Your SlideShare is downloading. ×
0
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5
×

Thanks for flagging this SlideShare!

Oops! An error has occurred.

×
Saving this for later? Get the SlideShare app to save on your phone or tablet. Read anywhere, anytime – even offline.
Text the download link to your phone
Standard text messaging rates apply

Final Review - MFA in Advertising - Academy of Art University

1,056

Published on

Final Portfolio - …

Final Portfolio -
MFA Advertising. Focus in Account Planning and Communications Strategy

Published in: Business
0 Comments
0 Likes
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Views
Total Views
1,056
On Slideshare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
0
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
0
Comments
0
Likes
0
Embeds 0
No embeds

Report content
Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
No notes for slide

Transcript

  1. GABY ESCOBAR Communication Strategist FinAl REviEw Major in Advertising - Account Planning ID # 02510600 May 16th, 2011
  2. GABY ESCOBAR 510.220.5411escobargaby@gmail.com www.gabyescobar.com @gabylinda
  3. Table ofContents About me 4 Resume 6 Mobile Me 10 Following the Natural Road 16 Mrs. Alaska 20 Food Network 32 Blurb - Media Topline 40 University of Phoenix - Digital Media 50
  4. AboutMe4
  5. San Franciscan by choice.Venezuelan by birth. Addicted to information. Learning is my drug. Passionate about audiences. Media junkie. Digital? Mobile? Search? Display? All of them. Account Planner? Media Planner? COMMUNICATIONS STRATEGIST. 5
  6. MyResumeGaby EscobarCommunication Strategist. Media Planner.Objective:A position as a junior communications strategist or related entry level position withinthe media department of an advertising agency.Related Coursework: Media planning, advertising research, creative planning, strategic planning,art of presentation, online and offline media and digital media planning.6
  7. Education:M.F.A., Advertising with focus in Account Planning. Academy of Art University, San Francisco, CA. 2011. International Diploma Program, Marketing and Business. University of California, Berkeley, CA. 2007. B.A., Communications. Universidad Catolica Andres Bello, Caracas, Venezuela. 2006. Experience: Marketing and Communications Executive at Kirsen Technologies, Berkeley, California. February 2008 to December 2008. Directed competitive analysis for Kirsen Medical Technologies and Kirsen Global Security. Established and maintained relationships with venture capital agents, angels and private investors. Researched client insights to back up strategic development for new business. Marketing Intern at Pacific Soybean & Grain, San Francisco, California. September 2007 to December 2007. Client Executive at Burson Marsteller, Caracas, Venezuela. May 2005 to August 2006. Clients: Diageo’s Smirnoff Ice & Johnnie Walker. Unilever’s Dove. Directed editorial campaigns for Johnnie Walker and Smirnoff Ice. Developed press kits and press releases for Johnnie Walker’s Black Label campaign. Responsible for the strategic plans application for Johnnie Walker’s Black Label. Involved in general media relations for Diageo’s Smirnoff Ice. Corporate Communications Intern at BBVA Banco Provincial, Caracas, Venezuela. November 2004 to February 2005. Other information: Fluent in English and Spanish with a basic knowledge of French. PC and Mac friendly Highly proficient in Microsoft Word, Power Point, Excel applications, Adobe Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign and Final Cut Pro. 7
  8. MyWork8
  9. A lot of research. A bit of strategy. And a glimpse of media.Full oF ProBlEM SolvInG. 9
  10. MobileMePersonna. Me Map. Insight.10
  11. My first “planning” project. My first challenge.Not a mind map nor a cultural map but a combination of both. A me map. The past and the present of my MoBIlE lIFE 11
  12. 2009“Apple’s new iPhone 3G: Still not perfect, but really close”USA Today. July 10th, 2008.“Now that the Applications store is up and running,”The Guardian. July 26th, 2008.“In a few short hours, you will be able to download the native SkypeiPhone client and install it on your iPhones and iPod Touch devices”Gigaom.com. March 30th, 200912
