Children’s book awards


Published on

  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Children’s book awards

  1. 1. There are several childrens book awards that are held around the country here are a few
  2. 2. THE 2013 BOOK OF THE YEAR AWARD WINNERS Book of the Year: Older Readers Title: Sea Hearts by Margo Lanagan, Book of the Year: Younger Readers Title: The Children of the King by Sonja Hartnett Book of the Year: Early Childhood Title: The Terrible Suitcase by Emma Allen ill Freya Blackwood Picture Book of the Year Title: The Coat by Ron Brooks, Julie Hunt Eve Pownall Award for Information Books Title: Tom the Outback Mailman by Kristin Weidenbach
  3. 3. The Bilby awards are organised by the Qld branch of the Children's Book Council of Australia and has been in existence since 1990. these awards are voted by the children readers of Queensland. To nominate their favourite reads of the year. The categories are broken into the following. Early Readers - for books for readers under 8 years old Younger Readers – for books for readers between 8 and 12 years old Older Readers – for books for readers over 12 years old In each category the award is for an individual book only
  4. 4. The Western Australian Young Readers' Book Awards. These awards are similar to the Bilbys as they are voted by the Children of Western Australia WAYRBA is a readers' choice award, organised on a statewide basis for young readers. The categories are Older Readers Younger Readers Picture Book Avis
  5. 5. Older Readers Fault In Our Stars by John Green Younger Readers Title : Wonder by R.J. Palacio Picture Book Title: Hairy Nose, Itchy Butt by Elizabeth Frankel and Garry Duncan Avis Eagle Strike (Graphic Novel) by Anthony Horowitz The Avis Page Award is presented in Recognition of Outstanding Voting results.
  6. 6. COOL Awards are the children's choice book awards voted for by the younger people of the Canberra region. The COOL Awards stands for Canberra's Own Outstanding List. It is a program run for children allowing them to vote for their favourite Australian book.
  7. 7. The winners of the 2013 COOL Awards: Favourite picture book - Mirror by Jeannie Baker (joint winner) Favourite picture book - The Very Cranky Bear by Nick Bland (joint winner) Favourite fiction for younger readers - Pizza Cake by Morris Gleitzman Favourite fiction for older readers - The 26-Storey Treehouse by Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton Favourite fiction for years 7-9 - After by Morris Gleitzman
  8. 8. This is only a snapshot and reflects some of the Australian book awards that currently provide Young People with some alternatives in reading choices as well as promoting literacy.