Your SlideShare is downloading. ×
FY2015 Tax Facts
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5
×

Thanks for flagging this SlideShare!

Oops! An error has occurred.

×

Introducing the official SlideShare app

Stunning, full-screen experience for iPhone and Android

Text the download link to your phone

Standard text messaging rates apply

FY2015 Tax Facts

159
views

Published on

FY2015 Tax Facts …

FY2015 Tax Facts

General Information About Fairfax County Taxes

Effective July 1, 2014 to June 30, 2015


0 Comments
0 Likes
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Views
Total Views
159
On Slideshare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
0
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
0
Comments
0
Likes
0
Embeds 0
No embeds

Report content
Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
No notes for slide

Transcript

  • 1. Tax FactsTax Facts General information aboutGeneral information about Fairfax County TaxesFairfax County Taxes Effective July 1, 2014Effective July 1, 2014 to June 30, 2015to June 30, 2015
  • 2. What You Will Find:What You Will Find:  Tax Deadlines  Ways to Pay  Personal Property Tax  Vehicle Registration  Real Estate Tax  Tax Relief  Tax Relief for Vets With Disabilities  Business, Professional and Occupational License (BPOL)  Other Taxes and Fees  Penalties  The Budget: Where the money goes and where it comes from
  • 3. DeadlinesDeadlines  Personal PropertyPersonal Property – Report by May 1.– Report by May 1. Pay by Oct. 5Pay by Oct. 5 (2014 deadline is Monday, Oct. 6)(2014 deadline is Monday, Oct. 6)..  Real EstateReal Estate – First installment payment is– First installment payment is duedue July 28July 28; second installment payment is due; second installment payment is due Dec. 5Dec. 5..  B.P.O.L.B.P.O.L. – File and pay by– File and pay by March 1March 1, or within, or within 75 days for new business.75 days for new business.  Tax ReliefTax Relief – File by– File by April 1April 1, or Dec. 31 of the following, or Dec. 31 of the following year for hardship or first-time filers.year for hardship or first-time filers.  Dog LicensesDog Licenses – Renew by– Renew by Jan. 31Jan. 31..
  • 4. Ways to PayWays to Pay  OnlineOnline atat www.fairfaxcounty.gov/dtawww.fairfaxcounty.gov/dta (check or credit(check or credit card)card) (A service fee is charged for credit card payments.)(A service fee is charged for credit card payments.)  PhonePhone (credit card) at 703-222-6740, TTY 711.(credit card) at 703-222-6740, TTY 711. (A service(A service fee is charged for credit card payments.)fee is charged for credit card payments.)  Pay Personal Property Tax (cash only)Pay Personal Property Tax (cash only) atat Shoppers Food locations in Northern Virginia – pay exactShoppers Food locations in Northern Virginia – pay exact amount due in cash at customer service desk; a $1.25amount due in cash at customer service desk; a $1.25 processing fee will be charged by Global Express forprocessing fee will be charged by Global Express for each bill paid. For additional participating vendors go toeach bill paid. For additional participating vendors go to www.globalexpress.netwww.globalexpress.net, click on store locator., click on store locator.  More ways to pay on next slide…More ways to pay on next slide…
  • 5. More Ways to PayMore Ways to Pay  Real estate and personal property (car)Real estate and personal property (car) taxes can be paid at any of the followingtaxes can be paid at any of the following banks in Fairfax Countybanks in Fairfax County only:only: – Bank of America: check or cashBank of America: check or cash – SunTrust: check or cashSunTrust: check or cash – Wells Fargo no longer accepts Fairfax County tax payments at branch offices.  There are several other convenient ways to pay.