  13. My IPhone, my apps, my life Because a picture says a thousand words… And because my account An easy way to feel like planning professor says if I was in my country… that I should always without the troubles of carry a camera… buying expensive airline tickets. I really care about news… And what is happening out there… Even stupidBecause my mom…knows and banal entertainment nothing about Facebook… news… like who is gettingand international calls are married and who is kind of expensive… pregnant! She talks a lot!! I need to know how are Love to be informed of things in my country, what is happening out specially now that the there… Almost at the political and economicsame moment things are situations are not stable… happening! And besides I like reading in Spanish.. It’s nice! This is super necessary…Although I don’t talk on the As you can see I don’t check I love music and all thosephone as much as I used to my email account too memories that come to mydo it ( I prefer texting)… A often… I’m subscribed to mind when listening to phone call is still the hundreds of publications… certain songs… standard way to And at the end I read none My playlists describe my communicate of them, if they have past, my present and my Twitter… I’ll read their future! tweets  13
  14. 2011“Google Android phones are finally hitting the market en masse.”CnET.com. october 8th, 2009 “Mobiles ‘not for phone calls’ . Web surfing and texting now moreimportant than calls, according to new survey”The Telegraph. March 18th, 2011“91% of mobile internet access is to socialize. 86% of mobile internet usersare using their device while watching TV.”comScore 2010 Mobile Year in Review14
  15. My IPhone, my apps, my life I still think an image -2011- says more than a thousand words. Now it’s Because the first thing Because an easier to make those pics I do is check- in . image is look “professional”. Now I have the need to tell worth a What’s better that a everyone where I am, trendy, old style bunch thousand of memories. where I was and most importantly with whom. words When someone invites me somewhere, I need to Yelp it . That is why it mightI don’t need a Skype app. take a while before I reply I have a Skype to go to a text. number. But I still need an app to talk with all those BB only friends.Venezuelans are addicted to BBM. Addicted! My boyfriend hates this game. But it’s the best! I am very sorry if I interrupt a specialBecause I follow too many moment. But my bakery people and tweets have a needs me. Now!short life. Hash tags andtheir search columns help me organize my Twitter-land. I’m sorry iTunes but I no longer buy music from you. Pandora is the day’s I still prefer texting but choice. In the city there is my mom doesn’t. So 3G everywhere. If I Skype to go solves that No unread emails now. As a job hunter I’m happen to be in an problem. I also call more. I unfortunate “no 3G guess I am a little bit checking emails all the time. Maybe that perfect zone”, iTunes will come more impatient now and I to the rescue. can’t wait for a text. opportunity will be in my inbox. 15
  16. NaturalRoadSocial and Cultural Trends. Research. Infographic.16
  17. FOLLOWING THE NATURAL ROAD Today everything is organic, natural, green or eco-friendly. It seems the marketplace is divided into 2 segments: the inexpensive tasty products that are perceived as unhealthy and the not so tasty expensive products that are perceived as healthy. But what are consumers perception of natural foods and why are they buying it? Original Layout. 14” x 8” The objective was to collect information about “natural” trends.Monitor cultural and social trends related to the concepts of natural and organic and later condense results in an easy to read document. INFLUENCERS AND PUBLICATIONS were considered as sources of information for this project. 17
  18. FOLLOWING THE NATURAL ROAD Today everything is organic, natural, green or eco-friendly. It seems the marketplace is divided into 2 segments: the inexpensive tasty products that are perceived as unhealthy and the not so tasty expensive products that are perceived as healthy. But what are consumers perception of natural foods and why are they buying it?18
  19. The celebrity impactCelebrities make a huge influence in trends to follow. We can see in TV, online and in magazines how this celebs andtheir “healthy/organic/green” lifestyles are the fashionable way to be.On the other hand, reality shows like Food Revolution and Biggest Loser (4.0 rating), broadcasted in national tvportray the hurtful and shocking consequences of bad eating habits.Mashablehttp://on.mash.to/9RKTZ4Natural beats Organic“Cheese labeled “natural” represents 69 percent of all cheese sales and 32 percent of all “natural” food and beveragesales.Beer labeled as “reduced calories” accounts for half of all beer sales and 41 percent of sales of food and beverageslabeled as such 54 percent of all cereals are labeled as “whole grain” and cereals make up 40 percent of all foods de-scribed as such”BrandWeekhttp://bit.ly/dKcAaq Where mother nature goes to shop “Natural and organic foods are available in more than seven in 10 retail food stores (72 percent), according to shoppers surveyed in FMI’s U.S. Grocery Shopper Trends,2006. Surging demand for natural and organic products has transformed a small market niche into a double-digit growth sector. U.S. sales of such foods and beverages reached $28.2 billion in 2006, according to the Nutrition Business