• Share
  • Email
  • Embed
  • Like
  • Save
  • Private Content
Global design,local inspiration speakers guide
 

Global design,local inspiration speakers guide

on

  • 224 views

 

Statistics

Views

Total Views
224
Views on SlideShare
224
Embed Views
0

Actions

Likes
0
Downloads
0
Comments
0

0 Embeds 0

No embeds

Accessibility

Categories

Upload Details

Uploaded via as Adobe PDF

Usage Rights

© All Rights Reserved

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Processing…
Post Comment
Edit your comment

    Global design,local inspiration speakers guide Global design,local inspiration speakers guide Presentation Transcript

    • PARTICIPANTS GUIDE:GLOBAL DESIGN, LOCAL INSPIRATION FEBRUARY 18TH, 2013 11AM – 12:30PM EST 4PM – 5:30PM GMT 5PM – 6:30PM WAT
    • WELCOMEThank you so much for being a part of Fashion Africa: Open For Business Globally! We’re excited to kick off this week-long virtual Think Tank during the first ever Social Media Week Lagos. Over the course of 5 days, we are bringing together a diverse group of industry change agents across Africa and the Diaspora to lead a discussion on the opportunities and challenges within the global African fashion industry. The goal is to exchange information and best practices in an open and collaborative environment – ultimately leading to inspiration, action, and innovation. Each panel discussion is live-streamed and open to the public for attendeesto view in real-time around the globe. Additionally, each discussion is being recorded and turned into a series of webisodes that will launch March 2013 in order to foster continuous dialogue, growth, and action.
    • ABOUT THE PANEL Africa’s richness and diversity provides a wealth of resources for designers to draw inspiration from – ranging from unique textiles to natural resources and avast array of cultures. In this virtual discussion, leading designers will share their experience with, and perspective of, designing for global consumers whiledrawing inspiration from various aspects of African culture. Topics of discussioninclude translating inspiration from local cultures into global design, the fine line between cultural inspiration and cultural appropriation, the role of African wax print within the global fashion industry and more! Panelists: Jacqueline Ytuarte, Maiyet Jewelry Designer Lisa Folawiyo, Jewel By Lisa Founder and Designer Loza Maleombho, Loza Maleombho Founder and Designer Stella Jean, Stella Jean Founder and Designer Moderated by: Mahelia de Randamie, Vogue Italia Editor and The Style Broker Founder Hosted by: Enyinne Owunwanne, Heritage1960 Founder and Chief Curator
    • PANEL LOCATION + TIMEThis panel discussion is being live-streamed and powered by Google Hangouts. In order to view the discussion live, go to Heritage1960’s Google Plus Page: http://gplus.to/Heritage1960. The panel discussion begins at: 11am EST | 4pm GMT | 5pm WAT. The Google Hangout will be open (but not yet viewable to the public) 30 mins prior to the start of our discussion. Please join the Google Hangout no later than: 10:45am EST | 3:45pm GMT | 4:45pm WAT
    • HOW TO JOIN THE GOOGLE HANGOUT1.  Log into your “Fashion Africa” Gmail Account. (Note: Your “Fashion Africa” gmail address and password will be sent to you in a separate email.)2.  Once you have logged into your “Fashion Africa” Gmail Account, you will receive an email from Google+ with the subject “H1960 Live is inviting you to join a Hangout” at 10:30am EST | 3:30pm GMT | 4:30pm WAT.3.  Open this email and select “Join Hangout” (see below).
    • HOW TO JOIN THE GOOGLE HANGOUT4. A new browser will open indicating that “You are about to join a hangout”5. Select “Join” to enter the Google Hangout (video conference room). You should be able to see yourself in this box if your camera is on.
    • HOW TO JOIN THE GOOGLE HANGOUT 6. Once inside the Google Hangout, you will see:This enables private chat,not viewable by the public,in case you want to shareany questions/commentswith each other during theHangout. You should be able to see yourself in this box if your camera is on.
    • GOOGLE HANGOUT TIPSWebcamSince this is a video chat, you will need to use a computer that has a webcam enabled.LightingGoogle Hangouts work best in a well-lit environment. If you can’t flood the room with light,make sure you set up a light source facing you (behind the webcam, but directing light towardsyou).AudioTo ensure the best audio, please make sure you are in a quiet, controlled environment. GoogleHangouts will pick up on background noise, so make sure there are no noise distractionsaround you.If you experience an echo, there are two possible causes.1.  A Hangout participant is playing the live stream of the Hangout in another browser window. Please make sure you are not playing the live stream in another browser window.2.  Two people are dialed into the Hangout in the same physical room. Please make sure you are the only person in your room dialed into the Hangout.