity Benchmark 2008. Held between August and October in total 112 complete responses were received, covering a cross section of man- agement levels, functions and sectors. This makes the results of the E-Business Maturity Benchmark 2008 representative for the Netherlands. We find that the results can serve as the basis to start the discussion between depart- ments, as a reference or as an inspiration to start improving your E-Business organization. Hopefully, you will agree and gain some new insights in E-Business maturity relevant to your organization. This publication would not have been possible without the commitment of the research team. Over the past months a lot of energy, discussion, resourcefulness and above all hard work have been put into it. But I feel the end result is certainly worth it. Thank you all. Enjoy reading the paper. Gijsbert van der Sleen Atos Consulting N.V. 3
  • 4. MAKING SENSE OF IT ALL WHY WE CREATED THE E-BUSINESS MATURITY With ever growing internet use worldwide, E-Business BENCHMARK is becoming increasingly more important. The online component is strategically important to organizations, as it impacts all customer facing business processes.1 As organizations go through different stages of This leads to: E-Business maturity, they are faced with similar challenges when integrating E-Business in their processes. In order > a different way of engaging customers to ensure they are taking the right steps, they must > a new way of communicating and interacting in your validate with other organizations, peers or competitors. enterprise Because all organizations undergo the same challenges, > an alignment of operational habits to enable and their development steps can be captured as stages of adopt to these changes maturity. The idea is that all organizations pass through similar stages of maturity with respect to the way they After the initial struggles with E-Business initiatives, early use and manage E-Business to support and facilitate successes (and failures), and the collapse of the internet business goals, processes and operations. These hype, businesses find themselves facing numerous stages are defined and captured in the Atos Consulting questions in maturing their E-Business organization: ‘E-Business Maturity Model’. > How does my E-Business organization perform? The Atos Consulting E-Business Maturity Model: > How do we measure up against our sector and/or > Determines where organizations are best practices? > Identifies high-priority improvement actions which > Are we able to successfully sustain E-Business, and need to be taken to improve their current maturity how mature are we anyway? stage > How is E-Business adding value to our organization > Clarifies which steps need to be taken to grow to a and how can we capitalize on this? next stage > Do we have what it takes to take the next step, and > Offers organizations the benefit of benchmarking what do we need to focus on? against cross-industry best practices To complicate things even more, E-Business business The fundamental value proposition is that greater objectives vary widely across organizations and sectors. E-Business maturity is linked directly to improved results The most common include: in terms of an organization’s ability to predictably execute E-Business initiatives and processes and > Branding achieve high returns on its investment in E-Business. > Sales > Streamlining business processes It is important to understand that although the ‘E-Business > Reducing costs Maturity Model’ describes in what manner and at what > Improving customer service quality organizational level for example the E-Business strategy > Opening new distribution channels is developed, it does not provide insight in the validity of the chosen strategy! For this, there are several influencing Organizations face many challenges to realize their environmental and organizational factors such as the objectives as best they can. The complexity comes from products and services, market, customers and government. multi-functional and cross-organizational coordination. Because of this organizations are not realizing their full Atos Consulting offers a framework for online success, E-Business potential. Overcoming these challenges is which examines online strategy, organization and perfor- what we call the road to E-Business maturity. mance in close coordination. 1 We define E-Business as: all customer facing business processes using internet technologies. 4
  • 5. THE ‘E-BUSINESS MATURITY Figure 1: Please indicate your job level MODEL’ HANDLES THE ORGANIZA- TIONAL ASPECT OF E-BUSINESS Management level of benchmark participants Other Board level management 8% 4% Non-managerial 14% THE E-BUSINESS MATURITY BENCHMARK 2008 To support organizations in finding the answers to their First-level Senior 41% 33% questions, Atos Consulting used the ‘E-Business Maturity Management Management Model’ as the basis for the ‘E-Business Maturity Bench- mark 2008’. The main goals were to create: > A benchmark of the current stage of E-Business maturity in the Netherlands Figure 2: Could you provide us with your job title? > A benchmark of organizations within selected sectors (categorized answers) > Best practice recommendations to guide organizations in their E-Business maturity Complete decision making unit covered Our key target audience were primarily large organizations Business Development (top 500), running their global or European organizations General Management Marketing & Sales 4% from the Netherlands. Respondents which were invited 20% 14% to participate are executives and managers with customer facing