Journal.” Wild oats and Whole Foods Supermarket are exanples of these natural stores Food Marketing Institute http://bit.ly/awT0fb When is fast is pricey Fast food is expensive “Convenience will save time, but not save money. Supermarket alternatives are often cheaper and healthier, but they take more time to prepare” NielsenWire http://bit.ly/citAycHealthy wallet“Although organic foods often cost more than non-organic, supermarkets offer several healthy alternatives for agiven food item at the same price.Even the higher-priced natural food channel managed to hold overall price increases to just 1.4% for the year end2009, according to SPINS”NielsenWirehttp://bit.ly/citAycSENSITIVE HEART“Dollar sales for all products featuring cholesterol claims dropped 5% to $10.6 billion. The uptick in effective statindrugs used to lower cholesterol may be a primary contributor to the decline in popularity—a trend to watch”NielsenWirehttp://bit.ly/citAyc 19
  20. MrsAlaskaBrief. Consumer Segmentation. Audience. Research.20
  21. First full campaign assignment. The Board of Tourism of Alaska was a client with a problem. The problem? No one goes to Alaska unless they are in a cruise trip.The state wanted to increase their annual visits by encouraging tourists to VISIT, STAy and ENJOy the state. 21
  22. TheBrief22
  23. Why does our client need to connect with people? Because the state is stereotyped as a cruise destination but has so much more to offer than just one day of glacier sightseeing. What is the connection going to accomplish? The connection is going to reposition the state as a fascinating and exciting travel destination worthy to experience for more than one day. Who are we going to connect with? Empty nesters between 55 to 65 years old with a 70K+ HHI. Suburban and rural area residents. What are the most insightful things we know about them?They want to do something different and interesting. They don’t want to travel internationally but they want to go somewhere different. They want to experience exciting activities that are not to physically demanding but are visually captivating. Single most effective idea ALASKA - A VISUAL FEAST Tone: informative, exciting, amazing, wonderful, bountiful, fascinating. Preferred media Daytime TV, print (gardening, cooking, fishing and hunting magazines – daily local newspapers-), online (lifestyle blogs and sites). What else is there to know that supports this situation? Alaska is an amazing place that offers a variety of interesting activities: Camp near grizzly bears in one of the eight Alaska’s national Parks. Watch polar bears, bald eagles, humpbacked whales and moose all in a day of wildlife viewing. Enjoy a spectacular day doing fly-fishing, saltwater fishing, freshwater fishing and even ice fishing in one of the most spectacular locations in the world. 23
  24. TheProductBeyond the description of the state and its touristic attractions. Alaskagets humanized by the creation of a charater - Mrs. Alaska-.The purpose? To inspire and guide a more effective strategyand creative work.24
  25. MRS. alaska Imagine a delightful lady lost in time.she wants to pamper you and give you everything you ask. You are unique and special for her and She will be your accomplice in all your adventures. 25
  26. TheTargetMRI Data with a twist.Beyond demographics, psycographics and household incomes.Lets think of the target as a real person, what they would doduring the day and where would they like to go.26
  27. BoomersWhy suburban and rural residents?Because they are 94% are more likely to be betweenages 50 to 60 GfK MRI Doublebase Data 2008 andWhy 70K+?According to Ad Age only 10% of baby boomers are likelyto earn more than 100K a year. Ad Age Insights. 50 and over: What’s next? April 2011Why TV, print and online?Because they don’t spend too much money going outfor dinner, going to the movies, etc. They are retired orplanning to retire with a part time job. Their Alaskaentertainment activities consist of baking, gardening,cook, read, surf the web and watch TV. Because they arepart of an early generation they still have affinity for TV.They also watch movies and videos online and in mobiledevices, sometimes even more than Millennials andGen X, according to Google Data of September 2010they spend an approximate 189 hours a month watchingmovies and videos online. Ad Age Insights. 50 and over: What’s next? April 2011About Traditional MediaLate boomers living in suburban areas are 14% morelikely to see daytime TV and are 24% more likely to readdaily and Sunday’s newspaper. GfK MRI Doublebase Data 2008About Online and MobileAccording to eMarketer older boomers (ages 56 to 65)spend 36.5 hours online per month in 2010. eMarketeralso estimates 86.9% will have a mobile phone this year,and 16.9 million boomers will access the internet from amobile browser or installed app eMarketer. http://bit.ly/hhX1b1 27
