• Like
Divisions of the Marine Environment
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5

Divisions of the Marine Environment

Uploaded on


  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Be the first to comment
    Be the first to like this
No Downloads


Total Views
On Slideshare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds



Embeds 0

No embeds

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

    No notes for slide


  • 1. © 2011 Pearson Education, Inc.Divisions of the Marine EnvironmentI. Pelagic (open sea) Neritic (< 200 meters) and oceanicII. Benthic (sea floor) Subneritic and suboceanic
  • 2. © 2011 Pearson Education, Inc.Pelagic Environment Divided into biozones1. Neritic Province –from shore seaward,all water < 200meters deep2. Oceanic Province –depth increasesbeyond 200 meters
  • 3. © 2011 Pearson Education, Inc.Oceanic Province Further subdivided into four biozones1. Epipelagica) Only zone to support photosynthesisb) Dissolved oxygen decreases around 200 meters2. Mesopelagica) Organisms capable of bioluminescence common3. Bathypelagic4. Abyssopelagic
  • 4. © 2011 Pearson Education, Inc.Ocean Zones Based on Light AvailabilityI. Euphotic – surface to where enough light exists tosupport photosynthesisII. Disphotic – small but measurable quantities of lightIII. Aphotic – no light
  • 5. © 2011 Pearson Education, Inc.Benthic EnvironmentsI. SupralittoralII. Subneritic1. Littoral2. Sublittorala) Innerb) OuterIII. Suboceanic1. Bathyal2. Abyssal3. Hadal
  • 6. © 2011 Pearson Education, Inc.Organisms of the Deep
  • 7. Ocean ZonationThe ocean can be divided into many zones. The ocean bottom is the(1)benthic zone and the water itself (of the water column) is the (2)pelagic zone. The (3)neritic zone is that part of pelagic zone thatextends from the high tide line to an ocean bottom less than 600feet deep. Water deeper than 600 feet is called the (4)oceanic zone,which itself is divided on the basis of water depth into the(5)epipelagic, (6)mesopelagic, and (7)bathypelagic zones.These zones roughly correspond to three other zones divided on thebasis of the amount of sunlight they receive. In the (8)euphoticzone, enough light penetrates to support photosynthesis. Belowthat lies the (9)disphotic zone, where very small amounts of lightpenetrate. 90% of the space in the ocean lies in the (10)aphoticzone, which entirely devoid on light.