What is Social Media

  • 2,706 views
Uploaded on

a brief introduction to social media for companies and organizations.

a brief introduction to social media for companies and organizations.

More in: Business , Sports , Technology
  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
No Downloads

Views

Total Views
2,706
On Slideshare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
4

Actions

Shares
Downloads
57
Comments
2
Likes
6

Embeds 0

No embeds

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
    No notes for slide

Transcript

  • 1.  
  • 2.
    • Social media  are primarily Internet- and mobile-based tools for sharing and discussing information among human beings. The term most often refers to activities that integrate technology, telecommunications and social interaction, and the construction of words, pictures, videos and audio. This interaction, and the manner in which information is presented, depends on the varied perspectives and "building" of shared meaning among communities, as people share their stories and experiences.
    • – Wikipedia.org
  • 3. Basically, it’s people talking online.
  • 4. They have conversations using tools like:
  • 5. Chances are that you are already using some form of social media.
  • 6. If you’re not, you are missing out
  • 7. Wikipedia has over 9.25 million articles in approximately 250 languages
  • 8. Facebook had over 130 million unique visitors in June 2008 alone.
  • 9. YouTube.com has over 10 hours of new video uploaded every minute.
  • 10. Over 200,000,000 blogs on the net and growing.
  • 11.
    • Politicians:
    • PM Stephen Harper - @pmharper
    • NDP Leader Jack Layton - @jacklayton
    • Barack Obama  - @BarackObama
    • Hillary Clinton  - @hillaryclinton
    • Joe Biden  - @joebiden
    • John McCain  - @JohnMcCain
  • 12.
    • Actors:
    • Brea Grant  - @breagrant
    • David Hewlett  - @dhewlett
    • Janina Gavankar  @janinaz
    • Kate Hewlett  @katehewlett
    • Stephen Fry  - @stephenfry
    • Wil Wheaton  - @wilw
    • William Shatner  - @williamshatner
  • 13.
    • Musicians:
    • Brett Gurewitz  – @oblivionpact
    • Britney Spears  – @therealbritney
    • Dave Matthews  – @DaveJMatthews
    • Jonathan Coulton  @jonathancoulton
    • MC Hammer  – @MCHammer
    • Patrick Wilson of Weezer  @patrick_wilson
    • Sara Bareilles  - @Sarabareilles
  • 14. 73% of active online users have read a blog.
  • 15. 57% joined a social network.
  • 16. 83% have watched video online Tina Fey’s Sarah Palin got more views online than it did on live TV .
  • 17. Social media is here to stay and is growing and evolving every day
  • 18. Still want to know why you should care?
  • 19. Because with the advancement of the internet, everyone has a voice.
  • 20. Corporate monologues are long gone.
  • 21. Today communication is all about the “dialogue”.
  • 22. Do you know what people are saying about your organization online?
  • 23. Well, go find out!
  • 24. Then join the conversation.
  • 25. Show your consumers your human side. They may start to like you more.
  • 26. 14% of people trust advertisements .
  • 27. 78% of people trust recommendations of other consumers.
  • 28. 90% of people skip and ignore ads whenever they can
  • 29. After all, the average person is exposed to over 3000 ads/day.
  • 30.
    • Social Media is authentic and transparent… “Any blog that spins the truth will be found out. In a world of social media, honesty is the only policy.”
  • 31. True:
    • Social media is relatively new and not all of your target market is participating yet.
  • 32. Also True:
    • Tomorrow’s consumers, eat, sleep and breath online. They are known as the Millenials or Generation Y.
  • 33. The average Millenial spends over 16 hours/week online.
  • 34. 96% of them are members of a social network.
  • 35. They have an average of over 50 friends online.
  • 36. They care about what their friends think.
  • 37. Not about what you say.
  • 38. Want to know what to do now?
  • 39. Start participating.
  • 40. Listen
  • 41. Comment
  • 42. Be part of the conversation
  • 43. Want to learn more?
    • Contact us!
    • [email_address]
  • 44. Data Credits: Nielson "Trust in Advertising" Report, October, 2007 http://www.nielsen.com/solutions/TrustinAdvertisingOct07.pdf Universal Mccann Comparative Study on Social Media Trends April 2008 http://universalmccann.com/Assets/UM%20Wave%203%20final_20080808141650.pdf Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wikipedia:Size_comparisons http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Facebook Youtube http://www.youtube.com/t/fact_sheet
  • 45. Picture Credits: All the wonderful people who use a creative commons license to share their pictures. Jeff Werner http://flickr.com/photos/jeffwerner/274490620/sizes/l/ James Jordan http://flickr.com/photos/jamesjordan/3009699037/sizes/o/ Brian Meidell http://flickr.com/photos/brianmeidell/304200058/sizes/o/ AJC1 http://flickr.com/photos/ajc1/503165914/sizes/o/ Stabilo Boss http://flickr.com/photos/stabilo-boss/93136022/sizes/o/ Hector Milla http://flickr.com/photos/hectormilla/265419532/sizes/o/ Zen http://flickr.com/photos/zen/143156583/sizes/o/ 4 EveR YounG http://flickr.com/photos/4everyoung/523272655/sizes/o/ Thomas Roche http://flickr.com/photos/thomasroche/2857366016/sizes/o/ truebluetitan http://flickr.com/photos/truebluetitan/273269366/sizes/o/ PhotoJonny http://flickr.com/photos/photojonny/2268845904/sizes/l/ Thomas Hawk http://flickr.com/photos/thomashawk/2474702084/sizes/l/ dalbera http://flickr.com/photos/dalbera/2738451853/sizes/o/ dalbera http://flickr.com/photos/dalbera/2738452057/sizes/l/ Kevinmarsh http://flickr.com/photos/kevinmarsh/488971581/sizes/l/ dansays http://flickr.com/photos/dansays/368233391/sizes/l/ striatic http://flickr.com/photos/striatic/2145725302/sizes/o/ FredArmitage http://flickr.com/photos/fredarmitage/48405833/sizes/o/ just.K http://flickr.com/photos/karenebiggs/2712002363/sizes/o/ sokabs http://flickr.com/photos/sokabs/2668975758/sizes/l/ niclindh http://flickr.com/photos/niclindh/1389750548/sizes/l/ Lucky http://helpyourselfgetlucky.com (lifted from site) Walt Flidman http://suckypoems.com (lifted from site) tanakawho http://flickr.com/photos/28481088@N00/2879846525/sizes/o/ ntr23 http://flickr.com/photos/ntr23/794545795/sizes/l/ bradlauster http://flickr.com/photos/bradlauster/5649583/sizes/o/ theparadigmshifter http://flickr.com/photos/theparadigmshifter/470341923/ yugoQ http://flickr.com/photos/yugoq/322239225/sizes/o/ JosephGilbert.org http://flickr.com/photos/ocs_camp/2171492103/sizes/m/ InterVarsity at Central College http://flickr.com/photos/centralintervarsity/2367140383/sizes/o/ Nielsvk http://flickr.com/photos/nielsvk/258851215/sizes/o/ Million Dollar Homepage http://www.milliondollarhomepage.com/index-orig.php