  28. Seven in 10 Baby Boomers who have taken a BOOMERS domestic vacation in the last 12 months or a foreign vacation in the last 24 months report that complete relaxation is the most key factor in an enjoyable vacation. and According to the U.S. Travel Association, Baby Boomers accounted for more than a third of leisure travel in the U.S. in 2008, which means TRAVEL that this group was, to a degree, invested in travel despite the economic situation—more so than any other generation Nearly nine in 10 Baby Boomers say they prefer to create a personalized travel itinerary rather than join a pre-planned tour, and six in 10 say they prefer traveling to new destinations rather than returning to a familiar one Close to three quarters of Baby Boomers who have taken a domestic vacation in the last 12 months, or a foreign vacation in the last 24 months, traveled with a spouse or partner, while roughly a quarter traveled with children age ten or less. Close to three quarters of Baby Boomers who have taken a domestic vacation in the last 12 months, or a foreign vacation in the last 24 months, traveled with a spouse or partner, while roughly a quarter traveled with children age ten or less. Mintel. Baby Boomers and Vacation. December 201028
  29. Late Boomers in suburban areas are..On Media…43% more likely to read fishing/ hunting magazines. Likes14% more likely to see daytime TV24% more likely to read Sunday newspaperOn Politics… and23% more likely to think of themselves as veryconservative14% more likely to think of themselves as somehowconservative. dislikesOn Leisure…53% more likely to schedule leisure activities likebirdwatching.25% more likely to have gone to camping trip.25% more likely to admit they like to make thingsout of wood or metalOn Travel…21% less likely to have a valid passport.13% less likely to participate in a frequent flyersmembershipAnd…50% more likely to have cats41% more likely to have dogs GfK MRI Doublebase Data 2008 29
  30. TheCreative“Just you & ALASKA”Client: Alaska Board of TourismArt Director: David PhamCopywriter: Tuan Le30
  31. Magazine spreadwith sound(Clip activates whenthe page is opened)Magazine plastic coverIPhone App“Alaska live”(Connect users to live video and audio feedsof Alaska) 31
  32. FoodNetworkBrief. Creative Research. Campaign Testing.32
  33. Food Network was presented as a “safe network” who needed to update its image.The idea was to attrack a more edgier and younger audience. The project also required a testing of the creative work and a ‘case study” type AnAlySIS. 33
  34. TheBrief34
  35. Why does our client need to advertise? Food Network needs to move away from its image as a safe channel for all demographics,especially older people, in all kinds of settings (e.g., doctor’s office, car dealership) and focus a bit more on a younger, trendier demographic. What is the advertising going to accomplish? We need to create an edgier image that is attractive to a younger demographic of foodies without completely alienating its current audience. Who are we going to connect with? We need to connect with hyper-passionate food lovers between the ages of 18-34. Thisdemographic not only has a large amount of disposable income (up to $3K extra per month), they are also more likely to spend than save—especially those who cook for both pleasure and praise. What are the most insightful things we know about them? Young foodies have developed a whole new approach to their lifestyle. This demographic sees their love of food and food products as a status symbol, in the way that fashion and accessories are to “fashionistas.” Most importantly, they identify with the adrenaline rush of the culinary world, and are attracted to the food industry for its nonconformist subculture, proximity to fire and wielding of knives. Single most effective idea: COOKING AIN’T FOR SISSIES! Tone: Humorous, edgy, trendy, exciting, attractive, upbeat and totally in your face. What is there to know that supports this message? young foodies not only love to dice, chop and grill, they also love the thrill of competition, especially if there’s a chance someone might chop off a finger or light something on fire. The “Gastrosexual” trend is growing between foodies making young cookers feel attractive and cool. 35
  36. TheTesting36
