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Search Engine Marketing 101
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Search Engine Marketing 101


Presented by Connie Ross as part of Cintrifuse's Community Classes on 1/23/13.

Presented by Connie Ross as part of Cintrifuse's Community Classes on 1/23/13.

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  • 1. January 23, 2013Search Engine Marketing
  • 2. Today’s Presenters Tim Metzner Connie Ross Digital Marketing Consultant Associate Director Former VP Marketing, SparkPeople Search Marketing, Startup Weekend Organizer Empower MediaMarketing 2
  • 3. Our Experience:Startups – Regional Co.s – Global Brands
  • 4. Empower Media Marketing Vitals» Full Service Media Agency» Founded in 1985» P&G Roots» 140 Employees» Independently owned» Women Owned and Certified» Nationally Recognized Excellence
  • 5. Agenda» What is Search Engine Marketing?» Overview of the Categories • Paid Search • Local Search • Organic Search • Mobile Search 5
  • 6. What is Search Engine Marketing?
  • 7. Search Is a Core Behavior Now 4 billion searches per day… and growing 7
  • 8. Search Engine Marketing Outlook» Paid Search Spending is expected to top $18 billion by 2013» Mobile Ad Spending is expected to see the largest growth for digital in the next 2 years followed by Video & Social Digital Media 2011 (billions) 2012 (billions) 2013 (billions) % change 2011 - 2013 Paid Search $14.38 $17.03 $18.85 31% Online Display $7.61 $8.94 $9.93 30% Social Media $1.00 $1.23 $1.66 66% Mobile $1.23 $1.80 $2.52 105% Video $2.16 $3.09 $4.20 94% Source: eMarketer - The Global Media Intelligence Report: North America, October 2011 8
  • 9. Search Engine Marketing» For Searchers… • It’s about Better Research • It’s about Convenience» For Advertisers… • It’s about Being Found • It’s about Being Relevant 9
  • 10. SEM Terminology Search Engine Marketing (SEM) Search Engine Paid Search Optimization (PPC) (SEO) Paid Owned & Earned Paid Media 10
  • 11. Search Engine Marketing Categories Paid Search (PPC) • Keyword buys on all engines, mainly Google & Yahoo/Bing • Appearing when a consumer searches for localized Local Search information (i.e. Family Entertainment in Branson, MO) • Process of improving the visibility of a website in searchOrganic Search (SEO) engines via the "natural" or organic search results • Keyword buys on all engines, appearing specifically on Mobile Search mobile devices • Focuses on Industry specific content (i.e. Banking, Vertical Search Shopping, Travel, etc.) 11
  • 12. Anatomy of a Search Engine Results Page Query Local Paid Ad Listings Paid AdOrganic ResultsLocal Listings 12
  • 13. Search Engine Market Share» Google remains the leader in the search space Percent of U.S. Search Queries Search Alliance – 29% 3% 2% 14% Google 15% Yahoo! Bing 67% Ask Aol Source: comScore Marketer, July 2012 13
  • 14. Paid Search (PPC)
  • 15. What is Paid Search? Query Local Paid Ad Listings Paid AdOrganic ResultsLocal Listings 15
  • 16. Relevancy is King » Ads are ranked based on many factors Text Ad Keyword Amount Ranking on You’re SearchWilling to Pay Results Page Landing Account Page History/CTR Maximum CPC Bid Relevancy/Quality Score 16
  • 17. Paid Search Ad Rank» Max CPC bid × Quality Score = Ad RankCompetitor Max CPC Bid Ad Quality Ad Rank Position A $4 x 1 = 4 4 B $3 x 3 = 9 2 C $2 x 6 = 12 1 D $1 x 8 = 8 3
  • 18. Adjusting Match TypesBroad +Broad Modified “Phrase” [Exact] -Negative •Any query •Any query •Query must •Ad only appears •Query can not containing the containing the contain the words if the query is contain the terms in any order term or close in the order you exactly what is term or and along with variation have them contained in the phrase other terms following the •Somewhat limits brackets •Ads will not •Earns a LOT of “+” symbol impressions and •Least amount of display impressions and •Limits the can increase impressions may be less amount of CTR% relevant impressions typically generated Instant Oil Changes +Instant +Oil +Changes “Instant Oil Changes” [Instant Oil Change] -Cheap Instant and Speedy Oil Inexpensive instant oil Instant Oil Instant Oil change Cheap Oil Changes Changes changes Instant Changes 18