  • 6. Personal Property TaxPersonal Property Tax  A tax on cars, trucks, motor homes, motorcycles,A tax on cars, trucks, motor homes, motorcycles, trailers, campers, boats, outboard motors, planes andtrailers, campers, boats, outboard motors, planes and business personal property.business personal property.  Tax applies if a vehicle is normally garaged/parked inTax applies if a vehicle is normally garaged/parked in the county, even if registered in another state.the county, even if registered in another state.  Vehicles normally garaged in Fairfax County butVehicles normally garaged in Fairfax County but displaying out-of-state license plates may be subject todisplaying out-of-state license plates may be subject to an additional “No Plate” tax and penalty of $350. Thisan additional “No Plate” tax and penalty of $350. This amount is not prorated. In most cases, Virginia licenseamount is not prorated. In most cases, Virginia license plates must be obtained from DMV within 30 days ofplates must be obtained from DMV within 30 days of establishing residencyestablishing residency..
  • 7.  For most vehicles, personal property tax is based onFor most vehicles, personal property tax is based on the clean trade-in value in the National Automobilethe clean trade-in value in the National Automobile Dealers Association’s Used Car Guide publishedDealers Association’s Used Car Guide published in January.in January.  Download anDownload an appeal formappeal form (PDF).(PDF).  The personal property tax rate is $4.57 per $100 ofThe personal property tax rate is $4.57 per $100 of assessed value.assessed value. Personal Property TaxPersonal Property Tax
  • 8.  If you have moved in or out of Fairfax County, or soldIf you have moved in or out of Fairfax County, or sold your car, your personal property bill will be calculated onyour car, your personal property bill will be calculated on a monthly basis.a monthly basis. Prorate your billProrate your bill..  New to Fairfax County? Bought or leased a car? YouNew to Fairfax County? Bought or leased a car? You have 60 days tohave 60 days to register your vehicle/sregister your vehicle/s..  New to Virginia? New residents must follow theNew to Virginia? New residents must follow the state’s title and registration deadline and requirementsstate’s title and registration deadline and requirements within 30 days.within 30 days. Personal Property TaxPersonal Property Tax
  • 9. Vehicle RegistrationVehicle Registration  There is a $33 local vehicle registration fee ($38 forThere is a $33 local vehicle registration fee ($38 for vehicles over 4,000 pounds).vehicles over 4,000 pounds). There is no countyThere is no county windshield decal to purchase or display.windshield decal to purchase or display.  Residents within towns of Clifton and Herndon mustResidents within towns of Clifton and Herndon must purchase and display town decals. In Vienna,purchase and display town decals. In Vienna, residents must pay a town vehicle registration fee.residents must pay a town vehicle registration fee.  Make sure your address and vehicle jurisdiction areMake sure your address and vehicle jurisdiction are correct with the Virginia department of Motorcorrect with the Virginia department of Motor Vehicles atVehicles at www.dmvnow.comwww.dmvnow.com..
  • 10. Real Estate TaxReal Estate Tax  A tax on the assessed value of real estate propertyA tax on the assessed value of real estate property and mobile homes based on 100 percent of the fairand mobile homes based on 100 percent of the fair market value as ofmarket value as of Jan. 1, 2014.Jan. 1, 2014.  The 2014 (Fiscal Year 2015) base real estate taxThe 2014 (Fiscal Year 2015) base real estate tax rate is $1.09 per $100 of assessed value.rate is $1.09 per $100 of assessed value.
  • 11.  Commercially zoned or used properties are subject toCommercially zoned or used properties are subject to an additional $0.125 tax for the countywidean additional $0.125 tax for the countywide transportation district.transportation district.  Other tax rates or fees may apply.Other tax rates or fees may apply. II nformation on other special tax districtsnformation on other special tax districts.. Real Estate TaxReal Estate Tax
  • 12. Tax ReliefTax Relief  Property owners 65 or older or individuals who areProperty owners 65 or older or individuals who are permanently and totally disabled may qualify forpermanently and totally disabled may qualify for relief from some taxes and fees based on incomerelief from some taxes and fees based on income and assets.and assets.  Some active duty military personnel and spousesSome active duty military personnel and spouses are exempt from personal property tax. (See nextare exempt from personal property tax. (See next slide for disabled veterans.)slide for disabled veterans.)  For more information on tax relief,For more information on tax relief, go onlinego online or callor call 703-222-8234, TTY 703-222-7594703-222-8234, TTY 703-222-7594..