processes with a primary responsibility for driving Programme & E-Business strategy and implementation within their 14% 23% Project Managers Online & organization. E-Commerce 9% 4% > 222 respondents participated in the benchmark 2% 10% Operations & Supplychain Consultants > Not all participants filled out the questionnaire IT Customer Service completely or after the closing date > This report is based on 112 completely filled out and validated questionnaires Figure 3: Please indicate your organizations’ (the legal entity) number of employees What we found was, that because of the open nature of the benchmark (we used blog postings on Marketing- Number of employees of participating organizations facts, Molblog and MAXX//online to invite participants), our respondents represent a cross section of the Dutch >10000 market. < 500 10% 23% This approach provided us with a broad distribution 5000-10000 21% of management levels of the respondents. Board level management and senior management level respondents cover around 50% of all participants. This enables us 18% 500-999 to asses how E-Business is integrated in at the different 28% organizational levels and how their perceptions differ. 1000-4999 5
  • 6. Also the size of organizations measured in number of ORGANIZATIONAL SIZE DOES NOT employees has an even distribution. This way we can IMPACT E-BUSINESS MATURITY assess whether there is a difference in maturity levels STAGE, DRIVERS OR CHALLENGES for different organization sizes. Interestingly enough, we found that there are no significant differences in their maturity stage, drivers or challenges. Figure 4: Please select your sector/market (categorized answers) Benchmark identifies ten sectors Other Government & Education Automotive & Transport 4% 9% 8% Financial Services High Tech & Electronics 17% 19% 13% 11% Telecom & Media Pharma & Chemical 7% 7% 5% Utilities Professional Services Retail 6
  • 7. ABOUT The E-Business Maturity Benchmark is a research challenges for our clients. Our consultants work from a solid conducted by the Atos Consulting™ Trends Institute. field experience. With their clear vision and application of innovative methods and techniques in the field of About Atos Consulting™ marketing, sales and customer service, they contribute to Atos Consulting, the global consulting practice of Atos the improvement of the commercial function of medium Origin, is a leading provider of business, process and and large organizations, over the full customer life-cycle, technology consulting services. With more than 2,500 in the profit and non-profit sector. staff globally, it focuses on delivering pragmatic solutions to the telecom, manufacturing, financial services and Our approach is characterized by the integration of public sectors. content and process. The starting point is the question our customer has and together we find suiting, Atos Consulting sees online challenges of organiza- supported and therefore effective solutions. tions as an important challenge. Within the ‘Customer Management’ practice we work at solving commercial More information on: www.atosconsulting.nl 46
  • 8. ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS First of all, we would like to thank all the professionals Rudy Taels - Business Consultant who used their valuable time to provide us with the After having conducted research into online communities, answers to our Benchmark questions. Without your the general E-Business field grabbed my interest. This participation, this research would not have been possible. again is something, if understood and utilized correctly, We take this as a sign that E-Business is growing in of great value to organizations in the new millennium. importance. Besides this creating something practical and usable for organizations is very satisfying. RESEARCH TEAM We, as a research team, have been supported by a number of colleagues whose input made this benchmark Gijsbert van der Sleen – Principal Consultant Online possible. We would like to thank: Customer Management What can be better than combining passion and work? Han van der Zee – Director Atos Consulting Trends Over the past two years I have been working on setting Institute up a new E-Business Maturity Model. Starting small, Wim Boogaard – Partner Customer Management I have seen it grow into the first comprehensive E-Business Martin Boschhuizen – Executive Business Consultant Maturity Benchmark of the Netherlands. Next step? Financial Services Well, I will definitely be looking at the possibilities of Rob Jorg – Principal Consultant Telecom, making this an international benchmark. Utilities & Media Patrick Filius – Senior Business Consultant Consumer Philip Könings – intern and lead researcher & Industrial markets The last six months of my life this research took a central place. Words like frustration, enthusiasm, highs More information and lows are all applicable, but the most important one If you have any questions/remarks regarding this topic, is innovation. It was great to be part of obtaining new please contact: insights in a field what is, and increasingly will become, Gijsbert van der Sleen very important. Besides getting my Masters degree, Gijsbert.vandersleen@atosorigin.com the enthusiastic responses of organizations made it all + 31 88 265 8888 worth while. 47
  • 9. Atos Consulting Papendorpseweg 93 3528 BJ Utrecht Tel: +31 (0)88 265 88 88 info.consulting@atosorigin.com www.atosconsulting.nl Atos, Atos and fish symbol, Atos Origin and fish symbol, Atos Consulting, and the fish symbol itself are registered trademarks of Atos Origin SA. February 2009. © 2009 Atos Origin. 48

×