  • 19. Anatomy of a Text Ad Text Ad Elements & Character Limits Headline – 25 Characters Description Line 1 – 35 Characters Description Line 2 – 35 Characters Display URL – 35 CharactersDO’s DON’Ts•Provide a strong call-to-action •No superlatives (best, cheapest) unless•Make a compelling offer verified within 2 clicks of landing page•Ensure it’s relevant to the ad group •No words in all CAPS•Write in proper text format •No more than one “!” in description•Look at competitors for inspiration •Display URL must match Destination URL 19
  • 20. Anatomy of a Text Ad Sitelinks Location Extensions 20
  • 21. Campaign Optimizations • High CTR means the terms are relevant & have strong quality score. Good scores are awarded lower CPC’s CTR% • Low CTR terms need adjusted match types or to be paused • High CPC’s spend budget quickly, so finding optimal selection of low cost terms is the ultimate goal CPC$ • Noting high CPC terms, increase match type or pause • High position (3+) may have poor metrics: sort by highest positions and consider increasing match type or pausingAvg. Pos • Increase Max CPC bid for a term to influence positioning 21
  • 22. Local Search
  • 23. What is Local Search? Query Local Paid Ad Listings Paid AdOrganic ResultsLocal Listings 23
  • 24. What is Local Search
  • 25. Local Listings Management» 97% of Consumers search for local businesses online can be there when their customers need them» Manage the top 100 local listing sites including Google+ for businesses, Bing Local, Yelp, etc.March 2012 BIA/Kelseys User View Wave VII Report 25
  • 26. SEO
  • 27. What is Search Engine Optimization? Query Local Paid Ad Listings Paid AdOrganic ResultsLocal Listings 27
  • 28. How Do Search Engines Create Rankings? 28
  • 29. Three Optimization Areas for SEO 1. Content Optimization • New Content • Updated Content 2. HTML Code Optimization • Title tags • Meta tags • Header tags • Image ALT tags 3. Inbound Marketing • Influencing other channels • Increasing links back to site*IMPORTANT NOTE: All aspects of SEO are informed by Keyword Research. 29
  • 30. Mobile30
  • 31. What is Mobile Search? Local ListingsPaid Ads Paid Ads Organic Results 31
  • 32. Mobile Search Facts» Google controls 93% of the mobile paid search market» 70% of desktop searches lead to an action within 1 month. 70% of mobile searches lead to an action within 1 hour.» Worldwide mobile advertising will reach $11.4 billion in 2013. Sources: Internet Retailer & SocialMediaToday.com 32
  • 33. Q&A…Thank you for attending!• If you have follow-up questions or want more information, please contact us: Tim Metzner, email: tim.metzner@gmail.com Connie Ross, email: connie.ross@empowermm.com
  • 34. Important Terms» Search Engine: A program or tool that helps users locate information or documents using keywords.» Search Engine Marketing (SEM): Paid advertising on a search engine.» Search Engine Optimization (SEO): Organic listings on a search engine.» Keyword: Specific word(s) provided as an index to identify specific records or documents, usually to facility search engines on the web.» Visit Duration: Length of time a visitor is exposed to a an advertisement during an online session.» Tracking Pixel (Beacon): A measure whether the ad, page or email was successfully viewed and other tracking purposes.» Click-Stream: The navigational path or sequence of activity a user initiates while online.» Cookie: A file transmitted to a user’s browser to uniquely identify the user’s browser. 34
  • 35. Empower Media Marketing Capabilities Insight Fueled – Performance Driven – Vital Media Strategic Marketing Media Planning Decision Sciences Communications & Buying• Channel Planning & • Media ROI/Effectiveness • Broadcast Optimization • Consumer Insights • National & Local TV,• Marketing Strategy • Direct Response Reporting Cable & Radio• Brand Strategy & Media Optimization • Print• Digital Strategy • Brand Participation • Out-of-Home/Digital OOH• Mobile Strategy MappingSM • Online & Mobile Display • ChatterWatchSM • Direct Response • Impact Moments® • Product Placement/Brand Research Integration • Competitive Analysis • Social Ads • Search Marketing
  • 36. Empower Approach to SearchDiscover Understand client, consumer, project backgroundDefine Align on objectives and measurement planDesign Strategies to meet objectivesDevelop Plan recommendationDeploy Plan activationDecipher Track, analyze, optimize, report 36
  • 37. Key Resources Inform Search Plans Industry-Leading Tools Campaign Industry Search SEO Keyword ResearchAutomation Trends Intelligence Analysis Strategic Partnerships Certified Agency Search Engines Local Listings Database Web Analytics Vendors Uncover Consumer Insights through Search Behavior 37