  • 13. Tax Relief for Vets withTax Relief for Vets with DisabilitiesDisabilities  Veterans with disabilitiesVeterans with disabilities who qualify may bewho qualify may be exempt from Real Estate Tax and eligible forexempt from Real Estate Tax and eligible for reduced Personal Property (car) Tax relief. Forreduced Personal Property (car) Tax relief. For more information, go to www.fairfaxcounty.gov/dtamore information, go to www.fairfaxcounty.gov/dta..
  • 14. Business, Professional andBusiness, Professional and Occupational License (BPOL)Occupational License (BPOL) Businesses with gross receipts:Businesses with gross receipts:  Between $10,001 and $50,000 must file a BPOLBetween $10,001 and $50,000 must file a BPOL application and pay a $30 license fee.application and pay a $30 license fee.  Between $50,001 and $100,000 pay a $50Between $50,001 and $100,000 pay a $50 license fee.license fee.  More than $100,000 pay the BPOL tax rate forMore than $100,000 pay the BPOL tax rate for the particular categories.the particular categories.
  • 15.  Businesses with gross receipts of $10,000 or lessBusinesses with gross receipts of $10,000 or less do not need to file for a business license.do not need to file for a business license.  License applications must be filed and paid byLicense applications must be filed and paid by March 1 of each year or within 75 days of theMarch 1 of each year or within 75 days of the business start date.business start date.  Businesses located in the City of Fairfax, City ofBusinesses located in the City of Fairfax, City of Falls Church and the towns of Clifton, Herndon andFalls Church and the towns of Clifton, Herndon and Vienna are not subject to the Fairfax County BPOLVienna are not subject to the Fairfax County BPOL tax. Contact those localities directly.tax. Contact those localities directly.
  • 16. Other Taxes and FeesOther Taxes and Fees  Consumer Utilities Taxes: • Residential gas and electric: Maximum tax is $4 per month. • Commercial electric: Maximum tax is $1,000 per month. • Commercial gas: Maximum tax is $300 per month.  Communication Sales and Use Tax: Statewide 5%. Communications Sales and Use Tax is levied on landline, wireless and Internet telephone services, as well as satellite TV and radio. Also included in this tax is a charge of $0.75 per line per month for E-911.  Sales: State – 4.3%; regional transportation/NVTA 0.7%; Fairfax County – 1%.  Cigarette: 30 cents per pack. More on next page. Effective July 1, 2014:
  • 17. More - Other Taxes andMore - Other Taxes and FeesFees  Hotel/Motel: 6%: 2% general; 2% tourism; 2% regional transportation/NVTA (Towns only 4%: 2% tourism; 2% regional transportation/NVTA. In addition, individual towns may also levy their own hotel/motel tax.)  Recordation: 8.33 cents per $100 value on sales. (Six cents per $100 on refinanced mortgages.)  Grantors Tax: County - $0.05 per $100 on value of deeds; Regional transportation/NVTA - $0.15 per $100 on value of deeds.  Dog Licenses: $10. Required for all dogs four months or older.
  • 18. PenaltiesPenalties Penalties include:Penalties include: Late filing penalties for the late registration ofLate filing penalties for the late registration of personal property.personal property. Late payment penalties for any tax not paid by theLate payment penalties for any tax not paid by the prescribed due date. Interest also is charged inprescribed due date. Interest also is charged in addition to late penalties.addition to late penalties. Overdue taxes are subject to collection actions andOverdue taxes are subject to collection actions and additional collection fees.additional collection fees.
  • 19. FY 2015 Budget GeneralFY 2015 Budget General FundFund  Click Links Below For Budget Charts:Click Links Below For Budget Charts: Where the Money Comes From…Where the Money Comes From… Where the Money Goes…Where the Money Goes…