  37. COOKING DIRTY The Creative Work Sex + Food Is this the perfect combination to generate young foodies attention towards Food Network? According to this research, majority of food lovers between 25 - 34yrs old enjoy watching cooking shows, think cooking is exciting and fun, and believe cooking skills are helpful to impress someone from the opposite sex. “when you read it is really funny! but it looks boring” “I saw it and i didnt’t want to read it, but then I started and it was super interesting... the recipe was full of sex jokes” “I will love this to be an application or facebook thing, where you can send dirty sexy recipes to whom ever you want... haha imagine a Food Network sex recipe generator!” The Research The quantitative research consisted in two questionnaires: pre and post creative work. After the questionnaires, the qualitative research -In-depth interviews- were focused on getting insights from the sample. Results & Recommendations The group finds the “food+sex” idea interesting and funny. The visual layout is unattractive and the copy is too long for a print ad. 87.5% thinks the campaign is funny We recommend applying the idea in mobile and interactive 57.1% says the print is clever vehicles such as website and mobile applications.Research by Gaby Escobar 28.6% thinks the copy is long andescobargaby@gmail.com too complicated 37
  38. TheStudy38
  39. FOOD NETWORK Because Cooking ain’t for sissies! The Case Study Study by Gaby Escobar Illustration by pocketcookie 39
  40. BlurbMedia Plan. Social Media Strategy. Competitive Analysis.40
  41. The objective was to develop a media plan with an emphasis on social media tools.The purpose was to create awareness within the young creative crowd and DIFFErEnTIATIon from the client’s competitors. The project was created for and presented to the VP Online Marketing of Blurb Inc., Lauren Pattison. 41
  42. TheDeckCheck the full presentation at http://goo.gl/k2oWj42
  43. Planning ParametersObjective:• Create brand awareness within the young creative audience.• Generate costumer retention.Target Audience: Creative enthusiasts between the ages of 18 to 34.Dates: February to May 2011.Digital Media Approach: Promote competition between students in the creative field by using Blurb platforms. Connect with the young creative crowd by facilitating their professional goals. Create a bond between the brand and the target. 43
  44. Target Audience Young creative enthusiasts between 18 - 24 • 75% of young adults enjoy looking at pictures online and 38% enjoy reading blogs. • 51% of young adults between 18 – 24 enjoy taking risks and 34% stand out in a crowd. • This audience is the most eager to take advantage of free or inexpensive entertainment that can be found on the internet (e.g. YouTube). • They are also more likely to be open-minded risk takers and like the idea of unearthing new trends to share with friends. • Young adults often place greater value on innovative designs and concepts. Mintel’s survey indicates WOM campaigns are more likely to influence young adults than older Americans. • Family, friends and coworkers can have a significant influence on one’s decision-making, especially among young adults who have not already formed salient preferences in various product and service categories. Sources: Mintel’s Young Adult Leisure Trends - US - November 2009 Mintel’s Word of Mouth and Viral Marketing - US - April 200944
  45. Target Audience Young creative enthusiasts between 18 - 25 65+ 55-64 45-54 35-44 25-34 18-24 Young adults also I am a trendsetter among my friends tend to spend more time blogging, micro-blogging People like to buy the things that I buy on sites like Twitter, or participating in online I like to try different products and then recommend the good ones to my communities, friends and this can lead to recommendations. 0 1 2 3 4 Agree DisagreeSource: Mintel ATTITUDES INDICATING INFLUENCERS (MEAN), BY AGE* 45
  46. Competition • Strong brand awareness. • 2006 • “Kodak Family” • “Easy to personalize and • Friend publishing solution • For anyone who want to be creative with your for writers who don’t make a creative intimate memories”. want the hassle of an photo gift. • Digital photo storage. editor or publishing • Focus on photobooks and company. calendars but offers a • Photobooks (categories by occasion) and Videos. • Publishes a very wide range variety of products. of subject matter. • Attractive prices and • Strong social media presence (Youtube • Print on demand for promotions. Channel, Twitter, Facebook, conventional books. • Paid photo storage. Blogs, Shutterfly Share). • No storage. • Low product quality. • Strong search strategy. • International presence. • No profit for the author. • Profit for the author.46
  47. SWOT Analysis BlurbStrengths: Weaknesses-Currently Blurb is the only creative publishing -Limited awareness.service that offers high quality bookstore books. -Not professional enough for writers.-Opportunity to create profit with the Blurb -Not cheap or easy enough for general crowd.Bookstore.-Easy to use software – Blurb Book Smart® andBookify™-Support from the Blurb community - BlurberatiBlog and Blog Forums.Opportunities Threats-According to a 2009 Market Report from -More and more Print on Demand solutions areFutureSource Consulting the photobook market value becoming available.will reach close to $540m US dollars by the end of -Growth of the tablets market and the possibility of a2010. future where print becomes obsolete.-The Print on Demand market will continue to grow inabout 20% next year.-More and more creative professionals are looking foran easy and affordable solution to publish. 47
