2012 05-14 tran ten-t espo verhoeven
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5

Like this? Share it with your network

  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Be the first to comment
    Be the first to like this
No Downloads


Total Views
On Slideshare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds



Embeds 261

http://www.espo.be 259
http://translate.googleusercontent.com 2

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

    No notes for slide


  • 1. Seaports and the TEN-T Patrick Verhoeven Stakeholder Meeting – European Parliament (TRAN) Brussels, 14 May 2012
  • 2. TEN-T Guidelines (1)1. Member States are the entities responsible for the implementation of the TEN-T guidelines2. Need for a transparent methodology to assess EU added value of projects (transport efficiency, sustainability, territorial cohesion)3. Clear and explicit criteria for integration of ports in core and comprehensive network (comprehensive: current class ‘A’ + list)4. Obligatory connection of ports to inland waterways and rail to be proportional to traffic requirements5. Transport and environmental objectives to be integrated, leading to efficient planning and consent procedures
  • 3. TEN-T Guidelines (2)6. Cooperation with third countries should not further deteriorate level playing field with EU countries7. Clearer specification of maritime infrastructure components (maritime space / maritime ports)8. Port Community Systems to qualify explicitly as maritime ITS9. Corridor network platforms to align with Rail Freight Corridors and ERTMS, port authorities to be active participants in them10. Implementation core network corridors to adapt to evolving traffic demands and market needs
  • 4. Connecting Europe Facility1. Maximum co-funding rate for inland transport connections to ports and Motorways of the Sea to be raised to 40%2. Motorways of the Sea to be established as a separate corridor
  • 5. European Federation of Inland Ports (EFIP) – European Sea Ports Organisation (ESPO) – International Road Transport Union(IRU) – European Community Shipowners’ Associations (ECSA) – Inland Navigation Europe (INE) – European Barge Union(EBU) – Airports Council International (ACI) – European Association for Forwarding, Transport, Logistic and Custom Services(CLECAT) – Community of European Railway and Infrastructure Companies (CER) – European Rail Infrastructure Managers(EIM except Trafikverket) – European Skippers Organisation (ESO) – European Community Association of Shipbrokers andAgents (ECASBA) – European Tugowners Association (ETA) – European Rail Freight Association (ERFA) – European Cyclists’Federation (ECF) – European Cruise Council (ECC) – European Dredging Association (EuDA)– The Association of the EuropeanRail Industry (UNIFE) – European Boatmen’s Association (EBA) – Eurochambres – MedCruise – Cruise Europe – Association ofEuropean Airlines (AEA) – European Transport Workers’ Federation (ETF) – European Shippers’ Council (ESC) – EuropeanMaritime Pilots’ Association (EMPA) – The Association of European Vehicle Logistics (ECG)
  • 6. Thank you for your attention! Patrick Verhoeven – Secretary General European Sea Ports Organisation (ESPO) Treurenberg 6 – B-1000 Brussel / Bruxelles Tel + 32 2 736 34 63 – Fax + 32 2 736 63 25patrick.verhoeven@espo.be – www.espo.be - @PVerhoevenESPO