Life Cycle Of The Butterfly 1213744750439572 9


Published on

la lng

Published in: Sports, Technology
  • Be the first to comment

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Life Cycle Of The Butterfly 1213744750439572 9

  1. 1. Life Cycle of the Butterfly
  2. 2. Life Cycle of Butterfly <ul><li>Vocabulary Used </li></ul><ul><li>Introduction </li></ul><ul><li>First stage </li></ul><ul><li>Second stage </li></ul><ul><li>Third stage </li></ul><ul><li>Fourth stage </li></ul><ul><li>Quiz </li></ul><ul><li>Books on Butterfly’s </li></ul><ul><li>Resources </li></ul><ul><li>Concept Map </li></ul><ul><li>About the Author </li></ul>
  3. 3. Vocabulary <ul><li>Caterpillar – The larva stage of a butterfly or moth </li></ul><ul><li>Chrysalis – Third stage of butterfly life cycle. Same as pupa . </li></ul><ul><li>Emerge – To come out of something </li></ul><ul><li>Larva – The second stage of metamorphosis, during which an insect is wormlike and has new wings. </li></ul><ul><li>Metamorphosis – A series of developmental stages often marked by body changes. </li></ul><ul><li>Molting – Shedding of the skin, so that the larva can grow. </li></ul><ul><li>Puddling – When butterflies crawl all over the ground near shallow water. </li></ul><ul><li>Pupa – Third stage of life cycle, when larva changes into an adult. Also called a Chrysalis . </li></ul>
  4. 4. Introduction to Life Cycle of Butterfly <ul><li>Metamorphosis is a profound change in form from one stage to the next in the life of an animal. A butterfly goes though compete metamorphosis. Complete metamorphosis is defined as having four stages. Insects go through incomplete metamorphosis, which is defined as having three stages. an example would be the grasshopper . </li></ul>
  5. 5. Stage One Egg <ul><li>The egg is the first stage of metmorphosis for the butterfly. Butterflies can lay their eggs either one at a time or in clusters. Butterflies also choose a special kind of plant on which to lay their eggs. </li></ul>
  6. 6. Stage Two Larva <ul><li>The larva is the butterflies second stage. The larva is also know as the caterpillar. When the larva hatches he starts to eat right away. First it eats its egg and then it eats a certain type of leaf. The caterpillar grows very quickly and will outgrow his skin. In order for the caterpillar to continue to grow the caterpillar will molt its skin. The caterpillar will molt five times. The last molting…. </li></ul>
  7. 7. Stage 2 continued… <ul><li>Of the caterpillar is very different then the others. It is for this molt that the larva will crawl away from the milk week in search of a suitable place to weave its silk mat so that it can molt for one last time. It is during this stage that the caterpillar will hang upside down in the shape of a J. Once it is in the J shape the caterpillar will molt one last time. </li></ul>
  8. 8. Stage Three Pupa <ul><li>The pupa is the butterflies third stage. The pupa is also know as the chrysalis. This happens when the caterpillar is fully grown, stops eating and attaches itself to a leaf or twig with silk. It is inside the chrysalis that the caterpillar changes into a butterfly. When the butterfly is almost….. </li></ul>
  9. 9. Stage Four Adult <ul><li>The fourth and final stage in a butterflies life is called adult. Once the butterfly emerges from the chrysalis it has to wait for its wings to dry. While waiting for its wings to dry the butterfly will pump fluid </li></ul>