  48. Media Strategy & Potential Partners Connect Brand presence in blogs Bond and sites that relate to Partner with art and the audience in a portfolio schools. Promote creative professional Partner with student or level. Focus on social media young professional and publishers attractive competitions. to the young creative audience.48
  49. Social Strategy Website Make your OWN BOOK!YouTube Channel BlogTips, events and How-to and event news.testimonials. Twitter Facebook App Updates of sponsored Notification of upload or events and videos. published books. 49
  50. University ofPhoenixMedia Strategy Analysis. Digital Media. Ad Placement.50
  51. The objective was to do an analysis of the DIGITAl MEDIA STrATEGy of University of Phoenix. The purpose was to identify the reasoning behind themedia placement and types of ads used, purely based on pattern recognition. 51
  52. TheDeckCheck the full presentation at http://goo.gl/n0Bgl52
  53. UNIVERSITY OF PHOENIXAnalysis of a digital campaign.Strategy, media and placement. 53
  54. UNIVERSITY OF PHOENIX WEBSITE: WWW.PHOENIX.EDU54
  55. UNIVERSITY OF PHOENIXWEBSITE REVIEW Simple and clean Very “corporate” and serious look Offer information about programs, faculty and academic systems. Testimonials are the focus point of the home page. Tuition fees and finance info are also highlighted. Target:  Potential students in a 25 – 45 yrs old age group  Household Income 45K+ 55
  56. UNIVERSITY OF PHOENIX (#1) TMZ56
  57. UNIVERSITY OF PHOENIX (#2)USA TODAY 57
  58. UNIVERSITY OF PHOENIX COMMENTS FOR ADS #1 & #2  The style of ad is a simple banner located usually on the middle of a news page.  Simple animation style  Very clear and simple design using the colors of the brand.  Informative purposes with a call to action “Start today”  The type of publisher can be categorized as news & lifestyle with a wide target that captures:  Adults between the ages of 18 to 45 with a household income of 35K+  This is basically everyone who graduated high school  The type of publisher is not necessary attractive to an “educated audience”, although they might have readers with Bachelors degrees.  The landing page is clear and simple offering more information about the programs and details about the teaching style and educational opportunities at the University.  Chat now  Learn more58
  59. UNIVERSITY OF PHOENIX (#3)GQ 59
  60. UNIVERSITY OF PHOENIX (#3) DETAILS60
  61. UNIVERSITY OF PHOENIXCOMMENTS FOR AD #3 The style of ad is a simple banner located usually on the middle of a news page. Simple animation style. Use of the brand colors although the type seems more refined. Mention of two specific publishers “ The New Yorker” and “Vanity Fair”:  Partnership  The ad can be found just in the online sites of the Conde Nast publications Awareness and Call to action “Get involved” The type of publisher can be categorized as fashion & entertainment with a wide target that captures:  Adults between the ages of 25 to 45 with a household income of 65K+  With a Bachelor degree and currently working.  This is not for people looking for an academic program, this is for adults who want to discuss certain national problems, like education. The landing page is not University of Phoenix; it’s the publisher’s Vanity Fair. (Is this a Conde Nast effort using University of Phoenix as a partner or the other way around?)  Simple and stylish  Offers a daily question that encourages public discussion 61
  62. UNIVERSITY OF PHOENIX62
  63. UNIVERSITY OF PHOENIXSUMMARY Website and landing page are very similar.  Only difference is layout and presence on Faculty and School news. The ad looks somehow cheap and cluttered.  Sometimes it can pass as an old style banner normally used by spam and online scams.  The official website has a very clean look that we can associate with a young, up to date institution.  The landing page is something in between website and banner:  Is not interactive, looks boring.  Gives information step by step. They don’t display all the information as they do on the website. The process ad – landing page is fluid and it makes sense  Some who is interested in the UP and wants to find out about the University (and their identity) will Google it and the search results will direct them to the official website  The ones that find the online ad attractive, might be because of the program offerings and the landing page provides information just about that. 63
  64. 64
  65. What do you think?Approved or Disapproved Let me know: 510.2205411 escobargaby@gmail.com @gabylinda 65

×